We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Peak District weekend”
Review of Swiers Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carsington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swiers Farm House
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Peak District weekend”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I booked the farmhouse for my best friend's Hen Weekend at the beginning of February and it certainly did not disappoint. All the rooms were beautifully appointed in keeping with the age of the house and there was plenty of space for the 15 of us. There was everything we needed in the kitchen and the additional kitchen/ utility space came in very useful for when we had the excellent local chef, Tony Sloan, catering for us on the Saturday night! Nothing is too much trouble for the owners who are very friendly and helpful. There is plenty of space for parking and the village of Carsington is very pretty with the cosy Miner's Arms just a short walk from the house. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday let and hope to stay there again myself in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Wow what a fantastic place. We hired the farmhouse for a birthday. The house was full of lovely furniture, well equipped kitchen, and lovely and warm (January). It was very picturesque as there was heavy snow. The bedrooms were lovely and comfortable with luxurious bedding. There were plenty of DVD's, books and games if weather bad. It was a beautiful quirky house, full of character. The owner was very helpful. Will definitely be booking again. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2012

On a cold bright December weekend Emily Barn provided a lovely warm cosy comfortable home from home for the weekend. The décor and facilities were excellent for our family group of parents, children and grandchildren. The kitchen is well equipped and we cooked three evening meals for our whole party with plenty of cutlery, crockery, glassware, pans, oven dishes - everything we needed. The bedrooms and bathrooms are well decorated and equipped and the lounge area worked really well.
The Riach family were lovely to deal with in booking the cottage and whilst we were there with flexibility in arrival times, tea and coffee, milk and biscuits left on arrival, providing cots, high chairs etc. We liked the activity centre at Carsington Water - kids play area, walking and lovely cafe/ restaurant, Matlock Spa - nice shops, cafe's and aquarium .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I took a walking group of seven to stay at Emily Barn, Swiers Farm for a short break and our visit was just about perfect in every way. The accommodation is very comfortable, spacious and well equipped, and the Riach family could not have been more helpful throughout. There is some excellent walking from the farm, and it is a short drive to the superb walking around Dovedale. We found some very good local pubs with good food and some interesting real ales (important for our group!). Try the pubs in Hognaston and Brassington as well as the local Miners Arms in Carsington. This location and accommodation is highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidJHeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Booked Emily Barn farmhouse for 14 people and it was really good. The cottage was perfect for all of us as it was quite spacious and had enough beds to accomodate us. The cottage was well furnished with lots of cutlery and crockery. Outside garden was really nice and we spent a lot of our time out there as the weather was really good! Awesome place and highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Swiers Farm House in September for a reunion of school friends (and 2 babies)and had an amazing time. Great location, lovely cottage and lots to do in the local vacinity. Would highly recommend it for a weekend break or longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richlowsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Swiers Farmhouse was an amazing venue for my hen weekend. A total surprise booked by some amazing friends and was just perfect. Social large kitchen with everything you could possibly need and a large back garden for afternoon wine and cake. The owners, Doug and Val were friendly, helpful and had a really laid back and flexible approach. The 3 piglets in the back garden were also adorable and just added to the whole experience.

I would not hesitate to recommend booking Swiers or Emily Barn (the owners let us take a peek and it too is stunning).

Thoroughly fabulous

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsington
2.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
10.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 25 in Ashbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiers Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiers Farm House

Property: Swiers Farm House
Address: Swiers Farm, Carsington DE4 4DE, England (Formerly Carsington Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Carsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Carsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Grade II listed Farm House in pretty peak district village. This farm house is ideal for families who want to holiday together, a reunion of friends or for people who want a special occasion. Carsington provides a great place to base yourself to explore the Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swiers Farm House Carsington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing