We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just arrived home from a three week trip to Ixtapa staying at Dorado Pacifico Sunscape Hotel and Resort!! We have stayed in the same resort for the past 6 years and each year is better and better! First a big shout out to Mr Garcia and his staff!! From the housekeepers, maintenance crew, bartenders, waitstaff in the restaurants and poolside, chefs, bell boys, security staff, and front desk to the activity staff, we found them all to be exceptionally professional, friendly, attentive, courteous and enthusiastic!! It is apparent that your management staff emphasis customer service as their priority!! From the time we arrived to the day we checked out we were treated as VIP!! Thank you Ricardo for arranging the most amazing accommodations! We have always found our rooms to be comfortable and clean but this year was exceptionally special!! The food in the restaurants was great! We understand that in off season when you are not at full capacity you cannot open all 5 but your gave us a nice variety with Mexicam food, Chinese and Japenese sushi as well as fabulous fish dishes!! We never went hungry!! Room service was fast and also delicious!! Loved loved loved the breakfast buffet with my delicious omelette every morning and yummy fresh fruit!! Kudos to the Head Chef!!! Ramiro the activity Manager has a great program of events and activities for all ages! His staff Alberto, Blanca, Carlos, and Himur were great! Loved being part of Judging participants in the Voz!!! Of course you wore out Hubby with beach volley ball, pool soccer, and water ballon fights!!! Loved the Mexican Fiesta and salsa dances! Thank you bartenders Jorge, Simon and Ramundo for those delicious drinks and Antonio for keeping my glass full!! Benito, Alicia, Saul, GG and Omar gave us the most excellent service at every meal!! Bell Boys Sergio, Freddy, and Fillipee made sure we had a cab for our daily trips to the golf course and ice to keep our beverages cold!! Not to mention anything else we needed! We travel to Mexico not only to have a great vacation but to experience the Mexican people and culture! We met so many wonderful Mexican nationals who obviously love Dorado as much as we do! It touched my heart to see how wonderfully close the families are and am so pleased this resort is so family oriented!! We plan to bring our family next year and know they will have a wonderful experience!!! Thank you so much for not only being our home away from home but our Family away from Family!! We also loved that great shopping and eateries were just across the street and that many other sites and activities were available to enjoy in Ixtapa and zihuatanejo!! Thank you so much for yet another fabulously AWESOME vacation!! See you next year!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Lynn L,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Staff & myself we want to thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to receive positive comments about our service and facilities as you have letf. We have as commitment to provide a quality service in order to keep you happy and this way meet with your expectations, so, it is very nice to know that you had an awesome stay with us.

Thank you very much for your preference, see you next year.

Sincerely
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

loved everything about it, entertainment staff was awosme. what i did not like were the " 200 usd " coupons.. it was cheaper to pay regualr price than to use these.. not worth it at all..
itallian resteraunt wasnt good but enjoyed all the other a la cartes. clean beach, clean resort, loved it... i would go back in an instant.
had an ocean view room on the 19th floor, WOW it was definitly worth it.
24 hr room service is a plus for sure.
hotel is right in the middle of ixtapa which makes it perfect to walk around everywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jassy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it, this is the best way to know our areas of opportunity,we have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Department and we will definitely be working on the Italian Restaurant situation.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The best part about Suncape Ixtapa is the people who work there. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you are happy - - with a friendly smile on their face the whole time! After 6 days here we got to know them pretty well, and their demeanor and energy did not change. Freddie at the bell desk will take care of whatever you need - no matter how crazy busy things may be with people coming and going. He's the best I've seen. Simon the bartender at the pool was excellent and Antonio the waiter was great! These 3 individuals watched out for us, and made our stay very enjoyable. We did also experience poor air conditioning in our room the first night, and they moved us right away (Freddie was right there to move all our luggage - - on the hangers and all); The elevator situation was not good on the weekend when the hotel was at capacity - - long waits! Also the pool was very crowded over the weekend with many kids. Weekdays were fantastic! The rooms were large and had a great view. The food was good, not a lot of variety on the menus, but it was prepared well. I would go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear NancyR1966,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Management & Staff we want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, it is very important for us, we are very pleased to know that our staff made your stay enjoyable, definitely we will share your comments with Freddie, Antonio and Simón and recognize them for their friendly attitude.

About the elevator situation, we would like to inform that we are working on this in order to avoid to happen again and provide the best service as all our guests deserve.

We really hope to welcome you once again at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Kindest Regards
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Service was good but that was it. We had horrible air conditioning in our room for the first day, no hot water to shower in for the entire trip, 3 out of 4 elevators worked but ran extremely slow or they were working on them so people traffic was backed up. The food for horrible, cold, bland, and poor quality. It was advertised that they had 5 restaurants but only 1 was open per night. The Italian place served our food cold and on a second try it took them 3 hours from start to finish and the food still wasn't any better. Only 2 ice machines were working for 6 floors of rooms. Kids were hanging all over the pool bar that clearly states ADULTS ONLY and the hot tub water was grey.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Standard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Standard E,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa Management & Staff we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the experience that you had during your visit at our Resort. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your vacation in our property, we would like to tell you that we are working on these troubles in order to avoid to happen again, we want to make it up to you for the inconvenients that you had with us.

Please, give us another chance to guarantee that your next stay will be more comfortable. It is going to be a pleasure having you among our Guests again.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was by far the best vacation we have taken, Ixtapa is an excellent place to visit. The resort and staff where very friendly and helpful, not to mention the entertainment staff which kept our daughter constantly entertained. The room was very comfortable and clean, as was the resort. We did one tour, fished for a day and a half with great success and our favourite though was the day trip to Ixtapa Island. We did this on our own not through a tour, as it is very easy and comfortable to leave the resort without a guide.

One experience we had provides a true testament for the people in this area. On our third day we went to Zihuatanejo shopping and accidentally left a bag of souvenirs we had purchased in a coffee shop. After making a couple of inquiries with hotel staff and the tour guide we thought it was gone for good. Then three days later, the bag of stuff showed up at the resort. I would never expect that to happen here in our home town, never mind Mexico.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Duane F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about our Resort Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa on TripAdvisor, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your vacation at this your home away from home. It is really nice to read good comments as you have shared, that is our main goal,the guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your review.


We are looking forward to have you back. It will be a pleasure welcome you once again.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. But the pool was very dirty and cloudy, it needs to be drained and refilled with proper chemicals. There was supposed to be 5 restaurants, but only one at a time were open. Too big of a gap between snack shack closing and dinner restaurant opening. Food was not very good. I upgraded to a full ocean view and was given partial view facing hotel next door. I moved to a new hotel due to the pool situation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roxane Marie *
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Roxane Marie,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Management & Staff, we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the inconvenients that you had in your first and only day with us.
It is important to distinguish that we just had the tropical storm “Manuel” and the “Raymond” hurricane a few weeks ago. We had a very low occupancy, which forced us to keep a limited restaurants operation. About the pool, as we already mentioned it was raining, for that reason it had leaves of trees, our Maintenance Staff was working on this area. We are really sorry for that situation.
We want to inform you that we have a normal guest service in all the areas, our main goal is the guest satisfaction, we are doing the best. We thank you for sharing your feedback to us, and hope that you will come to visit us in the near future once again to exceed your expectations as all our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This resort provided us with a great place to stay. We've been to Ixtapa many times prior to staying at the Sunscape we found our experience to be all positive. The food, drinks, room, staff and location brought all the good things of Ixtapa to the surface. The layout of the resort is absolutely charming with inventive ways to separate various activities. You can find a quiet place or a party. The choice is yours and always available. It is important that the room is, as much as possible, away from the street side to avoid community noise late into the night from a local night club. This resort made us feel welcome and comfortable in one of our favorite places.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry *
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Terry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive review. We really appreciate it, it is very nice to read good comments as you have shared on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to count with your presence among our Guests, for this reason, we do our best effort to provide you a quality service and find everything at your complete satisfaction.

We would like for you to come back again.

Kindest Regards,
Jesús García
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
1.9 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#11 of 23 in Ixtapa
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#4 of 23 in Ixtapa
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £128 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing