We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love Ixtapa but Emporio leaves a lot to be desired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporio Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emporio Ixtapa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“love Ixtapa but Emporio leaves a lot to be desired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We returned to Ixtapa after a 4-yr. absence, our first time being in 1994. Our prior visits were always next door at the Dorado, but since we don't care for all-inclusive, we thought we would try the Emporio. We were sadly disappointed. Upon entering our room on the 5th floor, it was 79 degrees, and the air conditioner did not work, and we also did not have a refrigerator. They did send someone up to "fix" it, but the temp. never changed. After 3 more calls,(and still no refrigerator) they told me "tomorrow we will have a very nice room for you.". The next morning they told me to come back in an hour, then to come back at 3:00 etc. etc. We finally got moved, and tried to put it behind us, but the fact is the air conditioning system is the hotel is the worst we've ever encountered, there are no fans in the room or lobby,and no ice machines. There are also MANYchildren in the main pool and around the pool swim-up bar. We do not have a problem with the Mexican people enjoying the beauty and amenities of their own country, but the noise level and unruliness was really annoying. (and being a former preschool teacher, I'm very tolerant). A wonderful children's pool and play area is provided, but never used. Service on the beach was just mediocre. I try and end on a positive note, so I will say I thought the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. However, as much as we enjoyed the beauty of Ixtapa and the wonderful dining at the nearby restaurants we will not be returning to the Emporio

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forrestIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last January.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    275
    145
    52
    44
See reviews for
275
226
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

After 20 January trips to the Dorado Pacifico, the Dorado went over to the dark side...All Inclusive...We tried an all inclusive once but it just wasn't us. Last year we went to the Emporio for the first time and it was very nice...This year we found it to be a lot better. The staff was much more friendly this year is the biggest difference. The staff works very hard to battle sand all day every day and keeps the place very clean. Beach and pool chairs are available all day. It is busier on the weekend as many Mexican tourists come in. We really enjoy the breakfast buffet we purchased from Applevactions in advance and found it to be a good value. Pool beverage service is good. The food and beverage credit is supposed to be used in the restaurants not by the pool but they cheerfully applied it to the pool bar. We never ate dinner in the hotel because we have so many favorite restaurants in Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo. There was no beach Volleyball organized but we were always welcome to play at the Dorado and the Tesoro up the beach. The waves pound and can be very dangerous but this year the ocean was very calm and the water was clearer. Check in was slow because it is complex but the staff works hard to get it done as fast as possible. Some of the people who were at the Dorado still stay there...Some stay at the Krystal...But we really like the Emporio!

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view is worth the price to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illinoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last January.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Hotel as such is a lovely place: swiming pool, the rooms (at the top floors!), the whole building and the beach. The morning buffet is relatively poor compared to others in Ixtapa. Animation is probably overdone, music is really load, goes from the morning to late in the afternoon and the guy in charge keeps on screaming to be sure nobody misses his announcements on each of the activities proposed (beach volley, aquazumba and so on).

The best part is the friendly service overall, with the notable exception of the reception desk (which is the definitively the worst part of the hotel). At arrival and departure times you really have to be patient. When we arrived there was a big chaos in the reception. Admittedly, we were lots of people arriving siumultanously, but the staff was completly unprepared and half of them were just standing looking at their colleagues' computers instead of getting things done faster. Thous some of them were friendly, others were just overwhelmed and nervous. Turists' complains were of all kinds, such as delays in handling the rooms reservations not being respected, or others arbitrarily changed (a guest I saw had requested a room with sea view but became a room on one of the first floors with view to the street), etc. A friend of mine told me that he witnessed this kind of problems years ago.
On the other hand, waiters at the swimming pool are very friendly and the service is excellent. Of course, there is an economic reasoning behind, despite the general sympathy that they may naturally show. They are hired on a temporary basis (from what they told me, though they avoided telling me more about the precise conditions under which they worked). Therefore, the bulk of their annual revenues come from the tips they obtain during high seasons. Probably managers may not only want to improve their computing system at the reception desk, but also introduce a tips-system among those working there.

Room Tip: Sea view is definitvely recommended (though you do not have the guarantee to get one) and pick those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanhmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last January.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location right on the beach. Very convenient with restaurants, shopping and pharmacy right across the street. The staff here speaks mostly spanish so it was a bit hard to communicate. Food is good and pool is beautiful with swim up bar. Staff is friendly but service at the pool and beach isn't great. Takes about an hour to get food served from the time you place your order. Most of the time we walked to the bar to get drinks and ice because there wasn't enough staff to accommodate the pool and the beach. Rooms are ok, somewhat dated with the beds very squeaky and hard in a standard room but our friends in a Jr. Suite loved their bed. Maybe the higher priced rooms have better beds? Would go back for sure for the beautiful beach, sunset and warm temperatures. The new year celebration on the beach was awesome, with fireworks and lanterns lighting the sky.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last December.
It is very unfortunate that there had this bad service at the beach and in the swimming pool, we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good value for the money. Staff have been very friendly and help full. Excellent location for beach and shopping. The beds are newer and excellent. Very comfortable. Food is average but good quality. We have stayed at two other hotels her at ixtapa and like this location/facility the best. It is not 5 star, if that's what your looking for, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get above 5th floor for better view. Mountain views are away from the busy elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cultuslaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last December.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hotel Emporio has very nice public areas; attractive pool area & bar, beach w/huts, comfortable lobby also had bar area w/TV. The location is excellent; restaurants, banks, shopping are across the street. The rooms, however, are very outdated. The bathrooms are ok but the furnishings are old and worn. The air conditioning had to be repaired twice. The staff is nice but slow to resolve problems.

Room Tip: Get room w/ocean view. Beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback about your stay last December.
It is very unfortunate that there had this kind of problems during your stay; we really want to apologize for this series of unfavorable events. It is very important that we made known because corrective measures were taken to avoid recurrence.
We are changing all air conditioned, it will be ready for Spring 2014.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to erase the bad impression we caused you involuntarily.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Ok, this is no Pueblo Bonito Sunset in Cabo, but the laid back culture is more apparent here - especially if you get out of town and we did. Try to make it to Barre de Potosi for their awesome beach and Troncones and take out a local panga and fish the breakwater - that was FUN!

So you see we used the hotel as a landing spot and it was great for that. Very spacious rooms, nice beds...yea, service may not be 5-star, but what are you doing here? Get to the beach...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M, Director General at Emporio Ixtapa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay last November.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us entirely, the perfect location Emporio allowed to know the surrounding areas without any problem by adding security that exists in the area.
We hope your sooner way back to your Home in Mexico, Emporio Ixtapa.
Jaime Cárdenas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.9 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Ixtapa

Property: Emporio Ixtapa
Address: Boulevard Ixtapa S/N | Zona Hotelera, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40884, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Ixtapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emporio Ixtapa greets guests in a spacious lobby , which include clarity marble floors and abundant planters with tropical plants, covered by a dome inspired by Mexican colonial architecture. This peaceful atmosphere , with equipales traditional wood and leather is ideal for couples or families seeking the privacy of a place to relax and enjoy the mar.Uchas thanks for your comments and attention of our staff. We are working on continuous improvement of hotel and appreciate your input which will take into account in order to continue providing excellent service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Emporio Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Hotel Ixtapa
Emporio Resort Ixtapa
Hotel Emporio Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing