We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Trip to Club Med Ixtapa - Best Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I love this resort. My kids are 7 & 9 and we stayed in an ocean view deluxe room. This room type is very comfortable for my family because it has a separate sleeping room for the kids. My only gripe is that the rooms are getting tired and need to be updated. The food is amazing! The beach is terrific. This year the resort had a moonlit dinner near the beach. The effort involved in setting this up was incredible. The head of the resort was always around to make sure everything was going well. The head of the mini club was terrific and very accommodating to requests that I made. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 2,926 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our first vacation at a Club Med, myself, my husband and our 23 month old son. We enjoyed the resort, it is beautiful, kept immaculately clean and relaxing.
We stayed in the Muneca building, it is a great location, close to the beach and not too far from everything else. Very quiet at night, we would never have known that there were people above us or on either side of us. The housekeeping staff visited our room 3 times per day and did a wonderful job of keeping the sand cleaned up.
Every staff member we came in contact with was always so kind, helpful and gracious. My husband spent a fair amount of time at the outdoor bar, and enjoyed visiting with the bartenders.

Our son went to baby med a few times and I am so impressed with Dora and the rest of the staff. They have a fantastic schedule that they stick to and keep the toddlers happy and busy. They would get those toddlers in their bathing suits and sunscreen and head to the beach for about an hour each morning, then bring them back to the covered pool to play some more, a quick shower, dressed and then lunch. Our son has food allergies and they were conscious of it and made sure he didn't eat anything he shouldn't. The toddler pool is right outside the baby med and is covered with a mesh canopy, so we would spend a fair amount of time there and I was able to observe the staff bring everything(cots, highchairs, toys, stroller) outside to be washed with soap & water. It was kept very clean. I was also able to see the interaction and all the women are kind and cheerful to the toddlers. My only disappointment on a return trip is that he will be older and will not with the same wonderful staff.
The boutique is well maintained, carries some essentials if you forgot anything at home- both my husband and son needed sunglasses and we found nice ones for both at an affordable price.
We always ate at the buffet, which was very good food, kept clean and so much food and plenty of variety. Fresh fruits and vegetables, cooked vegetables, pasta, wonderful cheeses and breads, made to order omlets.
My only suggestions to Club Med is more hand sanitiziers throughout the public areas and several more in the buffet restaurant. Travelers you should carry your own and use it after you have been through the buffet lines.
The pool areas were a bit too crowded and I think that lots of people put towels and bags on the lounge chairs around the pool at 8 am and then show up around 10:30. It was impossible to get a decent chair if you did not pre-reserve. It was very annoying to see chair after chair vacant for several hours while people went to eat or to various activities.
Don't overpack, the laundry service is affordable and excellent, same day service for us, about 150 pesos per 10 pieces.
I was going to use the "free bus" to go to town shopping on Wednesday, the buses come through about every 30 minutes, I waited over an hour and finally took a taxi to town. I never saw one bus. Not sure about that service.
I did get a massage at the hut at the edge of the beach, in reading other peoples reviews, I seem to be the only one who was disappointed. For $40 you get what you pay for, and there is 5 massage tables lined up right next to one another. ukk.
Budget permitting we will definitely return to Club Med Ixtapa.
Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just returned from our vacation in Club Med, Ixtapa. The best vacation ever. We were a group of 16 family and friends. The grounds are beautiful. There is a long stretch of beautiful beach with plenty of lounges. There is always something going on, never boring. Lots of activites in the pool and everywhere else. The GO's were amazing, always there to help and make you vacation a perfect one. Diego is an amazing GO always around to sing and make everyone happy. Mehdi Osmani, the Chief of Village is an excellent chief making sure that everything is working as it should. He is Courteous, Attentive and Observant to all that is happening in the village. He is very intuitive and very concerned that all the guests are happy. We had an issue in our group that he managed to repair in the best way possible and I am grateful. Thank you very much Mehdi. The week was perfect in every way, the activity for all ages. the shows every night and the duet singers every night by the bar across from the sunset, the food in the buffet, exceeds all that we experienced previously. This was a great vacation and definitely we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Iguana building which was close to the kids club which we used and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYtraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just returned from our second trip to Club Med Ixtapa and once again had a fabulous visit. The setting can't be beat; the views are spectacular from almost every vantage point and it is impossible not to relax. This is a particularly great club med for families as the Mini club is great and there are many fun activities for kids and for kids plus families. Particular pluses at this location:

Food: fresh, plentiful and tasty. I particularly want to note Chef German Castellanos, who went out of his way every day to make sure we had a great meal and a wonderful experience in general. My child has several serious food allergies and German met with us at nearly every meal to tell us what was safe for him and guide our choices. Last year he even made special things for our son in the back if the options were limited (without us asking). German is a stellar human being and great chef.

Mini-club: great activities for the kids and enthusiastic GOs. Especially loved interacting with Genesis, Karina and Hoshi.

Spa: wonderful massages in a very calming environment

Minor negatives: excursion selection is not great. Highly recommend the snorkel trip to Ixtapa Island - easy and fun (and great for kids just learning to snorkel).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you're planning a family vacation at Club Med, Cancun Club Med is far and away a better choice than Ixtapa. Parents at Ixtapa are banished from archery, trapeze, and the climbing wall until 4 P.M. so that children can use the equipment all day. At Cancun, sports are scheduled so that both children and parents can enjoy every sport.

Before you invite Grandpa to join you at Club Med Ixtapa, be aware that every activity and destination requires at least one flight of stairs. The main restaurant is downstairs from reception and upstairs from the main bar. A flight of stairs goes down from the pool to the beach.
I had been told that the expensive rooms would be better for mobility-impaired guests. Although these rooms are close to the beach, they are a long hike from the restaurants, bars, and sailing.
Other travelers have already complained about Internet service. Not only are guests required to pay for Internet access, but the response time is so bad that applications time out before a response is received.
Ixtapa is very hot and sunny during winter, but there are no palapas on the beach, unlike less-expensive hotels. There were a few canopies, but these were fully occupied by 8 A.M. There was not even shade on the beach-volleyball court, so very few vacationers could be convinced to play. Club Med should move the court to a shadier location, and/or they should plant more palm trees. The lack of shade was a problem throughout common areas of the Club. Although Cancun is cooler than Ixtapa, Cancun has more shaded areas.

I had been looking forward to long walks on the beach, but Club Med's beach is blocked by rocks at both ends. Eventually, I found a path through the woods at the north end of Club Med (near the beach) and was able to escape to Playa Linda. From the Playa Linda pier, one can take a boat shuttle to Ixtapa Island and walk to the snorkeling reef in the cove on the other side of the island. One can also walk to the lagoon at Playa Linda and see crocodiles, egrets, and many other birds. At Playa Linda, there are also shops for tourists and buses that go to downtown Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. I really recommend taking a day to go to Zihuatanejo. The cost is only 10 pesos, less than $1USD.

Once I figured out how to escape Club Med to get to Playa Linda, Ixtapa Island, and downtown Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo, I felt less like I was confined at Guantanamo. In the restaurant, vacationers were not seated together at tables of eight, so it was much more difficult to meet other vacationers, making me miss the original Club Med.

The impossible Internet "service" increased the feeling of isolation. In fact, there was no Internet "service" in the rooms at all. Thankfully, the air conditioning did work and was very quiet. Every room had a refrigerator, coffee, safe, and bottled water. Mattresses were rock hard, just like the old Club Med, but rooms had a couch that could be used as an additional, more comfortable, bed. Rooms had no balconies which would have been nice, in spite of the mosquitoes.

Speaking of mosquitoes, bring plenty of repellent. Although Club Med says that grounds are sprayed twice a day with a "safe" treatment, we were eaten alive at dusk every night. One night, dinner was served outdoors on the soccer field, and the mosquitoes had the best buffet of the week. We did not have a chance to eat at the specialty restaurant, because it was closed almost every night. The other specialty restaurant was not available at all due to maintenance.

Most important, bring your own snorkel gear, because Club Med won't provide it unless you pay for an excursion. Windsurfing is no longer offered at Ixtapa, and there are no bicycles, unlike nearby hotels. We will probably not return to Club Med Ixtapa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 week vacation. We frequent all inclusive a and this was top notch!
We had 2 5 year olds and 2 2 1/2 year olds in the mini camp. Unfortunately we had
To pay for the younger ones but it was well worth it. Morgan and Mariana and Ellie "boom boom"
Were awesome and kept
The kids entertained all week.
The food was excellent. As was our waitress Hilda Fernando pool side was always getting us drinks!. Pepe & 'Diego were great also. The chief medi was
Great as well as Fabian. Fireworks on the last dayThe rooms were large family rooms! What a great trip we will return.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Jennysomekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was my first Club Med experience. Prior to that we had gone for many years to Hawaii. The 4.5 stars that the other Tripadvisor members gave this place are right on target.

Resort. It's a large resort; you can walk around without running into crowds of people. The resort is beautiful. Immaculately kept. Very tropical.

Rooms. We stayed in a club room. It's basically two spacious rooms with a large shared bathroom. We paid extra for an ocean view room (about $70/night extra) and it was absolutely worth it. One of the best ocean views I've ever experienced.

Food. There're two restaurants. One - the main one - is a buffet. The other is a sit down restaurant that requires reservations. We ate there only once. The rest of the time (breakfast/lunch/dinner) we ate at the main restaurant. Yes - it's a buffet. But it's on par with the top Las Vegas buffets. The food was delicious and the variety was superb.

The beach. Perfect in every way! Just what you imagine a tropical paradise would be. Much better than the beaches in Cancun; and IMO better than the Kaanapali beach in Maui. The beach is situated between two coves and feels very private.

Activities. There's something to do every minute of the day.

Helpful hint - there's a massage spa at the end of the beach. It's not a part of the club med property. They charge $40 for an hour massage, less than half of what club med spa charges. I would go every day.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view room - well worth the added price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhirlwindTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,449 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £139 - £878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific, a heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive resort, elected as one of the ‘world’s best’ family resorts by Trip Advisor. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular sceneries, as the resort is nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing