We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business - Not recommended for Leisure”
Review of Scandic Fornebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Fornebu
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fornebu
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed and attended a conference which was held at the hotel recently. The hotel is new, clean and well maintained. It does lack a few creature comforts, such as a room safe, place to store your suitcase, coffee machine or fridge and decent hanging space. The rooms are on the small side - even the suites. The hotel is located at the site of the old Oslo airport and the area has since been built as an office area with a number of large multinationals calling the location home. There is next to no choice for restaurants in the area and no possibilities for sightseeing, other than the new urban development. The hotel has one large conference room which we utlised (no complaints) but the exhibition area spills out into the lobby, bar, elevator and restaurant areas which can be alienating for other guests who are not attending the conference. The food served at the restaurant is good, however it does have a rather limited menu. The breakfast buffet is good, but the selection does not vary for lunch. The service and staff presentation were of a high quality. The leisure center and pool is not yet open. Good for business but I wouldn't recommend for leisure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunburntViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHBJO, Leder  at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi


Scandic Fornebu thank you so mutch for your review from your stray with us.
Its summer time now and a lot of leisure guest are visiting us and in this days we and opening our brand new gym and a big play ground for children in the basement.

So hopefully we will see you back as our guest soon again , we look forward to see you again.

We wish you a good summer.

Best regards
Scandic Fornebu
Bjørn Runar Johansen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have been there for 2 nights. That was a big conference in this time so on the breakfast and lunch was crowded but anyway food on the breakfast/lunch was very good. Cook filled up buffet so every time was full food. Breakfast service was very friendly but they were busy because was just 2 waiters. Hotel room was clean and view is wonderful. Good connection with the internet. Parking place is expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHBJO, Leder  at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi


Thank you for getting back to us with a review from your stay.
Scandic Fornebu is located near the Oslo fjord and we are so glad that our guest like to view over the fjord.

Best regards
Scandic Fornebu
Bjørn Runar Johansen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I’ve been in this hotel 2 times.

The first time was for work related conference. The hotel is easy to access as there are near bus stops from Oslo City to Fornebu or vice versa. They have relaxing conference rooms and won’t get bored for a long conference because of the great view from the window. We're lucky that we've got the ocean side view from our conference room.

Their lunch buffet was superb and has lots of choices, from meats to seafoods..Ahh!.. and the desserts!! I would probably go back here for lunch buffet. :)

I choose this hotel for the second time because of the location, even though; it is around 30 minutes (bus ride) from Oslo City. The hotel location is very relaxing and peaceful. You can just go outside and walk-through the side of Oslo fjord or walk around the park (just outside the hotel).

The room price is really worth it and have good ambience. But maybe probably, they should add room slippers as the flooring are quite cold in the morning since it is not carpeted. :)

The staffs were also friendly and accommodating. During my second stay, they helped me to order a cake from the bakery since my sister will be having a birthday on that day. I emailed them a week before our check-in and they were able to grant my request. Kudos for that! :)

Breakfast buffet were also superb as their lunch buffet. Unlike other European hotel, they have lots of choices in their breakfast buffet. And they refill the table as soon as it became almost empty so other guests can have it.

I can’t wait to go back here again whether for work- related or personal relaxation. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence Mae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHBJO, Leder  at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi


Thank you for your great feed back from your stay with us, we realy hope to see you soon again.
All the best from team Scandic Fornebu.

Best Regards
Scandic Fornebu
Bjørn Runar Johansen
Hotellsjef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The scandic fornebu is perfectly located for business visits in the fornebu area. Located on the sea side of a fjord it has a park with flowers and grass close by. The restaurant has a wide menu with both simple food and full dishes. The Restaurant has a good wine selection and the staff was really helpfull. The breakfast is great with a lot of local produce and a good selectionm the hotel gave a relaxed atmosphere that gives you the possibility to relax after work. My room was clean and large with a big desk plenty of sockets but showed some minor wear. Will definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHBJO, Leder  at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014
Google Translation

Hei


Vi setter stor pris på din flotte tilbake melding til oss etter ditt opphold her hos oss på Scandic Fornebu.
Hotellet og alle her håper å se dere snart igjen som gjester hos oss.

Med vennlig hilsen
Scandic Fornebu
Bjørn Runar Johansen
Hotellsjef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wonderful hotel next to the water and park on one side and offices on the other. Great for runners - it's right next to a running path.
Very comfortable beds, fair room size, many outlets in the room. Ecological breakfast buffer. Gym will open on the 1st of June. Bikes are available during spring/summer. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Perfect for a business trip to Fornebu or for a concert at Telenor arena. I tried all 3 hotels in the area (Quality and Radission Blue) and Scandic is by far the best.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank TravelFan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHBJO, Leder  at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi


Thank you so mutch for taking the time to give us such a great feed back rom your stay with us.

You are so very welcome back another time .

Best Regards
Scandic Fornebu
Bjørn Runar Johansen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

good place to stay when you have business with Telenor. Or on vacation in Oslo, bus from hotel to down town take 30 min.
Staff is helpful and let you feel welcome.
Near by is beach and strand restaurant also.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank annalena113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHBJO, Leder  at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi


Thank you for a great feed back from your stay, we hope to see you soon again as our guest at Scandic Fornebu

Best Regards
Scandic Fornebu
Bjørn Runar Johansen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Scandic Fornebu is located if you are a business traveller and have to visit any of the many companies who had chosen to locate their offices in this area, some 10 km away from Oslo downtown.
With its architecture and the scenery around, the hotel offers the feel of a French minimalist movie from the 70's which some travelers may actually find appealing.
Literally 100 m away from the Oslo Fjord waters and nearby a lovely small seaside park, the hotel designers unexplicably opted to build it so very few of the rooms have seaside view. More often than not you might end in a room facing another room or one of the nearby souless office buildings or (if you are that unlucky) - the inside of the hotel lobby. Yes, they have some rooms with windows opening above the reception area and the lobby bar.
The standard double room has similar design - minimalist but functional. It was not very spacy and with some very questionable decisions about clothes storing and decoration. But again – some travelers might like that too…
Being on a short business trip, I had no problems with it - the room was clean, bed was comfortable, the linen and towels - also clean. No minibar or complimentary coffee but coffee and tea are freely available in the lobby. The laminate floor I found unappealing and cold.
The restaurant is a large, seaside facing area with very friendly staff but somewhat unimaginative breakfast menu. For my four-day stay we got unchanging number and type of products but in sufficient quality and quantity. The good thing about breakfast is that it starts as early as 6.30 which any business traveler would appreciate.
Reception service was fantastic - very friendly, very helpful staff. As an example - they gave out umbrellas for free to any guest that asked when a light rain started... Unfortunately, if you want to exchange your cash at the reception desk, make sure you do it during the day shift – the night shift will not be able to help you due to some internal regulations.
The hotel also has a small shop nearby the reception desk and there is also a small grocery store across the street. Make sure you find time to visit the small burger joint nearby, the Sjoflyhavna Kro, right behind the hotel, at the old seaplane airport.
The Wi-Fi connection is free of charge to hotel guests and is available literally everywhere in the hotel and offers impressive speed. If that is important to you – have no fear: it works splendidly.
Overall - a good hotel for business travellers, far away from Oslo Center & airport but close to HQs of several global companies. Would not recommend it for leisure stays or city breaks. Families with little children might also not find it very suitable.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyLava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHBJO, Leder  at Scandic Fornebu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014
Google Translation

Hei


Tusen takk for en meget god,omfattende og informativ tilbake melding fra ditt opphold hos oss.

Av nyheter vi kan presentere i nær fremtid er ett splitter nytt lekeland på 1200 kvm som vil bli ett flott alternativ for barne familier.

Vi vil også fra 01. Juni ha ett spiller nytt gym å tilby våre gjester og det har vært meget etter lengtet.

Med vennlig hilsen
Scandic Fornebu
Bjørn Runar Johansen
Hotellsjef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornebu
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Expo
Quality Hotel Expo
#1 of 3 in Fornebu
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
Scandic Sjolyst
Scandic Sjolyst
#27 of 102 in Oslo
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
3.9 mi away
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
#1 of 1 in Sandvika
360 reviews
3.5 mi away
Scandic Solli
Scandic Solli
#37 of 102 in Oslo
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Fornebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Fornebu

Address: Martin Linges vei 2, Fornebu 1364, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Baerum Municipality > Fornebu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fornebu
Price Range: £69 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Fornebu 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its open and airy lounges and magnificent outdoor terrace, Scandic Fornebu is perfect for conferences and is a popular family hotel during the summer months. Children will enjoy their own play area at Child Planet Atlantis. Our hotel enjoys a unique location by Rolfsbukta by the Oslo fjord, and an interior inspired by underwater life, which gives the hotel a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Fornebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing