We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect vacation resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect vacation resort!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff are wonderful, Abel is my favorite waiter. The food is amazing, the hotel is clean and it seems to attract a good group of guest! The disco was really fun with no rowdies/drunks! I have no complaints. We are planning to go back next year. I have also stayed at many resorts over the years and this is the first time we plan to go back to the same resort! This is mostly due to the great staff. This is also a great resort for families.

Room Tip: I would choose the pool view room and not the tower as its too far away from the activities. The dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    397
    230
    140
    129
See reviews for
462
358
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have now stayed here 9 times and each was a great experience. Hotel staff is highly cstomer service oriented. Management from the top down is quality, quality, quality. Jorge at Concierge; Hugo in activitiies and entertainment; Abel in the restaurant; even Cleo the towel man -- they are all amazing.

Suggestion for those from Canada and the USA who do not speak Spanish. Do not go during Easter season (week before or week after. More crowded, with more children and virtually all will be from Mexico. Unless you speak Spanish pretty well, you likely will not get a chance to meet many new people (which we find a very nice benefit of vacations).

Room Tip: The tower provides fabulous views. Nice rooms on the "quiet pool" side will be great if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Unfortunately we've only spent a weekend in this hotel, but it was great. We had a really nice and big room with a balcony and ocean view. There was even an ironing board and an iron.
The food was good and plenty. The waitresses were always very friendly.
There are plenty of sunbeds on the beach and there are two pools: One for relaxing and one more "active" one. The best thing was the swim-up pool bar.
On Saturday evening there was a Mexican night with lots of Mexican food and shows.
The only thing we were disappointed about was that at midnight the bar closed...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for several years now and we will keep on returning. All of the staff are wonderful. It is so easy to enjoy yourself without ever leaving the property. If you are traveling with a large group of friends this is the way to go. Jorge, the head concierge bends over backwards to help. Abel, the head waiter is awesome and attentive. Carlos is the best drink server on the beach. Get to know these wonderful people and you will have a great experience. Beth McGregor

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bethiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We really had a wonderful time. Everything we needed was provided.If they did not have what we wanted at the buffet or on the menu, they made it up especially for us. Pool, ocean, room, etc. all excellent! We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buicken1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have been visiting here for over 10 years. The staff is wonderful and like family. They remember us every time we return. The wonderful weather brings us back each year. The nearby shopping, golf and the ease to get around makes it fun for everyone. The beaches are clean and great for walking. The waves are a little much but adventurous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandywalker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a wonderful experience during our 5 day stay at this resort. All we had to do was wake up and enjoy the day. In particular, we would like to focus on reviewing their planned entertainment. Kudos to the entertainment staff which had a variety of activities set for the day and they made every event fun and enjoyable and are very professional. We would start our morning with a wonderful planned activity and then enjoy the rest of the day laying under a palapa in the beautiful beach and sipping delicious drinks at the pool bar. Planned activities included a a beautiful guided morning bicycle tour to Playa Linda to fun pool activities with the the super funny "Chiquis", Zumba at the beach with Ivan and the excellent FREE tennis lessons with a Enrique ( a very good tennis instructor). Truly , truly enjoyed it. We would like to make recommendations on two items. The tennis court and the bicycle helmets. It would be nice to have some type of helmet cap underneath the helmet for sanitary purposes. Wearing a smelly and wet helmet was not to enticing . Also, it would be great if the courts could be lighted so guests can also play at night and not under the heavy sun. Overall, this resort scores with us from good to excellent in the other areas which include food, service, and facilities. LOVED IT and WILL COME BACK WITH THE FAMILY !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Lote 2, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly InterContinental Presidente)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Intercontinental Ixtapa
Intercontinental Ixtapa
Ixtapa Presidente
Presidente Hotel Ixtapa
Presidente Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing