We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This resort provided us with a great place to stay. We've been to Ixtapa many times prior to staying at the Sunscape we found our experience to be all positive. The food, drinks, room, staff and location brought all the good things of Ixtapa to the surface. The layout of the resort is absolutely charming with inventive ways to separate various activities. You can find a quiet place or a party. The choice is yours and always available. It is important that the room is, as much as possible, away from the street side to avoid community noise late into the night from a local night club. This resort made us feel welcome and comfortable in one of our favorite places.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry *
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Terry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive review. We really appreciate it, it is very nice to read good comments as you have shared on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to count with your presence among our Guests, for this reason, we do our best effort to provide you a quality service and find everything at your complete satisfaction.

We would like for you to come back again.

Kindest Regards,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just returned from our trip at Sunscape Dorado and it was fabulous! I can't say enough about the staff. From the moment we arrived we were well welcomed and our names remembered instantly! Fredy and Oscar were fabulous!

The hotel is clean, the price was great and I plan on bringing my 6 year old daughter back there next time.

Some other things I loved about it were the fact that many Mexican families vacation there, they had tons of daily activities and there kids club seemed fabulous!


I WILL return with my family and friends!

Room Tip: Some things I wish I would've known going: 1. Although there are 6 restaurants on the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Bonnie M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your review on TripAdvisor. We are very lucky and proud to have Fredy and Oscar in our team, they make a difference with their personalize service and honor Sunscape Ixtapa with their friendly attitude.

Definitely we will share your comments with Fredy and Oscar and recognize them for their great service.

We are looking forward to have you back at this your home away from home, Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, great location, service and food. People were friendly and try to help all the time.The layout of the hotel allows you to see the ocean and if you want to see the mountains you can walk towards the elevators and see magnificent sunrise. Great beach to run and swim. We love Ixtapa nice beaches and quiet town. If you party person Acapulco is better but if you want to RELAX in less crowded beaches Ixtapa is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Steve And Raque... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Steve And Raque,

Thank you so much for taking a while to let us know your positive review. It is really nice to read comments as you have left.

We are looking forward to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at the Dorado back in March of 2013 for my best friends wedding. Besides the wedding being beautiful, my stay at the Dorado was really nice. They made a mistake somehow, and upgraded our room at checkin. We had the most beautiful view, and the room was clean. Service was great. Staff was friendly. Drinks were weak, but what do you expect with an all-inclusive package. The only thing I didn't enjoy, was the food. They give you portion sizes for an infant. No joke, I don't eat a lot, but you need to order an appetizer or two, main entree, and dessert to feel semi satisfied. The food itself was pretty good, though. And again since its all inclusive you can order as much as you want.

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view. We had a balcony, and I wanted to sit on it all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ty86V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Ty86V,


Thank you very much for taking a while to let us know your experience on TripAdvisor, We really appreciate each one of your comments, this is the best way for us to improve every opportunity area according to our guests needs and expectations.

We hope to see you soon, it will be a pleasure having you among our Guests once again.

Kindest Regards,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Was at Sunscape Dorado for a couple of weeks mid October and we had a great time!
Check-in went smoothly even though there were many families checking in at the same time as we were. We accepted the offer of a very reasonably priced upgrade to a spacious suite with two decks, couch, large flat screen tv. etc. Very nice!
The doormen, bellboys and front desk personnel were all really helpful and genuinely nice folks. Most spoke English well enough to converse with, which was great as my Spanish leaves much to be desired!
We only ate at the buffet for breakfasts, and while not as big as many AI buffets, the selection and quality was good.
Benito waited on us at breakfasts many days and was always eager to please. Brought us Mimosas and anything we could not find on our own.
The resort was only at about 20% during the week but jumped to 55-60% on the weekends when many Mexican families would check in to enjoy some fun in the sun. Met many really nice Mexican families with all generations represented. Lots of really cute kids, and generally well behaved.
The alacarte resteraunts were open on a rotating basis during the week, which was fine as you can only eat dinner at one at a time anyway. Sometimes it would have been nice to have a choice, but during the week there just weren't enough people to warrant opening more.
When you travel in the off season there is a trade off. Less people, better service but less facilities open.
The resteraunt food was quite good. Seafood , Italian, Oriental were all well cooked and presented. Really tasty.
Some of the waiters and barstaff need a special mention as they were great. In the lobby bar, Jorje was great. If you go, get him to sing you a song. Fantastic voice!
Raymondo works at one of the outdoor bars, great bartender. Get him to make you a
" Raymondo Special " shooter. Really yummy!

The waiters around the pool and on the beach ( loved being served on the beach ) were great.

Waiters in the alacartes we felt were awesome. Joel, two Marcelos, and others we can't remember the names of. Bravo to you all!

The pool was a little old and you can see where it needs some repair, but I am sure it will be on the upgrade list as they seem to be working to fix many things. This is not a new resort.

They have a turtle release program, where they incubate turtle eggs in a fenced off nursery for approx. 50 days, and then release them into the ocean at dusk. They had many turtle release nights when we were there. Sometimes as many as 150 little " Tortuga " babies in one night. Great experience!
The beach is beautifull. Great for walking.
All in all I can recommend this resort. Not a 5 star, but well worth what we paid.

Hello to Oscar, Gabriel and Cristina. You were all great!

Room Tip: The suites are nice, but decks in full sun all day. No shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Do not go to this resort if you have ever been to a Dreams or Secrets resort. You will be terribly disappointed! No dining options (only one restaurant open each night), boring, unimaginative food, and the resort common areas are dirty and the furnishings are stained and threadbare. I refused to sit on some of the furnishings, and the common area couches on each floor were filthy and did not even have seat cushions that fit. Only 2 of the 4 elevators worked which resulted in long waits to get up or downstairs. The suites we stayed in did not look like the one on the website! Our air conditioners did not work so we had to be moved. Our daughters room had a leak in the ceiling in the bathroom so the floor was always wet. The list goes on and on.

The only thing going for it is the service of the waiters and bar staff. We did tip heavily, but they have clearly been trained by AMResorts to stay on top of their clients needs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfm2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear lfm2703:

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Management & Staff, we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the experience that you had during your visit with us. Your comments have been shared to all our departments in order to avoid any similar situation in the future.

It is important to distinguish that, we just had the tropical storm “Manuel” and the “Raymond” hurricane a few weeks ago. We had a very low occupancy, which forced us to keep a limited restaurants operation. About the entertainment, we implemented our daily raining program.
We are very sorry for that.

We understand that the customer speciation was different that we offered at that moment, and your comparative from other AMResorts properties, but this was an unusual low season problem, after the tropical storm, again I am so sorry for that.

We want to inform you that we have a normal guest service in all the areas, our main goal is the guest satisfaction, we are doing the best.

We thank you for sharing your feedback to us, and hope that you will come to visit us in the near future once again to exceed your expectations as all our guests deserve!

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Overall, I had a wonderful time at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico but I have to highlight the service at the Bluewater restaurant as some of the finest I've ever experienced. From the 21st-27th, I ate there daily. Service and food at the Bluewater were excellent and, even more impressive, remained consistently excellent throughout my stay. The captain, Guille, was welcoming, friendly, attenetive and made everyone feel at home. I'd like to make special mention of two waiters, Bere and Adilen, whose service was superb. Finally, the bartender, Simon, was a delight, funny and engaging. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elenarobleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear, elenarobleda,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate your review, it is very important for us.


We are looking forward to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa. It will be a pleasure to serve you once again.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Jesús García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
1.9 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,914 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#4 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £120 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing