We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too little for too much”
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Horrible beds. Spent four very uncomfortable nights and woke up with sore, aching backs. People are nice but not worth the effort or price. Have tried it three times and probably will not go back even though we like the area.The administration did not do anything to relieve the situation. They totally ignored it. They are not sensitive to the needs of
the people staying there. i know of others who complained by to no avail. Swimming area really crowded. Food service was good. Have to watch out for the extra tourist stuff. There are different prices for the same activity. This hotel is ruined by Royal Holiday. They will hound you to death to become a member. Way overboard with the pressure

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Thomas S:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was very concerned about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Let me first say it is not a 5 star facility at best 3. The facilities are in need up being updated:workout room is small and equipment is very outdated. The lobby and interior of the hotel is outdated as well. They have no rooms with king or queen beds only doubles. Our first night ,we stayed in a room that was very old, musty, and the beds felt like we were sleeping on the floor. Because I had reserved a one bedroom suite and I'm a timeshare owner there we were moved to a very modern.This room was fantastic. Only complaint is the beds are too hard and they seem to program the air conditioning unit to rise after 10 pm. We called maintenance twice because we were so hot. They came quickly and told us the temperature would lower and it did. The service staff was the best we've ever had! The 22nd floor is totally remodeled, ask to stay on that floor.

The facilities are kept immaculate. Staff is always cleaning. I would take a hard bed any day of the week over a dirty hotel. If you like clean these folks clean. Our housekeeper was on hands and knees cleaning toilets and showers. I've not seen this type of effort in some of the 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Public restroom were always being cleaned, quality control staff were always checking the food and wiping things down. We were totally impressed in this area.

The hotel has free WiFi..that was definitely a plus. I do wish there were smoke detectors in the room/building along with water sprinklers. I didn't see any, and being on the 21st floor, that was a concern for me. They did have fire extinguishers on the floor if that helps.

The staff was friendly and always willing to serve.

The food was good. Three restaurants to choose from. Veranda is open for breakfast and dinner..buffet style (meals and service good, food was usually not hot but warm). The Italian resturant requires reservations and you have to make them between noon and 4, we never had a problem with this. They are only open for dinner. The menus is limited and men must wear long pants and closed toe shoes however we enjoyed everything we ate there and it was cooked to order. Our favorite place to eat was Pescador Grill. It is only open for lunch, wish it was open for all meals. It's buffet and cooked to order menu. Love, love, loved it!. There is a small grill by the pool that is open most of the day for snacks such as burgers, chips, hotdogs, and nachos.

Service in all the restaurants was fantastic..Cynthia the hostess, and Elizabeth one of our waitresses were incredible. Benicia the Royal Holiday staff/hotel employee was hands down the best.


We enjoyed the family atmosphere. There were plenty of kids, but all well behaved. If you are trying to get away from kids don't choose this hotel. For us it was a blessing to see so many families vacationing together. On the weekends there are definitedly more kids but again that didnt bother us.

We were really impressed that despite this being an all inclusive which meant all the alcohol you could drink, no one, absolutely no one was drunk, belligerent, or out of order with their conduct.

We felt very safe outside of the hotel. There is a 9 mile bike/walkining trail across the street from the hotel, lots of little shops and restaurants.

The pool area is kept sparking clean with plenty of chairs and umbrellas.

Taxi's come by the dozen. A one way trip to the airport (15-20 minutes away) is roughly 20 bucks. The key is to make sure the price is set before you drive off.

All in all this was one of the best vacations weve had in a while. We would return, but would definitely check to see if they've changed their beds and updated the facilities first. Beds were just to hard.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 22nd floor. All the room on the 22nd floor have been remodeled and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bdanasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear Bdanasgir...

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at the Park Royal in Feb. and had a very nice stay. The hotel and grounds were very clean with staff constantly cleaning throughout the day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. A safe in the room would have been helpful. The beds were extremely hard and did not know to ask re a topper. The pool was beautiful and we never had a problem getting a deck chair. The food and bar service were very good. It would have been nice to have one more ala carte restaurant especially when you are staying for 2 weeks or more. We would have really appreciated being able to keep our bracelet on the day we were leaving until time to go to the airport as our flight left very late in the day and our checkout time was hours earlier. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on top floor away from disco and it was a lovely view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Estimada rn526:

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at Park Royal the week of Easter break. The hotel was wonderful, very clean and friendly., but very busy at that time, mostly with Mexican tourists. The rooms were average with a nice balcony overlooking the pool area. The beds were comfortable and we did not need a bed topper. The food was very good most days, lots to choose from and the staff was excellent! Pool was nice, lots of chairs and shaded areas. Two different washroom areas close by, plus a fitness gym, and store. There is a restaurant near the water which is a nice change from the main buffet. Beer came served in a cold frosty mug. You could order specialty of the day or have buffet. We ate a few times at the snack bar which had burgers, nachos,pizza, ect. Beach was beautiful with a soft brown sand, lots going on with parasailing, banana boats, and travelling musicians. Our son went parasailing which was 25$ for 10 minutes, those guys were very busy and had things down to a science, perfect landings! We went to the a la carte restaurant twice and the Italian meals were very good with excellent service. The staff really strive for you to enjoy yourself and relax. We had no problem or line up to make reservations, wish we had gone more there. The Chill lounge, night club was comfortable, mostly beds to relax on, but the music was played way too loud!! It was impossible to talk there and mainly complaints that the music went past 2am, very loud. We did get used to it but bring earplugs. Ixtapa was a wonderful place and I will definitely go back there. I would stay again at Park Royal. The one negative would be the time share people at the elevator exit. They were friendly but sometimes annoying. We were grateful to have our Westjet Rep. named Ulysis who was a great help, very friendly, non-demanding and reassuring to help ease any concerns we had. Overall Had a great time!!

Room Tip: King size bed rooms have the best view but the loudest music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear poolmom:

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had the best vacation at Park Royal Ixtapa. The staff was always friendly, helpful and courteous. The resort is very clean. We enjoyed the food and were surprised the selection was better than at other Park Royal resorts we stayed in. However, the birds if you sit outside for breakfast are thiefs if you leave food on your table and were a bit annoying. We also enjoyed the excellent service at the Pescador from Adrian and one other waiter. The live music at lunch and in the evening was fabulous. Alycia, the waitress in the lobby was very good too. The nightclub on the beach is the best. We also enjoyed the bike tour through the conservation park and borrowed the bikes for several of our own excursions. That was a nice feature. We drank too many chango sucios and felt that all alcoholic beverages were free poured and not watered down as in some other resorts. We took several day excursions and really enjoyed the countryside tour where we went to Petatlan, Xihuacan (archeological site), Barra dePacotas. It was a full day with amazing memories. Some reviews said the beds were too hard. They were firm and not a problem for us as we slept very well. We had to ask to get moved due to strong smells of paint where they were renovating down the hall. We were very happy to be moved to the top floor corner where we had views of both directions on the beach and a very large balcony. We plan to return in January!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aquaaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015
Google Translation

Estimada Aquaauror...:

Le agradecemos profundamente el que se haya hospedado en nuestro hotel y sobre todo que haya disfrutado de nuestras instalaciones, restaurantes, sus alimentos y la calidez de nuestro personal, las mejoras que se le han hecho al hotel, es precisamente, pensando en que ustedes nuestros clientes, pasen una estancia inolvidable.

La invitamos a que regrese pronto, para poderle ofrecer nuevamente un excelente servicio a usted y su apreciable familia.

Saludos cordiales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just got back from Park Royal Ixtapa, We went as a group of 21 ages from 19-55,. Had a great time, Arrival was fast, Everyone at front desk great. We were given our rooms, called down for bed topper, it arrived within minutes. Food was good too. buffet is just that a buffet, it changes everyday. Italian was fantastic, however much too much food to eat, Second time I just had antipasta and entree much better. Pescador for lunch was fantastic. Bartenders were wonderful never without a smile, were willing to learn new drinks. All enjoyed disco at night, wish karoke would have been held at the disco hall and held for a longer period. Walking distance to Sr. Frogs and others. Taxi to Zihua 6.00. All and all it was a great time, we are booking for Cozumel next year and you will find us at the "Park Royal"

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamondgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear diamondgi...:


We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We recently stayed at the Park Royal, Ixtapa Mexico....March 5th thru the 12th...ask to be on the 18th floor or higher...we've stayed here 4 other times and must say that we have always had the BEST service from all the staff! Everyone is always willing to help, answer questions and do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible! The staff was constantly cleaning, dusting and polishing making sure that the hotel was in tip top shape. The food was wonderful....we enjoyed the many different fish choices in the Pescador restaurant and the buffet was also delicious, especially the made to order omlets in the morning. We had burgers and chicken sandwiches at the snack bar for lunch that we good also. One disappointment we had was starting on Thursday many families moved into the hotel with children running around with no adult supervision...they also allowed the children to sit up at the swimup bar in the pool taking places that truely should have been for adults in my opinion. Luckily they checked out on Sunday so we had the rest of that day to relax before we had to leave on Monday. We visited with other visitors that had been there for 3 weeks and they told us that this is the way it is every weekend. There was a wedding at our hotel which was quite interesting to watch being set up, the staff worked so hard to make it so beautiful!! We never had a problem getting a chair either in the shade, by the pool or on the beach. We were told that tourism was down about 30%. Another thing that we did not like was that the disco music went so late into the night and was very very VERY loud, even with our patio door shut we could feel and hear the beat of the music and as I stated we were on the 18th floor (the floors start at 10)...we would have preferred to sleep with our patio door open and listen to the sound of the ocean waves coming it. We were also very disappointed with our Apple Vacation rep who did not show up all week, we would have booked a fishing trip and the sunset catamaran tour with him but we did it on our own. We ate outside of the hotel one night at Tabasco Rib which we would STRONGLY discourage anyone from eating there, they had poor service and the beef rib (thats right ONE rib) was very tuff, we couldn't eat it but still ended up paying for it. All in all, it was a very relaxing vacation and will go back to Ixtapa but might try a different hotel next year.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on the 18th floor or higher with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mndisneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Dear mndisneyf...:


We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts. The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some parts of our beautiful place and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#19 of 23 in Ixtapa
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,932 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £105 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing