We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“January in Ixtapa at the Fontan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“January in Ixtapa at the Fontan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The resort is older, shows it's age in places, but clean, that is my #1 want with a resort. The only thing we noticed that did not get cleaned, were the beach and pool chairs - not sure why, but it was not a deal breaker either. We were on the 6th floor with a great ocean view. The buffet is small, but there was always something good to eat. Breakfast had the "eggs your way" and bacon. There was hotcakes every morning, a couple of types of fruit, Cottage Cheese, Yogurt with fruit, pastries, etc. Lunch, you had a choice of the Snack Bar - burgers, hot dogs, etc. or the Buffet with a pasta bar, or the A la Carte which had good Club Sandwiches, BLT's, Fish and Fajita's. For dinner, they had the pasta bar, quite often a roast pork or beef, always 2 kinds of soup, they had pizza 3 nights - 2 of them were pretty good. The potatoes cooked with bacon and onions one night were very good. During the week the resort was quiet, on the weekend it fills up. The towel art in our rooms was spectacular, best I have seen, always had plenty of towels and face cloths. You are about 50 steps from the bus to go to Zihau, walk across the street to catch the bus to Playa Linda to go snorkelling on Ixtapa Island. If you would like to eat out there are many restaurants across the road from the resort in the Plaza

Room Tip: We faced the south side, room 629, faced the Bayview Grand Condos, nice and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia1173, Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you very much for your comments which are very important for us. We really appreciate that happened in our leisure facilities. We hope that next year will again be staying with us, will be a pleasure to serve you as you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    233
    190
    90
    90
See reviews for
364
198
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

At the Fontan it's all about expectations. I've been coming to Mexico since 1980 and this was my first experience with a 3 star, some say 2 star resort. Yes, you notice it right away when you arrive at your room. The door handle and key are from a 1960's era suburban bungalow and the room is a little rough. A lot of the negatives written by others are true, but I had to tell myself that for $841.00 for the week, all-inclusive, it wasn't that bad.
The A/C was quiet. The shower was hot and had good pressure.I talked with many French-Canadians who have been coming back here for years. Other reviewers have complained that the hotel is popular with middle class Mexican people and their kids jump and splash in the pool too much .Do you know how silly that sounds? Can you imagine a Mexican writing a review of Disneyland and complaining about too many American kids running around.
Now the food. For breakfast the omelette lady makes the same kind of omelettes as in the 4 and 5 stars. It's true there are only 3 kinds of fruit offered. How much fruit can you eat anyway?
The buffet selection is limited. there is definitely more to choose from in a 4 star. Last summer I stayed at the Wynn in Las Vegas and I paid $39.95 for the buffet. After I filled my plate and came back to my seat my friend asked "how is it" I said "this is no better than a 4 star Mexican buffet. I expected more for that price , and we were at the Wynn and we were in the US. The truth of the matter folks, it's a big challenge keeping buffet food hot and tasty for extended periods of time! even in the 4 and 5 stars.
There were some surprise hits. The Miramar café outside by the bar opens at 1pm for lunch and I ate there everyday. Order off the menu and it's pretty good! The house red wine served everywhere is Carlo Rossi from California and it's not bad for a 3 star! I've stayed in some 5 stars with low quality wine.
Would I go back to the Fontan? Yes for $800-900 I would. Frankly, I don't know how they make any money flying someone all the way from Canada, you eat and drink all week and then a bus takes you back to the airport for the flight back home. The travel company takes a cut out of that too.
To the Americans, we need you to start vacationing in Mexico again. Ixtapa is quiet. A lot of Americans have been scared away by the gangland shootings. Business is way down, we need your money again!
I want to say this about the Mexican people. Yes there have been 50,000 shootings in the last 5 years mostly in the border towns, but the population of Mexico is 120 million people and the vast majority of them work and earn an honest and decent living.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Darrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia1173, Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you so much for the great comments makes to the hotel and our beautiful destination. is important to note that we are a family hotel so there will always be children in our facilities, we have an all-inclusive service schedules.

On the other hand it is important to note that Ixtapa. Zihuatanejo is definitely a beautiful destination where there are things to do for fun.

I hope that next year we again have stayed at our facilities, again will be a pleasure to receive and serve you as you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My family stayed over the holiday week. there was 7 of us and we had a wonderful time. Food was very good, the place was clean and in general the staff helpful and accomodating. Its not a five star so dont expect that and don't complain if it doesnt meet your 5 star expectations when you paid a 2 star price. For the price it was a excellent value. We have been to many other Mexican hotels and this one was not a diappointment. I do agree with one of the other commentors that they need more and better quality lounge chairs on the beach. Also the Air Canada rep needs his training upgraded substantially as his english is atrocious and his information inaccurate.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room that doesn't face the resturants as they seem to make alot of noise when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosa519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia1173, Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Good Morning

Thank you very much for your feedback, we will consider what it tells us about the area of the beach chairs, try to improve them. we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and hopefully next year will again be hosted with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just came back from a weeks' vacation at this resort and despite it being clean and a perfect location, spend the extra few hundred dollars to get better quality and service. This resort had terrible food. You wouldn't starve but very, very poor quality food. The service besides getting your room cleaned daily, there is none. Very, very, very few staff speak English so near impossible to get answers to your questions and NO service of drinks at either poolside or the beach. Seriously; the entire resort's patrons all had to go up to the poolside bar to get drinks. And this bar had absolutely no stools, so no socializing around the bar. BUT the beach, the town and the 1 of a kind sunsets behind the "big rock" were awesome. For a meal outside of the resort I would recommend Momma Norma & Deborah's Restaurant; Calgarian owned and the best flaming prawns I have ever had .... with very, very reasonable prices. I will definitely go back to Ixtapa but will not stay at the Fontan.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 636 and it was OK except for the tiny balcony (2 people barely). A great view though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BettyJDustan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia1173, Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback, we will take into account. About feedback from our food let me tell you that we have a menu of 14 days so if there is variety in our feed. We regret that it has not been of your total satisfaction. We have a bar that serves the beach and pool, and this is indeed self. We are a 4 star all inclusive hotel with set times, not 24 hours.
We invite you to stay again at our hotel to serve you as you deserve in this amazing and wonderful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We (3 adults) were there for New Years Eve 2014. We stayed in room 623 which was very basic. 2 small double beds that were hard as a rock and extremely dirty mattress and box spring under the sheets! The old tube tv was about 19 inches, so hard to see if you were lying in bed, but we didn't spend too much time in the room. The view was pretty good thou....saw the ocean but not ocean front. The buffet was best in the morning only because of the omelette station. I swear coffee was instant coffee not to fresh. Orange juice was Tang unfortunately. The bars service was very poor at most times, usually only 1 bartender so you had to stand in line to get a drink. We didn't stay in the hotel for dinners after the first couple days because it was pretty much the same. The best dinner we had was on New Years Eve....it was definitely 4 star quality! The fireworks on the beach were pretty good too. The location is very good to other restaurants and the market are just across the street. Go to Matthews place for excellent breakfast in the plaza across from Fontan hotel. There's also a small sports bar if you're into that. Lots of restaurants and shops to choose from all within walking distance. The bus to Zihuatanejo is 9 peso's and about a 10 minute bus ride. Lots of shopping and restaurants as well. Go to ixtapa Island for the day, if you get a chance. Best snorkling and beach day ever! Bus ride is about 20 minutes and 40 peso's to take a quick boat ride over to the island.....its a must do!

Room Tip: Higher level ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traysee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia1173, Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you very much for letting us your comments is very important to us, we will take into account. New Year for us is our greatest celebration we are glad that you enjoyed this event. Hope you come back soon to visit us in this beautiful destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I spend months before booking a trip reading here on Trip Advisor and elsewhere about the location and hotel. As a result, I have always had a vacation I expected and enjoyed, and any travel companions did as well.
This review is written to be fair to the hotel, as due to weather related missed connections in Canada, Air Canada Vacations offered this Ixtapa area and Fontan hotel as a last minute equivalent alternative, so any expectations we had were from the Air Canada Vacations website showing it as a three roundel (star) all inclusive property and it falsely listed the hotel amenities that were to be provided. The Air Canada rep at the hotel could only speak French when I had a question other than the standard info he was giving. My bad for not speaking French. This is a 1.5 or 2 star budget hotel that should not be offered as an all inclusive resort from a Canadian travel agent.
The Good Things:
Location.
Just across the street is a good selection of restaurants and a market to wander through, or just in front of the lobby you can catch a local bus for 9 pesos and go to nearby Zihua, which we often did.
Staff.
Wonderful staff! Without them this place would be like a concrete institution. Maid left some of the most creative towel art we have seen and the room was always well done. The front desk staff are also friendly and helpful. Bartenders are overworked and showed favoritism to repeat guests, to be expected, but very personable. Wait staff in the buffet were all outstanding and deserved all tips.
Foliage.
Mature grounds were small but well kept. Lots of birds to view.
Shower and Room A/C.
Great water pressure with lots of hot water. No leaks on the floor as it had an 8” curb. Air conditioning worked very well. Great view from 6th floor.
Food. It’s o.k.
We ate out a fair bit. We did have two great meals from the evening buffet, good lunches off the menu at poolside place, and the one a la carte was pretty good. Buffet always lacked fresh fruit. Only had watermelon and one other fruit choice. Biggest complaint was the ever present noise while eating like you hear in a high school cafeteria but with many small children also added to the din. Small kids were serving themselves from the buffet, and that was not appreciated.
The Not So Good Things:
Hotel Finishing.
It’s obvious that no money for property maintenance has been allotted in quite some time. This place needs a total re-do. Fresh paint isn’t cutting it. Lipstick on a pig. There is cracked cement, moldy grout, moldy ceilings, stained boxsprings and mattresses, broken closet doors, missing light bulbs, furniture is in various states of neglect. You will not find anything but plastic tables and chairs anywhere except the one a la carte restaurant. Many chairs are broken or about to break, we saw two chairs collapse with people in them. Most of the plastic beach loungers were broken and one leg broke on mine when I sat down. I just sat crooked that day, as there were no more. The lobby does have what used to be built in white leather sofas, but now stained and ripped, it does not make a good first impression.
Pool.
Basic square pool area is not very inviting, old surfaces and missing tiles that is no surprise for this type of hotel. The atmosphere around the pool was not relaxing at all. Loud. No chair side tables available at the pool or beach, very busy at all times especially Thursday- Monday. Usually it was not very clean due to the large amount of swimmers. No view of the ocean or beach from the pool deck as they have large white tents for shade blocking the spot where a nice view would be possible.
Rooms.
We requested a change after the first night due to the sour smell on the third floor. We have stayed in many hotels in warm climates and expect a little mustiness, but this was lingering. It also had an added view of the cafeteria. “King” bed was very small. My husband is only 5’ 11” and his feet hung off the end of the bed. Sheets were so thin we could see the plastic mattress pad right through it. We ended up in a room with two double beds and a nice view from 6th floor in the other building. Elevators worked very well.
Beach.
This was a disappointment. Ringed with high rise resorts and crowded. It is o.k to walk, about 4km. if you want to dodge vendors. Too rough to swim or snorkel, the black flag never changed, although we did see other colours in front of other resorts. A total of just 14 shade palapas were available for the entire hotel. They were huddled close together in one small area by the massage hut. Again, most beach chairs were broken or about to break. Sand was not always cleaned of cups and butts from the day before. The only other area with shade was a row of tents that would hold maybe 20 -24 people side by side.
Bars.
Advertised as having 5 bars. Only one bar at any time is open. It is either the pool during the day, or lobby at night. When a show is on in the cafeteria they open that bar and have table service. No where quiet and relaxing. A sports bar is advertised by Air Canada, and would be a good place, but it is not included by the hotel so you may as well cross the street for better options. There is often a line at the bar so they have a sign of a two drink limit. Standing in line at the pool bar was extra frustrating as the area was invaded by wasps attracted to the sticky sweet drinks. Anywhere dirty cups lay, you would encounter wasps, but the nest must have been at the bar area.
There are many repeat guests to this hotel who I assume paid a lot less than we did and know what to expect. In closing, I would like to show the Air Canada description from their website (my comments- added) so hotel management will realize why expectations are not being met.
What's included
Meal plan type: All-inclusive
• Breakfast daily (buffet)-yes
• Lunch daily (buffet, à la carte)-yes by the pool
• Dinner daily (buffet, à la carte)- only one a la carte per week for dinner included
• Snacks- only an hour before lunch, burgers at poolside.

• All rooms have television- yes
• All rooms have telephone- yes
• All rooms have television (cable/satellite) – not sure
• All rooms have air conditioning- yes
• All rooms have refrigerator – no rooms have this as we were told by two staff.
• All rooms have non-smoking-not by the smell
• All rooms have safe (in room)- no rooms have this! Safe is at lobby desk only.
• All rooms have fireplace (working)- no rooms have this – unless they mean the hole in the wall with a light bulb in it.
3 restaurants
• 2 buffets- only one buffet with two sides when it was busy
• À la carte restaurant- only once per week and only open 3 days a week to book.

5 bars
• Lobby bar- evening only
• Sport bar – not included
• Cafe del Mar- never open
• Miramar – pool bar
• Real Palapa- table service during buffet or show

Room Tip: Much happier with 6th floor room. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bryna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia1173, Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Google Translation
Buenas tardes

Muchas gracias por tomarnos en cuenta para dejar sus comentarios sobre su estadía en nuestro hotel, mismas que tomaremos en cuenta ya que son aéreas de oportunidad para mejorar y poder brindar un mejor servicio, tratando de cumplir con las expectativas de nuestros clientes. Esperamos que no sea la última vez que nos visite, será un placer volverlo a tener en nuestras instalaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitimat
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our vacation at this hotel was one star quality , the all inclusive only allowed us to use the a la carte rest. once per week , the other was lousy buffet so we ate elsewhere , there was no in room safe you had to use one at desk and inform them of contents so we declined , there was no iron and board , no coffee maker or fridge in room and a super hard bed . The balcony could barely hold the two small plastic chairs , hotel was exclusive for families with small children who were allowed to scream and yell day and night anywhere in hotel , so this place is not relaxing at all. Room service is a extra charge as well as use of bottled after first two small bottled waters are used , no bars at beach , no activities , small bar kiosk at pool had 20 person line-up steady ,lounge in lobby only opened at 5 pm, will never return as well as many other tourists agreed, staff were very rude and totally un-educated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia1173, Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
good Morning

Thank you very much for letting us your comments are very important to us, actually part of what you say is true because these services are not we offer. Is very important prior to booking to verify the services that the hotel has. We are a 4 star all inclusive hotel with set times, not 24 hours. but yet offer quality service and we try to meet the expectations of customers who visit us.
Hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontan Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Ixtapa

Property: Hotel Fontan Ixtapa
Address: Blvd Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Fontan Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Fontan Ixtapa
Fontan Ixtapa Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing