We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No ac at any restaurant tonight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“No ac at any restaurant tonight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ok maybe it is the way things roll here but when I bought my vacation club there were 5 restaurants a night to pick from with some of them having ac. If you don't like sweating at dinner not sure what to say. Only one option for dinner and no ac. Hard to enjoy dinner with it 90 degrees at the table and no breeze.

Get ready for the sales pitch for the new hotel next door. Note ac throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggestDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    274
    116
    36
    35
See reviews for
444
150
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stay in room 1708. First the room was awesome and had a spacious balcony with a clear ocean view. The air condition was so cold, sometimes we had to turn it off. This was another great surprise. The staff was amazing and the food was so-so. The Italian restaurant was very very good. Although we didn't participate in the daily activities, it was fun to watch others. In the evening there was a nightly performance at the outdoor pavilion plus there was a band every night. The property is very impressive with lots or a little to do as you want. There were hardly any Americans but the staff spoke great English. Very very clean and well kept property. I think this was a wonderful resort and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1708. If you can get a room closer to the elevator, you will an even better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiamondDuoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We travelled here in Feb 2014. This is the best of Mexico. There are no timeshare people in the airport. No greedy porters fighting for your luggage. No haggling for taxi fares.(these are preset by the government and it is law)No timeshare at the hotel. It was amazing!!!! You could let your guard down.
The bus trip from the airport to the hotel was a beautiful drive. It was beautiful and maintained everywhere, not just where the hotels were.
The hotel...... It was perfect in everyway!! Check in was a breeze. Tons of staff and there was almost no wait. Every room has an ocean view. We paid the extra few dollars for a balcony and sat out there quite a bit!! The rooms were clean and housekeeping did a great job. We left a note asking for an extra blanket and no problems. It was a smaller hotel so there wasn't a ton of walking. The restaurants were all great. We did the buffet and tried 3 a la carte as well and all had great food and service.
The pools were very clean and the poolside service was the best. We never waited long for someone to come by. The beach was nice. The water was calm and people were swimming in the ocean. We ended up there right after a tropical storm so the water was murky with debris so we just went in mid thigh.
The hotel has free catamaran rides, kayaks that you can borrow, a water trampoline in the swimming area and beach volleyball. There is an open air gym with spin classes and instructional classes. It was 38'C so we opted out of those things.
The shows were decent. Pretty typical Mexican shows. They try hard......
The thing that I found amazing about Ixtapa and this resort was the genuine kindness of the people. They help you because they want to, not for money. We were walking around the first night at the hotel and looking at the map trying to find a restaurant. We were approached by a hotel worker. She said, you look like you need help finding something. She then gave us directions and told us which ones were open when. We thanked her and left and walked not more than 30 feet and stopped for a sec and someone else approached us, same thing.......do you need help finding something? We have never experienced such kind service without a catch.
We didn't do any organized tours as we were there to just do nothing. We did walk over to the pier and go to Ixtapa Island. We rented snorkel gear over there(for cheap, not worth lugging your own from home) and had lunch and hung out for the day. The water and beach area is nice and the snorkeling was pretty good. Lots of fish and we had a treat of seeing Humpback whales breeching in the distance.
We took a taxi to the market one day. I advise you to go when it isn't scorching outside......the market is one big set of huts connected and intertwined........there is NO air movement in there!!! Needless to say we shopped fast and then went for icecream.
The weather was incredibly constant. It was hot and sunny almost the entire week. There was one day where it was incredibly hot. We just got shaded chairs and stayed wet. I read 3 books and had a zillion naps and came home incredibly rested.
For us it was the perfect holiday. Ixtapa is now my favorite destination in Mexico. I felt like we could let our guard down and just enjoy.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the balcony. The sunsets are breath taking and it is nice to just sit and lis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank naeinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Booked through Delta Vacation. Hotel was clean, staff was nice, food was good - but make reservations the day you arrive for specialty restaurants (Oyster Bar, etc..) drinks were wonderful!! Take advantage of the activities, there are many. Getting to town is easy by bus or cab. We had fun shopping in Zihuatanejo and Ixtapa … though we ended up at the General's, which we highly recommend for the clean bathrooms and COLD beer!! A shot of Don Julio is a must! The highlight of our 5 day weekend was booking a fishing trip through the excursion desk in the hotel lobby (Andre booked our trip) We loaded the boat "The Cobra" at 7:30 and by 8:15 we were taking turns reeling in the catch of a lifetime. Our fishing Captain Elpidio Guido (Big Poppa to us) and his son Oscar were amazing! We were clinking Coronas by 9:30 celebrating our 10 foot, 250 pound catch! Big Poppa called us "Lucky Ladies" as catching a Marlin this size, at this time of the year is rare. We hope to return soon … we may hook a sailfish next time!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2MommasontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I met up with superb social activity employees who ran the aquatic fitness, cycling and kayaking tours. Norma together with Tony and many other staff members made you feel like you were part of he team. I looked forward to meeting and conversing with the staff who were very professional and caring at the same time. I will sincerely miss Norma, Tony and the crew on making my visit to Ixtapa a memorable one!!! Love you guys!!! Buenos dias, buenos tardes, buenos noches and Husta Luego!!!! Love, Heidi Roos (soul occupant at the resort).

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Scuba48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall, one of the best resorts we have been to. Ideal for over age 60. Great for rest and relaxation. Only down side is the beach area. Super clean pool areas and poolside bathrooms. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Beautiful large suites with large balconies overlooking ocean. Food was average but did find it had it had more spice. Best ala carte was the Oyster Bar where had a tasty Surf and Turf. Bring your camera as you get to experience a wonderful sunset dinner. Great and friendly poolside service of tasty beverages.Eco tour was great! We spent two weeks there and could have stayed longer. Will diffently return.

Room Tip: Would say all rooms are great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was eyeing up this resort for two years. I have a 3 year old and was looking for a family friendly resort. Gonna make this review as simple as possible. It was a last minute decision to go on a short holiday for a week with my friend and 3 year old son. This resort is great for kids. However I thought the layout of this property was a bit of a mess. We were bored most of the time. The atmosphere was too laid back. It was like a maze getting from one area to another. Our room was just a room but all have ocean view so that was nice. No coffee makers or extras which sucked cause I'm not the kind of person who wishes to jump out of bed to hit the buffet for a simple coffee. The food was decent. I have to give the a la cartes a high five as the food was indeed delish! The pools were nice. The ocean and beach was absolute garbage. Never seen such dirty water, and the sand was almost like muck. I hear of some river running through the bush and all the debris flows into the Pacific. We never stepped foot on it once. The mosquitos were bad in the buffet during evening hours so bring your spray. The music at the pool was almost next to none. I have been to other resorts and they would play all kids of fun stuff to get people in the mood. Like mentioned earlier, this place was way too laid back. The only evening event was in the lobby bar they would have a live band play which were awesome but again cant really take your kids there. Its not for them, and there were odd shows. We accidentally caught the show Cleopatra, and the show was wonderful. The resort is quite a distance from Ixtapa, so do your homework. Check out the Krystal or the Presidente you cannot go wrong. The staff members were all nice and helpful. The weather couldn't be beat. All this being said I would definitely go back to Ixtapa, but I will never return to this hotel. Sunwing is a bad chartered company there were too many wrongs and not enough rights, however that is of no importance to this review. Ixtapa is a diamond in the rough, and I loved it. Just not this resort. If you are out looking for a fun time this is not the place. Its more for doing nothing and having repetitive days at the pool and not much else. Even having my kid, it still wasn't a spot for either of us.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms. They are all oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank I A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.8 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
1.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
3.6 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Property: Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2 | Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Azul Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Sol Melia Azul Ixtapa
Sol Melia Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing