We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasently surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emporio Ixtapa
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Chilliwack BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasently surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good value for the money. Staff have been very friendly and help full. Excellent location for beach and shopping. The beds are newer and excellent. Very comfortable. Food is average but good quality. We have stayed at two other hotels her at ixtapa and like this location/facility the best. It is not 5 star, if that's what your looking for, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get above 5th floor for better view. Mountain views are away from the busy elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cultuslaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last December.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    283
    149
    52
    46
See reviews for
294
234
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hotel Emporio has very nice public areas; attractive pool area & bar, beach w/huts, comfortable lobby also had bar area w/TV. The location is excellent; restaurants, banks, shopping are across the street. The rooms, however, are very outdated. The bathrooms are ok but the furnishings are old and worn. The air conditioning had to be repaired twice. The staff is nice but slow to resolve problems.

Room Tip: Get room w/ocean view. Beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last December.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We are changing all air conditioned, it will be ready for Spring 2014.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
172 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Ok, this is no Pueblo Bonito Sunset in Cabo, but the laid back culture is more apparent here - especially if you get out of town and we did. Try to make it to Barre de Potosi for their awesome beach and Troncones and take out a local panga and fish the breakwater - that was FUN!

So you see we used the hotel as a landing spot and it was great for that. Very spacious rooms, nice beds...yea, service may not be 5-star, but what are you doing here? Get to the beach...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last November.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel as all the hotels in Ixtapa were built in the early 80's..ok with this considered not bad appearance... The service is truly lacking, even by Mexican standards... And I live in Mexico....the front desk staff was un-attentive, the rooms are outdated, plumbing, fixtures, etc... The pool was ok, but littered with waste from so many people using it ... The standout violation, if there were such a thing here was the pool bar which you could smell for a distance of 20 meters.... The bar rot, from the draft beer was overwhelming... If this was rated 2 stars , at least it would be accurate, and with a chance to achieve this rating with help... But 4 stars????... Not even close... You will be disappointed or worse if you expect much from this facility... The only positive feature I can mention would be the location ... Very centrally located with a nice beach

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cruiserpro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 9 May 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por haber elegido Emporio Ixtapa para disfrutar de sus vacaciones en el hermoso destino de Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, Le agradecemos todos los que aquí colaboramos en el tiempo que nos dedico en escribir acerca de su estancia con nosotros, estamos trabajando mucho en nuestro programa de capacitación y mejora continua para brindarle un mejor servicio día a día, esperamos poder recibirlo muy pronto para que constate nuestra mejora en áreas y servicio.

por favor no dude en contactarnos para atenderle personalmente

Claudia Montes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Havre, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

En general el hotel es bueno sin embargo últimamente está algo descuidado, vengo aquí desde hace varios años y muchas de las instalaciones ya requieren mantenimiento, en general es limpio, la alberca es pequeña sin embargo pienso que en temporada alta debería de extenderse un poco más su horario de apertura (cierran muy temprano), es cómodo que el hotel tenga playa (mar abierto y algo peligroso como es Ixtapa) y a poca distancia hay centros comerciales, tiendas y restaurantes.
El servicio de administrativos y en especial los botones es muy bueno, son personas muy amables y atentas, sin embargo hay algo de apatía en lo que respecta a la animación para los turistas, falta de actividades, entretenimiento, concursos que son comunes y dan ambiente en especial en temporada vacacional. No tengo opinión con respecto a la comida sin embargo considero que su precio es un poco elevado, las bebidas son buenas. Tiene hermosa vista al mar en muchas de sus habitaciones y estancias confortables. Y en mi opinión personal debería innovar un poco y aceptar perros en algún cuarto aparte tipo pensión, y así ayudar a fomentar conciencia y cultura hacia los animales. Creo que como yo hay muchas personas que aman y desearían viajar con sus mascotas.

In general the hotel is good but lately there are some stuff that need to be fixed. In general is clean, the pool is small and I think that the opening time should be longer during holidays (it closes early), the beach is just in front a few meters away and crossing the main street are shops and restaurants.
The service is very good, specially from the bellyboys, they are very gentile; nevertheless there's a lack of entertainment, activities, contests, for tourists which are common in other hotels and give a lot of ambience and good time specially during holidays.
I have no opinion about the food I just think I a bit expensive and the drinks are good. It has beautiful view I the sea ins some of the rooms and comfortable public spaces. And in my personal opinion it should innovate an start accepting dogs in special places of the hotel, like the pet hotels, so we can start increasing respect and culture for animals; I believe that like me there are lots of people who loves and wishes to travel with their pets.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ximenilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

My in-laws and my family have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years as part of the larger time-share they support. Over the years the clientele has changed, not because it has worsen at all but because the middle class in Mexico has grown over the years. It is not sofisticated but it is nice, not rowdy and the staff is great.
Anybody from the front desk to the popl staff, the concierge, the room attendants, security are well trained, profesional and exceptionally caring!
Other reviewers say that this is not a fancy hotel. True! And that makes it even better. It is all tiled, well kept and the views from most any room are great. As part of our timeshare we have two contiguous rooms assigned and this time they were in the North corner of a high floor. The views were spectacular both of the beach and the Sierra.
You have excellent s snacks and drinks throughout the day and the servers are nice, funny and perfectly trained. The snack/drink packages are a must if you have kids.
The location is the best. Up and down the Boulevard you can find boutiques, restaurants, curios and the crafts market. There is a taxi service right in the hotel and there are ATM's associated with international branches that will void your fees! (make sure to look up the correspondances between banks).
All in all, my kids have grown up spending almost every summer in this place and it has been kept up if not improved over the years. Thanks Emporio!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowcraving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Arrived in our room at 6pm, noticed (immediately) that the A/C wasn't working. Reported the problem, went to dinner, came back at 11pm, still no A/C, and - as the hotel was fully booked - no alternatives were said to be possible. A technician arrived at 11.30 to fix the problem, and indicated that the problem was solved - only after an hour or so it wasn't blowing any colder The control panel was broken, as well, so we were not even sure of the temperature settings. This is about the time we noticed the ants, which were popping up in various places around the (very mediocre) room. Went to the front desk the next day and requested to be compensated, but were rebuffed. When informed that there were ants, the supervisor said - and I quote - "The whole city has ants". They were not at all willing to discuss any type of compensation. We asked to speak to the Hotel Manager, but were told that he/she wasn't in until 9am, and so we were out of luck. I asked to speak by cell phone with the Hotel Manager, but was informed that he/she does not have a cell phone, which is - of course - ridiculous.
Not a single soul in the place was prepared to offer anything ... not even an apology. We were told that this was, in part, our fault for not reporting the problems earlier (A/C + ants). I can not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.9 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Property: Emporio Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emporio Ixtapa greets guests in a spacious lobby , which include clarity marble floors and abundant planters with tropical plants, covered by a dome inspired by Mexican colonial architecture. This peaceful atmosphere , with equipales traditional wood and leather is ideal for couples or families seeking the privacy of a place to relax and enjoy the mar.Uchas thanks for your comments and attention of our staff. We are working on continuous improvement of hotel and appreciate your input which will take into account in order to continue providing excellent service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing