We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky house for a family get-together”
other traveller has booked this property
Swiers Farm House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swiers Farm House
kitchen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Swiers Farm House
kitchen
kitchen
Dining room
Kitchen
Example of bedroom
Kitchen
Christmas/ New Year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Carsington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosie D
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky house for a family get-together”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed at Swiers Farmhouse for the weekend to celebrate our son's 18th birthday with extended family. We were coming from Buckinghamshire and many of the family from Yorkshire, so it was a good central location.
Doug, the owner, was extremely helpful and replied to all my messages very promptly. He was very flexible, even when our numbers were going up and down (flu!) right up to the last minute. He also allowed us to stay much later than the usual check out time, so that we could make the most of our short stay.
The house is very quirky, with lots of low beams (tall people beware!) and lots of different bedroom combinations, which worked well for our party. The dining room was perfect for our party meal, for which we enlisted local caterers recommended by Doug, who were excellent.
The rainy weather put paid to our planned walk to Carsington Water (which is close by) so we made do with a short walk to the local pub.
The house is very warm and cosy and very well equipped. It is very good value for its size.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui F
2 reviews
“Loads of space, loads of character”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Loads of space, loads of charachter



We were a group of 4 couples so always knew that we would under occupy this property but were still surprised by the space and bed options. there were 5 private bedrooms with 2, 3 or 4 beds in each room, with at least one double in each room plus a more 'open' mezzanine area with 3 beds which would be good for families or a group who don't mind sharing. The beds were comfortable, bedding of a high standard and kitchen and shower towels provided. The kitchen is very well equipped and with both kitchen and dining room having large tables, there were loads of seats for dining. The structure of the building was old and rustic (possibly not a straight wall in the place) but sound. It isn't pristine, due to its age and use by large groups, but was very comfortable and there was no worry about the possibility of small spills. We managed to sit out on the front patio at the end of October which was a bonus but can imagine front and back would be lovely in the summer. There are nice walks from the property. Dougs communication was excellent and he was very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Thank you for your kind comments Iam pleased you had a good break in my home hope to see you again Kind regards Doug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laurag180...
2 reviews
“Amazing! You must visit!”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What an amazing place! 9 girls stayed here for my sisters hen do and it was the perfect place for it.

A beautiful grade 2 listed building with so much character. Lovely bedrooms and kitchen. A short walk from carsington water where many activities can be done. It was a real get away from the cities we all live in.

Went for a curry in Matlock bath which was a 15minute taxi drive away. Cromford train station about the same distance also.

Snow made the whole place look even more beautiful and even though cold outside the cottage was very toasty!

The owner, Doug, is absolutely great! He was really helpful and even helped us by offering to pick up our friend from the train station as he has a 4x4 that was better in the snow than our cars! He then also helped take us to Matlock bath as our taxi only fit in 8 people! An absolute star who really made our weekend run smoothly.

I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends and family!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynC83020...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant house, beautiful surroundings and a perfect hen weekend!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 9 of us stayed at Swiers Farm for my best friend's hen weekend and it met all our expectations. The village is lovely and welcoming and the house was bigger than expected but still a lovely cosy space for us to enjoy. We definitely made the most of the house by having in the dining room, a picnic lunch in the lovely (and again big) garden, pre-dinner drinks in the snug/living room and also dinner in the local pub (2 mins walk from the house). Doug (the owner) was great throughout and was always on hand to help. I think it's safe to say we would all recommend Swiers Farm and just wish we had stayed longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The scenery - the village was unbelievably beautiful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Childofth...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is an absolutely stunning property set in such a great location (but you definitely need a car). Whilst not actually in the park, it is close enough to be an hour's drive away from the north-most part of the National Park. There is tons to see and do.

Space for 4 cars. There was 16 of us and we all loved the house. Doug was incredibly helpful. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable and everything was clean. Wish we had stayed at a warmer time of year to take advantage of the lovely garden.

Really cannot recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house felt like a home. Plenty of space for a large group.
Liked least: The downstairs shower/toilet is quite cramped but everything was clean, in working order and there are 2 other bathrooms.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing