We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things are changing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Royal Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Royal Ixtapa
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Things are changing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We recently visited the Park Royal in Ixtapa for one week March 9th -16th 2014. This was our 6th time at this resort. We absolutely love the employees and have made many friends. They always welcome us "HOME" when we arrive. They are attentive, friendly and will do anything to make your stay a good experience. Unfortunately it is out of their hands that the management team has cut back so much on things that the staff are repeatedly apologizing. We are not big drinkers but during our stay the beach bar ran out of beer (of all things), vodka, and rum. These are just a few we heard of. Leaving the beach bar and going to the pool bar was no different. No beer there either. I had to go all the way in to the lobby bar if I wanted a beer. When we asked the staff why they were running out we were told they are only aloud one keg of beer per day at each station and limited numbers of hard liquor and when they're out they're out. We talked to other people that had stayed at this resort many times and they were getting so frustrated with the beer situation that they were going across the street and buying their own. We would now call this hotel an "ALMOST ALL-INCLUSIVE" although they charge for ALL-INCLUSIVE. In previous years lunch on Friday was tuna from the menu and now no more tuna.
The beach was wonderful. Still the best walking beach we've ever found on any of our travels. We are drawn to this beach and have been to Ixtapa 11 times. The weather has always been in the 30's. The hotel is kept clean and our room was always immaculate and everyday the maid left a towel animal on our bed. Not sure if this is the norm or if it was because we not only tipped our maid but also left her little gifts everyday. We will definitely go back to Ixtapa again but unless things change at this resort we will not return there.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice although you can hear the chill out lounge into the wee hours of the morning it n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Brownie20:

Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    343
    155
    82
    51
See reviews for
321
259
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed there from march 14-21 first i would like to say I've never been to a cleaner hotel! This hotel has almost every thing you want dine by the ocean bar by ocean disco by ocean can see ocean from pool tons of ocean view rooms. Food is very tasty but not a lot of variety also lunch buffet has the same menu every day only change is pasta changes up side is the meats there serve are delicious other things didn't care for swim up pool area kids are allowed very hard to spend time there kids seem to like that area should be adults only, no drink menu, no refrigerator in room safe is free but it is down next to front desk such a pain should be in room this resort was also the friendliest I've ever been to all in all great resort for the money

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cementman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Cementman:

Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The views are amazing from x14-x21 but you have to listen to the chill out lounge until 2 everynight. I'm not complaining though, but if you want a bit Quieter, take room X01 to x012.
The Staff is excellent and super friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear dtower:

Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Park Royal Ixtapa
Jan 31-Feb 14

First time to Ixtapa and it won’t be our last time! We loved the area for its laid back style, people and the weather. The 2 weeks we were there was fantastic. Not a bad day in the sunshine! My tenth trip to Mexico and the first time a sweater was not needed or a storm didn’t kick up.
The Royal Was Ok…I would stay here again if the price was right but I don’t think I would make a huge effort otherwise. There was some positive things but some really crappy things as well.
Crappy-
The bed was unbelievably hard. The first room we had I knew would be hard so I asked for a mattress pad at check in. The first morning we left that room to be moved to a room that you didn’t hear the disco all hours of the night. The room we moved to was a little better for the noise but the bed was still too hard. (You can still hear it but it is more dull-even with ear plugs in) I asked numerous times for a mattress pad…I finally had someone at the desk tell me that they didn’t have any…later that day a maid came and put numerous layers of blankets to soften it…that didn’t work.
The disco. Who goes there???? It seems unreal that a resort would keep a disco open that people don’t attend. I know that there must be some people that go some nights because those inconsiderate jerks like to whoop and holler in the hallways once the noise of the disco goes away.
The beach chairs were terrible. It is amazing to see what the people that were in the know did to make it better. I think the air mattress market in the area boomed because of the Park Royal! I know that the next time I go to Mexico there will be air mattresses in my suitcase either to make my time on the beach better or if worse comes to worse I will sleep on it ;)
We watched the Mexican families come in on the weekends and take over the resort and the pools and leave a trail of cups and mess around the place. Water fights in the pool and the security warning people about slipping because of it. Bartenders would ignore an English speaking guest to serve a Mexican guest not caring that we were there first. Rude.
Housekeeping in our room was terrible and so was the upkeep in general of our room. The faucet was barely hanging on in the bathroom. We did tip but it was more out of expectation rather than she deserved it. There were no bugs but that was actually surprising since I found a candy melted on the bed base the first day in our room after she had just cleaned it and found the matching candy a few days later that was never cleaned up.
The water in the showers was brutal!! I think we taught some people some new swear words. I can handle a little fluctuation but the water would go from nice to scalding in seconds. Not nice and between the hard beds and the scalding showers I was swearing pretty regularly every morning. We got the smell and smoke from other people smoking in their bathrooms thru the vents constantly so I am sure they heard my swearing.
We weren’t hassled by the time share people and they could be friendly but they are right in the way of coming and going in to the elevators and going in to the buffet restaurant. Do they really need to be there?? And then when they weren’t there the women were in the tiny little lobby washroom fixing makeup and primping in the bathroom. Do they not have a bathroom that staff can use?
I think management is putting all the money that we supply to go there on our all-inclusive holidays to upgrade the Royal holiday’s rooms. The golden bracelet people always seem to have a positive spin on things there. Maybe that is because they have all the good things we want….

Running out of alcohol was strange!! Who runs out of red wine at an all-inclusive resort? Beer at the pool bar? Tequila? It really made us wonder about the management at the resort. Is it going to be open next month? Next year? I would think twice for that alone.
Good-
The food was great here! It was the best thing about the Park Royal. The staff at the restaurants were great as well. They were friendly and always made you feel welcome. There were always lots of choices for each meal and I can’t think of anything negative to say about the food. The ala carte restaurant was good for what was available and there were some dishes not available ever. We ate many meals there but it got a little boring especially when they were supposed to change the menu and never did. For men make sure you have shoes! 1 out of our group had dress sandals but was made to change to running shoes. Every time after that we counted the men in sandals. Gold bracelets….We didn’t like the way it was different for different colors of bracelets. Have 1 rule and stick with it.
We met some crazy fun people here and thankfully they were outgoing and made the entertainment in the evenings a little better. The times that these people were involved the entertainment crew spoke English otherwise the English speaking guests were ignored. I think the entertainment staff thinks that all English speaking people come from Minnesota and area! We will be on the lookout for those folks next year at a different resort and will be watching for their fart machine too.

Overall the area was wonderful!
We loved the ease of getting on a bus and going where we wanted to. We went to Ixtapa Island and spent the entire day there. We got massages, snorkeled and swam and had a wonderful time drinking cold beverages and eating lunch on comfy lounge chairs after we met a waiter on the bus on the ride to Playa Linda. He showed us the ropes and we would do that again in a heartbeat. We went in to Zihua a few times to shop and wander around and took a cab to the marina to go fishing as well. We had a great day of fishing and we caught 3 sailfish to take off our bucket lists! Only negative was when after getting up @ 0500 our tour rep called at 1000 pm while we were sleeping to see how it had been.
Parasailing on the beach was cheap! 20 bucks a person. Massages down the beach were 20 bucks for an hour! Great massages there too. Deep!
We went for dinner at the General’s and Momma Norma and Debora’s. Both were really good.
I can’t wait until next year to go back to Ixtapa but I see some real need for the Park Royal to make some changes. It would be nice to see WIFI in more than 1 tiny area of the resort. The beds need to be improved on greatly! Mattress pads can’t be that hard to come by! Do something about the water system. You really shouldn’t run out of alcohol at a buffet or pool bar. Do you really have the need to staff a disco? Do something with the time and space required for that.
We will be watching the reviews and prices to see what happens for next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Sherryd:

Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I were here Feb10-17 2014. The best vacation ever!!!! Hotel is beautiful & very well kept.everyone who works there is very friendly & always cleaning. Our room was fantastic!!!! The weather was +31 everyday & not a cloud in the sky...no rain the whole week there. The beach is also fantastic....we don't have 1 complaint about Park Royal...it was a FANTASTIC vacation. Only complaint we did have was the flight. Sunwing is great to fly with but we are both average size ppl & it was a very uncomfortable journey!!!! Next time we know to go ELITE PLUS....extra $40 per person but MORE leg room for sure :) We WILL be back to Ixtapa but might try another resort just to see if it's AS GOOD AS Park Royal!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Karen R:

Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was an extended family vacation to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Our children and grandsons joined us, so we had 3 units, 1-25, thru 2-1-2014. We choose Ixtapa for the beach and were not disappointed. It was clean and warm and the sellers would walk away without a hassle (unlike the timeshare people inside). There is a strong under tow, so beware. The servers and wait staff could not have been more accommodating and kind, just great. Of the 3 restaurants only the buffet was opened always. It's fine for breakfast and lunch. The Italian restaurant does not serve those under 12, so we did not eat there. Our children did and they were out of every thing they wanted to order. The buffet for dinner was unimaginative and boring with a lot of leftovers showing up. How can you be on the ocean and be severed tilapia? We ate dinner out 3 nights. The rooms are horrible! The beds are so hard, I even stacked up extra pillows one night to sleep on. There definitely is a smell in the rooms and mold in the bathrooms. We were promised a different room and that never happened. Our shower plugged and the sink faucets leaked all over every time you used them. The whole set up of the resort is designed for the excursions, timeshare sales people. To get anywhere from the elevators you have to run a gauntlet of people. Just say no isn't enough, we thought we were working with a staff member on booking an excursion. But sadly it was timeshare, and we had a hard time getting on with our vacation, just wasted our time. We also ended up paying more at the resort for the trip, than if we had bought it on the street. Once you finally get to the pool, be careful it is very slippery despite the valiant efforts of the staff. We had 2 in our party fall, thankful no serious injuries. The pool is very crowded for a resort this size, so we spent a lot of time at the beach. We definitely will return to the area but not to this resort, or any other Royal Holiday for that matter. We did not venture into Zihyuatanejo other than back and forth to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Gay B:

Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Park Royal January 31-February 13th 2014. This is our fourth stay at the Park Royal and once again it was great to be greeted by name by most of the staff. The service is above excellent at this resort. We love coming back year after year to see the same staff and be treated like royalty. The staff work so hard at keeping the resort clean and will accomadate you as much as possible. We also love coming around the same time every year to see the GREAT friends that we have met!!

NOW...It is so unfortunate to report that this resort has gone down hill so bad!! I am not sure where to even start. HOW DOES AN ALL INCULSIVE RESORT RUN OUT OF ALCOHOL??? And food??? The Italian resturant does not have everything on the menu?? Even after it has been cut down to hardly anything. (I will say, that some of out group did have excellent meals here, some did not.) This resort also has a really bad bug problem, bugs are everywhere, ants everywhere in the bathroom, some sort of bugs in the bed, (you will wake up with bite marks on your body.!) The rooms have always had a slight musty smell, this year it was defiinate mold smell. Although the staff try to mop by the pool as much as possible, the tiles are so slippery, many in our group fell this year, and the pool....had many things floating in it and the tiles around the outside were very dirty. In the past we would see them cleaning the pool daily. NOT THIS YEAR!!

The hotel was overall pretty slow during the week, and would fill up on the weekends. It appeared as though the hotel would sell out to the locals, who would take over the pool/swim up bar and the elevators (pushing every button so that it would stop on every floor.) The staff would cater to these guests, playing music to them and speaking only spanish during this time, around the pool/lobby bar and in the chill out lounge. (Note to others--take excursions during the weekends--go out on the weekends.)

This was the first year that we have been approched by the Royal Holiday Team Members, we have always been told that they were not suppossed to bother people with the green wristbands. I guess that has changed. And we realized this year, that they have a hard time accepting "NO!"

We have always loved the Park Royal, and all of the staff that we have met here through our years as well as the friends that we have met. It is very unfortunate to say that we will NOT be returning to this hotel. Good Bye our friends hope to see you at our next hotel as we will for sure be returning to IXTAPA!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald C, Gerente at Park Royal Ixtapa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Chris N:


Thanks for sharing your experience at Park Royal Ixtapa. For us is very important the opinion of our visitors and we will consider your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Ixtapa

Property: Park Royal Ixtapa
Address: Blvd. Ixtapa Lote No. 5-A | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive vacation packages and specials that will allow you to do more on your visit to the beautiful Park Royal Ixtapa in Mexico. Seasonal specials and vacations are offered throughout the year, so come back often to see what’s new.Our all-inclusive program lets you enjoy yourself even more by keeping it simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Royal Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Park Royal Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Park Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing