We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Air Conditioning in entire property!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villas Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
raleigh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No Air Conditioning in entire property!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

As far as I am concerned, I am happy to accept modest or outdated accomodations. I don't need the place to be fancy. I would be willing to put up with the filthy floor, the outdated and overpainted rooms. However I feel that two things are vital to a hotel room in a cliamte where teh typical daytime temperature is 90 degrees. Every hotel room nees a bed and it needs air conditioning. However I was told, after checking in, that the hotel has a policy of only turning on the air conditioning from 10:30 at night until 7 in the morning. You might think that it wouldnt be too hot by 9 in the morning, but it is still quite humid.

I did notice that Orbitz and Expedia did say that no refunds were allowed after seeing the room, which I thought was suspicious. Nonetheless I had assumed that it was just because too many foo-foo Americans just didnt think that it lived up to their five-star expectations. I really wasnt afraid. After all, I have stayed at $5.night hotels where the bed was just a piece of foam. I really thought that I could accept it whatever it was like. But I cannot accept no air conditioning!

The staff policy also seems to be to lie in whatever way possible to placate the client, and then do nothing. When I called upon arrival, I was told that they would turn on the AC "early" (9pm), and then hook up the individual unit in my room. (There was a brand new unit in the room, it just needed an extention cord). The next morngin we left to spend the day at the beach, and I told the front desk again that somebody needed to plug in the air conditioner. I was told by that lady as well that of course it would be done. Of course nobody did anything. Moreove when we returned at 6pm that night, we found the door to our room was wide open. Not just unlocked, but wide open. The maid had done the beds, so I know that we couldn't have possibly have been the ones to leave it open. There was my $500. PDA blinking its little light right in view from the hallway. Luckily nobody had stolen anything, but the door must have been like that for hours.

We reported to the front desk (the phone was did not work, so we had to go down in person). They pretended thast they would "make a report" and that someone would come fix the airconditoner. We already knew not to believe them.

Yes, the beds were rock hard, the pillows felt like they were made out of rags, not foam. The pool was murky and disgusting (we decided not to use it). The floor and bathroom was moldy and filthy. But if the air conditioning had worked, then that stuff probably would not have bothered me.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    11
    6
    5
    21
See reviews for
31
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

I travel to many cities for business. Only rare hotels like this one are in my list for vacations. What actually sets this hotel apart is how it makes you feel. Most hotels have the same stuff and make you feel like another customer, or they fill you up with propaganda and useless stuff. Villas Paraiso is that hotel that has a personnality in Ixtapa. Its a place to relax and feel, smell and see nature out of your window. The rooms are great and the service is impecable. The workers don't look like robots, they laugh and enjoy working there. In other words, VIllas Paraiso is like a hotel with life, nature and freedom. The kids love to play hide and seek in the back garden or just play in the large pool. The food by the way is delicious. The hotel is close to everything and i cant stand those awful commercial, huge hotels that treat you like a insect. I know alot of hotels and this is one of my favourites. Dont hesitate to take a couple of nights there and you will see exactly what i mean.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danu91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

Excellent little hotel in ixtapa, very friendly staff, rooms with kitchenette so you can cook, great option to save $$ in the long run as this is one of the lowest priced options in Ixtapa, but with all the amenities of an apartment.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank michel_aubry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, qc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

The first time I went to Hotel Villas Paraiso, I was twelve and it was summer. We booked a Master suite for a whole month and really got to know the place, staff and restaurants In Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. The only thing I could tell my mother is that no Christmas gift could match staying there.

I've been returning every year or two, and I always stay at Villas Paraiso.

Now, Ixtapa is much more commercial and less clean than it was 8 years ago, but it's still a very nice place and Villas Paraiso's friendly staff and large rooms with kitchenettes make long stays comfortable.

And on days we didn't want to cook, the restaurant has a Swiss gourmet chef!

And contrarily to most hotels in the area, this one sometimes presents cultural events. When I was there, they had received St Petersburg's ballet. Amazing!

This is definitely one of Ixtapa's hidden jewels.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madgab87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixtapa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

I stayed in the Villas Paraiso hotel the when I was not living in Ixtapa, the service is great and the food is amazing!!! I did a lot of birdwatching in the gardens of the hotels which have a lot of trees and flowers and a very big pool. The rooms are really big and clean. I now live in Ixtapa and I keep on coming to the hotel just to enjoy the delicious Mexican homemade style food they have. They have always welcome me warmly and by now we've even become friends with the staff!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

Villas Paraiso is a well hidden small paradise minutes from the memorable beach of Ixtapa, quiet and cosy nook perfect for a romantic hideaway. With a large pool surrounded with blooming garden of splendid flowers and exotic trees and birds of all kinds, and all this for an incredibly affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanfantimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed at Tres Puertas some years ago. It was perfect for our family: own kitchen to do some simple cooking for our youngest, and quick meals for the rest of us, as we don't like to always have to find a restaurant. The family room was spaciuos, and comfortable. We had some problem with the water, but they solved it quite well. The garden is small, with a beautiful pool, both shade and sun. It is a very small hotel, so a stay here is also a way to get to know family life and culture. As I, mother in our family, got sick, we experienced their fantastic hospitality, with personal care and friendliness. We only ate our dinner in the hotel once, but it was fabulous! I can still remember the orange juice, with a scent av jasmine...

  • Liked — special, personal service
  • Disliked — water problems
  • Stayed October 2003, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny_74Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixtapa
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ixzi Plus Hotel
Ixzi Plus Hotel
#17 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#25 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suites Ixtapa Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Paraiso

Property: Hotel Villas Paraiso
Address: Paseo del Rincon Lote 1 | Manzana 3, Supermanzana III, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villas Paraiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Paraiso Hotel Playa La Ropa
Paraiso Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing