We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,109)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveller rating
581
371
100
34
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
371
100
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelinfinity pooloyster bara la cartesjacuzzi tubthe mexican restaurantlobby barwalk in closetplaya lindafloating dockreservation officewater taxisunwing repboard walkfamily poolbike tourspin class
Filter
Updating list...
643 - 648 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hotel was great like other posts needs some poolside entertainment. Staff was excellent and local bus to the Ixtapa was quick and easy. US funds is not required best to use pesos suggest you speak to your travel agent. All the rooms are great suggest the higher floors as I feel they are better noting all are ocean view. We had no issues with elevators and was on 22nd floor. We will go back! If you have an issue speak to a manager they will make it right.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Justus_Niagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I had a lovely stay at the Azul Grand at the end of January, with a combination of amazing weather, incredible service and an awesome hotel we had a vacation bordering on perfection. This almost new property has 5 star decor and service. Check-in was extremely smooth, and quick especially considering we arrived with 2 bus loads of guests.
The rooms are spectacular, a great view, soaker jacuzzi tub, comfortable beds, cozy bedding and a lovely rainfall shower. You have two queens or a king size bed to choose from.
I agree with a lot of other reviews that say the food wasn't on par with the hotel's over all look. But really it's a smaller resort, and all inclusive...what are you expecting? All the food was tasty and there was always a nice variety at the buffet. The a'la cartes we tried were okay as well. Nothing spectacular. Having to wait in lines to make reservations and limiting the amount of reservations is a pain, (especially if you're used to the Dream's chain). All in all though, food and everything were just fine. We weren't there to eat, we were there to soak up the sun.
The pools were a great place to do that, our favourite was the infinity pool. Though the resort was full, there was always a spot at one of the 3 pools, and it never seemed that crowded.
The beach wasn't great but as other reviewers mentioned the beach at the sister resort was nice, and the public beach to the left of the resort ( a 2 minute walk) was awesome.
We had a tour of the world class spa at the resort, it looked amazing. The gym was also the best I've ever seen at an all inclusive resort. It also offered a wide variety of classes.
We also took the water taxi ($4) to Ixtapa island. We loved it there. The snorkeling at the coral reef was really great (I was completely shocked, comparable to snorkeling I have done on the Mayan side of Mexico) and the island itself was rustic and beautiful. I recommend taking the water taxi first thing in the morning at 9:30 to avoid the crowds. Food and beverages are served right on the beach for a nominal cost. The snorkeling gear can be rented for about $10. (negotiate at will) The hotel also offers a free kayaking and snorkeling excursion to Ixtapa island if you don't mind being on a tight schedule. Just book through the entertainment team.
It should be noted that the resort itself is about a 10 minute drive to Ixtapa, about 15 minutes to Zihuatanejo. $7 to get to Zihuatanejo by cab or take the bus for $1. My partner and I went to Zihuatanejo to buy some souveniers and then discovered that we could have bought the same stuff at the market right beside the hotel. Oh well, live and learn. We did get to see Zihuatanejo, it was quaint, beautiful, and it was nice to see all the fishermen selling on the beach.
We booked through Sunwing and had no major complaints, though having two full planes leave the airport at the same time made for about a 2 hour line up at departure.

Danny was a great Sunwing rep at the hotel, never pushy, great to help out, however he was not knowledgeable about the length of the archaelogical tour we took to the ruins. He promised us we'd be back by 12:30-1pm and we didn't return until 3;30. The tour was great, it was just too long and wasted an entire day. The tour included the very non archaelogical one hour stop in a Mexican village so the tour guide could try and get us to buy silver from his friends. Adorable Juan.
Sunwing was great. Resort was perfection. And the weather our week in Ixtapa was perfect as well, sunny and hot, we were told this is the norm for this area.
I would highly recomend the resort and Ixtapa.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HUGS154946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just returned to Ontario on Jan 28th, 2014. Travelled with my husband and another couple. The resort was impeccable. The rooms are spacious and modern with the biggest ocean view balcony I've seen at a resort. The infinity pool was beautiful, and the pool washrooms were always spotless and smelled of cinnamon air freshener. The food was good, with the oyster bar restaurant being our favourite, where we had surf and turf (filet mignon and large shrimp)...delicious. Could not ask for better service. The staff are all extremely friendly, and aim to please. Lounge chairs by the pool were plentiful. I must agree with LAOulette regarding the lack of entertainment. Definitely NOT a party place, although we did not make it to the disco..which was a bit out of the way. Our stay was completely enjoyable!

Room Tip: Not a bad room to be had!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The resort was beautiful and extremely clean. Rooms were great, service good, food average. My biggest complaint was the lack of entertainment. The lobby bar had the same band play every night which got annoying. Our last night they did a dance competition which at least got the crowd involved. Need more entertainment to get people up and involved with activities both by the pool and the lobby bar. Could barely hear any music playing by the infinity pool. The show put on twice a week was boring and food worse than buffet. Overall for the price it was a 5, just need to tweak a bit with the food and entertainment. Perfect place if wanting quiet relaxing vacation, not so much if wanting to party.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loulette2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Travelled with Sunwing departure 11:15 am-delayed-stop into Peurta Vallarta to clear customs arrival to Azul Grand 10pm.Resort kept there buffet open to accomadate our late arrival.Room beautiful soo clean,great view of everything.Service A+.Food was good always lots of it be sure to try green juice at breakfast,presantation++.Drinks around the pool area were not the greatest banana daiquires tasted like crushed ice and milk worth the jump into the pool and see bartender there.Mostly Canadians and middle aged people.Travelled into Z not small.Resort itself perfect from our balcony able to watch the nightly shows at sister hotel.Not a typical Mexican resort very modern,clean,still only a year old.Defiately return.Each day not a cloud in the sky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ramona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews