We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic & Historical Jewel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Luis Potosi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I just returned from a family visit to San Luis Potosi with family. This historic hotel is more beautiful live than the photos are, if that is possible. A guided tour is available to all who have breakfast there, even if you are not a guest. And the fantastic food was a perfect combination of traditional Mexican with French influences. My Chilaquiles in Poblano cream sauce were the best. According to our guide, the owners bought two side-by-side 400 y.o. mansions and joined them, then restored them and furnished them in period French, Spanish & Italian furniture. The staff was lovely and was proud to show you their beautiful hotel. There are many historical paintings and a private chapel for those who wish to renew wedding vows or hold a civil ceremony. Also, the hotel purchased the mansion across the street and is renovating it as a reception and conference center. Guests will be able to access it via the underground tunnel. I learned that many San Luis churches and historical buildings used tunnels to transfer their silver and gold. Overall, this is a romantic site that all my family loved and will visit again. I urge all traveler's with good taste to enjoy this treasure in the colonial land of my forefathers. You too will fall in love with it!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floors have a wider view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarissa A, Director General at Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and sharing your experience with another travelers.

We hope we can host you again in a near future, it would be a pleasure.

Sincerely,
Clarissa Arzola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

After seeing a previous review by PopiGrande "ripped off" we thought it may have been a cultural gap resulting in a simple misunderstanding and booked a night at HMPSA. If you ever wanted to stay in the Lincoln bedroom but neither Clinton nor Obama invited you or take your $15,000 donation, well here is your chance. Base rate $300/night for an extraordinary experience, what the sleep-over museum is concerned, well worth the expense, large room, perfect attention to detail, exquisite interior of the entire building and friendly ground floor staff.

But here're the beef: this palace, is run by misanthropic management enforcing inequitable company policies. The suite rates are quoted exclusively in dollars and billed exclusively in pesos. Paying almost 20% in MX hotel taxes is relatively standard, but insisting on an exchange rate that is 10% higher than anyplace is just stupid greed, and refusing to be paid in dollars when the rates are quoted in dollars is also unfair, especially when upon checkin it was "no problem".

So I immediately understood what the previous reviewer felt like, as the chick at checkout was
just doing her job, but with an attitude that inspires this reviewers malcontent. The night before I had ordered a classic margarita and got a tiny glass of antifreeze, or be that the Walmart Margarita Mix on sale next to the auto parts special. That was disgusting. When I mentioned that to my check-out chick, she just blew it off and insisted I pay up and get out. Now had this been some dinky pool bar, no problem, but we're talking "Palace" here at JW Marriott rates. Of course some retired pharma lord does not count the change, but I have staid in modest hotels as well and received more respect. PopiGrande called his experience a ripoff and while that may sound a bit harsh, I'd say each company can choose if their clients and guests are going to be ambassadors or not by simply treating them with respect, and some chick at checkout can make or break the experience. It's not about not receiving the wake-up call or the extra $10 bucks due to a crafty exchange rate or $7 for a glass of antifreeze, it's about policy, and HMPSA's management and their choice of reception personnel leaves much to be desired. It's not the furniture that makes a palace it's the Amphitryon.

Room Tip: walk in look around and move on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cineasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I rode in on my bike after a day of riding from Durango. I went to the front reception and was quoted 1400 pesos and the rate was 11.9 that day. I asked to look at the room and was shown a single room king bed and deluxe bath. I said OK and again at the front reception again confirmed the rate and again was told 1400 pesos and that included breakfast. The asked for my credit card and even though they advertised American Express the aske3d for my Visa Card. It was run at 5000 pesos. I asked why and they said incidentals and phone if needed. The next morning on checkout I was billed 4016 pesos. My bike was in their locked in garage area so in order to leave I had to pay the extorted amount. The price of the free breakfast was 100 pesos so basicly I paid 3916 pesos or $337.47 for a single room. I have looked up on the internet and have seen rates as low as $60 a night for a 4 day with the same type of room with a max of $250 a night for a double suite. This type of business practice needs to be scorned and I plan to dispute this highway robbery with my card with all my data I am collecting on this hotels booking rates.

Nice hotel in a great area but buyer beware these guys are crooks and should be avoided

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank PopiGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMuseoPalacio, Manager at Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Mr. PopiGrande,

I personaly wanted to apologize for the inconvenience you mention you had in our place.

We revised your case with my front desk department and I must say the things written in your review does not match to me and with my daily operation, for example my rate never changes cause We always use 13.50 pesos since 2 years ago and we never had a rate per room of $60 usd as you can check in all my websites.

Our goal is to create memories, to make you feel the experience of a real palace, and of course to make your stay in San Luis Potosi as memorable as could be.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Clarissa Arzola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Truly beautiful, relaxing, and within walking distance to everything in the Centro Historico de San Luis Potosi. The rooms are clean and spacious. The furniture all authentic to the era. The staff is eager to help in anyway they can. Its like staying in a time capsule. Take the tour. And enjoy getting lost amongst the rest of San Luis Potosi.

If you're looking for a pool though find someplace else. To be honest, with so much to experience you won't miss the water.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smurf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

A unique experience in San Luis Potosi. The antiques throughout the place do set the ambiance and the fact that every room has a distinct personality, is an invitation for future visits. We took a tour of the hotel and were shown the different antiques in the rooms that were available at the time, which was a nice welcoming gesture. Our chosen room was decorated in good taste and was very comfortable and quiet, with access to one of the terraces. The staff was every bit as attentive as you would expect in a top tier hotel, without being overbearing. The service at the restaurant maintained the standards of the rest of the staff and the restaurant in itself was not lacking in charm; yet it is located in the interior of the hotel without a view. Since we enjoyed two nights of wonderful weather, we decided to have our meals in one of the terraces. The food quality varied from merely acceptable for the more sophisticated or exotic courses, to extraordinary for the more simple and traditional ones; so, as long as you choose from the local delicacies and traditional courses, you’ll be treated to a memorable meal. The location is excellent for strolling around historic downtown San Luis and overall we had a fantastic and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Its a boutique hotel right in the historic center of San Luis Potosi which opened this year. Beautifully renovated! There is a little chapel inside the building. Maids are wearing handsome costumes and so on, very tasteful. Queen Margarethe of Denmark has been amongst the first visitors..

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margeritha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Herbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Potosi hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton San Luis Potosi
Hilton San Luis Potosi
#5 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
515 reviews
3.2 mi away
Conrad San Luis Potosi
Conrad San Luis Potosi
#14 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Real Plaza
Hotel Real Plaza
#7 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santosi by Inmense
Santosi by Inmense
#8 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Catalina
Casa Catalina
#15 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Concordia
Gran Hotel Concordia
#24 of 47 in San Luis Potosi
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin

Address: Galeana 240 | Zona Centro, San Luis Potosi 78000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > San Luis Potosi > San Luis Potosi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Luis Potosi
Price Range: £141 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Museo Palacio de San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing