We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveller rating
958
417
308
130
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
958
417
308
130
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican resort lobby area nachos playa linda flea market daily activities ixtapa beach pool chairs activity staff shrimp tortillas mexican food seafood having fun weather was perfect beach volleyball maids
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2019

Great central location to many amenities. Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant availability was confusing. Beautiful clean beach area with great waves for swimming and relaxing. Mini bar in room would have been welcome.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Flyer65898835356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019


Good evening,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your vacation to the fullest and the service offered by each collaborator.

From now on, feel free to contact us and we will gladly help you. We want to make an invitation to you to stay with us again and enjoy the holidays.

We will gladly welcome you for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

This is the third time we've stayed at Hotel Fontan, this time for 24 days. We really enjoy the Mexican family atmosphere and the Mexican food. But what I enjoy most is the activities and the great animation team. The 3 activities I have participated in every day have been the stretching class, Zumba and aquafitness. They are all excellent, but the people who deserve special mention are Dulce Krystal and Anna for stretches and Zumba, and Marcos, Uriel and Rafael for aquafitness. Also, Giovanny speaks very good English and French and is always ready to help. For the foreseeable future we will be spending part of our winter getaway in Hotel Fontan on the beautiful beach where the weather at this time of year is always guaranteed to be perfect.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MargaretCroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019
Google Translation


Bonne après-midi

Nous sommes heureux de savoir que vos vacances vous conviendront parfaitement. Nous tenons à vous remercier pour le temps qu’il vous a fallu pour nous écrire. Pour nous, votre point de vue est très important car il nous aide à savoir comment nous progressons.
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié les activités d’animation, de stretching et de sport. Nous féliciterons tout particulièrement les jeunes Dulce Kristal, Uriel, Marcos, Rafa et Giovanni pour leur remarquable qualité de service.

Merci pour la certitude que votre sentiment de bonheur sera partagé avec vos amis et votre famille, afin qu’ils aient également la possibilité de profiter au maximum de belles vacances.

Nous attendons avec plaisir vos prochaines vacances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

I was not going to write this review until later but I realize that many people are making reservation decisions now so I wanted to respond to a couple of things I have noticed lately on here. I am a solo traveller and I am back to the Fontan for my third time in what is now my second year. I am staying long term this year. The first time I came here I met many people who come here after year after year, some of them for months at a time. I was wondering why this three star hotel would be their place of choice. I quickly learned why.

Staff - The one thing nobody should complain about here is the staff. They are incredible and they are one of the main reasons I have come back each time. Each and every person I have interacted with has been helpful and done their best to not only serve me well in a restaurant, for example, but to help me with things that come up. Not every single person speaks English but many (most) do. There are always people here who can help you with problems. This is one reason I stay here. It is safe and secure and I have people I can go to with questions. When they see you trying to speak Spanish they work even harder to help you. At a later point I made identify staff by name so that their bosses know how much I appreciate them but right now I could come up with 25 names of people who work here who deserve recognition.

Mexican Hotel Guests - Yes, there are a lot of Mexican guests here. What else can a person say. I love that because I get to interact with people and learn about their country and their culture in a different way than I would otherwise. The other day a couple from San Miguel Allende who were visiting came up and said “I remember you from last year” and we shared some laughs and they offered to help me if and when I visit San Miguel. That’s what you get when you are around the Mexican people. You learn that they are a loving, kind, proud people.They take care of their kids. Their kids are well behaved. Nobody gets out of control (and it is an all inclusive). My experience has been when I say hello to the Mexican visitors they are very kind and friendly back to me. Realistically this hotel has fewer people for me to talk to as a solo traveller but I knew this and I knew it was worth it. In all honesty if you don’t want to be around the Mexican people, don’t come here. Don’t come to Mexico. Go to Florida.

Rooms - I am in the same room I had last year which is an ocean view in the tower that has not been fully renovated. The room is dated but it is very comfortable and very clean. I don’t care about the room and I don’t want to pay extra for a fancy room. My shower is strong and scolding. No hot water issues on this side.

Food - I will write more about this in a month or so. The food is plentiful. If I walked into my kitchen and saw 100 different items I’d make a meal and be grateful for it. It is not five-star but you know that when you’re paying for it. There are some things they could do to tweak it and I do share my suggestions with staff. Some changes were made. For example, I really miss having guacamole here but staff are happy to get me an avocado in the kitchen and there are all the other things you need in the buffet to make yourself some lovely guacamole. Again it is not five star and you are not paying for that. There is always something cooking fresh and I am content with the food.

More later. In summary I guess I just want to say this is a lovely place that is a good compromise between a five star and a condo that is not an all-inclusive resort. You have Mexican visitors as well as Canadian and if you have the right attitude you can learn a lot about this country and it’s wonderful people. The hotel staff all work incredibly hard to make your stay comfortable and address any issues that you may have. If you have the same mindset as me then don’t hesitate to book the Fontan.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank LouiseCof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019


Good afternoon Miss LouiseCof ,

First of all we want to say that we are happy to read your comment and know that your stay was totally to your liking and that you will soon return to your Fontan Ixtapa hotel.
We are delighted to know that this hotel is an inspiration of relaxation for you, because we are totally facing the sea.
Good thing you have made friends during your stay as the couple of San Miguel de Allende. Thank you for allowing us to pamper you as you deserve, we are pleased that you have enjoyed it to the fullest, we can say that the main objective of your vacation was fulfilled, which is to enjoy every moment of the time hosted at Fontan Ixtapa.
Good thing he delighted in the taste of food and drinks.

We have the certainty that your feeling of happiness will be shared with your friends and family, so that like you, they can also enjoy a wonderful stay.

We will be with open arms for the return of your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019

This place is a nightmare. The staff barely speak English and that leads to varying answers to the same questions. The Pros: It is in Ixtapa and the beach is nice.It is cheap. Room I stayed in was clean and well kept.
The Cons: the food is low grade except for the one visit to the a la carte you are given, the facilities are overrun by the daily arrival of the nationals who clog the place and no respect for other vacationers. The Activities are mostly garbage, The enforcement of resort rules is non existant( Kids in adult pool, Nationals smoking outside the provided areas) the pool is filthy by 1pm daily. My advice is to spend the extra money and stay somewhere else in Ixtapa and leave this place to the Nationals.

Room tip: Stay elsewhere
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lee Harvey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2019

Good afternoon miss Lee Harvey O

We want to thank you for the time it took to write us, for us your opinion is very important, as it helps us to know how we are progressing and helps us to know our areas of opportunity to continue improving.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the beach and the sea, we imagined the beautiful sunsets you could see.
We will extend your message to each of the departmental managers so they can take corrective action immediately. At the same time, we want to offer you a great excuse for how your perception of your vacation was generated. We really feel very much the point of food perception, at the Fontan Ixtapa Hotel we receive from all types of guests and from different nationalities, all are welcome. Every day we are checking the theme of the clothes that are used in the pools, we will review and take care of more of the areas where our guests smoke.

In the same way we want to ask you for a second opportunity to show you that the mentioned points have been reversed

We will gladly welcome you for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

The hotel is a great place to stay, the staff is friendly and part of the hotel is being remodeled which is a plus! Giovanny is very friendly and offered us fruit brochettes as well as cold towels to freshen up. My suggestion is that they offered us shrimp, pork, chicken and beef brochettes as well as a midnight snack for when one comes back from the club. Other than that 5 stars

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jorge l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariana R, Guest Service Manager at Hotel Fontan Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Good evening Mister Jorge I,

We want to thank for the time it took to write us, your opinion is very important because it helps us to know how we are progressing. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the service offered by our collaborators.
We will take into account the comments that you let us know about the mixed skewers of meats.
Please from now on feel free to contact us for anything you may need and we will gladly help you.

It is a pleasure to welcome you for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews