We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The taste of history”

Old Kilbeggan Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$938.05*
and up
5-Day Northern Ireland and Atlantic Coast Tour from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kilbeggan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Ireland, just over 1 hour from Dublin lies the town of Kilbeggan, home to the world's oldest distillery, established in 1757. It is the quintessential Irish whiskey distillery - whitewashed walls, weathered slate roof, brick chimney stack, creaking timber water wheel, even regular ghost sightings. This is no mere "visitor centre" but a real working distillery run by a team of young enthusiastic craftspeople (and a few wise old heads too), skilled in the traditional ways of making Irish whiskey. Open 7 days (except during Christmas and New Year). Whiskey Bar. Gift Shop. Free parking.
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Myself and the boyfriend visited here last week. He is a fan of a good whiskey and we had previously taken the Jameson distillery tour in dublin city. We had really enjoyed that tour, but there is no comparison between the two. Our tour guide, Carol knew the distillery inside and out, from anecdotal to technical details of the brewing process. On the gold tour we were brought to the a warehouse where we met Sean, one of the longest serving members of staff. His stories were hilarious and it was definitely a highlight of the trip. We felt like we were having a front row seat view in to the past, with a sneaky sight of stuff we shouldn't see :) By the time we had our tastings (4 very different whiskeys for the boyfriend, and 2 samples to take away for myself as I was driving), our tour group that has begun as individuals would have happily propped up the bar with our tour guide for hours to come - a sure sign of the quality and personality of our guide, and to the distillery itself.

Thank i-confuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Guest Relations Manager at Old Kilbeggan Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for a such a great review!
It's always fantastic to hear feedback from our tours and we're thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience with us.

We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Worst of all the distillery tours in Ireland. Extremely unprofessional staff, the girl doing tour was smirking at us and making fun of foreign lady's English. Only the restaurant is worth a visit, staff there are nice and friendly, the food is very good and reasonably priced.

Thank stephaniehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Guest Relations Manager at Old Kilbeggan Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Stephanie – thanks again for your review. We very much welcome visitors from across the globe and to assist we try to offer requested tours in English, French and German. I feel that there has been a personal misunderstanding with regards to communication by your the tour guide. I would like to assure you that all of our tour guides operate with on a professional level, with customer service being their highest priority.

I understand that you regularly visit the distillery and I would be more than happy to discuss the matter on a call at a time convenient to yourself or in person next time you are here.

Kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very lovely setting. Greeted by distillery cat when we pulled in to car park. Quite nice to be allowed to wander around on your own as I've previously done at least a dozen distillery tours. Was very good seeing all the old machinery and mash tuns. A very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours, with the exception of a non local member of staff who didn't have a clue what they was talking about.

Thank leeatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor P, Guest Relations Manager at Old Kilbeggan Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your day at the distillery and even got to meet the cat! All comments are gratefully received and I'll make sure your feedback is passed on to the team.
We hope to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arranged this as part of our trip to Ireland. Unlike some of the other comments, guided tours are available which is what we had arranged. The distillery had been restored and is functioning and very interesting. One of the oldest distilleries in the world. I would recommend the visit if you are in the area and have an interest. The tasting was a very tasty way to end the visit...

Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stopped here as part of a group on June 15th.

It wasn't a welcoming experience - I think I would have been better off taking a whisky tasting night to learn more about how whisky is made.

This tour is a a 'self-guided' tour; the staff member handed us pamphlets (we had to share, as there weren't enough for eight people), and the different parts of the distillery just have numbers in front of them, which you have to refer to your pamphlet for.

At the end of the tour you get a tasting of the 5 year blended, and get to keep the glass, but the staff member who served us didn't tell us anything about the whiskey (we had to look at the bottle) - not my experience of tastings anywhere else.

Seems like a real opportunity has been missed to showcase a historic distillery.

Thank alphamatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Kilbeggan Distillery also viewed

Tullamore, County Offaly
 

Been to Old Kilbeggan Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing