We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spring Wedding”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at the Dorado back in March of 2013 for my best friends wedding. Besides the wedding being beautiful, my stay at the Dorado was really nice. They made a mistake somehow, and upgraded our room at checkin. We had the most beautiful view, and the room was clean. Service was great. Staff was friendly. Drinks were weak, but what do you expect with an all-inclusive package. The only thing I didn't enjoy, was the food. They give you portion sizes for an infant. No joke, I don't eat a lot, but you need to order an appetizer or two, main entree, and dessert to feel semi satisfied. The food itself was pretty good, though. And again since its all inclusive you can order as much as you want.

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view. We had a balcony, and I wanted to sit on it all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty86V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Ty86V,


Thank you very much for taking a while to let us know your experience on TripAdvisor, We really appreciate each one of your comments, this is the best way for us to improve every opportunity area according to our guests needs and expectations.

We hope to see you soon, it will be a pleasure having you among our Guests once again.

Kindest Regards,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    779
    280
    105
    82
See reviews for
877
791
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria,B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Was at Sunscape Dorado for a couple of weeks mid October and we had a great time!
Check-in went smoothly even though there were many families checking in at the same time as we were. We accepted the offer of a very reasonably priced upgrade to a spacious suite with two decks, couch, large flat screen tv. etc. Very nice!
The doormen, bellboys and front desk personnel were all really helpful and genuinely nice folks. Most spoke English well enough to converse with, which was great as my Spanish leaves much to be desired!
We only ate at the buffet for breakfasts, and while not as big as many AI buffets, the selection and quality was good.
Benito waited on us at breakfasts many days and was always eager to please. Brought us Mimosas and anything we could not find on our own.
The resort was only at about 20% during the week but jumped to 55-60% on the weekends when many Mexican families would check in to enjoy some fun in the sun. Met many really nice Mexican families with all generations represented. Lots of really cute kids, and generally well behaved.
The alacarte resteraunts were open on a rotating basis during the week, which was fine as you can only eat dinner at one at a time anyway. Sometimes it would have been nice to have a choice, but during the week there just weren't enough people to warrant opening more.
When you travel in the off season there is a trade off. Less people, better service but less facilities open.
The resteraunt food was quite good. Seafood , Italian, Oriental were all well cooked and presented. Really tasty.
Some of the waiters and barstaff need a special mention as they were great. In the lobby bar, Jorje was great. If you go, get him to sing you a song. Fantastic voice!
Raymondo works at one of the outdoor bars, great bartender. Get him to make you a
" Raymondo Special " shooter. Really yummy!

The waiters around the pool and on the beach ( loved being served on the beach ) were great.

Waiters in the alacartes we felt were awesome. Joel, two Marcelos, and others we can't remember the names of. Bravo to you all!

The pool was a little old and you can see where it needs some repair, but I am sure it will be on the upgrade list as they seem to be working to fix many things. This is not a new resort.

They have a turtle release program, where they incubate turtle eggs in a fenced off nursery for approx. 50 days, and then release them into the ocean at dusk. They had many turtle release nights when we were there. Sometimes as many as 150 little " Tortuga " babies in one night. Great experience!
The beach is beautifull. Great for walking.
All in all I can recommend this resort. Not a 5 star, but well worth what we paid.

Hello to Oscar, Gabriel and Cristina. You were all great!

Room Tip: The suites are nice, but decks in full sun all day. No shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Do not go to this resort if you have ever been to a Dreams or Secrets resort. You will be terribly disappointed! No dining options (only one restaurant open each night), boring, unimaginative food, and the resort common areas are dirty and the furnishings are stained and threadbare. I refused to sit on some of the furnishings, and the common area couches on each floor were filthy and did not even have seat cushions that fit. Only 2 of the 4 elevators worked which resulted in long waits to get up or downstairs. The suites we stayed in did not look like the one on the website! Our air conditioners did not work so we had to be moved. Our daughters room had a leak in the ceiling in the bathroom so the floor was always wet. The list goes on and on.

The only thing going for it is the service of the waiters and bar staff. We did tip heavily, but they have clearly been trained by AMResorts to stay on top of their clients needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lfm2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear lfm2703:

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Management & Staff, we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the experience that you had during your visit with us. Your comments have been shared to all our departments in order to avoid any similar situation in the future.

It is important to distinguish that, we just had the tropical storm “Manuel” and the “Raymond” hurricane a few weeks ago. We had a very low occupancy, which forced us to keep a limited restaurants operation. About the entertainment, we implemented our daily raining program.
We are very sorry for that.

We understand that the customer speciation was different that we offered at that moment, and your comparative from other AMResorts properties, but this was an unusual low season problem, after the tropical storm, again I am so sorry for that.

We want to inform you that we have a normal guest service in all the areas, our main goal is the guest satisfaction, we are doing the best.

We thank you for sharing your feedback to us, and hope that you will come to visit us in the near future once again to exceed your expectations as all our guests deserve!

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Overall, I had a wonderful time at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico but I have to highlight the service at the Bluewater restaurant as some of the finest I've ever experienced. From the 21st-27th, I ate there daily. Service and food at the Bluewater were excellent and, even more impressive, remained consistently excellent throughout my stay. The captain, Guille, was welcoming, friendly, attenetive and made everyone feel at home. I'd like to make special mention of two waiters, Bere and Adilen, whose service was superb. Finally, the bartender, Simon, was a delight, funny and engaging. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elenarobleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear, elenarobleda,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your review, it is very important for us.


We are looking forward to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa. It will be a pleasure to serve you once again.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Jesús García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, the room hotel grounds and restaurants were all to my liking. All rooms have a balcony with ocean view, to me this was an added bonus.The beach is beautiful and very clean although i thought it was very rough. The food was very tasty and the employees very nice. One thing i did not like was the temperature of the pool. The days were very hot and when i jumped into the pool to cool down i felt as if i was in a boiling pot. The sun is beaming on the pool all day and they do not have the proper equipment to keep the pool cold. I did not like this.Overall i enjoyed myself.

Airport is only 20 minutes from the hotel. Taxis are more expensive from airport to hotel. It was half the price on our return.I recommend you use the taxi right out side the airport parking area upon your arrival it is cheaper and they provide the same service. I found this out on our return to the airport. E-mail Raymundo Carmona for his service at raymundo1111@hotmail.com

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dori90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear dori90210,


We want to thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate each one of your comments, this is the best way for us to improve every opportunity area.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We traveled to the Sunscape Dorado hotel in Ixtapa in mid-October with a group of 11 people. This is the 3rd AMResort we've stayed in, with the other 2 being Dreams resorts. Beware: their website will get you nowhere. Sunscape Ixtapa is not like the Dreams resorts (like I was expecting), and they definitely haven't updated in awhile, as there were some "lies." An important thing to realize is that Ixtapa is not a popular destination spot for tourists. Sunscape Ixtapa considers this time to be their off-season. Also, they give special rates to locals and Mexicans that want to stay during the weekend. Be prepared for a lot of kids....everywhere, which would be fine if they offered more. They seemed to cater more to Mexican tourists that American tourists. Of course, I enjoyed my stay and had a blast with my friends, but I wouldn't come to Sunscape again with the below-listed cons.

Pros and cons:

Pros
The staff are incredibly friendly. Shout-out to Daniel, Marcello, Raymundo, Jorge, Antonio (at the pool), entertainment staff, Rene and concierge "trainee" (I can't remember her name).
The location across from various shops, restaurants, and Senor Frogs, plus the beach was kept very clean.
The hotel felt very safe - the security guard at the front took down taxi license plates when we left.
The hotel itself was clean and always kept up. The room maids did a great job. Even though the resort may be a little old, they have kept it up very nicely.
The drinks were good with most liquor requests fulfilled; be prepared to wait awhile sometimes - worth it if you find the right bartender.
Check in and check out was fairly quick. Upgrade offers to suites are nice, BUT the suites are too big to be cooled properly; the A/C does not work well in those.
Breakfast buffet was AMAZING!!! Large variety of foods, including omelet bar, crepes, pancakes, waffle bar, assortments of cereals and pastries, just everything you could imagine and want for breakfast - but it's only on the weekends during the off-season. Kind of a bummer.
They accommodated our large group of 11 very well and made sure we had plenty of guacamole during lunches and dinners. Wait staff is slow, though.
Free Wi-Fi...works best through lobby and pool area, but definitely a nice touch. Plus, they have a computer in the lobby area.
The waterslides are awesome. Serious fun, even for adults.
The pool has a great layout, and the water volleyball is a blast.
I visited the spa and had a facial and massage. The spa whirlpool area is very nice and relaxing....I truly enjoyed it.

Cons
Hot, hot, hot - get better circulating A/C!
On that note, the room refrigerators don't cool very well, either. Our drinks were never very cold.
No after-hours room service. Remember what I said about the website lies? Forget the 24-hour service you see at most all-inclusives and especially Dreams! VERY DISAPPOINTED!! It is only open from 7am-11pm, and it's not a huge menu.
Do not be fooled by all the restaurants listed on their site. They only opened up certain restaurants on different days. The Bluewater Grill is the only restaurant they had for lunch - no variety between days. The food is good, but I prefer to have some options. Dinners usually only had 1 restaurant open, and most of the days it was the same restaurant as lunch - just a different menu.
They do not provide bottled water other than in your room. You are given 3 bottles a day, but you could always ask your maid or room service for more.
Children running and yelling throughout the entire resort including the "adults only" bar. I usually don't mind children, but if I want to enjoy cocktails at the bar, please, no children.
The electricity went out one night, and the elevators were slow with one being broken. Then, another broke while we were there. And, they are hot and musty!!
The Barefoot Grill was interesting. They should offer more food options, and use bottled ketchup - not a yucky, runny bowl.
The pool looks dirty - clean it! I wouldn't even step foot inside their jacuzzi.
Pool bars closed at 6 pm, plus let's talk about how they shut down everything, and I mean EVERYTHING early! The indoor bar (Rendezvous) was only open until 11 pm or 12 am, depending on the day. What happened to bars closing at 2 am? Again, they are not catering to tourists that like to stay up and party.
Not once was the Eclipse "outdoor lounge and nightclub" open during our 7-day stay.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are hard to cool - go for the smaller one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarvelousMolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear MarvelousMolinas,

Thank you so much for taking a while to let us know your opinion. We appreciate each one of your comments, and we are really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.We will definitely be working on the areas of opportunity.

We really wish you could reconsider visiting us again some day, we will do everything posible to change this first impresion and be sure that you can enjoy a memorable stay during your visit.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixtapa
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel it's self is pretty. However the bed was as hard as a rock. The pool was filthy everyday. Guest service sucked. Small children hanging at the bars. When it clearly stated other wise. Not going back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Melissa C,

Thank you so much for taking a while to let us know your opinion, we are really sorry to hear that you do not want to come back to our resort.
However, we would like to have another chance to guarantee that your next stay will be more comfortable. It is going to be a pleasure having you among our Guests again.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Royal Ixtapa
Park Royal Ixtapa
#13 of 22 in Ixtapa
876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Property: Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing