We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four in a Row”
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tesoro Ixtapa
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is the fourth year in a row that my wife and I have stayed at Tesoro. We again were not disappointed. Although the resort could use a little paint in places, it is very clean and the few rough edges add to the charm in our opinion.
The food is excellent and some of the fish dishes are outstanding! Freshly made bread is a real treat. We had daily room service for breakfast that included freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee and whatever we craved from eggs and bacon, fresh rolls or merely a fresh fruit plate.
The staff is very friendly and take pains to ensure that our trip was enjoyable.
Ixtapa beach is very scenic and very "walkable" for about a mile in each direction. Great massages are available about 200 yards down the beach.
The pool is wonderful. At times the resort hosts a goodly number of locals. Most are very nice with respectful children. When larger numbers are present, it's a good idea to keep a closer eye on your possessions and towels. Theft problems are rare given a healthy security force in place 24 hours per day but can happen.
We're looking forward to vacationing here again in 2015. We've made many friends from among the staff and also folks from the USA and Canada so it's like old home week every year :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldbartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Hola oldbartho; Le agradezco su tiempo para redactar un comentario en esta página de tripadvisor. nos da mucho gusto que sea su cuarta vez consecutiva que nos visitan y se enamoren de las bellezas de Ixtapa y así mismo del hotel. Todos los colaboradores del hotel Tesoro nos sentimos alagados con sus visitas repetitivas y deseamos nuevamente verlo por esta su casa el próximo año.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Tesoro Ixtapa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lots of positives about this hotel.

We stayed from Feb 23 to Mar 2.

Check in was a breeze. Quick and easy, You get two room keys, 2 pool pool cards, a safe key (N/C for the use of the safe) and a remote. Upon getting to the room, noticed two things. One, the room is very clean. Two, the room is a bit run down. Some of the floor tiles were cracked, the furniture a bit tatty and worn. The beds were great. Pillow top matteress, soft yet firm. Best beds ever encountered in Mexico! And the A/C worked well, too.

The food was good, nothing special. Pretty typical Mexician All Inclusive Buffet. Always something to be found to eat. Omlettes in the morning were excellent and the Alacarte restaurant was suburb. It's always interesting to see how could food can be when it's not produced for a buffet and the chef can take the time to cook.

The hotel has one pool and this is a bit of a downfall for me. A couple of issues here. The first comes from the attitude we experienced from some of the condo owners. The resort has a large number of condos owned by those who come south for the winter. A number of the snowbirds seemed to tolerate the weekly visitors at best and as couple of times, we experienced outright rudeness around the pool and public areas from these folks. Maybe they are just jerks all the time but it did nothing to enhance our vacation. The second issue about the pool is that it's loud. The music is loud, the screaming kids are loud (as they should be when having fun on vacation), just hard to relax sometimes. On the plus side the service around the pool area was good. But no adult pool or quiet pool to relax by.

The solution to the noisy pool was the beach, Good service on the beach. The beach vendors were very laid back and not annoying.The ocean waves can be very large and break very close to the shore. A couple of people were slammed by waves and ended up with scrapes and bruises. Be very careful when getting out of the ocean as the wave can catch you off guard.

The service at the hotel is excellent. Some of the best we have experienced in Mexico. That goes a long way for us and if we were to return, that would be the factor that would bring us back. But there are other resorts that offer more amenities with good services for similar prices in Mexico and I suspect we will not return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallyman1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable rallyman1... Muchas gracias por sus comentarios posteados en la página. Estamos muy agradecidos con su visita en Tesoro Ixtapa, tenga por seguro que estaremos trabajando en las áreas de oportunidad que menciona para que nos dé nuevamente la oportunidad de visitarnos, cada día ponemos nuestro mayor esfuerzo en cuidar las vacaciones de nuestros huéspedes y estos comentarios que nos regala nos ayudan a corregir las áreas y mejorarlas. La familia Tesoro Ixtapa lo invita a que nos visite nuevamente a esta su casa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just came back from Ixtapa with plus 30 C to minus 30 in Alberta. We spent 2 weeks at this hotel and have to say the staff and service was amazing. A very clean place, great ocean, pool and overall experience. We loved eating on the balcony overseeing the pool and looking to the ocean. The dinners set up outside were a highlight, with white covered chairs, the first night we thought it is set up for a wedding and then realized it was for all the guests. The bar service on the beach was also very much appreciated. There was nothing that spoiled our days or time around the pool and beach.
The only things that I personally did not like was the noise coming from the neighbouring A/C that did run all night. The humming was constant and it took me a few nights to get used to that.
The lobby bar was the only place to sit at night and it was not the greatest for comfort and atmosphere.

All in all it was excellent as for us the most important things were there: plenty of sun, great service and a very clean place.

Room Tip: There was no trouble switching rooms at all. If you end up in a room you do not like, ask them to...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MST958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Hola MST958; muchas gracias por los comentarios que nos regala en la Web. Realmente nos sentimos muy contentos de que sus vacaciones hallan sido todo un éxito y que descansara aquí en Tesoro Ixtapa, hemos compartido sus comentarios con todos los colaboradores y nos dará una enorme alegría tenerlos de regreso cuando gusten. Muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Tesoro from February 16-23, 2014. We wish it would have been for much longer! There is really nothing negative that I can say about this property. We are budget conscious travelers who place more value on the beach than in the star rating and amenities of the hotel. That being said, this beach was FANTASTIC! A great expanse of sand that was only enhanced by the hotel's Adirondack chairs on the beach in addition to the traditional loungers. The tikis for shade were plentiful and easy to get, all times of the day. The drink service on the beach was some of the best we have ever experienced. I hate to name any names because I can't remember everyone, and seriously, each face of the workers was equally as friendly and helpful as the last, but Oliva ALWAYS had a smile on her face and was a stand out server. They all were really awesome, and should all be commended for their customer service. It was a five star customer service experience at a three star price. We always make sure to travel with our insulated mugs, as they work better in the heat than the cups that are provided from the beach bar, and at one point, a server brought us a new drink in a beach bar cup to add to our insulated mugs, as they just guessed they were getting low. FANTASTIC!
The food was very good and plentiful, and fresh fruit in the winter is always a welcome diet for us from the north! We only ate one night in the Mexican restaurant that required reservations and it was excellent also. Our rooms, similar to all hotels we have been to in Mexico, are not fancy or always visually appealing upon close inspection, but were spotless and roomy. We also had a third floor ocean view room with a small balcony that was perfect for sitting in the evening or in the morning and watching the waves. Water and sodas were replenished in the fridge every day. The cleanliness of this hotel cannot be disputed or surpassed. Wherever you looked, no matter what time of the day it was, somebody was cleaning and polishing, always with a smile on their face and a friendly greeting.
We also really enjoyed the proximity to Ixtapa, it was just a short walk to the market and fantastic restaurants. The traffic was light and it was very safe and enjoyable at night.
All in all, it was a fantastic trip and I would plan on coming back here again.
Well done, Tesoro!

Room Tip: We sent a facebook message to the hotel and requested a third floor or higher room with an ocean vie...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stmprldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Hola stmprldynd: La familia Tesoro le agradece el tiempo tomado para regalarnos sus comentarios. Estamos muy contentos de haber provocado que sus vacaciones hallan sido relajantes, hemos compartido sus comentarios con nuestros valiosos colaboradores del hotel y a su vez felicitado por haber contribuido en el éxito de sus vacaciones, Lo invitamos a que nos visite nuevamente. muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Tesoro Ixtapa from January 10th - 16th. It was our first trip to Ixtapa and we weren't disappointed. We were a group of 3 couples and nobody had any complaints. The rooms were big and kept very clean. The mini fridge and safes in the room were a nice bonus. The food at the resort was very good over all. The service on the beach for drinks was exceptional, your glass was never empty for very long. The beach itself was incredible. It is the largest beach area that I have seen in my travels so far. We played a lot of beach volleyball and got the chance to meet a lot of great people from Western Canada and the northern states (espescially Minnesota). We also took part in a few of the other activities such as bingo and the horse racing game. We did a fair amount of walking off the resort and felt very safe. The weather was very hot and a very welcome break from the Saskatchewan winter. All in all it was a great holiday and an area & resort we would definitely return to and recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbirds2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Snowbirds...: Muchas gracias por estos comentarios que nos regala. Nos sentimos muy contentos de que le hallamos hecho pasar unos comentarios fabulosos en Tesoro Ixtapa. la Gran familia Tesoro lo invita a que regrese pronto y tome nuevamente unas estupendas vacaciones. muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed 5 days with my sister in February. We had a wonderful stay at the Tesoro Ixtapa.
The buffet was delicious and plentiful. The shows were colorful and entertaining. The staff
is very nice and helpful. We met a lot of nice people from Canada and Minnesota. Had a
great time on the beach under our umbrella, drinking and buying local wares. The waiters
are the best, very friendly and they keep the drinks coming.
Our room was large and kept very clean. The air conditioner worked great. The small
refrigerator was so handy to keep our water and cold drinks right in our room. We had a
fun stay and really enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view..
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014
Google Translation

Apreciable vacation1...: Le damos las gracias por destinar unos minutos de su valioso tiempo para regalarnos sus comentarios. Nos sentimos afortunados en que nos halla seleccionado para pasar sus vacaciones pero mas alegría nos da el que lográramos que estas fueran un éxito, compartiré el comentario con nuestros colaboradores y deseamos verlo pronto por esta su casa. muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Tesoro from February 9-16th. Our overall impression of the hotel was quite good. We got quite a cheap last minute deal so we were happy with the value for our money.

Rooms- we had a basic room with a king bed on the 2nd floor with a balcony and ocean view. The room was incredibly clean. The bed was comfortable enough. The room comes with a fridge and a safe and as far as we’re concerned that’s all we need. The house keepers were there every day and refilled the water and pop in the fridge.

Beach- Beautiful beach and warm water, and there were plenty of chairs to be had during the week. Unlike other resorts we’ve stayed at we could show up to the beach at 11am and there were plenty of chairs to be had at the beach. However as many other reviewers mentioned the resort fills up on the weekend with local families and then you are hard pressed to find a spot at the beach or pool by 8:30am. The beach service is very efficient; you certainly didn’t have time to go thirsty.

Pool- very nice and incredibly clean. The view of the ocean from the pool is beautiful!

Food- compared to the other resorts we’ve stayed in, this resort had one of the best buffets (other than a 5 star). There was always a huge selection and yes, some of the same items showed up every day but there was also always something new to try. The food always seemed fresh and we had zero issues with the food. The al-a-carte was fine, although portions were very small (style over substance).

Entertainment- We didn’t go to any of the nightly shows (not our thing). We did go to some of the activities at the lobby bar, the trivia night, the dance parties, and the karaoke. There isn’t a club/disco on the resort so the lobby is where it is at. It was quite dead during the week and then incredibly packed on the weekend with the dancing and karaoke tailored to the Mexican Families.

Ixtapa- We wandered around Ixtapa a few times. It’s a beautiful little place with a lot of restaurants and shopping. Off the resort we ate at a few of the restaurants all of which we would recommend: tequila Y salsa bar had very cheap tequila and delicious salsa (spicy), Frank’s Bar was a great Canadian-owned place with pizza and big screen Canadian sports playing at all times, and Chili Beans Bar had amazingly cheap and delicious Mexican food, the portions were huge so I’d recommend getting one plate and sharing! The markets are cheap and there are banks close by if you need cash.

Zihuatanejo- this city is very close to Ixtapa and you can get there via bus or taxi. We took a taxi for 90 pesos ($7.50 Canadian). This city is beautiful, the views of the bay, the ocean the houses/buildings built into the hills is a sight worth the trip. The market is huge and there is plenty to see. We felt very safe in the city and kept mostly in the tourist district. If you want a delicious authentic Mexican meal we recommend Banditos restaurant.

Fishing- We also booked a fishing trip through a beach vendor by the name of Big Ben. We’d heard good things about his services and that is why we decided to take the trip. We were so happy we did! It was far cheaper than the deal offered through the hotel and we had a great time. The boat picked us up at 7 am right from the beach; it was a small fishing boat, the guide and the two of us. We did the small fishing tour and ended up catching 8 fish! The guide then took us to Ixtapa Island for lunch and snorkeling. I have nothing but great things to say about the service, the guide and the overall excursion!

Over all, the resort is quite quiet and low key so if you are looking for a party resort, this isn’t the place for you. If you are looking to relax with incredible staff people who are friendly and helpful this is the place for you. Ixtapa was a great place to visit, incredible scenery and great people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roseline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#18 of 22 in Ixtapa
851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Ixtapa

Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n Lote 5, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: £95 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views of the sparkling Pacific and tropical mountains, this breathtaking resort features 203 rooms that cater to families, honeymooners and friends seeking the Treasure of tranquil waters, golden shorelines and year round sunshines in a vibrant Mexican destination.This All Inclusive resort is plenty of additional packages for Free Weddings, Conventions, Graduation Trips as well as Packages that include a Dolphin Encounter or SPA Massages. If you are looking for the secluded atmosphere of a Fine Dining place, just make a reservation to EL MESON, the Specialty Restaurant or even better, if you prefer to be in your room, we offer the possibility of asking for Room Service, free of charge (1 daily). In Tesoro Ixtapa you will find another exclusive jewel. If you feel hungry at midnight or coming back from the party, you will feel like at home, going down for some snacks like Nachos, Hot Dogs or sandwiches accompanied with beer or sodas...at the 7/24. And the best thing is that this is also included !!!! If you are looking for Location... This is the place to be, because it is located at the heart of Ixtapa, so you will be walking distance from the most important and commercial areas of town, as well as in front of the Golf Course or walking distance from de Marina Ixtapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tesoro Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing