We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Villas del Mar 2

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Aventuras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villas del Mar 2
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in Villa Del Mar II #301 and they view is stunning from the balcony. The entire condo is looking at the beach and has full glass view from inside. The service was wonderful. We had an issue with one of the lights and stopped by Blue Carribean to let them know and before we made it back the maintenance man already had it fixed! The furnishings are beautiful, beds very comfortable. Everything about this condo was a wonderful dream come true! We are already looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Villas del Mar 2
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just returned home from a 5 star week at Villas Del Mar 2 unit 108. Waking up to coffee overlooking the ocean was the highlight of our trip. The owners in the surrounding units were incredibly friendly and helpful with our plans. They went out of there way to help with resturant suggestions, even printing maps to help us with directions. It felt very much like staying in a small friendly neighborhood. I have to disagree with previouse reviews of this complex saying the owners were difficult and didn't like renters, we found everyone to be incredibly friendly. My husband and myself traveled with 3 teens and one 10 year old. The unit itself was very clean and staying right on the ocean cannot be beat. The convience of being able to get snacks and a cold drink saved us a lot of money. Andrew Leigh of Sol Maya rentals was great to work with. We used the grocery service and he had the condo all stocked with fresh produce, cold drinks, and snacks for the week when we arrived. He even brought extra beach toys for the older kids and checked in a few times through the week. The locals were also very friendly. I almost hesitate to write this review, because I want to keep this little gem a secret! I hope it will be available for our spring break next March. After staying in 108, I would never stay anywhere else in Puerto.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We recently returned from a terrific week in Puerto Aventuras. Our large extended family (8 adults and 8 children) rented units 101 and 108 for the second year in a row. We were very pleased as return customers and are delighted to say that our return visit was even better than the first! (If that is even possible...)

The units flank the pool and grassy area and the view of the ocean cannot be beat. There is nothing like opening the sliding glass doors in the morning and walking directly onto a large patio where the views are terrific. We loved the indoor/outdoor living and used the patio much to our advantage...eating meals there, enjoying drinks and using the hot tub.

Both the pool area and grounds at VDM2 are meticulously groomed. We loved the shallow entry into the pool (for the little ones) and the depth in the rest for the older kids. Water temperature was perfect! Very friendly neighbors throughout the complex were always willing to offer suggestions on things to do/restaurants.

Proximity to town is great. We enjoyed the short walk either by street or on the beach. Speaking of, the beach near the Omni is awesome. Shallow, warm, calm water for the kids and soft, white sand. Perfect!

The units themselves were very clean and contained all the necessary components we were looking for. Washer and dryers are a definite plus!

Thank you to Sol Maya Rentals and Andrew for making our family vacation a perfect one. We also appreciated the grocery service...it sure was nice to arrive to our kitchen already stocked. Every aspect of our stay at VDM2 was worthy of 5 stars!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaCaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spent 10 days (Feb 11-21) at Puerto Aventuras VDM II. The unit, 301 has 3 master suites with ocean views. The unit is very nice with TVs in the main living area as well as each bedroom. (Not terrible important for us.) We appreciated having a washer and dryer in the unit as well. The grounds are well kept and the pool although shallow was in excellent condition. The beaches in the area are very narrow and it is almost impossible to sit on the beach with a lounger and not be in someone's way. Entering the ocean directly in front of the condo is not advisable due to all the rocks. There are some areas that have less rocks and nice white sand however only a few in this particular area.
Puerto Aventuras is a gated area with many condos and resorts, including all-inclusive varieties. We were disappointed with the number of restaurants and the selection within the restaurants. We found Cafe Ole and Tiramisu to be very good and Dos Chiles was good as well. Expect to pay $15.00 (USD) plus for dinners. Most menus were similar from restaurant to restaurant.
Generally speaking Puerto Aventuras did not make me think or feel as if I were in Mexico. For those traveling with young children or elderly persons this may be a great place. My husband and I love going to Mexico, visiting local restaurants while absorbing the local culture. The whole area is too planned and too "American" for our liking. We could have been at any resort in the US. We do not plan to return to Puerto Aventuras however it has little to do with VDM II as it was a great unit and exceeded our expectations for cleanliness, ocean view, grounds, and amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Beautiful grounds, close to the ocean, but unfortunately, you can't enter the water without walking down the beach. This wasn't a problem for us 50-somethings, but I wouldn't be inclined to bring my toddler-aged grandchildren here with all the gear we would have to lug around for them! We rented for 3 weeks and found other long term (some as long as two months!) renters and resident owners delightful, ready to share info on restaurants and shopping, and even offering rides.. Since we basically read, relax and enjoy the ocean, we appreciated the efforts of residents to maintain the tranquility of this lovely place. Folks were not shy about telling rude or inconsiderate weekers to tone it down, control their children, follow the posted rules...They really shut down some heavy drinkers who were paying no attention to young children running wild. We would definitely come again, and encourage other snowbirds to do the same. Do keep in mind that each condo is independently owned. Ours was ok, but basic -- we looked at 3 others which were decorated MUCH more nicely and will go with one of them once we decide on our dates.

Room Tip: Look closely at pictures and ask questions.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smithj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is a great place if you like it quiet and have a family that is not noisy. There is an obvious friction between the owners who really lay down the rules on you and those who like to drink, talk at night and let our kids do their thing. A really nice pool in the middle of the complex, the center of activity, but the noise really carries. If you're a long-term renter, go for this place. If you want to let loose for a short-time, it's a lousy choice. With Cancun and Playa del Carmen right down the road, why bother with this small rather lifeless place. Watch the sun rise, sure, drink margaritias, OK if you don't talk too loud. That's it in a nutshell folks. FYI, the restaurants are not that great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaritaville60730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We booked condo # 301 for family group of seven. My wife & I brought our mothers, 2 sister in laws and my sister. Only guy in our party of seven, as I mnetioned earlier, I took one for the team. Flew into Cancun and had a mini van from Executive. They had a counter outside Terminal 3- and we were driven to their office outside Terminal 2. Drove to Pto. Aventuras in about 1 hour 15 minutes as the traffic around Playa was busy due to construction. Condo 301 has a super view looking SE toward the south boat entrance into the marina. Easy walk into Puerto- we walked thru the Omni lobby to get to the shops and restaurants. We really liked Cafe Ole for dinner & music- but it's not cheap. Got to know the staff well- "Philly" the waiter was a lot of fun. For breakfast The Pub was more affordable- we went there 3 times. Our other meals we had in the condo- having made two trips to Playa and bought groceries at the Chedraui. The beach at Puerto is not the huge expanse of white sand thet we like, but was OK, with a nice stretch near the south boat entrance to the marina. Even though there is a sign that say's not to swim near that channel, the snorkling was awesome on the south rocky shoreline of the channel it self. Just watch out for boats and you'll be fine. We also took day trips to Tulum, Akumal, and the Cenote Azul. My wife and I usually like more remote areas of the Riveria Maya, but for this family trip Pto. Aventuras worked out great.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dano72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.6 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Reso...
#13 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,028 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas del Mar 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas del Mar 2

Address: Puerto Aventuras Resort, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Aventuras
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Villas Del Mar 2 Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing