We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location with tired rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Krystal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krystal Ixtapa
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
penticton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with tired rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We need a 2 day stay in Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa between condo stays. After reviewing comments on Trip Advisor (all hotels had mixed reviews) we visited 3 hotels and chose to stay at the Krystal Ixtapa due to the atmosphere, pool setup and price. It was a good choice.

We loved the busy atmosphere with a mixture of Canadian, American and Mexican guests, including several families. The staff were friendly and efficient. The lobby, pools and grounds were well maintained.

Our room on the 5th floor faced south east with an amazing view to the ocean and eastern hills. It was large with a fairly comfortable king sized bed, a good sized desk, a sitting area and a balcony big enough for two to sit. The necessary air conditioning (in the afternoon) worked well. The room was tired and could have used a coat of paint and new drapes. The bathroom was very tired with a shabby feel and leaking taps. However, everything worked.

The swimming pool area is great and busy. The beach is great for tide line walking, which was a very popular activity. The hotel is a ten minute stroll from the commercial center of Ixtapa with many restaurant options.

One of the three elevators was out of service. The other 2 were slow. Sometimes there were waits for service. However, the waits prompted interaction with other guests.

One frustration was with the wifi. On our first day I found the strongest signal of several for the resort and connected easily. On day two, the same signal required a password? The front desk told me no passwords were required. I finally took my laptop to the front desk and showed them the logon screen. They had no answer and suggested I use the lobby signal which was not password protected. Not an ideal solution, but it sufficed.

At a price of less than one hundred dollars a day, we felt we received great value and would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: To us, we loved the view and exposure of the rooms that face northeast. The other wing faces northwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hello !!

Thanks for let us know your comments about the service, we´re glad to hear that you spent a good vacations here, we like to pamper you so we´re going to be waiting for you the next vacation... have a good day..

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    202
    175
    103
    113
See reviews for
262
180
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Not at all like package was advertised. 1 restaurant with snack bar, same food every day and night never saw as many hot dogs and pasta ever in our stay at any resort. Location was good but I would recommend this resort to be only sold as a hotel not an all inclusive package. We felt very much like a second class citizen wearing an all inclusive bracelet as the waiters would just walk by us and the food was very limited whereas other friends we met there paying for each meal would get much higher service and better food by ordering of the menu. Even a simple thing like bacon was not available for all inclusive but we could get if we paid for it. We were also told nightly entertainment and we had 2 shows for a 10 night stay, the daily activities were only held also when the Mexicans were there on weekends but during week they said they didn't have enough people to even pay for prizes for even a game of bingo around the pool so no activities for 7 days. Our rooms were better since we moved to floor 8 but heard horror stories of rooms below us on lower levels. Public washrooms were very bad no toilet seat to even sit on for women. We loved ixtapa and would return but defiantly not to this hotel. We have traveled lots and are fully aware of the stars and would not give this hotel anymore then a 2 but is defiantly falsely advertised as being a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are best on top floors from 7 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi!!
Thanks for your suggestions... we really sorry that you didn't spent a good vacation with us... we´re working on it and we hope you give us another chance to prove you our good service..
I really hope to see you again!!
Have a nice day..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Krystal from Jan 2-9, 2014 and were less than impressed. It is definitely not a 4 star resort....2.5 stars at best! The food was absolutely disgusting! We did not eat one meal at the resort. The food was grey, unlabeled and soaking in water. The whole resort requires an upgrade. The age of the resort is apparent throughout. Rooms are outdated and dirty from years of use. Upon our arrival there was a wet piece of toilet paper on the floor by the toilet that stayed there for two days. The towels were thin, grey and stained (white and fluffy some days...inconsistent); the tub/shower was dirty and outdated; sheets were stained and cleanliness of top covers was questionable. The positives...food in town near the resort is excellent (thankfully); the beach is amazing (didn't use pool due to questionable cleanliness of the resort); the beds are comfortable; staff are friendly, helpful and honest - my husband lost his earring and the maid found it on the floor and left it on the bathroom counter. In summary, I would not recommend this resort. If you want anything more than a mediocre place (at best) to sleep and an excellent beach, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hello!!

Thanks for take the time to let us know your comments about the service..that help us to be better.... we really sorry you didn´t spent a good time here, we´re working on it.. Thanks again
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Well it was the first time we went to the Krystal and it is not a 4 star maybe a 2.... tops 2.5 stars. They serve boiled hotdogs and onions at every meal (if you could call it a meal). The breakfast was ok if you had eggs off the grill, lunch and dinner were just a joke. We ended up eating in town two to three times a day. The toilets have no seats on them in the ladies washrooms at the hotel lobby and the pool side washrooms. Water toys were 4 life jackets with googels and 3 skim boards, and you had to reserve them the day before.The beach is wonderfull,(broken lawn chairs and all) that is the only good thing we found that was consisdent, except they took the foamies away right after the mexican holiday was over. Staff was pleasent and worked hard. And yes this is were Mexicans come to vacation.If you go there go for a breakfast pakage deal instead of the all inculsive and eat in town. Town is great and beach was great.

Room Tip: go up to the top two floors, you seem to get served faster, we were on the 10th and it took 5-10 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelowna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hello!!

Thanks for take the time to let us know your comments about the service..that help us to be better.... we´re working on your suggestions.. we really care to make a good vacation for you...


Thanks again
Ragards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We recently stayed in Ixtapa in November. We reserved the master suite at the Krystal Hotel, at the moment we arrived we saw the hotel empty, marks of mold all over the place. When we got checked in and finally went to our room we could immediately smell mold. There were no screens for the balcony, and the shower heads were broken. As soon as we turned on the air conditioning the smell of mold was so powerful, we only stayed one night and we were planning on 16. We tried to see if there was another room we could transfer to but the other ones that they showed us had even more of a terrible smell of mold. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, it was such a surprise to see the pictures online and what actually happened. We had to call the lobby 3 times to send somebody up to open the servi bar, which was not even plugged in or actually working. None of us could sleep that night we stayed, we did not want to turn on the air conditioning due to the smell, we decided to open the the screen doors for some fresh air but were worried if any little bugs would come in because there were no screens. The sheets of all the beds were very dirty and smelled really bad, it seemed like they have not washed them in a while. We were happy to get out of there the next morning, and to some place 1000 times better. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, especially a family.

Room Tip: "Don't be fooled by the pictures and the brochures"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Good morning!!

Thanks for your suggestions... we really sorry that you didn´t have a great vacation staying with us... we´re working on it.. we hope you give us other chance to prove you our good service..

Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was our 4th time at this resort. We had a great time. The hotel and the grounds were very clean. The staff has been there for years and were wonderful. Our room was an ocean view and in very good shape. We come during the low season and we get the best service.
The food does need improvement. We do not buy the all inclusive. The buffet is not very good to our taste. The menu items are ok. We enjoy the restaurants across the street and in Z.
Their beachfront is fantastic, but they do need to clean it up regularly like they do the pool area.
We will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello!!

Thanks for your comments... we´re glad to hear you had good vacations..
We would like you to be here in a future..we´re working on your suggestions and don´t forget that we are here to pamper you...

Have a nice day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I recently spent a week at the Krystal. This was at least my 4th time staying here. The hotel has changed dramatically since my last visit. I will not stay here again and I would recommend that you do not either. The hotel has morphed from an American tourist hotel to a Mexican family hotel which is fine as long as you want this type of place to stay. The great seaside restaurant has been closed and much of the food is now buffet style. There were two fist fights at the pool by people fighting over lounge chairs. There was a domestic incident in the hallway outside our room that the police were called to quell. The "security" man at the pool was downright hostile to Americans. He allowed Mexican swimmers to wear T-shirts in the pool but he made Americans take them off, no matter how sunburned they were. A very nasty fellow this "security" man. Our room was in disrepair. I am 6 feet and 200 pounds and I could hardly get the balcony door to open or close due to corrosion. The cabinet doors in our room were hanging by one hinge. The air conditioner worked only periodically and was worked on often by the hotel staff with limited success. No other rooms were available to move to. After many wonderful stays at the Krystal I am sorry to say that I will not stay here again. There are many better places to stay in Ixtapa than the Krystal.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms are great for view. Check room mechanicals/balocony door and amenities first for w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minneapolisdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liceth D, Public Relations Manager at Krystal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hello Good afternoon!!

Thanks for your suggestions... we really sorry that you didn´t have a great vacation staying with us... we´re working on it.. we hope you give us other chance to prove you our good service..

Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Ixtapa

Property: Krystal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd Ixtapa, s/n 4 y 4A Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Krystal Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krystal Ixtapa awaits you with 255 recently refurbished rooms & suites, all offering cozy contemporary style, and extraordinary ocean views from your private terrace. You can truly relax with your choice of one of the best beaches or the most spectacular swimming pool in Ixtapa, with its own waterfall & waterslide! Located very close to the golf course, marina, and shopping, you will be able to truly experience all that Ixtapa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krystal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krystal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Hotel Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Resort Ixtapa
Nh Krystal Ixtapa
Ixtapa Krystal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing