We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
361
327
141
47
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
327
141
47
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oyster bar eco gym water wings playa linda upper pool lobby bar waterpark area kids club italian buffet dark sand a la carte restaurants crocodile reserve seafood canadian money kayak tour water taxi kids pool
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

All the personal of the hotel was exelent , im defently coming back , i really think Gerson from recepcion did a terrific job upgrading us to a balcony room with the best ocean view , he really made our vacationes the best ,he did his job very professional solving our problems.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neelychristinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We just returned from a week staying at the Azul. Beautiful resort, manicured to perfection. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I used the gym daily, very clean everything you can imagine. The activities dept. Goes to great effort to get everyone involved.
The food was Good, the drinks were cold. The location is perfect for walking to Playa Linda and mingling at the markets and beach restaurants.
A short walk to the pier and a water taxi will take you over to Ixtapa island which is a must. The snorkeling is unreal. A full day spent here drinking, eating and snorkeling will not be a waste.
We took the bus into Zihua and walked for miles. Enjoyed wandering the streets and hanging with the locals.
Went into Ixtapa one evening for shopping and supper. We ate at the Blue Shrimp. Would highly recommend it. It was very clean and an unreal atmosphere. The food was superb!
Here is my only negative about the trip. Please take it for what it is. The Azul is lovely and everything is very positive, but.......The amount of children at this particular resort is unreal. We have no issues with kids, we have our own. But if management would consider at least keeping the pool where the swim up bar is "adult only", it would be so much better. But you literally had to wait to get a drink at the pool bar because the stools were full of kids drinking non-alcoholic beverages. The kids literally overtake the resort. There is a tiny "adult only" pool, but the size of it is a joke.
Because the Azul sells day passes and weekend passes to locals, it gets very busy on the weekends as they all come. So please be aware. If you want a chair on the weekend. Get up at very early and put your towels down. And even more children come when the locals arrive.
The weather is predictable and hot. Very Beautiful!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

After spending a week last year at Secrets in Huatulco we fell in love with the weather and decided to give Ixtapa a try because we'd heard it's very similar. The weather did not disappoint, 30 degrees Celsius every day.

The resort was very clean, landscaping was very well maintained, and staff went above and beyond in every way. The food was pretty good. We found there were enough options every day to try something new. We didn't make it out to the island but were told it was a good time. We went to Ixtapa on a Tuesday night to have dinner at Frank's. It was very good, and was Tequila Tuesday - two for one. We felt very safe in town and there were a ton of tourists around.

I highly recommend a massage offered on the beach just down from the resort. Down the beach towards the pier where the boats pick up to go to the island, you'll walk by a few massage huts. I highly recommend the yellow massage tent. For 200 pesos you get a full body relaxation massage while listening to the ocean waves.

The only thing about this resort that might turn some people off are the amount of small children. The week days were quieter but weekends were taken over by locals and families. The resort would benefit from a larger adults only area that isn't so loud.

Lastly, don't bother bringing American money. The resort only exchanges Canadian dollars at an ok rate.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ashlee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially –

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Once again this hotel provided just what we needed! The location was hot (29 - 31C, 86F) but not too hot, we had no rain at all, with more sun than cloud. We don't mind a little cloud to buffer the sun. We have stayed at both the Azul and the Azul Grand in the past and are not fussy which one we book. The staff is kind and competent. We always make a point of visiting Anel and Isalia in reservations when they are not busy, to catch up. These ladies seem able to always make our visit that much better with good reservations. Our maid Jovita kept our room spotless and decorated with ever changing floral touches. Wait staff is pretty much great, but we particularly appreciated Ylari in the Colores Buffet, Antonio, Noe and Juan Luis at the Oyster Bar and Miguel at Costa Azul, as he prepared Caesar salad at the table.
We took advantage of 2 free guided activities, a leisurely 8k bike/nature ride (5 mi), and the kayaks to Ixtapa Island, where we snorkled for several minutes. The water is much different there even though the island is not far, with coral sands and lots of fish to see. We also took the local bus to Ixtapa to check out the shops. There is actually a good market every day just down the beach, but they don't sell liquor, so we wanted to check out the town.
The water at the beach at the Azul is always stirred up with fine sand, so it looks dirty. Everyone swims in it anyway because it is only fine sediment, and not contaminated. Beware of sunglass-stealing waves.
The other guests seemed to mostly be a mix of Canadians (French and English), Americans and Mexicans, and day groups. Each group were not stereotypical, just happy, polite and willing to mingle. Of course, some guests do take advantage of hotel policy and insist on using restaurants without reservations. This is fine (great!) if there's room, but one couple in particular seemed to park in the best outside table of the Oyster Bar, leaving us, with reservations, having to sit elsewhere. Paradise anyway.
We tried to have a drink in the lounge each evening because there is a band playing every night but one. They are Mexican and they play and sing old rock'n'roll as well as completely Mexican favourites. We usually have one dance and enjoy the Mexican couples.
We had wifi in our room, but the free wifi at the pool and restaurants seemed as good or better. It was never great, but did the trick.
This resort is not super fancy, but it has everything. I didn't remark on the activities that we didn't use, like shows, spa, gym and daily activities. In our opinion, it is a hidden treasure, and we don't really want to get the word out. However, we want to give credit where it's due. You will be pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 2010hometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially –

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Clean 5
Hotel 4.5
Service 5 This hotel exemplifies "service with a smile"
Activities and Attractions 5 . Tons to do at hotel and in surrounding
Food 4
Alcohol 3.5
Views 5 The views from rooms and most of hotel are breathtaking

Cons; many stairs as hotel on several levels , hotel becomes overcrowded on weekends as hotel sells day passes to locals .

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018


Dear Guest:
Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews