We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Service & Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Service & Accommodations”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at all-inclusive hotels in Mexico for several years. This year our choice in Ixtapa was extraordinary! The staff attention and friendliness at the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico was so welcoming. Our accommodations were comfortable, clean and well-furnished. We loved the balcony view to the ocean, the mini-frig and coffee maker, the very comfortable beds and the daily fresh bath supplies. The recreation choices of swimming, beach sports, tennis, cycling and ocean excursions--just to mention a few--were enticing. We enjoyed the several restaurant options--our favorite was the Italian d'Maro--the wonderful breakfast buffets on the terrace, and lunch service overlooking the ocean. The waitstaff and restaurant captains were very friendly and professional. The evening shows were spectacular, and we finished our night with a quiet drink, music and dancing in the late-night bar area. We also had the pleasure of meeting Manuel Oregon Corona, responsible for food service, and Jesus Garcia Mendoza, the general manager. Both made us feel as though we were part of a special family of visitors who would be welcomed back at anytime in the future. And of course we will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Edie A,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico staff and my own, thank you so much for your visit, your review, your friendship and your preference, we are flattered to know that your time with us was great and that you enjoyed your stay.

For us is very motivating to know that our guests leave with positive feelings and even better, we love knowing that they will be back, like you mentioned you will, and when that happens we will assist you with the same motivation and commitment as in your last visit.

Once more I would like to remark how much we would love to have you back soon at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    772
    278
    104
    78
See reviews for
815
775
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned March 18th this was my first time to Ixtapa and we were very happy with the hotel it was kept so clean and the staff was great and very busy. There is always something to find at the buffet for all. They treat you like royalty dont forget to tip the egg and french toast girls they are fast & work hard. I have to say the Hotel Manager really has this place running like a pleasant machine for all.

We did see baby sea turtles hatch and go to sea and one very large sea turtle one night come up to the beach and back to sea

Also wanted to thank all the staff at the hotel for being very organized during and after the earth quake to all guest it helped to keep us calm and feel safer. The juice and water was needed and the cookies and breads were really a nice thought. We were updated by staff every 15 min to give us all the information they had at that time. AWSOME JOB TO ALL

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CATHY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear CATHY S,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico staff and my own I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of us on TripAdvisor. Your time and opinion are very valuable to us.

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your time at our resort and Ixtapa, as you said it, we like to please our guests and make them feel satisfied with our services, our main compromise is to create all of our guests the feeling of comfort and wellness. Be completely sure that we will give your compliments to all of our staff, we all feel happy to know that we could convey the feeling of safety and organization.

It would be an honor to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

April 11 – 18. My husband and I with another family and small child choose this resort because it was a family resort to relax and unwind. We were wrong! We have been travelling for many years and this is the first time that we felt intimidated and frightened (before the earthquake). The first couple of days were wonderful. The service was exceptional, the food was plentiful, chairs were available around the pool/beach and the resort and the rooms were very clean. Our WestJet Rep told us on the first day that this was going to be the busiest week and weekend for Mexican tourists. He failed to mention that it would become the ‘Mexican Spring Break’. This would have been good to know when we talked to a sales rep prior to booking the trip, as we avoid the college spring break for this exact reason. I do not recall reading about this Mexican holiday time frame anywhere from the travel agency. The Resort became very full and there was music until 4 am, the service became slower, the ordered food was cold and the buffet had a limited selection of food because many containers were empty. The signs in the buffet were mostly in Spanish and the entertainment was done mostly in Spanish with a few English words. We couldn’t get chairs around the pool or beach and when we did our things were moved. The beach was so full that you couldn’t walk down it due to all the locals setting up their umbrellas and chairs on the beach. At night, we could hear partying in the hallway, yelling (in Spanish), banging on doors, etc. One morning, there was some noise in our hallway and when we later left our room for breakfast, there was a young man laying on the floor with blood on the window and wall. We were told to go back to our room, when we came out later we found everything was cleaned up with no notice to us. We were not sure if it was safe to come out yet. The next evening after dinner, we wanted to go back to our room and at the front of the Resort there were many police cars with their lights flashing and there were a group of young men throwing bottles at the police. We had a hard time explaining this situation to the four year old in our group because her Mother was so upset. We did not report any of this to the management because of another Canadian couple were harassed and followed to their room by a group of young men and they threatened them right in front our their room door. Management handled this by providing them the Presidential Suite for a few nights for this incident. And then on our last day, the earthquake happened. The resort handled it very efficiently but after everything that had happened earlier in the week, we couldn’t leave soon enough.
In summary, the first few days of our trip were great, BUT once the Mexican celebrations began it was not a trip we enjoyed at all. It was just that the atmosphere around the resort completely changed overnight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan_Calgary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had an amazing vacation. Not one complaint. We always said we wouldn't go to the same hotel twice but sunscape is the exception. If you are trying to decide whether to book I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynseyM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear LynseyM123 ,

I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor, your comments are very important to us.

It is very comforting to know that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you felt pleased with our services, it is always nice to read those positive comments that motivate us to continue working hard and perform our work the best possible way.

It would be an honor to welcome you once more, at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My second time in Ixtapa and the weather is perfect every day - we were able to eat all our meals out doors - the daily activities were well organized and fun. The staff went above and beyond to make sure all was to your every expectation. I will return there no doubt what so ever

Room Tip: we had a partial ocean view, but it didn't matter, the room was quiet, clean, and that's wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Sandra N,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of us on TripAdvisor, your time and opinion are very important to us.

It is always a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and our services, for us to assit your needs and go beyond your expectations is a big compromise that we have with ourselves in order to make our guests leave with that feeling of happiness and confort and create them memories that last.

For us it would be an honor to have you back at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Cache, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just returned from an 8 day trip with two other couples, Apr.4-12. It was my first time in Mexico but others I was travelling with had been several times. The staff and service were excellent Monday through Thursday but come the weekend when the Mexican families started to arrive the level of service dropped. The resort itself is extremely clean, and the room were very comfortable. The beaches are the best I have ever seen. They are well maintained and the vendors are not pushy at all. However when the resort is full it is extremely hard to get either a beach or pool chair unless you get up at 6:30 am to reserve them. The food selection is good, not all of the restaurants are open every night and there were a few nights when the buffet wasn't open so you were stuck with whichever a la cartes were open or venturing out to one of the local restaurants. For the most part the a la cartes offered some of the best dishes I have ever tasted. The daily activities were a little redundant and the nightly shows weren't anything special, they weren't bad but nothing that I would pay tickets to go see. One thing I really did not like about the resort was that you did not have a wrist band and had to give out your room number to everyone that served you. Also check out is at noon on your last day and once you check out you no longer have access to any of the resorts restaurants or bars so if you have a late flight out you will want to plan something to do for the day. It was a great place to go with friends and relax in the sun, we are already planning another trip to Ixtapa in a few years but I'm not sure if we would stay here again, it's the fishing that is bringing us back not the resort. Still if you can get a good price on this resort it's worth while to stay here.

Room Tip: Most rooms come with a partial ocean view so I wouldn't pay extra for that. Rooms on the east ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayLea97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear JayLea97,

I would star my response by thanking you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable comments on TripAdvisor we appreciate all of them.

I am very sorry to read that our services were not fully satisfactory for you, we understand that we have people from different parts of the world with different opinions and expectations and sometimes we do not reach them all, we are so committed to our job that every day we come prepared to give our best, the wellness of our clients is our main goal. Please be completely sure that we will share your comments with all the staff and we will work on those opportunity areas that you mentioned to be better.

We hope that you could give us a chance to attend you once more in the not too distant future and provide you with the service that you deserve.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our first time to the Pacific Side of Mexico. I was a little hesitant to come to this side, as we usually stay on the Mayan side. We are also no stranger to all inclusives. We were so impressed with the Sunscape. We travelled just the two of us, mid forties for a week at spring break. Our room was great, had a wonderful view even though we only paid for a 'partial ocean view' (I think it was 1923), it was also very spacious. The things we really liked: excellent coffee shop making lattes etc at 7:00 for our early beach visits, the food in all of the restaurants was really good, as my husband said 'never had a bad meal', and we enjoyed the variety of restaurants. I myself am a vegetarian and had no problems finding enough to eat and the a la cartes and were more than happy to make special meal for me. I found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and helpful. We didn't take in the shows, night club or swim up bars as it just isn't our thing but everyone there seemed to be having a great time.

The towel thing is problematic at this resort - both at the beach and poolside. Part of the problem at the beach is that there just isn't a huge area that they can put chairs on (and still use the palapas). People came down early and saved lots of chairs and then don't come back until much later. I really don't know what the answer is, as the hotel staff can't monitor the comings and goings of everyone. The only thought I have is this - people need to stop being so selfish and start being a little more respectful of the other people using the resort. If you're not going to be at your chair within the hour, or leave for more than an hour - don't reserve one - period.

We really enjoyed the small town of Ixtapa and really liked Zihautenjo and would definitely come back.

We would definitely recommend this resort to others and would stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pea18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunscape Ixtapa... E, General Manager at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Pea18 ,

On behalf of Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa staff and my own I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback of your stay. It is very relevant for us to know that our clients take time to give us their valuable opinion.

It is so nice to read the title of your review "Wonderful Experience" that says a lot of what your stay was like, and we are very happy to know that your time here at the resort was pleasant and comfortable, we are a committed staff, our main goal is to provide a service of excellence and efficiency and comments like yours make us feel that we are on the right direction. As for the towel issue that you kindly mentioned, please be completely sure that we are working on that to reduce it from happening.

Hopefully we will see you back soon at this your home away from home Sunscape Dorado Pacífico Ixtapa.

Sincerely,
Jesús García.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
2.8 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Property: Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Address: Paseo de Ixtapa s/n | Lote 3-A, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers families, couples and singles an Unlimited-Fun® escape. Each of the 285 guest rooms and suites, located in the 11-story tower, offers a private, furnished balcony with stunning ocean views.The Unlimited-Fun®, vibrant getaway begins with one shimmering pools with two waterslides and a swim-up bar, an Explorer’s Club with a playground, gourmet restaurants, relaxing bars serving premium brands and tons of daily activities. Ideally situated just 10 minutes away from the town of Zihuatanejo, guests will have the opportunity to enjoy fantastic golfing, shopping and nightlife for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Hotel Dorado Pacifico
Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing