We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”
Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krystal Ixtapa
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Krystal from Jan 2-9, 2014 and were less than impressed. It is definitely not a 4 star resort....2.5 stars at best! The food was absolutely disgusting! We did not eat one meal at the resort. The food was grey, unlabeled and soaking in water. The whole resort requires an upgrade. The age of the resort is apparent throughout. Rooms are outdated and dirty from years of use. Upon our arrival there was a wet piece of toilet paper on the floor by the toilet that stayed there for two days. The towels were thin, grey and stained (white and fluffy some days...inconsistent); the tub/shower was dirty and outdated; sheets were stained and cleanliness of top covers was questionable. The positives...food in town near the resort is excellent (thankfully); the beach is amazing (didn't use pool due to questionable cleanliness of the resort); the beds are comfortable; staff are friendly, helpful and honest - my husband lost his earring and the maid found it on the floor and left it on the bathroom counter. In summary, I would not recommend this resort. If you want anything more than a mediocre place (at best) to sleep and an excellent beach, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello!!

Thanks for take the time to let us know your comments about the service..that help us to be better.... we really sorry you didn´t spent a good time here, we´re working on it.. Thanks again
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
There are newer reviews for Krystal Ixtapa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well it was the first time we went to the Krystal and it is not a 4 star maybe a 2.... tops 2.5 stars. They serve boiled hotdogs and onions at every meal (if you could call it a meal). The breakfast was ok if you had eggs off the grill, lunch and dinner were just a joke. We ended up eating in town two to three times a day. The toilets have no seats on them in the ladies washrooms at the hotel lobby and the pool side washrooms. Water toys were 4 life jackets with googels and 3 skim boards, and you had to reserve them the day before.The beach is wonderfull,(broken lawn chairs and all) that is the only good thing we found that was consisdent, except they took the foamies away right after the mexican holiday was over. Staff was pleasent and worked hard. And yes this is were Mexicans come to vacation.If you go there go for a breakfast pakage deal instead of the all inculsive and eat in town. Town is great and beach was great.

Room Tip: go up to the top two floors, you seem to get served faster, we were on the 10th and it took 5-10 min...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelowna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Hello!!

Thanks for take the time to let us know your comments about the service..that help us to be better.... we´re working on your suggestions.. we really care to make a good vacation for you...


Thanks again
Ragards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We recently stayed in Ixtapa in November. We reserved the master suite at the Krystal Hotel, at the moment we arrived we saw the hotel empty, marks of mold all over the place. When we got checked in and finally went to our room we could immediately smell mold. There were no screens for the balcony, and the shower heads were broken. As soon as we turned on the air conditioning the smell of mold was so powerful, we only stayed one night and we were planning on 16. We tried to see if there was another room we could transfer to but the other ones that they showed us had even more of a terrible smell of mold. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, it was such a surprise to see the pictures online and what actually happened. We had to call the lobby 3 times to send somebody up to open the servi bar, which was not even plugged in or actually working. None of us could sleep that night we stayed, we did not want to turn on the air conditioning due to the smell, we decided to open the the screen doors for some fresh air but were worried if any little bugs would come in because there were no screens. The sheets of all the beds were very dirty and smelled really bad, it seemed like they have not washed them in a while. We were happy to get out of there the next morning, and to some place 1000 times better. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially a family.

Room Tip: "Don't be fooled by the pictures and the brochures"
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Good morning!!

Thanks for your suggestions... we really sorry that you didn´t have a great vacation staying with us... we´re working on it.. we hope you give us other chance to prove you our good service..

Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was our 4th time at this resort. We had a great time. The hotel and the grounds were very clean. The staff has been there for years and were wonderful. Our room was an ocean view and in very good shape. We come during the low season and we get the best service.
The food does need improvement. We do not buy the all inclusive. The buffet is not very good to our taste. The menu items are ok. We enjoy the restaurants across the street and in Z.
Their beachfront is fantastic, but they do need to clean it up regularly like they do the pool area.
We will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe ocean front room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hello!!

Thanks for your comments... we´re glad to hear you had good vacations..
We would like you to be here in a future..we´re working on your suggestions and don´t forget that we are here to pamper you...

Have a nice day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I recently spent a week at the Krystal. This was at least my 4th time staying here. The hotel has changed dramatically since my last visit. I will not stay here again and I would recommend that you do not either. The hotel has morphed from an American tourist hotel to a Mexican family hotel which is fine as long as you want this type of place to stay. The great seaside restaurant has been closed and much of the food is now buffet style. There were two fist fights at the pool by people fighting over lounge chairs. There was a domestic incident in the hallway outside our room that the police were called to quell. The "security" man at the pool was downright hostile to Americans. He allowed Mexican swimmers to wear T-shirts in the pool but he made Americans take them off, no matter how sunburned they were. A very nasty fellow this "security" man. Our room was in disrepair. I am 6 feet and 200 pounds and I could hardly get the balcony door to open or close due to corrosion. The cabinet doors in our room were hanging by one hinge. The air conditioner worked only periodically and was worked on often by the hotel staff with limited success. No other rooms were available to move to. After many wonderful stays at the Krystal I am sorry to say that I will not stay here again. There are many better places to stay in Ixtapa than the Krystal.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms are great for view. Check room mechanicals/balocony door and amenities first for w...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Minneapolisdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Hello Good afternoon!!

Thanks for your suggestions... we really sorry that you didn´t have a great vacation staying with us... we´re working on it.. we hope you give us other chance to prove you our good service..

Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stay here every year in February for 1 month with 5 other couples. Our friend "Big Mike" has been going here for 20 years. We love the location as it is central to everything in Ixtapa and located at the center point of the big beach. The staff outside are great, Jose, Annabel, Martha and Jesus are fantastic and they always provide us with great service and always welcome us back and remember everyone by name. The pool is awesome and never overcrowded. Front desk people are ok and friendly, as is Liceth and Diana. We dont go ALL INCLUSIVE as we enjoy the restaurants in town and buckets of beer at the pool are cheap. We stay on 8th floor or above as we think these are the nicest rooms and views. Be back Feb. 7th 2014 for our annual party, see u there and say HI..

Room Tip: Stay above the 7th floor for newer room and fantastic view. All rooms are ocean view so DONT pay ext...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mexlover49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello!!

Thanks for let us know you comments... we´re glad that you had a great vacation... we´ll be waiting for you on February 7th 2014

Have a nice week!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have visited Ixtapa at least 8 times and always stay at the Krystal. You cannot beat the location. The service in all areas of the hotel is excellent. We decided to try the all inclusive on our most recent visit. It was a good value for breakfast and lunch and drinks during the day. We passed on the dinner buffet because it was nothing really special and we have our favorite restaurants in town where we like to dine. Some renovations have been done in recent years but it still needs a little work, especially the palapa area. They need new furniture out there. The bathrooms in the public areas are also a little shabby and need some updating. Another disappointing feature was that they don't cash traveler's checks or exchange money at the front desk anymore. It was a hassle to go to the bank to get cash. It would also be helpful if they could be a little more helpful with knowing Mass times in local churches.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSNfromNorthfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello!!

Thanks for take the time to let us know your comments about the service..that help us to be better.... we´re working on your suggestions.. we really care to make a great vacation for you...


Thanks again
Ragards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa, s/n 4 y 4A Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £52 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krystal Ixtapa awaits you with 255 recently refurbished rooms & suites, all offering cozy contemporary style, and extraordinary ocean views from your private terrace. You can truly relax with your choice of one of the best beaches or the most spectacular swimming pool in Ixtapa, with its own waterfall & waterslide! Located very close to the golf course, marina, and shopping, you will be able to truly experience all that Ixtapa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Krystal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Resort Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Ixtapa
Ixtapa Krystal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing