We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Royal Ixtapa
Nearby Hotels
US$157
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$105
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$272
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$473
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific(Ixtapa)
US$441
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveller rating
217
434
222
105
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
434
222
105
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantel pescadorla verandapescador restauranttoed shoessnack barpool deckhigher floorpresidential suitesales peopleat noonocean viewfrench friesnachosmain lobbyall inclusive hotellobby area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was our fourth trip to this property. Ixtapa is famous for perfect weather, and this was true again! The staff at the hotel are, without question, the best! No request is too difficult for them. The property is beyond clean, from the pool to the public washrooms, to the guest rooms..immaculate!

Now, for the cons....this place needs a huge refurbish. The pool is in bad shape with rust and tiles missing. The furniture in the rooms, excluding the owner's floors, is beyond tired. The bathrooms are extremely outdated. The music around the pool is blaring all day long. The band in the lobby bar is the same group from four years ago, and we know their repertoire better than they do. The food is good, however, the Italian restaurant has an appropriate dress code which was enforced when my husband arrived with leather sandals and was asked to put on closed shoes. No problem. The next day, eight young ladies were allowed to dine in flip flops and shorts which were so short that the pockets were the longest point on them. They had clearly had a few drinks and proceeded to be so loud in the dining room that we left mid meal. On the weekends, Park Royal offers the equivalent of day passes to families. Sadly, the pool area and restaurants cannot handle the huge influx. We couldn't use the pool....too many kids, and many adults who choose to swim in their street clothes. Elderly women entered the pool in blouses and Capri pants. Not very hygienic. All of these issues were brought to the attention of management, but were brushed off. We can only assume that money coming into the property is the motivation, so it was easy to look the other way.

We would love to return to,Park Royal, but until many issues are addressed, we will be staying elsewhere. Good luck, Park Royal, and let the world know when things improve. We will miss you...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ToogyOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Dear ToogyOnta...

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Went to Park Royal in Ixtapia from Feb. 18 through the 25 2013. Staff were friendly,helpful. The drinks were great in the lobby bar by the pool they could use some work They didn't use coconut rum in the piña coladas. But the lobby bar did. . Our room was nice,clean....ocean view. My friend thought her bed was hard but I liked mine. She was able to get a mattress topper from the maid.. Food on buffet was typical. The evening buffet seemed better. They also had food till after midnight. Just sandwiches,soup & a dessert...but hey it was after midnight. The tuna sandwiches were very good. No high pressure sales there. They were doing some kind of thing but we said we weren't interested and they were ok with that. One day there was some nasty gunk in the pool but it was some piggy guest/s not the fault of the workers or the hotel.they could have improved on their entertainment. They had the same band every night. But the easy fix was we just went downtown. Speaking of which...if you go downtown,go to Alex's bar. Beers are a $1.50 & also go to Lalos Reasraunt they have a house filet or fish on the menu for $15.00 and it is well worth it. You won't be disappointed. Plus I think beers were a buck! The general public is very,very nice. We were two women traveling alone and felt very safe. Good luck & have fun!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proroofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Dear Proroofer:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had 9 in our group, and this was the first time I stayed in Ixtapa. Let me first say that we found the area beautiful. Now for the resort, This resort needs an updatet. When we first arrived, we were late arriving at the hotel, and the busdriver let us out on the street, so we had to drag our luggage in ourselves, Not a huge deal, but, would have been nice to at least been offered a cool towel or even a glass of water. Our room was on the 17th floor and it smelled very musty and the bed was as hard as a board.Our air conditioner did not work properly and our patio door would not close properly and would not lock. But being on the 17th floor I was not overly concerned about that. After saying this I would also add that the room was spotless and so were the linens and towels. Take your own lotions and soaps because they were very sparce.There was only 1 al a carte restaurant, and two small buffets. The food was good but not much variety. Not even a toaster, So you must order toast or bacon. No one told us that , so it was 3 days before we found that out.Staff is very pleasant, but to me did not go out of there way. Our poor waitress seemed to be overwhelmed and over worked, I sometimes felt bad asking for more coffee, so I didn't bother to ask. The resort itself is very clean and the staff was on top of any mess that might be there.they were constantly cleaning the pool area.The music was very loud all the time, even in the pool area, it was constantly booming, and after dark the lobby was filled with very loud music.It was difficult to just sit and chat, as you were always saying" WHAT did you say" Too Too loud. The resort was filled with locals and their families, They were very polite and so were the children. As the weekend progressed, we found more and more locals and thier kids were using the resort, and the pool showed it. The last 2 days we would not use the pool as it became very murky and yucky.I think their was a lot of peeing in the pool with the little ones. I will go back to Ixtapa but not to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannemsbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Dear joannemsb...

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We loved our week at Park Royal. For mostly buffet dining - the food was amazing! I wanted to try everything I that I had never eaten before and there was more than enough to satisfy at every meal. I especially like the coconut fish at the Pescador restaurant. The beach was beautiful and we really enjoyed watching the para-sailors from the comfortable shade of the palapas. I watched those beautiful parachutes fly up every day and finally got the nerve to try it myself! Wow!
All in all -- I can't say enough about this beautiful place! The staff was friendly, it was imaculately clean, the drinks were good, the view terrific, comfortable beds, and an amazing sunset every night! Paradise!!

3  Thank 73Jeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Dear 73Jeep:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My husband and I were at the Park Royal in Ixtapa from Jan.16-Jan.30th/2013. From the reviews mentioned previously, there had been many upgrades to the hotel. From what we experienced, there had been NO upgrades. The travellers to this hotel were VERY few unless you wanted to try and converse with Mexican families with children. The Disco area was very quiet and could definitely be put to better use. The nightly entertainment was very dull as Mexican music can only be heard for so long.........I still like the Park Royal; however many upgrades are needed. Why not offer refrigerated beverages and locked compartments to their customers. Other resorts offer this!! The music played during the day was 90% Mexican, so that was a little TOO much to handle. I would think very hard as to whether I would stay at this hotel again, with 1 el a carte restaurant to say the least. Get some work done with some useful upgrades and then maybe we'll be back. Food was nothing to complain about eventhough I got deathly sick a few days before we had to leave. A beautiful beach and awesome weather!

Room Tip: Insist on a room that is ocean view and that has been upgraded. Ask about a refrigerator that is refilled daily and a lock that can be used for passports, cash, travellers cheques, etc. This is not something that is too much to ask for from this RESORT!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGaleana, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Dear Jodi Y:

We are very pleased to hear from you and see that you had a wonderful time at our resorts.
The comments you made help us to improve and deliver a great service such the one you enjoy.

We were very happy to know that you had a chance to meet some places of our beautiful hotel and that this was an unforgettable experience for you.

We would like to thank you and invite to come back soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews