We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,505)
Filter reviews
3,505 results
Traveller rating
2,568
631
180
84
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,568
631
180
84
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiguana buildingchief of the villagefamily vacationcircus teambeach boysol suitesjean marcwhite nightflying trapezecrazy signsfitness classesland sportsbaby foodmain restaurantluna azulsports activitiesmusic factory
Filter
Updating list...
1,307 - 1,312 of 3,505 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just returned from our second trip to Club Med Ixtapa and once again had a fabulous visit. The setting can't be beat; the views are spectacular from almost every vantage point and it is impossible not to relax. This is a particularly great club med for families as the Mini club is great and there are many fun activities for kids and for kids plus families. Particular pluses at this location:

Food: fresh, plentiful and tasty. I particularly want to note Chef German Castellanos, who went out of his way every day to make sure we had a great meal and a wonderful experience in general. My child has several serious food allergies and German met with us at nearly every meal to tell us what was safe for him and guide our choices. Last year he even made special things for our son in the back if the options were limited (without us asking). German is a stellar human being and great chef.

Mini-club: great activities for the kids and enthusiastic GOs. Especially loved interacting with Genesis, Karina and Hoshi.

Spa: wonderful massages in a very calming environment

Minor negatives: excursion selection is not great. Highly recommend the snorkel trip to Ixtapa Island - easy and fun (and great for kids just learning to snorkel).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you're planning a family vacation at Club Med, Cancun Club Med is far and away a better choice than Ixtapa. Parents at Ixtapa are banished from archery, trapeze, and the climbing wall until 4 P.M. so that children can use the equipment all day. At Cancun, sports are scheduled so that both children and parents can enjoy every sport.

Before you invite Grandpa to join you at Club Med Ixtapa, be aware that every activity and destination requires at least one flight of stairs. The main restaurant is downstairs from reception and upstairs from the main bar. A flight of stairs goes down from the pool to the beach.
I had been told that the expensive rooms would be better for mobility-impaired guests. Although these rooms are close to the beach, they are a long hike from the restaurants, bars, and sailing.
Other travelers have already complained about Internet service. Not only are guests required to pay for Internet access, but the response time is so bad that applications time out before a response is received.
Ixtapa is very hot and sunny during winter, but there are no palapas on the beach, unlike less-expensive hotels. There were a few canopies, but these were fully occupied by 8 A.M. There was not even shade on the beach-volleyball court, so very few vacationers could be convinced to play. Club Med should move the court to a shadier location, and/or they should plant more palm trees. The lack of shade was a problem throughout common areas of the Club. Although Cancun is cooler than Ixtapa, Cancun has more shaded areas.

I had been looking forward to long walks on the beach, but Club Med's beach is blocked by rocks at both ends. Eventually, I found a path through the woods at the north end of Club Med (near the beach) and was able to escape to Playa Linda. From the Playa Linda pier, one can take a boat shuttle to Ixtapa Island and walk to the snorkeling reef in the cove on the other side of the island. One can also walk to the lagoon at Playa Linda and see crocodiles, egrets, and many other birds. At Playa Linda, there are also shops for tourists and buses that go to downtown Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. I really recommend taking a day to go to Zihuatanejo. The cost is only 10 pesos, less than $1USD.

Once I figured out how to escape Club Med to get to Playa Linda, Ixtapa Island, and downtown Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo, I felt less like I was confined at Guantanamo. In the restaurant, vacationers were not seated together at tables of eight, so it was much more difficult to meet other vacationers, making me miss the original Club Med.

The impossible Internet "service" increased the feeling of isolation. In fact, there was no Internet "service" in the rooms at all. Thankfully, the air conditioning did work and was very quiet. Every room had a refrigerator, coffee, safe, and bottled water. Mattresses were rock hard, just like the old Club Med, but rooms had a couch that could be used as an additional, more comfortable, bed. Rooms had no balconies which would have been nice, in spite of the mosquitoes.

Speaking of mosquitoes, bring plenty of repellent. Although Club Med says that grounds are sprayed twice a day with a "safe" treatment, we were eaten alive at dusk every night. One night, dinner was served outdoors on the soccer field, and the mosquitoes had the best buffet of the week. We did not have a chance to eat at the specialty restaurant, because it was closed almost every night. The other specialty restaurant was not available at all due to maintenance.

Most important, bring your own snorkel gear, because Club Med won't provide it unless you pay for an excursion. Windsurfing is no longer offered at Ixtapa, and there are no bicycles, unlike nearby hotels. We will probably not return to Club Med Ixtapa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 week vacation. We frequent all inclusive a and this was top notch!
We had 2 5 year olds and 2 2 1/2 year olds in the mini camp. Unfortunately we had
To pay for the younger ones but it was well worth it. Morgan and Mariana and Ellie "boom boom"
Were awesome and kept
The kids entertained all week.
The food was excellent. As was our waitress Hilda Fernando pool side was always getting us drinks!. Pepe & 'Diego were great also. The chief medi was
Great as well as Fabian. Fireworks on the last dayThe rooms were large family rooms! What a great trip we will return.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Jennysomekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was my first Club Med experience. Prior to that we had gone for many years to Hawaii. The 4.5 stars that the other Tripadvisor members gave this place are right on target.

Resort. It's a large resort; you can walk around without running into crowds of people. The resort is beautiful. Immaculately kept. Very tropical.

Rooms. We stayed in a club room. It's basically two spacious rooms with a large shared bathroom. We paid extra for an ocean view room (about $70/night extra) and it was absolutely worth it. One of the best ocean views I've ever experienced.

Food. There're two restaurants. One - the main one - is a buffet. The other is a sit down restaurant that requires reservations. We ate there only once. The rest of the time (breakfast/lunch/dinner) we ate at the main restaurant. Yes - it's a buffet. But it's on par with the top Las Vegas buffets. The food was delicious and the variety was superb.

The beach. Perfect in every way! Just what you imagine a tropical paradise would be. Much better than the beaches in Cancun; and IMO better than the Kaanapali beach in Maui. The beach is situated between two coves and feels very private.

Activities. There's something to do every minute of the day.

Helpful hint - there's a massage spa at the end of the beach. It's not a part of the club med property. They charge $40 for an hour massage, less than half of what club med spa charges. I would go every day.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view room - well worth the added price
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhirlwindTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We paid 640 dollars as an add on for the petit club for a week. Upon arrival we discovered you can pay for the club by the day for a rate of 1088 pesos approx 83 dollars. By that math we paid for almost eight days childcare. Considering you don't use the club the day of check in or the day of check out we paid for almost three extra days. On top of that our usually easygoing child did not at all take to the club. He protested going so much that we ended up only sending him four days. Nowhere on the website does it say that you can pay by the day for the club . It seems so dishonest and I am disgusted by it. I will never use another club med. I plan on trying to get a refund for the unused days, however I don't hold out much hope according to reviews of terrible customer service. I plan on updating tripadvisor regularly so that nobody else falls for the trap of pre paying for the petit club.

Stayed: February 2014
11  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews