We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great vacation in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great vacation in Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our 9th year in a row @ the Presidente in Ixtapa. Once again the staff and weather were awesome. We have never ever had a rainy day during our years of vacationing there and the weather is always nice and warm.The hotel staff from top to bottom are wonderful,the pool bar is a great hang out for everyone to meet new friends. The beach games are also wonderful,The entertainment crew are the best around also.
The only Problem we had was with American Airlines. We missed our 1st day stay there because the plane did not leave on time so we missed our connecting flight.
The hotel room we stayed in which have had for the past 6 years was clean and well kept up to date.
We will be there for our 10th year god willing that is. Only he will stop me from this wonderful paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brybs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    389
    226
    137
    126
See reviews for
450
353
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Only about 25% occupancy when we visited (End of February 2013). Only 1 of 3 buffets were open at a time but that was sufficient considering the lack of people. On weekends local residents (Mexicans) boosted the occupancy which was good in the case of entertainment. During the week there really wasn't any shows other than Bingo or Karaoke. At least on the weekend they had live shows. No need to book a la cartes, There was only 1 and it moved from restaurant to restaurant each night. First room probably hadn't been used in a while, musty smelling and no balcony. They moved us immediately when we requested another room. 2nd room was quite nice, clean, and quiet overlooking quiet swimming pool.
The area outside appeared very safe (with cops walking around with their large guns). We never felt as if we were in danger. Only complaint outside were the number of time sharing people (known locally as sharks)

Room Tip: If you have a problem sleeping with noise in the background ask NOT to be close to the sports bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annibells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Annibells,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

It was a nice place to stay, the service here was very good and they were all very considerate. The place is very clean and whatever you need they will try to get it for you. The food on the other hand is mediocre at best, unless you are willing to order the menu that cost extra (the food off there was very good). But being an all inclusive I didn't really expect that much from the food. The staff a there at the hotel are number one, an A+. Overall I would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_Travel_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Positives: Nice setting – lobby and low rise buildings very well done in Mexican décor. Beach was clean and great to walk on – nicely spaced beach chairs with palapas. Sea was rough when we were there. Great service and friendly staff.


Negatives: Food could be improved, specifically the buffet. The a la carte was o.k. Biggest disappointment was that besides on Mexican night, I did not hear any Mexican music or mariachis. Noisy on two nights (we were there 1 week) with outside events that kept us up.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peru, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I spent our Valentine/Anniversary here and were in awe of its beauty. Jorge ( or George to some) was most helpful. We transferred from an 18th floor to ocean view to 17th with a balcony facing Playa Palmar. It was clean and the staff were friendly and worked hard. The hotel was well managed as seen by the numerous events that took place all week: A formal wedding on the beach, the same night as a Mexican fiesta in the plaza. A couple of conferences took place and a Mexican BBQ on the beach. We went on a 6k bike tour thru the town and Treks to the marina stopping to take photos, accompanied by a staff member. When we caught a 100 lb Sailfish, we took half back to the hotel and Jorge arranged with the Chef to prepare a feast for us Jorge became a friend and was visible as a low keyed manager. The wait staff were all professional and had a warmth they shared with the guests.

Room Tip: e mail concierge prior to arrival with any requests or ask at desk. Towers with balcony is great. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to post your comment in TA.

Our staff is the soul of the hotel and every day they do their best to make your stay a memorable stay. All the team work to make this hotel one of the best Resort in Ixtapa based on the service and our knowledge.

The bike tour is excellent is discover Ixtapa because our staff will take you to the Playa linda crossing the ecologic park when you could appreciate the fauna and the flora of Ixtapa. And another activity very important for the destination is the Deep fishing… We do not need to be ashamed because we had sailfish (good catch), Dorado, Tuna, Rooster fish etc… Of course if you catch your fish, our chef will be more than happy to cook it for you.

Thank you for sharing your experience in our resort and we hope to welcome you again… By the way: Happy Anniversary.

Best regards,

SMC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired AF Wisc guy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

There were 10 of us, five couples, staying from Sunday to Sunday.
Check in went quickly. The staff was courteous. We found that not all the rooms had safes, so several in our group changed rooms rather than store money and valuables at the desk. Our room did have a safe.
The initial impression of the room wasn't good. The floor was dirty, there was still trash in the waste baskets, and visible mold in the bathroom. Also, the room was uncomfortably hot and humid. But after tinkering with the thermostat, it cooled down nicely and the maids kept the room quite clean after that. I think they had been rushed when we first arrived. We were on the 19th of 20 floors in the tower. We didn't want to switch rooms, as the view of the ocean was magnificent. The elevators (two of them) were fast, so we never waited long for one. I enjoyed the view from them, as they were scenic elevators, with glass walls (not for those with acrophobia). The TV got very few English-speaking stations. I only found three or four, and no premium movie channels.
The food was good, and there was a pretty good variety. None of us got sick, so that is saying something. It's very casual. I didn't even bring long pants, and didn't need them. There was a snack bar open all afternoon that served hamburgers, hot dogs, french fries, and nachos. Some in our group called the burgers "hockey pucks" since they were usually a bit overcooked. Well, better than being undercooked. They still tasted good. I liked the hot dogs after adding mustard, ketchup, salsa, and nacho cheese.
The waiters and bartenders were all friendly and gave you what you asked for. It took a while to find this out, but there were top shelf brands available if you asked for them. They normally poured local brands, but there was Absolut vodka, Johnny Walker scotch, Jim Beam, etc. in cabinets under the bar. The only beer they had was Sol, both light and dark. It was pretty good. Many people brought Big Bubba mugs, which are getting very popular. With a little ice, they keep drinks cold for much of the day. The bartenders were happy to fill them with whatever we wanted.
The pool was very clean. The reason was, they didn't allow food to be taken into the pool area. So there were hardly any birds hopping around, pooping and looking for scraps. This made a lot of sense to me. At the towel exchange, the attendant was very friendly and always had big, absorbant towels ready. He also had a book exchange.
Beach chairs were readily available any time of the day, except near weekends. From Sunday to Thursday we never had to reserve a beach chair. Thursday afternoon started getting busy, with Mexican families coming in. By Friday and Saturday, the number of guests seemed to have tripled, most of them Mexican families with children. The restaurants were harder to get into and many non-Mexican guests were getting annoyed at the number of children splashing around and squirting their little water cannons everywhere and taking up room around the pool bar. So this was the most disappointing part of the trip. By Sunday, when we were leaving, things were quieting down. The resort should do something to keep the children in line so guests aren't tripping over them, getting splashed or squirted by them, or fighting to get through them to the bar (where they shouldn't be anyway).
I only went to two places off the resort. One was Ixtapa Island; the other was a restaurant called The Blue Shrimp, which I will review.
I would visit this resort again. But I would try and time my visit to begin on Tuesday or Wednesday, and plan off-resort activities for Friday and Saturday to avoid those crowds.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poropointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was our 10th visit to Inter-Continental Presidente Ixtapa and as always we had a wonderful time! All of the staff are amazing and I do not understand the comment about activities announced only in Spanish! This has never been true in the 10 times we have been there. No food at the pool is absolutely the best thing they ever did! Tourists are so lazy they would leave their plates of leftover food sitting around and the birds were swarming in to grab it - kids would leave their food - birds would come and grab food off their plates and then the kids would come back and continue eating after the birds were pecking at their food! It was disgusting! Sorry to the person that wants to "eat with the birds around the pool".

We will be back next year for another amazing 2 weeks!

Room Tip: If you have a room in the tower or near the sports bar it will be noisier - but by no later than mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlwait08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing