We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, activities, views, and all inclusive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Love this place, our 2nd time here! We stayed at the Senior Sands Penthouse which was nice, but there was road noise in our unit (3116). We loved the convenience of the unit, but would prefer to be closer to the ocean or further up on the hill next time. We did have our own private pool and a very updated unit. The staff are super friendly and the daytime and nightly entertainment is amazing!!! We love their pools and palm trees, but would recommend not to do any activities for either you or your children in the kiddie pool as they have a sharp steel pool drain that we saw people injure their feet on. They need to replace with a plastic drain to prevent further injuries (easy fix). The ocean is right there off the pool area and they have many shaded places to lounge. The all-inclusive plan was well worth the expense as you can choose from very good options and have hearty meals. Great drinks as well! Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovessunandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Another reviewer put it very well when they said "it grows on you". The landscaping and exterior of the resort is quite beautiful with many lush plants and old growth trees. I don't know how old the resort actually is - but it appears that the last 2 or 3 buildings, such as the Aqua and Master Sands, had no expense spared on them whereas the older buildings such as the Sands, Club, etc. have not been updated in a very long time, if ever. Our check in as RCI timeshare traders was uneventful, although I must say the gentleman that checked us in was obviously NOT in a good mood and gave us no information regarding any of the amenities of the resort with the result that it took us the first three days of our vacation trying to figure out where things were, how to get to them and how the "all inclusive" (mandatory for RCI traders) exactly worked. I had called the Pacifica 2 weeks prior to our arrival to request an upper level 1-bedroom in the Junior Sands building and was assigned a unit on the 3rd floor. The room we got at check in was on the ground level, was dirty, smelly and not acceptable at all. Our bellboy helped me out in the English/Spanish department and we got a supervisor on the phone. After some back & forth we were given a smaller studio unit that was actually one level up from the 4th floor. It was kind of unique in that you had to get to it by taking the elevator to the 4th floor then going up a spiral staircase to the door of the room. The room was definately very dated, very sparse and would have vastly benefited with a coat of bright paint and some decoration. But the view was awesome and, let's face it, how much time do you spend in your room when you're at an all inclusive beach resort? The shower diverter fell off when we tried to shower off our travel dirt - but maintenance was there in 15 minutes, got a new part, and all was good in just a couple of hours. The whole area around the main building smelled of sewer - but they were doing some work when we left the resort so hopefully that problem was resolved. The major complaints about the resort? Very little initial information passed on at check-in regarding the workings of the resort and the town. There are written pamphlets and maps, but they are in Spanish. The older buildings desperately need refurbishing. Even as an "all inclusive" guest you have to sign a charge slip for everything that gives you a space for tip. We spent the whole vacation confused as to whether we should tip or not, particularly at the buffet. As a result, we probably made a whole lot of servers very happy! The sign up system for the palapas is very unfair. When you first arrive you're told to be down by 7 am to get a palapa. According to the old-timers we talked with, people actually start getting there at 6 am - so everything is pretty much gone by 7. And who the heck wants to get up at 6 am on vacation? Somewhat false advertising. There is no strictly Italian restaurant onsite nor is there a spa. Those are at the Pacifica in Zihuan. (Didn't find that out till the next to the last day). There is a very small beach building for your massage which, quite frankly, left much to be desired. They are also quite pushy about the timeshare presentation breakfast & wine tasting. I finally wound up hanging up on the rep assigned to us. At the end of the day I'd say the thing that bugged us the most was the total lack of introduction and information given on the resort workings. The good things about the resort? The staff is outstanding; friendly and extremely helpful. Most speak fairly good English and if they don't they'll fetch someone who does. The beach is wonderful and easily swimable once you get past the waves. Further on down the beach you cannot swim. Yes, there's pelicans and yes, there's probably bird poop on the bottom. Get over it - it's an ocean. The food is very good. We were not disappointed by the buffet at all - there would always be something differant and always something we could find to eat - the restaurant by reception is very good also. I have to say that we were not real happy with El Faro considering the reviews it gets. Maybe just not our style. Housekeeping is awesome. The gondolas are fun, steps are not (once was enough!). Beach vendors are not pushy at all and there are not hordes of them as in Cabo. Most of the Americans & Canadians that we spoke to had been going to the Pacifica for years. Seems to be one of those places that once you settle in "grows on you". Super relaxing, no frantic rushing, no urgent need to do this or do that. A couple of hints & tips: there is a way into town from the beach (we also didn't find this out for 3 days) - just walk down the beach to the massage shack just down the beach from the Pacifica. Just behind the shack are some wooden steps. Take those thru the alleyway to the main street, turn left and there you are. Takes about 10 minutes max of easy walking.....The aforementioned massage shack is the ONLY place to get a massage. They don't speak very good English, but good lord they do a great massage. And this is coming from a person that gets a massage once a month. They charge $25 US for a hour massage. We tipped $5 & went back 3 times. The upper "reception area" is a good place early in the morning for a WI-FI signal and a cup of coffee. It's where all the old-timers meet every morning. Just tell the transport (didn't find out about the transport for 2 days) to take you to the "upper reception". Ixtapa itself is perfectly safe to walk around in at night, although we didn't walk there from the resort at night. We took a taxi for 40 pesos just to be on the safe side. The Discovery cruise on the Picante is a wonderful, informative, relaxing cruise and a great way to get sun and ogle "Aqua Man".

All in all we're looking forward to our return trip to the area. However, this time we'll either find a resort within RCI that doesn't require all inclusive, or rent a condo. There are just too many wonderful looking places to eat in the Ixtapa/Zihua area to limit yourself. It's a quiet, friendly area and reminds me very much of what Cabo used to be.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to involve a supervisor if your room is unacceptable. They will try their best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Beje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We took our two kids (17,13...17y/o has Cereberal Palsey) to Pacifica knowing that there were a lot of stairs (luckily she can do stairs with help & crutches). Pacifica changed our room to limit the # of stairs, as well as always offered their van service for on grounds transportation :)
Tons of activities for kids of all ages...kudos to the entertainment crew :):):):):) Alex, & Edgar :):):) cooking classes, water aerobics, snorkeling, beach volleyball, etc...etc!
Every night there was a themed show that we loved to watch...and get roped into performing too...but that is what made the vacation.
We upgraded to the all inclusive which kinda made us stay at the resort (to get our $$$ worth) and quickly got to know a lot of guests...this is what makes it.
Biggest tip: wake up @ 6am to get in line to reserve your beach cabana!!!
We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hopnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We arrived at the Pacifica Resort in Ixtapa and there was no record of our reservation, the best we could tell they had no record of our reservation because there was a lot of confusion. We traded a five star resort timeshare (Grand Mayan Nuevo Vallarta) through San Francisco Trading and discovered this was probably a three star resort at best. We walked the property and they have some beautiful rooms ... not what we got!

They politely assigned us an RCI room after fumbling with a lot of papers. Then they hit us up for all inclusive. The problem was that they don’t speak English at reception. Seven days of all inclusive was $882+ tax for two (not including New Years Eve party). New Years Eve party was an additional $177 per couple. We went with four day all inclusive for $504 + tax for two people until we found our way around. That worked out really well because they have three fine dining restaurants that were exceptional. I asked about shopping, grocery stores, restaurants & Wal-Mart ... The reception desk gentleman got this confused look on his face like I was speaking in tongues. When you think of a Concierge you think helpful with information but not at the Pacifica! At Pacifica they didn't speak English & get a confused look on their faces. The daily program placed under your door was all in Spanish. The waiters & other staff spoke enough English & humored their way through trying to communicate.

We arrived at our room and the square footage is large for a one bedroom with two full baths. The RCI rooms are located directly above the transportation pickup & drop off to/from the beach & it is quite noisy. There was no privacy without closing our drapes and no privacy sheers. There was a nice hot tub outside on our balcony but we did not use it because how romantic would it be watching everyone at transportation & the tram.

The furnishings in the room are old, cold & stark but adequate … very clean but old. Very old appliances, no ambiance as there are no pictures on the walls, a television hutch with no TV because they had a flat screen in an odd spot too far to see from the sofas. No clock in any room. Cheap plastic chairs on balcony. No washers and driers in the room (one set available for everyone’s use by the elevator). The photos on the Internet did not show this room! No Wi-Fi in our room although available in most of the resort.

The location views are phenomenal. Steps mentioned in other reviews are correct & so be ready to get a workout. We love walking & exercise so enjoyed this resort on the side of the mountain as it was unique. Pacifica has a very loyal following of patrons from Mexico. We found the other guests spoke more English than the resort staff and most enjoyed practicing their English as we enjoy practicing our Spanish.

We were told by an owner at Pacifica that no tips were required for the buffet. Normal tipping is 10% for restaurants. Taxi drivers do not expect tips but you can tip if you like but not more than 10%. Talking about taxis is interesting ... Prices all over the place! Cabs are more expensive from resort. The resort marks up cab prices & if the cabs don’t honor the up charge they can no longer provide service for the resort. The cab prices discourage patrons from going off property for restaurants.
Cab from airport to resort was $34
Cab from Resort to Ixtapa market $4 ($1.00 for a local)
Cab from Ixtapa market to Zwan $5.50

Palapas can be reserved each day but you must go down at 6:30 a.m. each morning & stand in line. There are three different types of birds that come within inches of you to get fish. You share the water with a lot of interesting fish and the birds dive-bomb to eat the them. As the birds dive-bomb right next to you, the fish flutter around your legs to escape. It wasn’t until the next day when my husband went to put on his swim suit did he realize that we were also swimming in bird feces.

Shopping & restaurants very close & a couple we met never pays for all inclusive. We like fine dining & cocktails so it worked out well for us for 4 days. Accessing both shopping, restaurants & groceries are very close. Walk north about 200 yards on the beach & just before Barceló Hotel there is an exit to go to Ixtapa malecon. The Marina in Ixtapa has a few good restaurants but no shopping.

Food
El Suspiro in Zihauntenajo was our favorite! A very small elegant romantic restaurant that requires reservations and has a phenomenal view of the Zihauntenajo Bay. Great service and the food & drinks were exceptional! Our favorite dishes were duck & crepe desert. The cab ride was $15 each way but worth the view & food!

El Faro has a spectacular view by taking the tram to the top of the resort & excellent food! For those drinkers, you can get a list of the "inclusive" drinks (not everything is inclusive). You can order a bottle of wine or by glass. Wines are good. You can also ask for drinks to go.

Moon Bar opens at 7:00 p.m. We arrived early to watch the sunset. In Mexico if the restaurant opens at 7:00 they really open at 7:15'ish. They call it sushi but there was only one uncooked item on the menu. I had lobster & there was an additional charge but fabulous. My husband had fried rice with seafood & it was outstanding. Food was excellent; service was there when you needed something and made every attempt to speak English.

We don't normally eat buffets ... Pacifica had an excellent buffet & we would highly recommend.

We heard that Bogart’s had a fine dining restaurant worth visiting. We made reservations for New Year’s Eve and they had live jazz music for dancing. The food was excellent and service first-rate.

In Zihauntenajo... Sienna Gordo fish tacos & margaritas is a MUST! In Ixtapa a great restaurant for breakfast called Chili Beans.

For those of you who like to take home something, there is a nice jewelry store in Ixtapa that has quality pieces called Ruby's.

My husband and I both came down with Montezuma’s Revenge from this trip after we got home. This is our first experience in Mexico of getting sick. As far as Ixtapa and Zihauntenajo … been there, done it and would never go back. My advice to others who are considering going to Ixtapa would be to not waste their time or money as there are a lot of wonderful places in the world to see!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trvlinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed when the golf cart driver did not know the gas from the brake went flying down the hill and crashed scarey ride the property is pretty no place for children or babies it is a spa and is great if you want to relax not party satay at the AI this quiet all spa music etc. condos are nice.

Room Tip: not on the water and you have to ask for pots and pans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jilly1golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

To start everyone is po'd because they had to pay an assesment fee this yr. if they were owners at this resort! Apparently it is in our contracts (I do not have an original I bought on a website). When all was said and done they made special offers to owners: such as an extra week free when you paid this fee. I first clicked very good and decided to change it to excellent because of the staff we have encountered over the last 7 yrs. The person above was in a Aqua (well let me tell you if I was in an Aqua I would be be staying in my own condo on the beach). Have you ever heard the phrase typical American? Well I have and being a middle class person I really don't feel good hearing it. :( I do believe the Pacifca is like any other business (exspecially in MX) trying to do the best for their buck. There are things that I dislike heck I told them to Santos who talked to us about rebuying this year. I am still trying to decide if we should buy or not. The problem is the lack of and price from MN lately. Not sure about those of you that visit through RCI or some where else but as an owner and visiting yrs. in a row. The staff is awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minnesota_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife and I love traveling to Mexico and have been lucky enough to stay in several places on both Mexico’s Pacific and Caribbean Coast. We enjoy the people and the relaxed culture. This was not the case at the Pacifica Resort in Ixtapa. Here you will experience Mexican nationals cutting inline in front of you at the concierge desk, at the restaurant line, and at the bars.
Although, I should start at the beginning. When we arrived at the front desk they had no record of our reservation. Lucky for us we had already confirmed our reservation and details of the all-inclusive package several times in the prior week. Once I showed them the email conversations they acknowledge we had reservations. They then promptly started to sell us the all-inclusive package. I had to show them that our reservations included this package. This was topped off with a timeshare pitch before we even had been assigned our room!!!
Our room was old but functional and it had a nice view of the ocean and Ixtapa. It had a hot tub on the balcony. The goal was to drink Champaign in the hot tub and watch the sunset. This romantic idea was never achieved as the children in the room above us used theirs as a splash pool and we had constant drips coming down on to our balcony and the noise of children playing until after 11:00 when we gave up.
I always thought that the occupancy maximum at resorts was to limit the springbreak crowd from having one room for a dozen people….now I feel it is to limit an extended family consisting of a couple of grandparents, parents, and four of five kids from occupying the same room.
Beach:
Beautiful beach with only a few palapas. In your daily paper it is partially outlined in Spanish that reservations for the palapas will be taken at 7am each morning. If your Spanish is rusty you will miss this fact and be evicted from your palapa. Of course this only works if you let it, I saw one group not evicted without any problem….but I think the concierge read his neck tattoo and thought to avoid the conflict.
The buffet was dreadful. No bacon for breakfast but refritos are available for every meal. On the first night I cut into my meat and blood came out of it, so I did not eat it. When the waiter saw it he gave me grief and then had the chef talk to me. Later when I was reviewing my bill I noticed that these gentlemen had charged me $6 for not finishing my meat. I had front desk waive this charge.
There are some positives:
The Moonbar run by Maria has very good staff and their chef is an expert with mahi mahi. I would recommend this restraunt above all others at this resort. The pool service from Innocente during the day at Bugambillias is very good as well.

Most importantly get off the resort! The restraunts in Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo are wonderful. People you find in town are polite and happy to serve you. Their English is excellent. Zihuatanejo has the amenities of most tourist towns but still retains it fishing village atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
2.4 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 22 in Ixtapa
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacifica Resort Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacifica Resort Ixtapa

Address: Paseo de la Colina s/n - Colina Vista Hermosa | Secc. Prolong. Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixtapa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £109 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacifica Resort Ixtapa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa our tourist development "All Inclusive", a unique and privileged area of ​​Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, on the coast of Guerrero, and recognized for the quality of its facilities and warm service. Two bedroom suites located in Playa El Palmar Ixtapa just 17.3 Km. Airport and 2.8 Km from shopping area, 4 Km from Marina Ixtapa, 3.55 Km from Marina Ixtapa Golf Club with beach access via funicular center. Wi-Fi in public areas, parking, air conditioning, restaurants, SPA and Thalasso Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pacifica Resort Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Pacifica Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Pacifica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing