We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most memorable stays I've had anywhere in the world.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable stays I've had anywhere in the world.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I recently returned from one of the most memorable vacations of my life. This was a week I won't soon forget. The friends I have made, many of whom were the beautiful staff, I will treasure forever. I attended an R Family Vacation week at this resort. It's the first excursion R Family has ever done on land and it was a tremendous success.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the entire staff on the driveway. They were there to welcome us and to show us to our rooms. They're the most friendly employees you will ever find--trust me! Jona was our personal G.O. and he took great care of us all week.

There were so many other memorable staff members that I can't name them all. Stafani gave me private archery classes, for which I am forever grateful. Hannah at the front desk is a real gem. The bar staff is the funnest bunch of guys around, especially, Dany, Salame and George.

Audrey, Benny and Cel were not only amazing teachers, but wonderful acrobats in their own right. Sam took me sailing, Richi helped teach me archery, Other stand-outs were Javier, Amaya, AniLu, Sergio, Luis, Rafael, Marisol, Dulce, Luca, Hayley, Lucia, Joannie, and the list goes on and on!

We even had the pleasure of being joined by one of the Club Med management members from Miami--Ramon was a great addition to our week.

The resort is situated in a paradise-like location, and I can't find enough good things to say about it. The food was much better than any you'd find on any cruise. The executive chef even taught classes to the patrons during the day. I was certified in the art of guacamole making!

There are so many activities to participate in and learn about, including a tennis courts, kayaks, sail boats, trapeze, and several pools. You can keep your days busy or you can sit and relax on the beach.

If you have kids, there's a day and evening care program. I don't have children, but never found them to be a nuisance during my stay. They are very well taken care of.

There are several beautiful restaurants on the resort, and one gigantic, superb buffet-style dining hall. The white chocolate french toast is not to be missed!

If you're looking for the best all inclusive resort around, this should be at the top of your list. Congratulations to the manager, Eduardo on running a classy establishment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,936
    487
    132
    63
    32
See reviews for
1,932
273
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Eduardo and his staff make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. They had our rooms keys ready as we boarded the bus at the airport. We had a family suite which was perfect for us with 2 boys, 5 and 6 yrs old.
The food was excellent; the Chef obviously takes pride in making sure it is freshly prepared with good quality ingredients. The Mexican food was outstanding, as you might expect, but so was everything else, ranging from Beef Wellington, steak and roasted chicken to several fish and duck dishes, mussels, crab, salads to order, sushi, and a great vegetarian table. Pizza and pasta dishes were varied and always outstanding.
Proabably the best part though was the Mini Club, for kids 4-9. Our boys loved it, especially the circus training and asked to go every day. We asked them if they wanted to leave camp early or go in late, and they always preferred to be in the camp which is the best recommendation I can think of. Many thanks to Allyn and all the GOs.
We were with a group and used the conference center which was great, especially the air conditioning.
It was hot, 85-90 day and night with high humidity and there were a few mosquitos, they provided some bug repellant and it was not a big problem. Next time I would go in the winter or spring maybe Jan-April which are the drier and cooler months.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We had the most wonderful time this past week at Club Med Ixtapa. In addition to the fantastic food and various activities, GO's Ritchy and Hailey made us feel so welcome treating us as though we were long time friends coming for a visit at their home. We now plan to vacation at Club Meds for many years in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrp0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

we traveled to club med ixtapa with a group of over 500 travelers, we didnt know what to expect since this was our first land based vacation. WE ARE LEFT WITH NO WORDS. THE WHOLE VILLAGE WAS AMAZING, the food there so much of it and so good that theer is something for everyone,. even if you dont like one type of food there are so many different types of food that are served for breakfast/ lunch and dinner that you have to find something you like, all the activities were amazing also. there is nothing bad i could say about this resort. now here comes the diffcult part. club med has team members named G.O.'S and basically they are there to help you, guide you or anything else you might want , we didnt know what a G.O was but i did read about them prior to traveling to club med ixtapa so again we didnt know what to expect. we went as tourist and left as an extended family of all the G.O.'S i will name the ones that we mostly dealt with but all of them were amazing, i could see how they interact with families, kids and anyone in between. everywhere you went in club med there was always someone to help in some way or another so the whole staff was amazing but these individuals made our stay so welcoming that we are ready to get back on the plane from new york and go back again. the following G.O.'S should be considered looking for when you arrive. Javier, Danny, Jorge, Gabriel. these 4 G.O.S all work in different areas but they always made sure we were always taken care of any everything with our trip was going well. they all went above and beyound there duties, no one of them had to extend themselves in the manner they did. you can see it that everthing they did came from there hearts and not because it was just a job for them. we have never been on a vacation where they staff and the guest all cry at the time of departure because they have become so attending that we will always miss them and will always try and vacation where these people work at other club meds since now we are truly committed to vacationing with club meds all over the world,. next summer our group is going to club med sandpiper in port st lucie florida, we are going to try and bring a larger group so everyone can experience the staff and how wonderful they truly are. we have learend that basically the G.O.S in club med are all so welcoming in anyone of the resorts. our gruop had 7 members in it and we all left with an awsome experience but again i can not stress enouhg, the following G.O'S Javier - Danny - Jorge - Gabruiel you should look them up when traveling to club med pacific ixtapa mexico and tell them you read about them on this review board, we have also written a letter to the general manager Mr. Eduardo Rojas of this resort and told him the same exact information i am writing now. we want everyone to know how wonderful this resort is and even traveling outside the complex was a beautiful experience, you can take a cab for about $10 american dollars to bring you into town of ixtapa where we went or take there bus outside the complex for about $1 american dollar if you dont mind waiting in the heat... the cab was a better choice and a quick one but it was truly safe to travel outside... truly hoping that you will find the same expereince we did in club med pacific.ixtapa mexico. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. HAVE A WONDERFUL TIME AND TELL THEM, john, michael sent you..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lahark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

R Family Vacations (in-formerly, and incorrectly, known as the "Rosie Cruises") had their first chartered land vacation at Club Med Ixtapa. Having been on 2 of their cruise ship vacations, and LOVED them, we decided to try the land based trip. Given that this was a chartered trip, there were many "extras" included this week that one would not find on a solo trip to Club Med, such as additional entertainment and performers hosted by R Family. That said, the Club Med staff were almost universally incredible. Warm, friendly, outgoing - the level of service was impressive. From Eduardo, the General Manager of the resort - who was always available no matter the need or concern - on down to the room service staff, we found everyone to be attentive to our needs and wants. The "Circus Staff" alone, headed by Benny Searle, along with Cel and Audrey were worth the price of the whole trip alone. These three gave my partner and I the trip of a lifetime - teaching us the Trapeze all week, and getting us (OK, more my Partner, than me) to the point of doing tricks far beyond what one would expect to be able to do in a week. (Hey - I did OK, too, I mastered the knee hang and back flip - and I am OLD!) Also of note, the food - the Chef, Sheik, was a great guy and he really ran the kitchens well. The everyday buffet was abundant and varied, and the two specialty restaurants were elegant options worth partaking of. We loved our Suite, and as a suite holder, had access to a private concierge office for booking all our excursions and meals. Jesus, Candy and Magali were wonderful to us. Again, since this was a Charter Vacation, the whole hotel was occupied by one big group of 600, and that added greatly to our enjoyment - but were were quite impressed with the Club Med experience and are considering a solo Club Med vacation in other exotic locales.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottsaladino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

All inclusive family vacation at club med ixtapa is well.....ummmm, not spectacular! I want to say what is positive first. The views and the beach are absolutely incredible. The food is mostly good, sometimes it is spectacular. The pools are sizeable, the grounds well kept, and the housekeeping and rotating staff are fabulous! So, about the rooms....mold, seriously, they smell strongly of mold and mold can be seen on the vents of the a/c. I know this is subtropical but pleeeeease, mold! We switched rooms off the bottom floor from a deluxe down under to a deluxe up above, less moldy but still moldy. Spoke to others and several reported the same issue.
On the beach, you will need to seek sun in the cabanas or under the shady palms, thankfully there are several palms, no umbrellas can be brought down to the beach b/c they will run out! Interesting.
Food. Mostly good however, if you have any food sensitivity do not expect you will get served food that will prevent you from experiencing whatever your dilemma may be. They are serving the masses and no great attention to detail, despite lip service to the contrary, will be provided. When speaking to the chef about the problems with the food, he answered his mobile phone, really! And, as an aside, why is baked chicken yellow?
Wifi, always the great dilemma. We purchased the wifi service for an additional $65 for the week. It works only in public areas, not in the room and not in all locations, so buyer beware. The room connections/wire do not work consistently and this proved frustrating.
I know others have rated this experience highly and as much as I love to be critical I also love to find things to praise. The things I find amazing about club med ixtapa have more to do with the natural beauty that is ixtapa and so much less to do with club med.
The club med village is run by a guy named Eduardo. Eduardo will pretend listen to any concern you have. He has no interest in solving problems. I found his repeated refrain, "we take this seriously because this is a potential liability" tired. Eduardo, I rather you be concerned because you care than you are worried about being sued. My advice, find a great condo, house, bungalow on the beach in Zihuantenao, support the local economy. Get a chef, participate in the local tourist services that you will otherwise pay ridiculously for at club med, and experience this part of mexico for a lot less and get a lot more!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyAbundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Our late-June to early July 2010 visit to Club Med Ixtapa was our fourth vacation there in twelve years. Why the repeat trips? The service, food, rooms, fun sports, and overall experience are tops.
The chef, Sheik, personally comes out to chat with guests and explain his creations -- most of which are healthy and focused on seafood and tropical fruits and veggies.
We especially appreciated the tennis g.o. duo of Francisco and Yannick, who are helpful and insightful coaches; Stephanie at archery and yoga (great in evening shows); Sandi in the boutique (friendly attitude, good dancer in shows and made our kids feel welcome at dinner); Jonah, who took care of our two teens; Lucas, the king of the trapeze; Danny, who mixes the best drinks and does an informative tequila tasting session; and Chef de Village Eduardo, who has a great mix of energy and management skills.
We've traveled in Europe and other places in Mexico including nearby Zihuatenejo, and find that this Club Med gives the best overall experience for the whole family -- a great mix of fun sports and relaxation with no need to drive a car anywhere. The sea kayaking and tennis are top notch.
Only negatives are: several parents of teens are typically out frantically searching for their teens at midnight or one a.m. because the teen activities go insanely late into the night and Club could do better job of getting those teens back to their rooms at a decent hour; and the restaurant hostesses should try to seat guests with other guests instead of alone at a table -- the old style in years past was to seat guests from different parts of the world together, which was a great way to give the family a cross-cultural experience.
Still, we'll be back, because this place is beautiful and has it all -- in fact, I wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tim52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
3.0 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Ixtapa Pacific

Property: Club Med Ixtapa Pacific
Address: Playa Quieta | Estado de Guerrero, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Ixtapa Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico during your stay at Ixtapa Pacific, a heavenly Mexican hacienda-style all-inclusive resort, elected as one of the ‘world’s best’ family resorts by Trip Advisor. Travel to Club Med Ixtapa Pacific and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in spectacular sceneries, as the resort is nestled between the Sierra Madre mountains and the shores of the Pacific Ocean. A hassle-free stay for you, an adventure for your kids: practice your favorite sports, indulge at the Spa* or relax on a lounge chair on the breathtaking beach while your children are entertained at Club Med's world-famous Children's Clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. Already one of the best family resort for those traveling with babies, this environmentally-friendly hideaway also offers activities for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Ixtapa Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific Hotel Ixtapa
Club Med Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo Club Med
Ixtapa Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing