We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what we thought!”
Review of Barcelo Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Ixtapa
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not at all what we thought!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Where should I start??? I'll say the staff at the front desk were kind, that's about the only positive comment I have. The hotel is run down, packed to the gills with people, old throw-away broken white plastic furniture, food nearly horrible, beach property unkept, staff unfriendly. One of the most disturbing moments was when we passed hotel maintenance wearing masks; does that mean we shouldn't be breathing the air in the hotel?? Scary! Next, a storm rolled through, we understand Mother Nature happens. But, here the plastic furniture was being tossed around, breaking glass, elevators leaking water, even our room located in the middle of the building had water leaking from the ceiling. Don't book here... Just down the hotel strip is " Sunscape Dorado". For $20 bucks extra a night MORE THEN WORTH IT! We loved this place. I also want to add I never write reviews, this is actually my second ever but I felt I had to let fellow vacationers know this hotel in rated 3 stars and have no idea how that happened.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 544Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the time you took to write your experience with the service at the hotel. We are sorry we couldn't satisfy the expectation you had of the hotel. Let me give you my comments about your review.

The staff was wearing masks for protection as they are making some maintenance work in the building, it doesn't mean that air is contaminated or dangerous to breath as it is the same air in the whole locality.

We do have plastic furniture for the pool area because for safety reasons they are the most appropriate for this purpose.

As you said, a glass door was broken due to the strong wind produced by a storm, however this incident was solved with the appropriate security steps

Elevators don’t have water leaks, there is not any way they can have them as there are not any water device for making them work.

We’ll take into account all the observations you made in order to improve our service.

Though your first impression from the hotel was not satisfactory at all, we would like to ask you another chance to serve you. We will be pleased to welcome you again
We thank you for your comments, I remain at your service.

Sincerely.

Angel Cruz Escudero

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    700
    300
    123
    67
See reviews for
1,167
509
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a traveler, this has been one of my favorite places to stay. The sunset is breathtaking just simply beautiful. The service and the staff are very professional. If you are planning to visit, look for Carlos Reyes he will make sure to make you feel welcomed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lizethledesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the time you took to write your experience with the service at the hotel, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.
Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be pleased to serve you again
We thank you for your comments, I remain at your service.
Sincerely.
Angel Cruz Escudero
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queretaro City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Second time in Barcelo Ixtapa, got a great room in floor 9, however the AC did not work properly, it never wend down 23°C, still better than the 33 outside. Complained at the reception whom sent somebody but didn't get fixed. Not a deal breaker.

Food is ok, they changed menú everyday. Really nice dinner at the spanish restaurant with a good wine (extra charge).

Tried to get wifi but never got connected. I didn't try further, I was there to relax.

Friendly staff trying to do their best.

The hotel has seen better times, is does not look dirty but you can see the signs of time passing everywhere.

Would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aeiffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate the time you took to write your experience with the service at the hotel, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.
We’ll take into account all the observations you made in order to improve our service.
Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be pleased to serve you again
We thank you for your comments, I remain at your service.
Sincerely.
Angel Cruz Escudero
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was surprised with the service and attentiveness of your staff. specially with the room attendant Rufina wiho was outstanding. Rufina needs to be recognize as one of your employee of the month. in the guest room there were some rusty wall sconces that need to be re-done as well as the cracks on the wall. there was a downside to all of this by a couple of emplyees who seem like they do not belong with Barcelo, the young lady giving out pool towels the morning of July 10, 2014: when I asked for water from the fitness room (she claimed that she did not know where the refridgerator's keys were)she did not make an effort to provide it, not until she saw me calling to get assitance. we asked for bikes after the regular tour and we were told that we can check them out after 12pm and we did and the person in charge was not very happy to assist calimg that he was in his way to a zumba class. Also the night we had the mexican night at the plaza my niece fell and trip due to low light and lack of safety marking on an uneven floor, it needs to be painted white to be notice better. Suggestion for Fantastic's night picture time. you need to give more time to kids taking into account that they want a picture with their favorite Disney character. and I can assure you that the time you spend be well spent because when these kids grow up they would be loyal to BARCELO and would want to bring their own kids to experience the same thing. Adults pool needs to be accessible to kids base on height rather than age. the disco night please get a more charismatic singer. during the Holland/Argentina game we miss someone serving drinks during the game. poolside: also serving drinks all week rather that some days only would be a good idea and much appreciated. When we arrived Monday July 7, 2014 we were supposed to get breakfast which we paid for and security would not allow us to enter the hotel until late in the afternoon. Barcelo did measure up to it and did let us stay late on c/o day so we could get lunch!! we happy for it. Elevators do not have a AC 24/7 and when you get stuck in it, not a pretty picture.

Room Tip: downside to this: there is a fee for internet service. A hotel of this caliber should provide it at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esme364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest.

We appreciate the time you took for writing your comments about your experience with the services you received at the hotel.
We are sorry about the situation you had with our entertainment staff, let me tell you that we are working in order this would not happen again, in the same line, we are implementing some of the advice you gave us and improving our service.
We are looking forward you to giving us the opportunity to serve you again and appreciate our intention of serving you.

Yours sincerely,

Ángel Cruz

Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have come many times in the past and will return in the future due to the awesome service and staff, animaters such as Carlos Reyes, make everyday activities fun and enjoyable poolside. Food is great and the friendly service is unparalleled. Location of hotel is near every attraction. There is so much to do, having a great time is easy!!! Family friendly and adult entertainment is always available!!! Recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you took the time to write your experience at Barceló, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.

Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be plesed to serve you again

We thank you for your comments and I remain at your service.

Sincerely.

Angel Cruz Escudero

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixtapa, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Barcelo ixtapa resort is one of the best resort what i meet,very friendly, nice people working here. They're delicious meals, the service was fine. Animators are always doing a good programs. My favorite animator is Carlos Reyes. :) is one of the best animator

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you took the time to write your experience at Barceló Ixtapa, it is really important to us that all our guest are satisfied with our service.

Please do not hesitate in contacting us when you plan to come back to Ixtapa. We will be plesed to serve you again

We thank you for your comments and I remain at your service.

Sincerely.

Angel Cruz Escudero

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WINNIPEG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I spent 14 days in the Barceló beach hotel in Ixtapa in March 2014, the best 14 day vacation we ever had. From very clean rooms, to very friendly and helpful staff to great meals made us wanting to go back, so next March we are booked for 3 weeks this time. One of the most notable person was Rene the bellhop the area..

Room Tip: any ocean view room is gret
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMBIxtapa, Director General at Barcelo Ixtapa, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for having written your comments about our service, it is very important for us that our guests are satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward to receiving you again next year, and so we would be pleased in offering you a more porsonal service, please, don’t hesitate in contacting us before you come.

Be sure Rene was told how you remarked his job.

We appreciate your comments.

Yours sincerely

Angel Cruz Escudero

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
772 reviews
2.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,032 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Royal Ixtapa
Park Royal Ixtapa
#12 of 22 in Ixtapa
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Ixtapa

Property: Barcelo Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa, s/n, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Ixtapa***** is located in the heart of Ixtapa, right on "El Palmar" beach, one of the most attractive destinations in Mexico. It is the ideal place to go on family holidays, celebrate romantic weddings, organize successful business meetings and also to spend an unforgettable honeymoon. The Barcelo Ixtapa***** hotel offers a convenient way to enjoy your holidays and experience the Barcelo All Inclusive program. It also offers the perfect location for those guests wanting to experience excursions to other parts of Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Hotel Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing