We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hotel:
Upon arrival to the hotel, we were greeted and brought up to our fantastic view from the 24th floor. All rooms however have this view of the ocean, which is nice...as the other Azul does not have this quality. The rooms are very clean and even have turn down service nightly - with a mint! For the best spot near the pools, make sure to lay your towel out early, as the best spots are taken up quickly.

Food:
When able go to the restaurants for your dinners. The buffet is average, but the restaurant food is much better. For lunch, you have the option to eat at the poolside cafe or the buffet. If you are wet and just want something to snack on, the cafe works great. Their guacamole is to die for - so you can't skip it! Drinks are made with top shelf booze, and waters are around all the time, if you are thirsty, they will be there :) Breakfast is by far the best meal, as all of the fruit is freshly cut, and the juice is amazing!

Adventures:
For free, the biking tour and kayaking/snorkeling are good. Be sure to bring some flip flops or shoes to the island, as the walk from the shore to the other side of the island is very hot on your feet. The sand is primarily made up of coral and broken shells, so be careful! Make sure you bring your camera to the crocodile habitat, as it is a sight that needs to be captured. On morning walks, we walked past the other Azul and towards the market. The prices are great there, and have all of the nick-nacks you would need for souvenirs. Nightly, the hotels put on a joint evening performance. You can tell the performers have put a lot of time into their craft, as several of the performers are very athletic. The theme is on the TV in the morning, so make sure to see if you like the theme....if not....you can always see it from your room!

The hotel is fantastic - make sure to wear your sunscreen, the sun is extremely strong. Many people (including myself) were burnt badly on the first day. Be careful!

Room Tip: If you are able to ask for a higher room, do so! There are 24 - try to get up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    301
    77
    26
    18
See reviews for
252
397
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel has been in operation for a while, but they still need some improvements in the food and entertainment around the hotel. We have travelled (13x) to different hotels and resorts in Mexico including Ixtapa before . This hotel is very clean, and the rooms are very well appointed which is the big plus of this hotel. However, the whole place in my opinion lacks ambiance and is mellow. I like the minimalist look, however, the front lobby takes its bare walls to a new level of boring. Zero vibe in the lobby which sets the tone for the rest of the hotel vibe. The one and only buffet restaurant looks and feels like an Ikea plastic chaired cafeteria.

The infinity pool is great, but it is just a quiet laid-back place to chillax. However, it could be fantastic if they added a little entertainment around this area. The second level pool has some entertainment, but doesn’t have a view what so ever of the ocean at all. You could be in the suburbs for all you know. Because there is no beach, everyone flocks to the infinity pool to have a view of the ocean and therefore your chairs are packed in rows like sardines, but again nothing is going on, just a good place to relax.

The hotel lacks a common area with a bar to sit around in the lobby (lobby bar) but at least the hotel does have a sports area behind closed doors off to the side with stark white walls. (again, no ambiance) A DJ plays music at night, there is a dance floor, and ping pong and pool tables. The sister hotel next door, which is a short boardwalk on the beach or 5 min street walk away has a live band playing in their lobby most nights. Both hotels have some dancing depending on the crowds. There is a main stage in-between both hotels (Azul & Azul Grand) and they have a Mexican show 2x per week. There is a Disco which opens late at night between the two hotels. Other than that we were unaware of any entertainment going on, they don’t communicate what is going on very well during the day or evening.

The a la carte booking system is the worst I have experienced in years. The wasted time standing in line only to find out they are full and cannot accommodate you until many days later is frustrating considering Azul’s star rating. The restaurants are never all open. Only one is open per night and some nights not at all. You can only book 3 per week and only 1 at the sister hotel. Azul, this is the main complaint from all your guests. Open your restaurants to serve your guests. Most of us do not want to eat buffet night after night particularly not on Ikea plastic chairs. The food was decent, not great, but not bad either. We have definitely had much better. The buffet for lunch next door was better than the lunch buffet at the Grand.

The drinks and waiter service around the pools was excellent. Name brand liquors. Modelo and Negra Modelo on tap at both resorts. The Chilean wine was very good at both hotels. Wine drinkers, you will not be disappointed. The waiters loved tips in U.S. dollars, so don’t hesitate to bring a stack of ones for tipping.

The lack of beach is sad, and the sister resorts beach next door is just plain nasty. Sure, like others have mentioned there is a beach to the south of the resort in front of club med, but you have no loungers to use, and no bar service to have a drink, fine for a walk or swim in the ocean, but not somewhere you would stay for any length of time. Just not the same not having a beach in front of your own resort.

TIPS
• Awesome massages for approx $20 Cdn at a hut beside the Azul Ixtapa hotel on the beach
• There are multiple English speaking tv stations in the rooms; news,movies,sitcoms
• Book your a la cartes as soon as you arrive to have any hope to get what you want
• You must play the towel game by 8:00 a.m. at the infinity pool or you will be out of luck to spend the day there.
• Wine can be ordered by the glass via room service (room service is free to Sunwing guests)
• Beds and pillows are very comfy, no need for mattress toppers etc.
• There are Lattes and cappuccino’s available at the buffet restaurant. You can NOT get them at any of the bars anywhere on the resort.
• Do go to Ixtapa Island and walk about and check out all 3 beach areas there.
• U.S. dollars are accepted for tips no problem.
• Do try the bali beds right by the water…….great for comfortable relaxation

Between both resorts, guests can eat and drink and use pools at either. I never once saw guests from next door asked to return to their property. They were allowed to use all our facilities, and us theirs.

To sum it up, very nice hotel rooms and nice infinity pool area for relaxation. You have to make your own fun, as there really is so little going on. Very mellow place. For the money there are too many nicer beaches with decent resorts/hotels out there for the same money so I would not return. If we ever returned to Ixtapa, we would stay in the hotel zone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My mother, 12 year old daughter and I visited Ixtapa and this resort for the first time. The resort, it's staff, the entertainment and weather were top notch!!!! We never once saw garbage or litter anywhere on the resort. The staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating. We never once got approached or hassled for a time share (not sure they even have any). The pools were pristine and always a sunny or shady place to relax. It was super close to the pier where you could get a boat over to the island ($40 pesos return for the three of us). Don't get suckered into having someone escort you across or take you to the coral side unless you want to go snorkelling. The white sands, warm water, atmosphere and fresh seafood was amazing! Yummy fresh oysters. ( you see them pulling them out of the water) There is a market if you follow the pier away from the water which has reasonable prices and they don't jump down your throat. (Cheaper here than town or the gift shop)
The rooms were gorgeous and the beds soooo comfortable. We even had our room serviced twice a day plus turn down service!
We went on the Sunset Cruise on the Picante catamaran. Breathtaking and later on after the sunset, quite the dance party!
I have only one major complaint, the food was never hot and the selection was limited in the buffet. The only a la carte that was outstanding was the Asian. The Oyster bar was okay, atmosphere awesome but I thought they might have actually served oysters or some great seafood.
My minor complaint is that our neighbour was smoking on his balcony so the smoke wafted into our room. It was not pleasant to have our balcony open. Smoking is not allowed on the balcony and after 5 reports to the hotel, two being directly to the hotel manager, nothing still was never done. The smoke around the pools, especially the infinity pool was disappointing.
It's really a great resort but those two things would definitely make me think twice about returning considering this is rated the #1 rated hotel in Ixtapa. Fix those things and I'd be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The resort itself was beautiful. The rooms were awesome. Everything was super clean! The only down side was the food was limited. The choices were limited in the buffet. The A la Cartes were hard to get into and spread through both resorts. There were no maps and half the time we had no clue what was where. We missed out in things because we had no clue what was going on. They didn't advertise their shows or anything else.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LosCabosWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
291 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We spend a wonderful two weeks at this resort. Our room was very spacious, and the view is outstanding. We were on the 18th floor.. Mid...perfect...woke up to the beautiful view of the island...and spectacular sunset every evening....food was good, many choices for alcarte restaurants. Trust me this resort will not disappoint....there were three pools to meet everyone's needs...the infinity pool was our favourite. Easy bus ride into Iztapa or zihuatanejo for one 10 pesco. Canadian dollars are recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Positives:
Beautiful resort, like new, clean and modern
Nice, friendly staff
Gorgeous views, great pools

Negatives:
VERY BORING, little to no entertainment
Disappointing food, limited opportunities..
Disappointing drinks, minimal selection..

This resort is very new and has A LOT to work on…

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whitney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My family and a large group of our friends travelled to the Azul Ixtapa Grand during spring break. Our group was 7 families consisting of 14 adults and 13 kids of varying ages from 7-18. So, much of this review will relate to our experiences as a group which would be much different than a single family or couple. 

Check in was relative quick. They had many stations open to receive the bus loads of arrivals which is nice to see. They were able to accommodate all of us on a single floor which was nice. I think it was partially due to the hotel being only around 70% full during the week. On the weekends it gets up to 90% with many locals coming in. 

The property is quite new.  I was told that it's only about 18 months old and it looks it. There's extensive use of LED lighting and the decor is modern if not a bit sterile. 

The rooms are quite spacious and look exactly like the pictures. No bait and switch here. We had two doubles and there was a lot of room. If you had a single king it would be even more spacious. The jacuzzi tub is right there in plain view and there's a good sized shower with rain head. Pressure was excellent and hot water was always available. There is also a water closet. A note about the jacuzzi tub, stay away from the suction holes because we saw the effect of getting sucked in on quite a few people's backs. 

One small issue was the height of the vanity. It was low. Not a big issue but a bit odd. 

There was also a good sized walk in closet with a safe. A good place to get the clothes out of the way.  Overall the rooms were excellent. We had a high floor so the view from the good sized balcony was excellent. 

There are three pools on the property. The top one closest to the building is an adults only pool that doesn't get sun until after 11am at the earliest. The middle one is by the activity area and is perfect for kids. It gets sun about 10 but only on the far side. 

The last pool is where we stayed the most. It's the infinity pool with a grotto bar. It gets sun the earliest. It's a bit noisy on the left side because of the grotto waterfall but overall it's not bad. Great bartender, Oscar, in the grotto bar. Always accommodating and friendly.

So, the good part of the resort is the physical property and the friendliness of the staff. It's a new property that is super clean and modern and the staff try to be as accommodating as they can. The public washrooms were some of the cleanest I've ever seen at all times. Never saw a spec of garbage anywhere. It's definitely like a 5 star resort in this case.

The downside or the other side of the resort is average food. It isn't horrible but it's not great either. Breakfast was the best because you can get a make to order omelette but the rest of the food is okay. Lunch at the buffet was good depending on the day but the snack shack by the infinity pool is average at best. Usually exactly the same thing and the quality was only okay.

The dinner buffet's were similar to lunch, good depending on the day. The a la carte's were okay to good with the Mexican being the best of the three. The bad side is that they cannot accommodate big groups except for the Mexican. When we tried to get our group of 27 together it was only possible in the buffet or the night when the Mexican was open otherwise we had three different times to accommodate our group.

This brings up another couple of issues. Since the occupancy was only 70% or so during the week they only had one a la carte restaurant open each day. And, although the staff at the a la carte reservation desk were very nice and helpful the system they use on the computer makes it very hard for them to book big groups and especially so when the restaurant will only take a maximum of 20 people for a given hour. Not the employees fault at all but the Ixtapa Grand needs to look at this system if it ever wants to have bigger groups.

We were allowed to use the other property's facilities and restaurants but one big restriction is that the Ixtapa Grand can only book 10 people max into any of the a la carte restaurants on a given day. Not quite full access.

As a newer resort they also had a lot of rules. No playing on the tennis courts unless you had the proper tennis runners which was up for debate. The activity/sports bar closing down at midnight sure limits the nightlife. But, the staff in that bar were great especially Isabel who was very fun to deal with.

We were booked as a group through Sunwing and I can't say enough about their service. A private bus transfer was arranged for a group to the resort and back to the aiport. The on site representative, Rodrigo, was super helpful and nice. He was able to arrange a 6 hour private bus tour with guide for our group of 27 at a reasonable rate. Juan was the guide and he was excellent if you can get him. Brought us to coconut plantation and local tile manufacturing camp. Very informative.

So, overall I would have given the Ixtapa Grand a 3.5 point review if it was possible since the property was 5 star but the food and other odd quirks they had were unaccommodating especially if you are a big group. But, overall the average food quality is a bit of a showstopper for me. I was expecting better given how great the facilities are.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the higher the floor the better. The top floor is 24 so anything in the 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warmhappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
2.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.8 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
3.5 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center

Property: Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
Address: Paseo Punta Ixtapa Lote 2, Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort with an eco-conscious environment, offers suites with spectacular views along with multiple dining options so you can pamper your palate throughout your stay. Relax in a tropical environment while enjoying captivating views of the Pacific Ocean. The details, the sophisticated architecture and the refined comfort of Azul Ixtapa Grand combine to make a resort like no other. The Resort is located in Ixtapa Zihuatanejo on the Pacific Coast of Mexico, southwest of Mexico City. Ixtapa is considered one of the “Jewels of the Mexican Riviera.” It is located 20 minutes from Zihuatanejo International Airport (Code: ZIH) and just minutes from the Marina. The Resort is close to shopping areas and golf courses in Ixtapa. The area has an average temperature of 86 degrees Fahrenheit throughout the year with about 255 sunny days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing