We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place”

The General's Sports Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$36
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the vacation destination of Ixtapa and right behind Sr.Frogs, The Generals Sports Bar & Restaurant caters to Canadian, American and Mexican cuisine. The bar boasts the coldest beer in town, and daily drink specials. With 7 flat screen TV's and a jumbo projector, there is always multiple sporting events on including NFL, NBA, NHL, UFC, MLB, LFP, FMF, Boxing and NCAA. Not only is the food great and the drinks cold, we have free WI-FI and if you are in the mood for some singing, we have karaoke and are open late!Known locally and internationally as "The Husband Daycare", The Generals Sports Bar & Restaurant is definitely a place you don't want to miss on your vacation in Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo. Come enjoy a cold one and a good time with us!
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“GREAT place”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Always a good time - service, food & the people - staff & clients alike. Had a great time a couple weeks ago - started as a corner tabel for 10 & neded up being a great evening for 20 people!!

Can't wait to return

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    153
    42
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ixtapa shrimp made table side flambeau! Delicious!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Nice little place with indoor outdoor seating. Lots of American sports on if you need to catch an important game (it was march madness when we were in ixtapa.) I ordered the ixtapa shrimp, if you go here get this dish, the bring all the ingredients out with a pan and some flame apparatus. Cook it all right there, set it on fire, great little show not to mention the shrimp is amazing. My wife had a chile relleno, it was a huge pepper, and pretty dang good. Considering its a sports bar it's not the most romantic place but there were plenty of other Americans there so we felt safe and welcome. We sat outside so there was still a nice ambiance and all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamSterkowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The food was great and the staff was amazing. Very friendly and accommodating. If visiting Ixtapa, be sure to stop in, a lot of fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmwood C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a good time!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The food is fresh, and delicious the beer and drinks are cold and the staff is amazing! The Generals is a great place to sit and watch the game (anyone you want, they'll put it on one of the 7 TV's they have), have a cold bevy and enjoy a bite to eat. The General goes out of his way to make you feel at home and the staff make sure you have a good time.
See you in December!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniaMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We Will be Back...”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I realize "you can't please everyone" but the comment about the food at The Generals being average was comical. We found the food to be exceptional during our vacation last week. We left the all-inclusive resort we were staying at because we enjoyed the food so much more at The Generals. It wasn't that we were not enjoying the food at the resort we just enjoyed the food at The Generals more. There was a great selection of food on the menu. We enjoyed a shrimp and lobster pizza the first visit and shrimp and lobster tacos the second visit. Both meals arrived timely, the temperature of the food was warm and the quality of food was tasty. We went back a third time to drink some ince cold beer and watch the Wisconsin Badgers basketball game. They made sure we had chips/salsa and we didn't have to search for a waiter to get more. There were so many TVs to choose from we had no problems seeing the game. We especially appreciated the service we received by Freddy, Noah and the General. The service we received made us feel so welcome. We will be back...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpicedogDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The General's Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The General's Sports Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing