We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, but staff was friendly and helpful.”
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tesoro Ixtapa
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ixtapa
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but staff was friendly and helpful.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

For starters construction was ongoing all 10 days we were present. We used AAA for our booking and they have usually provided better service. Next, our room left much to be desired. Then For a large facility, I was surprised to find only one restaurant. And for half of the trip, the meals were served in a large room without windows due to construction. And their Wi-Fi server never --ever--ever was functional, not even in their lobby. And then to top everything off, 80% of the shops in and around Ixtapa refuse to accept credit cards. I found this custom very strange. I had just never experienced this previously. I found the accommodations and lack thereof leaving much to be desired. We had 11 family members in our group.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank montgomerybri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado montgomer: Muchas gracias por el tiempo que destino para regalarnos sus comentarios. Toda la familia Tesoro agradece su visita, nos da mucha pena que los trabajos que estamos realizando de reparaciones hallan perturbado sus vacaciones sin embargo le comentamos que todos estos trabajos son para mejorar la imagen del Hotel y estoy seguro que notara grandes cambios en su regreso. Estaremos pendientes de su regreso montgomer y nuevamente le pedimos una disculpa por estas situaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    243
    165
    91
    77
See reviews for
264
237
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is not a typical hotel review as you are accustomed to reading. This review is focused on staff and services available at the Tesoro Resort for hosting a wedding. After traveling to several cities in Mexico over the past 35 plus years, we found the past 15 years found us returning over and over to the Tesoro in Ixtapa. We purchased a condo at the Tesoro in 2009. We have enjoyed the culture in nearby Zihua which is just a quick bus trip away. Now spending months at a time living in Mexico, the Tesoro has allowed us so many positive experiences.... new friendships from other owners and hotel guests from all over the USA, Mexico and Canada, the expansive beach is unmatched for its beauty and beach walking, superior service oriented hotel employees, servers at poolside and beach palapa are amazing, hard-working and friendly...these are just a few of many perks of staying at the Tesoro. This winter, when our daughter decided to host a destination beach wedding at Tesoro we all agreed it was a perfect choice. Our 80 guests stayed at the hotel or in a privately owned condo rented from Enna Inn Ixtapa. The wedding / groups coordinator, Victor, saw to every detail and provided us the most amazing contacts for vendors and the food services Manager, Juan, and his staff, provided delicious food, stunningly beautiful wedding/reception sites and delightful servers for all the wedding parties. There was not a detail overlooked and our guests had the most amazing time over the two weeks of celebrating. Much thanks to all Tesoro employees who worked so hard to make all the bride's wedding dreams come true!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alanwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Google Translation
Hola Alanwick: Muchas gracias por regalarnos sus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Nos fue un verdadero honor el poder llevar a cabo un evento tan especial como lo fue la boda de su hija aquí en Tesoro Ixtapa. Realmente fue experiencia inolvidable donde logramos capturar cada especial momento que se vivió. Todos los que participamos lo hicimos con el gusto con que siempre hacemos las cosas ya que disfrutamos nuestro trabajo. El equipo de alimentos y bebidas y en general todos lo que aquí trabajamos los esperamos con gusto y poder seguir atendiéndolos y compartir experiencias como una gran familia. Muchas gracias y un fuerte abrazo desde su casa Tesoro Ixtapa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For starters, used Orbitz.com for booking. Nice price for the package. So there in lies the problem: you get what you pay for.

Taxi from the airport to this hotel was 380 pesos. Not knowing what bus(es) to take we opted for this. If you want to save some money I recommend taking the bus called the URVAN to the PALACIO MUNICIPAL for 7.50 pesos/person. From there, for 10 pesos/person, you take a MICROBUS that has MARINA IXTAPA displayed on the front window and it will drop you off in front of the hotel. The return trip to the airport was less, 250 pesos, which we negotiated the day before. Use Jose Luis (Taxi 0122).

Now to the hotel. We get there and are promptly greeted by the front desk staff. We are given a room on the 2nd floor which does have a king-size bed. After 8 hours of travel I expect my fiance and me to get to our room and chill for a bit before hitting the town. This is not what happened. I go to look at the view from the balcony and she screams out there is a huge hole in the bathroom!!! I was like, "WHAT!!!???". See attached picture. I promptly call the front desk to complain and they ask us to come down. I believe I spoke with Jose Luis. I asked him why he would give anyone a room with such extensive damage to which he gave me the excuse that this was damage suffered by the hotel during the earthquake a month ago. As sad as that may be, I mentioned to him that I assumed the cleaning staff had to have mentioned this problem existed in this room and therefore don't give it to customers. I asked for a different room. He came back and gave us a Junior Suite (6007) which was on the 6th floor and had a better view.

Food was decent. Got a tour from the hotel to Ixtapa Island for 300 pesos. Lots of vendors on the street but don't know if they're legit. Senor Frogs is down the street. Head into town on the bus for 10 pesos to the Centro Commercial for souvenir shopping. Less expensive than the little shops down the street. Again, use the Marina Ixtapa Microbus. Thursday's is the traditional day the have Pozole (one of my favorite dishes) but alas it wasn't what I'm used to. It's either blanco or verde; I prefer rojo.

If I was to return I would look for better lodging. Don't forget Bug Spray if mosquitoes love you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celso P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Google Translation
Apreciable Celso P: Muchas gracias por agregara sus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Estamos muy agradecidos con su visita en esta su casa y así mismo le ofrecemos una disculpa por los desperfectos que vio en el hotel causa del pasado sismo. Le comentamos que ya tenemos un avance de un 50% en las reparaciones y nos dará mucho gusto que puedan ustedes constatar el buen trabajo que estamos haciendo para mejorar la imagen. Me da gusto que le hallan hecho un cambio de habitación donde se sintiera mas cómodo y nuevamente lo invitamos para que nos visita en esta su casa Tesoro Ixtapa. gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ixtapa hotels

Yahk, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent two weeks at this hotel on arrival we were given a room that left something to be desired but a trip back to the front desk and we were moved to a nice room with a balcony. The maid was amazing and kept our room nice and clean with flower arrangements each day. The food was decent for a buffet with lots of choices only down point for me was.too much sauce covered dishes. The desserts were amazing, the drinks were strong and the staff was quick and pleasant. The pool staff didn't seem to speak a lot of English but because we were there during the Mexican holiday season the hotel was about 90% locals so they all spoke Spanish. The culture and experience with the holiday season was great everyone was friendly and we had a lot of fun. The sun and heat was amazing mid April is scorching hot if you like the heat. I enjoyed the fact that we could go anywhere by foot or bus and feel 100% safe it allowed us to immerse into the culture and enjoy the locals. I would definitely recommend this location to anyone. Thanks for the great vacation

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony and no connecting door if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Google Translation
Apreciable Mel: Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para dar a conocer su experiencia. Le damos también las gracias por haber seleccionado Tesoro Ixtapa para sus vacaciones. Me alegra que hallamos atendido sus solicitudes y lo mas importante que el conjunto de atenciones brindadas hallan hecho que disfrutara sus vacaciones. Los esperamos nuevamente en esta su casa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We want to thank Baldwin Onell Alvarado Penaloza for all his attention, care and sympathy when we had an adventure on our last trip in February 2014. The hotel let us stay five days more until things were sorted out and they let us telephone free of charge. The young man mentioned at the start helped us enormously and was always there when we needed information or translation. Once again, thank you and we ended our trip on a positive note.
Joyce & Gilles Robillard
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Joyce: Gracias por sus comentarios en tripadvisor. La Gran Familia Tesoro Ixtapa envía un saludo a toda la gente bonita de Montreal, Quebec en Canadá. Hemos compartido su comentario con el Sr. Balwin quien los recuerda muy bien y estamos muy contentos por haberle apoyado en todo y lo mas importante es que su viaje a Tesoro Ixtapa fue todo un éxito. Toda la Familia Tesoro espera su pronto regreso. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here in March of 2014. When we arrived we were not able to check in to our room. The front desk said that they were full and we were not able to check in until 3 pm. We arrived at about 10:30 am.

I had emailed the hotel prior to booking and asked if there was a courtesy room where we could change seeing that the room would not be ready. My response from the hotel was an emphatic yes. We were surprised when we arrived at the hotel and asked where the courtesy room was and they pointed out the mens and womens room and told we could change there.

They did gave us a wristband that allowed us access to the pool, buffet and bar areas. I asked at this time if it would be possible to get checked in earlier than three p.m. I was told to come back at noon and they should be able to get me into a room.

At noon I decided to walk to the front desk to see if a room was ready for us. When I tried to leave the buffet area I was handed a bill for my cup of coffee . They wanted $17.00 US for a cup of coffee. This was not what we were told nor expected. At the front desk another obstacle, no room ready, in fact, I was quite sternly told the room would not be ready until 3.

However, they did give me a wristband that would get me into the bar areas, the pool and the restaurants without any additional charges.

We finally were able to get a room at about 3:30. The rooms were quite clean but could use a bit of updating.

The buffets and daily meals were fine. Keep in mind that this is a fairly inexpensive place to stay so don't set your expectations real high. That being said, the price allows you some flexibility in dining options that are a short walk from the hotel.

The staff around the pool area was very attentive. They really made an effort to serve you in a timely manner. Olivia out in the pool area was a real great waitress. The pool itself needed some attention. The weekend "budget" guests seem to raid the pool area and leave a bit of a mess.

Don't waste your money and buy the upgraded WI FI service. Most of the time it did not work. Go to the lounge area and use the free WI FI. The evening entertainment is ok. Then again, a short walk to a variety of bands and etc to enjoy.

A suggestion that I would make to the management would be to have a room available where guests could change and store their valuables while they wait for the rooms to be ready. They could also be a bit more efficient regarding room preparation. I find it hard to believe that there were no rooms available based on the number of guests that were leaving.

It was a so-so average place to stay. Not sure that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rrickjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Google Translation
Apreciable Cliente: Le agradecemos mucho sus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Por otro lado me apena mucho el haberle hecho pasar esta falta de atención en nuestros servicios así como la información que se le brindo erróneamente. Le comento que no contamos con cuartos de hospitalidad pero en los caso que tenemos llegadas antes de la hora de entrega de habitación se resguarda su equipaje y se les coloca su brazalete para que puedan hacer uso del paquete todo incluido mientras nosotros los huéspedes hacen su check out y limpiamos los cuartos para ustedes. De por seguro que estaremos trabajando en la coordinación de nuestros procesos para que mejoremos estas áreas de oportunidad que nos hace mención. Esperamos verlos pronto por esta su casa para que compruebe los cambios que hemos realizado. Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The 6 of us just returned from an all-inclusive week at Tesoro Ixtapa ... we had booked at reduced a price/seat sale and although had read good reviews here we did not really set our expectations too high. On our 3 day there, my sister-in-law slipped and injured her elbow while exiting a city bus (nasty cut). As we walked in to the lobby Security immediately questioned the blood that was visible in the handkerchief held at her elbow. Security staff initiated 1st aid right away and called for hotel lifeguards to take over. Giovanni Solis arrived and not only cleaned the wound but improvised some butterfly stitches made with medical tape (very impressive). He also filed a report with Victor Medinn our local SunWing Rep. For the reminder of our stay both Victor and Giovanni conducted personal one on one checks with my sister-in-law to make sure she was comfortable and Giovanni checked the dressing and made sure she was healing properly. True customer service! The reminder of the staff were made of the same cloth! Friendly, attentive and dedicated to the superior guest experience of our group and everyone around us. Not a fancy 5 star resort but actually one of the best resorts have seen in all my travels ... thanks to the staff and their care for their guests.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and up will greatly improve the beautiful view of the ocean. beach and nearby islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubén R, Director General at Tesoro Ixtapa, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Rick: Muchas gracias por tus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Hemos dado a conocer tus comentarios al Giovanni y a nuestro personal de seguridad. Nos da mucho gusto que te halla gustado la atención que te brindamos en Tesoro Ixtapa ya que lo hacemos con mucho gusto y siempre con la intensión de lograr que pasen una estancia agradable. Toda la Gran Familia Tesoro Te extiende una cordial invitación para que nos puedas visitar nuevamente cuando gustes. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#17 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.1 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#3 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tesoro Ixtapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Ixtapa

Property: Tesoro Ixtapa
Address: Blvd Ixtapa s/n Lote 5, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tesoro Ixtapa 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views of the sparkling Pacific and tropical mountains, this breathtaking resort features 203 rooms that cater to families, honeymooners and friends seeking the Treasure of tranquil waters, golden shorelines and year round sunshines in a vibrant Mexican destination.This All Inclusive resort is plenty of additional packages for Free Weddings, Conventions, Graduation Trips as well as Packages that include a Dolphin Encounter or SPA Massages. If you are looking for the secluded atmosphere of a Fine Dining place, just make a reservation to EL MESON, the Specialty Restaurant or even better, if you prefer to be in your room, we offer the possibility of asking for Room Service, free of charge (1 daily). In Tesoro Ixtapa you will find another exclusive jewel. If you feel hungry at midnight or coming back from the party, you will feel like at home, going down for some snacks like Nachos, Hot Dogs or sandwiches accompanied with beer or sodas...at the 7/24. And the best thing is that this is also included !!!! If you are looking for Location... This is the place to be, because it is located at the heart of Ixtapa, so you will be walking distance from the most important and commercial areas of town, as well as in front of the Golf Course or walking distance from de Marina Ixtapa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tesoro Ixtapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoro Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Ixtapa Tesoro Hotel
Tesoro Hotel Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing