We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I spent months researching where to vacation. Finally picked Ixtapa. Spent weeks obsessing about where to stay. Like many of you I read hundreds of reviews. I have traveled quite a bit in the past. My traveling companion has not traveled.

The best part was the weather. It was amazing every day.

The property is located on a great section of the beach.

The place needs work, we did notice that improvements were trying to made daily.

We had a pool view room which I would recommend. With the pool views you can also see the ocean. Our balcony was big enough for two chairs and a table. We used it daily.

The service and food was ok at best. We did tip frequently. Did not notice any better service than those who never tipped. The best meal we had was Wednesday night on the beach. The beef, pork and chicken was grilled and it was good. We met a lot of people who come here yearly and most go off sight to eat every night.

The place is over run with locals on the weekends, which I did read about on here. It was impossible to get a chair by the pool unless you were down there by 6am. All were reserved with towels, kids toys, etc. The disappointing part was that no one was using the reserved chairs.

Get a massage they are $15.00 for an hour. We went two times. Walk about 1/2 mile down the beach to the right of the property. Hut 1 and 21 were both great.

After reading so much about Carlos I did seek him out right away. He is a great guy. Works the right side of the beach.

Beware of beach vendors we did get ripped off on jewelry claiming it was silver. It wasn't but I still love it and will wear it a lot.

Oh almost forgot if you venture off sight look out for the Azul grand people. They usually wear bright blue shirts. These people are ruthless. Avoid them at all cost unless you want to be stranded at their property. Looking for your own cab to get out of there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanekali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear kanekali,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that our location was convenient for your needs and our service and food menu were up to par with your expectations. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

The rooms have had some improvements, new mattresses,in room safes and mini frigs. The staff was great as always, this is our 4th year there. The only grip we have is the kids being allowed to be seated at the swim up bar in the pool.

Room Tip: Ocean and poolside rooms are the only way to go...weel worth it
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The rooms aren't glamorous, but as a whole, the hotel is amazing. I'd suggest an ocean view room because the view is beautiful! And the sunsets are in incredible. Not all rooms have a balcony, so be sure to ask for one if that is important to you. Consider though that the balconies on the "tower" have a wall that you cannot see over when sitting down. The beds are hard, so I'd suggest bringing a mattress topper to soften it up if you prefer or need more cushioning.
THE BEACH - It's absolutely beautiful!! There is soft white sand, water that's warm enough to swim in, and waves that roll in but aren't too treacherous.
FOOD - The breakfast and lunch buffets were great - your typical all-inclusive hotel meals. At breakfast they have lots of fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, pancakes, etc. They also had a grill where they did make-to-order omelets. For lunch, they had a salad bar plus a number of hot food options. At the grill, you can get fresh-made tacos. Real Mexican ones with fresh fish, pork, or beef (they change each day), plus fresh avocado and salsa. Don't miss it!
We met quite a few people who had stayed at this hotel multiple times. The general consensus was that this all-inclusive hotel is a great value and the service is great.
We loved our trip and want to come back again to Ixtapa and the Presidente, so that's a great sign that you'll have a good trip too! The sun and beach are waiting for you!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side of the pool (as you look to the ocean) are quieter. The other side has th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Well we just spent 9 nights at the El Presidente, and everything was great as always, it's been 3 years since our last visit and saw I some nice improvments. Inroom safes and refrigerators were finally installed since last visit, which is a must when on vacation, maybe a mini bar next time? The weather was great as usual, and the staff is the best ever, this was my 18th time to Mexico, the El Presidente is home. The food was good with a decent selection, between the 4 of us we found someting to suit our taste.
Then you have the cast of staff who make your stay the best, Jesus and Carlos at the pool, Cleo at the towel both, Carmen at the sport bar and of course Jorge the concierge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Please don't visit this place, it was just horrible:

NO WIFI
Old
Dirty
Loud Customers
Bad service
Etc...

I couldn't stay for more than 1 day, it was simply the worst experience we could have, obviously don't even think of bringing children, everyone was wasted at the "pool".

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeronimo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidente_Ixtapa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from this beautiful destination Ixtapa – Zihuatanejo. First of all, thank you for taking time to post your comments in TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important for us, in order to improve our work and to give better experiences to our guest.

In regards to your comments we would like to share that the hotel has Wi Fi service in 138 rooms of our inventory, our clients should pay a fee for this service in room, although we have it available free of charge in some areas like lobby, sport bar and business center. We are a hotel family oriented, as a consequence we have different activities running during the day in the pool. We understand that not all the guests want to be involved in the activities organized by the staff during the day, that is why there is a section of the pool where we do not have music and people can rest in a different ambient.

Finally I would like to inform you that the hotel has been in a renovation process since 2011 when we did renovate 70% of our room inventory. At the end of 2013 we renovated La Isla restaurant, all the palapas in the beach area, the pool bar and we are continuing the process to keep our facilities up to date.

We really appreciate your opinion and hope in a near future you to give us an opportunity to be your host once again.

Best regards
The General Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just got back from our holiday at the President Inter-Continental in Ixtapa and once again we are already planning next year! We have found this hotel with this staff to be the most amazing "jewel". We have also noticed over the year many renovations have taken place and updates. There is a new chef on site and he has raised the flavor and options. Buffet for lunch and supper has a good variety of options with a mix of Mexican and N. American food choices. The a la cart restaurants have a wonderful addition with Abel - a true gentleman who is the host. Wonderful time - wonderful people we meet there!

One of the joys of this resort is that it is not spread out - so if you forget your sunscreen you don't have a long trek back to your room. It is easy to meet people at the swim up bar, at the pool or at the beach lounge area.

Our list of people wanting and coming with us next year is growing - once you go there you always want to come back! We sure do.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are a real plus - well worth the little extra. Also being a member of the Ambassad...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We just returned from a week in Ixtapa. We stayed at the Presidente and were so pleased we chose this resort. The beds are great, the grounds are clean, the food is good, the beach is outstanding and the staff are the best!! I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a fantasitc holiday. When we first arrived at the pool we met some people who were heading home, they had tears in their eyes as they said good bye to the staff, they had been coming back to the Presidente for years and the staff were like family....they promised us we would have a wonderful trip and they were right. High Fives go out to Carlos, Thomas and Jorge.....We can't wait to come back! Thank you all for making our holiday perfect!!!! Close to everything you would need...we ate at Emillio's and had pizza - I highly recommend it...as well as Franks, but the food on the resort is wonderful too.

Room Tip: Beach front was great but the Superior Pool View rooms would be great as well....the Lobby bar can b...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzinkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
848 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £95 - £1,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing