We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed at Azul Grand during spring break week of March 16 to March 23 as part of a group of 6 adults. Arrived on Saturday the 16th around noon and none of the rooms were ready so we headed to check out the pool areas of which there are three. We had a drink and ate lunch at the snack bar by the infinity pool which had some salads, pizza, hot dogs, burgers, guacamole, chips, etc. Typical pool food which was ok. Went back to get rooms and found only two of three were ready so we took all bags to two rooms and changed and went to pool until we could get into our room. Infinity pool was where we spent most of the time when we were at the pool and service was good there. There is no beach to speak of at the Azul grand so if you want to go to a beach, you have to either go to sister resort next door or leave resort and walk to Playa Quieta or Playa Linda. Playa Quieta is the nicer beach and is closer. It is also the beach the Club Med is loccated on. We did the all-inclusive thing for three days and the food was OK, nothing special in the buffet restaurant. There are three ala carte restaurants but only one is open per night and since we were only getting all inclusive for three days, we could only eat there one of the nights. We chose the night with the Mexican restaurant which was pretty good. After the third day, we would take a taxi (100 pesos per trip) into Ixtapa to eat or catch the bus (80 pesos). We tried to take the bus most of the time but it did not run after 7:30 at night so we had to take a taxi back and since there were six of us, it meant two taxis each time. Also took the bus to Zihau a couple of mornings and checked out the fish market, the Mercado, and had breakfast there twice, once at Elvira's which was pretty good. Other than that, we at in Ixtapa for dinner and nothing too spectacular except for the shrimp at The Generals where we ate on Friday night and watched the NCAA basketball tournament. While at the resort, I took the Kayak tour to Ixtapa Island and went snorkeling there with a guide from the hotel which was very good. The fitness room at the hotel is excellent and I went to the spin class twice and worked out on my own once. Great staff at the fitness center and very helpful. Probably one of the best fitness rooms I have seen at any hotel I have stayed at. Staff at the hotel was very helpful but they will try to sell you "points" for future stays. since we were with a family member who was already a member, we didn't have to deal with this. We took the boat to Ixtapa Island twice and found it to be very beautiful. The north beach is great for swimming and you can hang out at one of the beach front restaurants and have a drink and lay in the sun. Each room looks out over the ocean and the views are spectacular as are the sunsets. Be careful when going on to the deck in your room as the floor is very slippery when wet. My wife fell twice going out onto the deck when there was very little moisture on the tile floor. She also fell at the pool area as they used a very shiny tile and is very slippery when wet. When she fell at the pool, the staff checked on her at the time but did not follow up to see how she was doing and had to spend the rest of the day in bed due to her sore back. The Ixtapa Grand was not very busy when we were there but there were a couple of conferences going on which is what i think they will probably cater to in the future as their sister resort is for families and has a big beach. If you are looking for a place with a nice beach and drink service on the beach, this is not for you. If you like to lay by the pool, this is a good place as there are three pools and service at the pool is very good. Not much night life at this hotel so you have to go into Ixtapa for that and take a bus or taxi. They haven't been open that long so it will be interesting to hear how they change in the future. They have a full slate of activities each day including a bicycle tour, aerobics, volleyball, and eveh have some activities for children. We went to a show with dinner buffet our first night there as they have a large entertainment venue between the two hotels. Each room has a great shower and jacuzzi tub. On Thursday afternoon we rented a fishing boat and cruised from near hotel to south of Zihua and then back to Zihua. Crew was great and views of coast were spectacular. Landed in Zihua and took bus back to Ixtapa and taxi back to hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 1811 and had a great view of Ixtapa Island and beaches to the north. All rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azul Ixtapa A, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your stay.
We really appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guests valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Cordially.- General Manager Azul Ixtapa Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 950 reviews

Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: si vas de luna de miel o festejando algún motivo en pareja, reserva la suite que tiene jacuzzi y sau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JAIMEFPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ramonarturoc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank aguzambrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Faborod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Argel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: cualquiera es exelente
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arcGabrielDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
858 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center

Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa Lote 2, Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range: £136 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with an eco-conscious environment, offers suites with spectacular views along with multiple dining options so you can pamper your palate throughout your stay. Relax in a tropical environment while enjoying captivating views of the Pacific Ocean. The details, the sophisticated architecture and the refined comfort of Azul Ixtapa Grand combine to make a resort like no other. The Resort is located in Ixtapa Zihuatanejo on the Pacific Coast of Mexico, southwest of Mexico City. Ixtapa is considered one of the “Jewels of the Mexican Riviera.” It is located 20 minutes from Zihuatanejo International Airport (Code: ZIH) and just minutes from the Marina. The Resort is close to shopping areas and golf courses in Ixtapa. The area has an average temperature of 86 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the year with about 255 sunny days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing