We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, relaxing vacation. snakes in the water!”
Review of Barcelo Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Ixtapa
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, relaxing vacation. snakes in the water!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was my 17th trip to Mexico, my 3rd to Ixtapa. The weather and the beach are magnificent. Barceló is a nice hotel if you are fortunate enough to get a room with a view. We were on the 9th floor with a view to die for. Some unfortunate people had a view of the parking lot! The staff was awesome as they are everywhere in Mexico.
My only complaint was the food. Perhaps I am spoiled, my last all inclusive was at the "Marival" in Nuevo Vallarta. I think the food the Marival threw away is what they fed us at the Barcalo. I talked to one couple who paid for all inclusive but refused to dine there.
Yes, there are snakes in the water. I saw one and talked to others who had seen them. The one I saw was white, about 4 feet long and swimming along the bottom in about 3 feet of water.

Room Tip: We were not guaranteed an ocean view but got one anyway. I think it's first come first served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the time you took to write your experience with the service at the hotel, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.
Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be pleased to serve you again
We thank you for your comments, I remain at your service.
Sincerely.
Angel Cruz Escudero
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    722
    320
    138
    71
See reviews for
1,319
527
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent a week at the Barceló - Feb 17 to the 25th. There is not too much I can say negative about the resort. Considering what we paid for a week the resort pretty much met our expectations.
The staff were wonderful. Always friendly and the service was good. The resort itself - rooms, grounds were clean. The food was ok. The girl at the omelette station did an amazing job. We only made it to one specialty restaurant, the Spanish one. Out of 6 of us, one person enjoyed their meal. For the most part, it was disgusting.
The drinks were ok. It would have been nice to have a drink menu. The bartenders were efficient. Beach/pool drink service was hit and miss. When Elder was working the pool the service was excellent
We went off the resort for two meals. We had pizza at the Generals. It was not that great. The service there is terrible. We also ate at Momma Normas - Deborahs. Not sure the exact name. Deborah is from Canada. The meal was outstanding and inexpensive. I would highly recommend the restaurant.
We went on a fishing trip booked through Larry on the beach. It was enjoyable. We all caught a fish. Also saw a whale and dolphins.
Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo is definitely our favorite winter destination. This was our fourth trip there. We have been to Jamaica, Antigua, Dominican, Cuba and other parts of Mexico - we will be back again next year. Weather is perfect, people are wonderful and the most value for our money.
When writing this review, I have done so basing it on the money we spent to stay here. Our expectations were relative to what we spent. I would def go again if we are able to get the trip for approximately the same cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlaur2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the time you took to write your experience with the service at the hotel, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.
Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be pleased to serve you again
We thank you for your comments, I remain at your service.
Sincerely.
Angel Cruz Escudero
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, SK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned a week ago from staying at the Barceló. Our group booked premium club, which is what I would highly recommend. The 8 - 12 floors are the premium rooms, and have been renovated. We were on the 12th floor - which has adjoining rooms, which are a little less soundproof than the floors below. I would probably not stay on floor 12 again. Our room did not have a deck with glass panels or a table or chairs, but we were hardly ever in the room, so did not really bother us. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the bathrooms had been updated. Fridge was stocked each morning with snacks, beer, coke, water, and iced tea.
We spent most of our days laying on the lounge chairs by the beach - the palm trees provide adequate shade and we never had a problem finding enough chairs in a row to accommodate 8 of us. The pools were clean and had lots of room to accommodate everyone, however, if you are a pool person, you need to claim a chair early in the morning, as they go quickly.
The food was great in the a la carte restaurants, and Raul makes the best Spanish coffee in Don Quixote restaurant. The Caracol restaurant poolside makes a delicious clubhouse with fries, and the buffets in the hotel and pool area offer a wide variety of dishes including fish, seafood, beef, chicken, and great omelettes in the morning.
The Premium Lounge opens at 7am - 11pm, while the pool bars only open at 11am. They have Baileys and Kahlua, so a morning coffee up in the lounge was a great way to start the day - they also have a few appetizer/main dish items up there to snack on as well.
The staff was friendly and always smiling, from the managers to the housekeeping staff. A special thank you to Armondo, Neph, Raul, Kevin, Sandra, Marbylauri, Lucy, Christine, and Laura for making us feel so welcome - and to the rest of the hard working staff...
We will definitely be making a trip back to this resort in the near future.

Room Tip: The rooms on floor 12 are adjoining rooms - might be great if you want to stay close to friends, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the time you took to write your experience with the service at the hotel, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.
Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be pleased to serve you again
We thank you for your comments, I remain at your service.
Sincerely.
Angel Cruz Escudero
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I and another couple are just back from a week here in mid Feb. Its a great option for one of the best beaches in all of Mexico. The food was fine , pool and swim-up bar great. Beach lounges were always available, a bit tougher to locate by the pool until later in the aft. which suited us fine. It would be so easy for the Barcelo chain to turn this into a better hotel, just renovate more bathrooms and get rid of the tropical mold found around the tubs. Ixtapa is a beautiful area and should be on everyone's Mexican resort town list.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cauckjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your comments, also we would like to tell you that we will update this year 168 bathrooms, to improve our facilities, we keep working on it.

We feel very proud to have you as a guest, and we hope that you come back soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me before your next visit and be able to personally attend you.

Warm greetings,
Sincerely,

Angel Cruz Escudero
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manaitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It's just as everyone else is saying. Tired.

Good points:
Soft beds. Great pools and swim up bars. Amzing location on an amazing beach. Turtle releases. Wristbands. Not many things not included in AI plan. Palm trees for shade on beach.

Bad points:
A la cartes weren't very good and men had to wear pants and shoes to Don Quixote, just not to the Sunset Grill. Towel game to save loungers. Slow service on patio for drinks. Street noise came through patio doors on street side. Mexican tourists given preferential rooms over Canadian tourists, admittedly by reservation manager.

Weird points:
Mexican night at the Barcelo is sold as an excursion at other resorts for $40 pp. The food was quite good but drink service was terrible and the show wasn't as good as we've seen elsewhere in Mexico. I wouldn't have paid for this if it was included in my AI plan while staying there.

We stayed at the Las Brisas on our second week and the food and the viewsand the rooms were 10 times better for practically the same price through Air Canada. If you are trying to decide between the 2 and you have no mobility issues and no kids coming along pick Las Brisas. If you have kids and you prefer a nice easy walk to activities, pick the Barcelo.

Room Tip: Pay for oceanview. The street side rooms are awful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyV63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the time you took to write your experience with the service at the hotel, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.
Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be pleased to serve you again
We thank you for your comments, I remain at your service.
Sincerely.
Angel Cruz Escudero
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtenay
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here early February and were very pleased with the location, beach and especially the terrific staff. The common areas are pleasant and evening entertainment was good. The rooms however, need renovating and a little more attention paid to general cleanliness and maintenance in common areas like hallways and elevators. The food was usual buffet fair, good but not exceptional. The pools were good, beach location perfect and as mentioned earlier, the staff were always friendly and ready to help.

Room Tip: I've heard that they have started renovating rooms from the top down, so try to get a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo for the 2nd time in two years Feb. 6-16th. The weather was perfect as always there, the beach is great, and the service was good also. We had a beautiful ocean view, but the bathroom is a little small. Our sink faucet leaked a little, and the hot water came up fast in the shower so you had to play around to get the right temperature. We are never in our room anyway, so it is not a big deal. I don't know why some of the reviews are so negative because any where you go in Mexico it is not going to be perfect. The food in the snack bars for lunch is good except for a couple of items. The club and fish were the best, and the pico de gallo and guacamole is excellent there. Across the street there are many great places to eat so spend some extra money and try them out because it is well worth it. Go to Franks, Reuben's Hamburgers, and El Faro on the hill. There are shows every night and the Mexican Fiesta is the best food of the week. The mariachi band is great, as well as all the acitvities people.

The bartenders Javier and Augustine were awesome, and the front desk employees were very helpful. The pool was a perfect temperature and there were no kids in the swim up bar area for a change, but there were too many bees by the pop machine and I don't remember it being that way before. This year you could not use American money in the gift shop, only pesos, so you had to have your passsport in order to exchange at the desk if you were going to buy something there. There is an OXXO across the street that has any amenities you may need too, and cheaper.

We got married in Mexico, and I contacted the Barcelo wedding planner at least 3 times and the travel agent we were originally working with did also to confirm our date, but we never heard back from anyone so we got married in Zihua instead on the beach. Everyone we met really wanted to see us get married on the beach in front of the Barcelo, so they were a little upset and said I should have complained. I was happy in Zihua at La Perla so it was not a big deal to me. I would definitely stay there again and agian.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room. We always sign up for a king but rarely get one, so they either don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMargie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear guest:

We appreciate first of all for staying at our hotel and we been waiting to have you here at your home pretty soon, we have read in detail your suggestions and comments, those would be taken into our notes.

We would like to pleased your room type request, that is why I,m asking you to send an email to ixtapa@barcelo.com, where we can follow anything you need.

Kind regards, and we recommend to subscribe to barcelo.com.

Thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ixtapa

Property: Barcelo Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa, s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Ixtapa***** is located in the heart of Ixtapa, right on "El Palmar" beach, one of the most attractive destinations in Mexico. It is the ideal place to go on family holidays, celebrate romantic weddings, organize successful business meetings and also to spend an unforgettable honeymoon. The Barcelo Ixtapa***** hotel offers a convenient way to enjoy your holidays and experience the Barcelo All Inclusive program. It also offers the perfect location for those guests wanting to experience excursions to other parts of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Hotel Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing