We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Azul 2.0”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We just got back (2/16/14) from our second stay at Azul Ixtapa. Our superior room on the top floor allowed for spectacular views and amazing sunsets. Although this is a large resort, you never feel crowded. No lines at check in, no waiting at restaurants, and no rushing to the pool to get chairs. The food was above average for an all inclusive; drinks were cold and made to your liking; and the service was outstanding. I would rate this resort a 5 except for the fact that the beach was not the greatest. However, we did spend a day on Ixtapa Island, and the beaches there were great. It was really easy and cheap to get a water taxi to get to the island. It is also close enough to kayak over. We have been to Ixtapa many times (28 days total) and every day is the same, 85-90 and sunny. The members of our traveling group who saw the first cloud would win a prize.....no winners! We will be back!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms with a balcony offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    279
    121
    40
    39
See reviews for
463
152
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We just got back from Azul Ixtapa - and will definitely be going back.
Weather - Fantastic. Saw one cloud the whole entire time. Hot and sunny and beautiful every day.
Money - We brought pesos for tips and souvenirs. The hotel doesn't exchange US dollars, but will exchange Canadian dollars if needed.
Activities - we went with our kids ages 4 and 8. There are 2 kids clubs - one from 8 months to age 4 and the other from age 5-12. Our youngest LOVED the baby club, and it was clean and safe. They baked cookies, did plaster hand molds, sang, she was asking to go there every day. The older kids club did things like soccer, tennis, crafts etc. There are lifeguards and water wings at each pool.
There is so much to do at this resort. A must is to kayak or to take the ferry to the island across from the resort. It is beautiful. There are 4 beaches - for swimming and snorkeling and lots of small restaurants where you can eat fresh seafood - it is fantastic.
Gym- the gym is unique - outdoor looking over the ocean. spin classes 2x a day, TRX, pilates etc. Instructors are great.
There were many unique things about this resort, including the crocodile sanctuary down the beach and the water trampolines in the ocean, which was so warm.
Rooms - not all have balconies but all are oceanview. They were clean and well kept.
Food - A la cartes - Oyster bar on the ocean was great. Grill was okay. The Costa Azul was highly recommended. you can also do a la cartes at the other hotel - the Grand Azul. The buffets were fresh - a lot of seafood but always has a station where food is being cooked for you.
Overall such a good time. Would recommend - especially for kids.

Room Tip: All are oceanview - not all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelreview2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, AB
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We have never done all-inclusive before. This was a great place to try it. Included lots of activities. And lots of ala-carte restaurants. The food was very good. Buffets get a little tiresome but they were well done.
Absolutely beautiful resort. Well maintained and well,staffed. It's a little out of the way but you don't really need to leave the resort for anything.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JEK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading the reviews on trip advisor, I was slightly worried about some aspects of what we may experience at the Azul Ixtapa... when my spouse and I got there I was blown away. Everything was so amazing.. Super friendly staff, great food, awesome activities (kayak trip was the best and the guide was great). A+!! We had 3 a la carte dinners, 2 at the Grand which were very good and a nice dinner at oyster bar. Bring bug spray! The pools were amazing, only wished that there was a slide from the adult section down to the swim up bar and some steps back up. Would be great for a family vacation, but just as a couple it was still very nice.

Room Tip: We had a top floor non balcony- would have rather had a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikkita87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were at this resort mid January. Met lots of friendly people....great food (especially the fresh fish)...friendly staff (always a "hola.") We took advantage of some of the free activities (sailing on the hobie cat, bike riding to see the crocodiles, etc.) We were lucky enough to get a balcony, unfortunately we didn't get one that we could see the sunset or sunrise, but it was nice at the end of the day to just sit outside. The bus that picked us up (and dropped us off) was just for the Resort and the Grand, not one that dropped off at every hotel in Ixtapa! Loved the Oyster Bar, not so much the Steak House. (Bring bug spray, you will need it at night.) Just a great holiday for us!

Room Tip: Balcony on an upper floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirkstone696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

LOVED it and can't wait to go back: every aspect of my trip was a blast: it was delicious, fun, restful, and soul-restoring.
All the staff were delightful, attentive and warm without being intrusive.
Artful, thoughtful and scrupulous chambermaids (thanks Joana!)
The activities staff are THE BEST: fabulous and motivating, teaching pilates, TRX, boxing, zumba and much more with technical expertise and smiles: big shout-outs to Viridiana (best Zumba ever), Jesus (great aqua-aerobics instructor and great guy), Antonio (a comedian and athlete), Danitsi (awesome spinning classes), and everyone else at the beautiful Eco Gym, where you can work out while watching the ocean, islands, and pool area. I hope management is paying these guys and girls well because they are KEY to the success of the hotel. They run a vast array of activities to keep us amused at all times. rifle shooting, bicycling, kayaking, sailing, snorkelling, trampolines on the water, poolside games, marco polo, you name it. Tons of fun.
Lobby and pool-side music was nicely varied (jazz, old-style rumba, country, rock, Latin hip-hop and more) and never too loud.
Impeccably clean, and most staff speak English fluently or extremely well.
Food is wonderful with lots of variety at the buffets and gorgeous surroundings and delicious meals at the a la carte restaurants, where guests are pampered and treated like royalty (even the rude, demanding ones that did not represent Canada or the States very well). Diplomacy in action!
Evening entertainment isn't fabulous, but that kept it quiet at night, which I liked: a quick, cheap, safe cab ride can get party people to nearby Ixtapa to clubs. More traditional Mexican music (ranchero?) would be great. The guitar and harp music at breakfast was sweet.
The nearby island offers gorgeous beaches with volcanic rock formations, amazing snorkelling and cheap, delicious drinks and seafood as well as snorkel rentals. Safe, clean, great service.
Amazing value for the money and worth the slightly longer flight to the west side of Mexico from Toronto.
Thanks to all at the Azul for making my trip so wonderful! Terry

Room Tip: Some want a balcony, I wanted a quiet room. They are all lovely, but my preference was the tower ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Vacation from jan.30- feb.6th. sunny,hot weather, nice breeze from ocean. Hotel rooms, restaurants, common areas, bathrooms clean and well mantained. Pools large and fun! Activities going on all day for kids and adults. Great eco gym for fitness enthusiasts! Activity staff great, Norma so much fun with water polo! Bartenders great, wide variety of drinks, and liqueurs. Pool and outdoor bars open from 10- 6, only 1 indoor bar and it's open till midnight. Disco open fri and sat. nights from 11pm- 1am. Pools close at 6 or 7pm, and there is an activity room in the lower lobby with ping pong, fooze ball and pool tables, board bames. Lovely lounge area with patio in the lower lobby with bar,nightly entertainment. Beach and swimming not good. Beach not sandy at all, packed claylike beach, the hotel is in a small bay and a river runs into it during the rainy season and this season was bad and the ocean was like swimming in water with mulch. Kids went in 1 day but swam all the rest in the pools and had a fantastic time! Went to small island across from resort. 60 peso / person return.Lovely sandy beaches with clear water for snorkling. Food and drinks at small cantinas on island.
My only complaint would be the food. Now we certainly never went hungry, but variety of food limited and food in both the buffets and a la cartes were lukewarm at the best. The omelettes made to order in the a.m. were great. In the italian buffet they make to order pasta,sauted veggies and variety of sauces. We went to the seafood, steakhouse and international a la cartes, there was a good selection,the food was tasty, but lukewarm. The snack bar at the lower pool had hamburgers, hotdogs, fried chicken, french fries all made fresh,so that was our lunch most days. We were 7 adults and 3 kids ages 12, 11, and 6. We would recommend this resort. We took a Sunwing vacation. This hotel has timeshares but not once were we approached by anyone. Nice shops in hotel and a small mexican outdoor shopping area by kids pool where u can paint your own ceramics. Hopefully will get back for another visit!

Room Tip: We were in the middle building, 17th floor, balcony. Balcony huge, all rooms facing west and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.8 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,556 reviews
3.6 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Property: Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2 | Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Azul Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Sol Melia Azul Ixtapa
Sol Melia Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing