We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible, picturesque bar/restaurant in the heart of San Luis Potosi’s downtown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Oruga y La Cebada

La Oruga y La Cebada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Incredible, picturesque bar/restaurant in the heart of San Luis Potosi’s downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stumbled upon this gem while wandering amidst San Luis Potosi's quaint cobblestone streets in the old downtown area.

La Oruga is doing something that I haven't seen done in Mexico before...they are featuring a menu inspired by the beers from a local microbrewery. Not only can you order just about any kind of brew that you fancy, many of the recipes actually make use of the beer as well. The food in general was well plated & delicious.

If you go to San Luis Potosi and if you enjoy patio dining, good beer or beautiful views of old churches, then you would be remiss to skip this spot. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BryanAndrew19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    127
    38
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went there for breakfast. The buffet was terrible, empty, and all the staff seemed to have a hangover.
The food wasn't spectacular. We didn't leave because we were in a hurry and needed something to eat.
The bread was very good and that saved the breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food, very good beer , good life music (on week-ends)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

... the week-ends start Thursdays in Mexico,
so starting Thursday you have live bands in the bars , also here in the Oruga -
the restaurant bar is in historic down town San Luis Potosi, close to plaza San Francisco: the architecture is awesome : an hold house on several floors , a nice wooden bar downstairs, and a gorgeous terrace (terraza), with a nice view : and especially in the summer : a nice breeze.
The food is very good: mexican style, modernized recepies with a touch of creativity ,
very good beer (locally brewed).
I love that place

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TanjaB373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for local beers and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Great diner-bar in San Luis Potosi. La oruga y la cebada is a very nice, centric place to try great local beers and food at an economic price. The two-floor place is lovely, staff are friendly and professional and they even have live music on the open top floor. You can go for a quiet ambiance or a group table meeting there.
We went twice and all we tried was yummy but we couldn't try the famous "pan de maceta" as it was sold out those days..

Helpful?
Thank Jimematteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good place for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

After a long business day we met with friend at the "Oruga". It's close to the San Francisco Church. The restaurant has a deck on the top of the building. There escape the heat of the streets and have a good view on the bell-tower of San Francisco.
The food is tasty. But when the place is crowded - as it is in the evening - the service speed is low. So make sure you order everything at once.

I visited this place every time I was in town and have a couple of good memories associated with it. Surely would come again. If you look for Haute-Cuisine it's the wrong place. It is good to have a cervesa with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Uwe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Oruga y La Cebada also viewed

San Luis Potosi, San Luis Potosi
San Luis Potosi, San Luis Potosi
 
San Luis Potosi, San Luis Potosi
San Luis Potosi, San Luis Potosi
 
San Luis Potosi, San Luis Potosi
San Luis Potosi, San Luis Potosi
 

Been to La Oruga y La Cebada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing