We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time & would go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
“Great time & would go back!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent 6/10/13-6/15/13 there. Upon arrival through leaving, we were greeted very warmly by everyone. Tips are not mandatory but we feel like an extra buck or two grants better service and w/ kids (messes), we are happy to tip. This was our first time traveling from US to Mexico w/ kids 12 and 2 (Our 3rd time so we felt like we kind of know what to expect w/ travel, shuttles, tours, etc.)

Stayed in family suite 2050 and 2052 Cove side. 4 adults, 2 kids. End of the hall. Rooms were brand new. Oval tubs, 2 doubles and 1 king, marble in bathrooms. Gorgeous. One fridge wasn't on; they came within 10 min, fixed it immediately. Ordered a rollaway bed, came within 10 min. We even get a followup call to make sure everything had been taken care of. Rooms have hammocks on outdoor balcony w/ 2 chairs and a small table. We faced Blue Bay condos/jungle. Not a problem because we were rarely in there. Beds were firm and pillows were very comfy. Lots of room for storage. Closets had a shelf above them, dresser w/ 3 large drawers, plus space on top of dresser held 2 of our luggages. 3 shelves above the fridge and 3 shelves in the bathroom, still a hotel room but definitely helped unpack.

Food was good. (If you expect gourmet, look elsewhere) We've stayed @ Excellence Playa Mujeres (top notch) and Secrets Silversands before this trip. Buffets ARE buffets. The Mexican night w/ buffet and Pirate/Fire night buffets were even better. The lunch buffet @ Mundaca was good as you can order hamburgers, fish, chicken, etc. and have it grilled in front of you. Mundaca Brazilian night was excellent. 9 different meats, plus sides=a lot of food! The Oriental one on the Spa side (no kids) was good tempanakki (no hibachi table). The Pool side snack bar and the Pizza/Pasta @ the swim bar bar was great for lunch and dinner. The mexican one and the italian ones we didn't go to, the mexican menu didn't look very appetizing for the kids. It was too fancy for them.They would be happy with just plain tacos or fajitas, but pizza and hamburgers or room service made them happy. The martini bar on Spa is nice to sit outside.

The frozen drinks are not very strong (a lot of ice). Go for Dos Equis or a mixed drink if you are wanting some alcohol. In the room fridges are plenty of sodas, juice boxes, tecate, dos equis, water. Cups are kind of small, atleast for a frozen drink, I'd have almost 1/2 left w/ ice @ the end.

The outdoor shows were fun, being outdoors with the breeze was the best. We didn't do any indoor ones @ the convention center. The activity staff really want you to have fun.

We used our credits on 2 spa massages (excellent!!) w/ hydrotherapy, Tulum for 6 of us (the 2 yr old was free), family photos (session for 6 of us and 7 prints). Ended up costing $133 in taxes. Still had some credits left over.

Loved the kayaks and snorkeling for little creatures. Water polo and water aerobics, pictionary in the water, water volley, lots of activities.

Kids center is fun. 2 yr old is too little to leave @ the center but can play with Bob the builder tools and Thomas the trains. Character Breakfast and each night had a character to see @ 4pm. Kids pool was fun and both kids loved the slides and buckets. Also a playground but it was too hot to swing.

Pros: Lots of shade, not very busy (not sure if people are scared it's under construction or being that it was the beginning of June), lots of welcoming staff to accommodate, wrist bands get cut off @ check out but if you are still there waiting for your flight you can still drink/eat, food was good, activities, family photos are gorgeous, spa, landscaping, pool open later than some resorts-7 pm but some swam later, snorkeling in cove; excellent staff Joaquin (activities), Sonia (waitress @ pools), Ivan (bartender @ lobby); easy to get golfcart to SPA side to eat/go to spa/shows @ convention; free US calls, free wifi; location is beautiful; lots of igunas; hooks in bathroom to hang up swimsuits/robes; Loved that you can sit in the shallow areas with feet in water without snagging your swimsuit, music by swim up bar helps cover up construction sounds ;)

Cons: UNDER CONSTRUCTION=don't come here if you don't want to hear/see construction literally all around you (atleast on cove side), needs pool work=grouting, tiles, 1 light in pool was dangling, 2 smaller inlet pools did not have lights @ night; many Spa side guests coming over to Cove pool because Spa side was congested; limited hours for photos; tub to help clean up drinks around pool (the staff were great, just saying we could help clean up); tub to help clean up towels; teen lounge very tiny; hard to get a drink @ swim up bar as they are helping waitresses/guests on both sides...would be nice to keep a bartender on both sides; only one omelet/waffle chef for breakfast and only one lunch chef @ the snack bar=long time for food, especially for kids.

All in all, we would go back and I know it will just continue to get better. You can tell the staff is trained well, great customer service, the resort just has aged obviously and they are repainting and redecorating rooms. I look forward to checking out photos on their website for updates and seeing pictures when it changes to Hard Rock.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbum636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi Beachbum636, we appreciate your detailed review.

We are glad hearing that you and your family enjoyed your overall vacation, we always thinks in offer you top notch services in all our areas.

We appreciate you mentioned that you felt the exceptional service that is characteristic from our staff in Aventura Spa Palace.

Is good to know that you took pleasure from our renovated rooms, we are sure that you will love the changes that are coming.

We want to thank for highlight the variety of flavors that we provide you, thank you as well for your constructive feedback on our drinks at the bars, we definitely will forward your comments to our Bars Manager for further consideration.

We are pleased to hear that you took advantage from our Resort Credits, there are many things to do with this amazing promotion.

Rest assured that we will share your comments with the collaborators that you mentioned and that we will include them on our incentive program.

In regards to the transition that you mentioned, it´s noteworthy to mention that we have opened all the common areas and we provide you with the same activities in their regular schedule.

It´s a pleasure read your comments and we look forward to host you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,484
    1,491
    642
    255
    246
See reviews for
3,520
2,635
89
751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I had read a lot of reviews on this resort prior to going, wasn't sure what to expect. I found that the people that work at the resort were warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived. The service was exceptional. Although they tell you tips are included, I would be prepared to tip, they work hard for little pay, and tips are appreciated. The resort credits were easy to use, know going in that they will try getting you to agree to a time share presentation at the welcome desk before sending you on to the vacation desk. This is where you book your excursions with the credits. We used ours for Señor Frogs, Chichen Itza, manicures, pedicures, dolphin swim, and the chefs dinner. We loved the dolphin swin, better interaction then at Discovery Cove. Chicken Itza was a long day, with plenty of opportunity for shopping. The Señor Frog day gives beach time and lots of shopping. I would skip the Chefs Dinner, wasn't that great. The best food at the resort is Mundaca's, they have a Brazilian steakhouse meal. I would recommend watching the Fire show, the performers are excellent. Would recommend doing the spider monkey walk at the resort, just bring bug spray the Mosquitos are active. This was a fantastic vacation, and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room at the resort. We didn't spend much time in it. Our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hello Brenda M, we want to thank you for taking the time and share your experience with our readers.

We try to make our guests vacations easiest as we can, that is why we provide you with the Resort Credits, which is very helpful bonus, you can take advantage going to several excursions or get many treatments.

We will let our Executive Chef know that you loved the Brazilian Restaurant and we will pass too your feedback in reference to the Chef´s Dinner.

The fire show is just a sample of the marvelous service that we can offer you.

I am sure that our readers will appreciate the suggestion that you gave us concerning the mosquitoes.

Again thank you for your comments.
We hope to see you soon in your next vacations.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brusly
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Excellent stay! Greeted upon arrival by Elias-PR and Edgar from Matis-waiting outside for us.Location of Presidential was an outstanding view-1401 and 1403-room was decorated with balloons,streamers towel animals -fruit basket and wine.Elias had already had rollaway bed set up.This was our 14th stay there and we were treated like royalty!! He set up a great 47th anniversary dinner in LaHacienda with our favorite waiter-Ishmael,who is the best waiter-we ask for him every year.Carlos PR Mgr. also excellent.Martha,PR,very personable and remembered us from last year.A list of some of the excellent staff members,Eduardo-bar tender(came to visit us twice in Playacar and brought his beautiful wife and baby),Carolina-Kids Club(came to visit us in Playacar with beautiful baby),Jack and J,(Jario)-entertainment staff,Antonio-bar tender,Daniel and Eric-entertainment staff,Maria-sweet shop,Sonia-waitress,Nelson-bellman-helped us to locate Jose's wife-Sergio-also helped us to find her,Jose bar Mgr.Staff there is great asset and why we keep returning.Elias is a very special friend-took excellent care of us last year after an accident I had there-he continues to communicate with us throughout the year -very prompt in answering E-Mail and was very instrumental in insuring that our stay was perfect.2 very minor negatives--ice machines near Presidential rarely worked-ice machines needed on 1st floor.Regular room service menu needs some updating and a few more choices.Thanks for a wonderful vacation!!

Room Tip: Presidential in Citara building was fantastic-great location -great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hi Pat W we are delighted reading that Values Customers as you and your family took the time to share your experience with our readers.

Our staff works very hard every day to provide you with an excellent service that guests come to expect from us.

Our goal is turn your moments into wonderful memories and this time we are very happy hearing that we did.

We appreciate the fact that you have chosen our resort to spend a special moment as your anniversary.

We will pass your comments to all the collaborators that you mentioned.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This review will make more sense to you if you are traveling with little ones ages 2-5 and you are visiting the resort during the construction period (going on now through next year).

As I had stated the resort is merging with part of the Hard Rock Group of Hotels (not associated with Hard Rock Vegas), so they are going through a complete renovation. They are basically doing it a building at a time so that they can still have guests in certain parts of the resort and still do major work.

The Layout:
This resort is 20 minutes passed Playa Del Carmen, but basically an hour from the airport. So if you had a long flight, be prepared for a long drive. The resort is laid out in two sections, the adults only side, and the family side. The adults side is called Aventura Spa, and the family side is called Aventura Cove. The Spa is located on the Spa side as the name implies. No kids are allowed on the spa side. The rooms are laid out like fingers, stretching out from the main area to the pools and the ocean. You can get a decent view from any room, but the best views are from the presidential suites at the front tips of every "finger". Everything is close on its respective side, the layout is convenient. Its not an extreme amount of walking. You can even walk from one lobby to another, which I did one day on purpose and it was 5-7 minutes brisk walk. No big deal, however you will find that they will cart you around almost everywhere if you ask. They have a bunch of electric carts to shuttle guests everywhere.

The Construction:
Let's start with the obvious. The construction. There is a lot of construction going on, but they are doing it in sections and doing their best not to disturb the guests. At no point did I ever get disturbed with loud construction noises in my room. By the pool if you happen to be near the areas under construction, you can here them working, but you can easily tune it out after a few minutes. There are closed off areas, and areas that are in disrepair, but you can see that they are working on those areas. In other words, the construction is not a big deal, and actually may be a good thing as it keeps the occupancy low so that you get better service.

The Service:
The service was excellent. Everyone take the time to say hello to you as you walk by them. They ask you how your doing and the staff took the time to ask my kids names and make small chat with them. They carry your plates to your table for you when you don't expect it and are at your every request. I am not going to say that they will accommodate every request, but they will do their best to try. One thing that I like is that if you ask for something, they will not tell you "no", they will consult with a supervisor and in most cases make it happen.
For example, We dined at The Hacienda, it is one of the deluxe restaurants on the Cove side. I ordered some exquisite enchiladas, and my wife was left with the regret of not ordering them. The next day we had no time to go to eat there again, so we called room service to see if they could bring the plate to our room. At first, they were hesitant, but they made it happen. This is impressive, because they have been trained to think before they answer and consult. That shows me that the managers have made it clear to the staff that the guest's satisfaction is important. Those are the touches that make me recommend this hotel.

The Points:
The 1500 points that they give you to spend on the premises is a great feature. Quite frankly, its the reason why I chose this resort. They give you a lot of leeway to spend the credits almost any way you like. We used them up at the spa. This gave us an opportunity to get an 80 minute treatment every day that we were their. You can also use the points to spend on excursions, shopping or other things that they lay out for you when you arrive. There is a small catch, and that is that you do pay a "tax" for using the points, about 9%. They will charge this at the end, but they do tell you up front. Small price to pay for what you get though. Its almost like getting a $1500 discount off your trip when you get there.

Kids Club:
If you have kids, then this is a great service. The staff are fantastic. Carolina, Amber and Giselle are great with the kids. They have a top notch facility and they are very attentive. The facility has new toys and nothing is in disrepair, everything works and is quite fantastic. I couldn't see why the kids would want to leave. The staff do take them on activities feeding iguanas, swimming, and arts and crafts. They also have characters visit them. They have a schedule laid out for the week that they can give you. Your kid does have to be 4 years old or older. The little swimming pool is nice and the kids loved it. If your kid is 3 or 3 1/2, they might still take them if they are a little more mature and are potty trained. The staff is very accommodating. Most importantly, I always felt safe. I wasn't worried that anything would happen to my kids at any time. I would recommend using this service as much as possible, its free and it will make you appreciate your kids even more when you pick them up, and your better half will appreciate you spending more time with them too.

The Room:
The rooms are excellent. The layout is roomy and upscale. You are not going to spend so much time in them, but the beds are comfy and the A/C works excellent. Everything worked, and the liquor cabinet and mini bar are great.

The Restaurants:
The food better than what you normally get at an all-inclusive. They change it up repeatedly with different themes, but they do provide the mainstays everyday. The food is fresh and constantly monitored for freshness by the staff. If you don't finish your plate, they might even come over and ask if there was anything wrong with the food. (happened to me that my eyes were bigger than my stomach, and changed my mind about eating all the food on my plate). USE the fine dining restaurants on the premises. The food and the service is top notch. You do have to dress up, but its a small price to pay, and it breaks up the monotony of the buffet. So make sure you take some pants and a dress shirt, or a nice outfit if your a lady.

The Pool and The Cove:
The pools on the Cove side are actually nicer than on the Spa side. The pictures you see on their website are of the Cove side. The man made inlets are nice. The water is calm, the kids can swim there and you can even snorkel and kayak there. The equipment is free to use if available. The water is not cold and its clean. It does have sea life and fish fyi.

The Spa:
They say this spa is one of the largest and nicest on the Riviera Maya. I would have to agree with them, the facilities are top notch. Everything you could want is there and the service is fantastic. My only complaint, no magazine or reading material in the spa.

In summary, I would highly recommend this resort to visit despite the fact that they are under construction, its not a deterrent. In a way, its actually a positive as they cannot fill to capacity and that keeps the staff very attentive to you. The kids will not be bored. They also have a game room, pool tables, ping pong tables, foose ball table, and hang out areas for your teenagers, and the big excursions like Xcaret and Xel-Ha are all close by. I would return without hesitation.

P.S. The buying opportunities. You can get additional benefits if you sit through the 90 minute vacation club spiel, we did to get two free "special dinners" so we would not have to use our massage points for those two special outings, however just remember that its never 90 minutes, its more like 4 hours typical. They are giving some decent deals if that's your thing. Its not my choice to pre-pay for my vacations so I always say no, but make sure you get compensated for your time. Never get angry, they are just doing they're job to try to sell you something.

Room Tip: As soon as you get there at the earliest possible time, schedule an appointment to meet with the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Hello travelnoob, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our readers and we much appreciate your detailed review.

We are very glad hearing that we met your expectations and that your overall stay was as you planned it.

As you mentioned we are a huge resort and our guests are able to use all our facilities as the pools, restaurants, spa and beauty salons, also we provide you with a special promotion called Resort Credits which is a good deal to people that want to enjoy a relaxing time with treatments or simply know more about the Mexican culture, visiting pyramids or go to an excursion.

The most loved place by the parents is the kid´s club on the cove side where we offer top notch services and activities to the little ones, Amber, Carolina and Giselle will be delighted when we share them your experience, also we will add them to our incentive program.

Our transition is not an issue, we have all the common areas opened and the activities are on their regular schedule.

Our Executive Chef works very hard innovating flavors for all the tastes to provide you with a real all inclusive experience!

Once again we would like to thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming back you again to introduce you our upcoming style.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at the Adventura Spa Palace and, for the first time, took my sister's family with us. There was 10 of us and we have never taken a vacation together before. We chose the perfect place to do this. The weather was great, the staff was wonderful, the resort couldn't have looked better and the choice of restraunts was fabulous. We all felt so pampered and special and having the all-inclusive made everything so easy-we didn't have to worry as to weather our guests had enough money with them...you pay one price and you are pretty much done for the week. I was so surprised to read some of the negative comments on Trip Advisor prior to our trip as my husband and I had been there twice before with excellent results. As I suspected, the negativity was unfounded. The only issue we had was room service was not as on the ball as in the past. Several of our family members tried it a couple of times and their order was wrong each time. The food was still good...it was just the wrong order. Wouldn't stop any of us from going again.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to the consierge (sp?) do it! Well worth the extra money for the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Hello Robin B, we are very exiting hearing that you and your family enjoyed your all inclusive experience with us.

We are pleased to hear that you felt the exceptional service that is characteristic from our staff in Aventura Cove Palace and that you and your family had a wonderful trip and that your overall stay happened as you expected.

We regret to know that you had and inconvenience with the room service but rest assured that we will forward your comments to our F&B Manager to take in consideration your feedback to avoid similar situations in the future.

We hope to see you again soon to host with another marvelous experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Ridge, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Aventura Cove is the perfect family resort ouside of Playa de Carmen. The grounds are beautiful, the meals are gourmet, and the service is superb! We go back twice a year because the resort is all-inclusive and extremely affordable for families. The main reason we go back is the people are genuinely caring, thoughtful, and kind. It feels like home! If you want adults only, the Aventura Spa is on the same grounds, but separated by a large courtyard.

This is "A Must Visit Destination" in Mexico. You feel like royalty at a fraction of the cost!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCCheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Hi SCCheney thank you very much for sharing your marvelous experience with our readers.

We are pleased to hear that you felt our warm and kind service that is characteristic from our staff in Aventura Cove and that you gave us “a must visit destination” review.

We always strive to provide you with the best service to turn your vacation into an unforgettable memory and we are glad hearing that we did, also we appreciate all the positive points that you mentioned about our all-inclusive service and facilities.

Thank you again for your terrific review and we hope to host you again in your next vacations.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We visited for 2 weeks in mid-March. We are a family with 2 boys (ages 8 & 10). This is our first all-inclusive experience. We were quite nervous after reading the negative reviews on TA, but realized that every resort seemed to have the same ratio of "bad" vs "good". We had a great time but 2 weeks was a tad too long for us; 10 days would have been perfect (but this is no fault of the resort).

Restaurants:
- we enjoyed the variety of restaurants. Breakfast and lunches were buffets are either Ventanas or Mundaca or poolside. The kids liked the poolside service of pizza, hot dogs, made to order burgers. I prefered the less-junky food at the buffets, for eg they will grill fish for you and you can add salsa. We also liked the Mexican restaurant, the mexican coffee experience is cool. The Asian-Japanese restaurant on the Spa side was terrible (nothing like real asian food). The Italian restaurant on the Spa side was the best, great service, great presentation and patio seating. Mundaca steak house was so-so. There's a martini bar on the beach at the Spa side, but they can't make any decent martinis! Some people expect to get a Daniel Boulud or Gordon Ramsay quality restaurant experience in the Mayan Riviera and they get disappointed, I guess. You're not paying for Boulud/Ramsay, so adjust your expectations accordingly.

Pool:
- clean, big, lots of activities daily. The activities guys were awesome...pool aerobics, water games, etc, etc. I always saw a maintenance guy cleaning the pool everyday. Getting pool chairs is difficult, especially during our 2nd week there as that was the week closest to the Easter weekend so occupancy was high. Chairs easier to get on the beach/cove area. Oh yes, there isn't a real beach, but the cove is great for snorkeling, kayaking, and looking for sea creatures. And yes, the sand around the cove looks fake (or maybe they are crushed rock), so bring some water shoes. If you really need some sand time, take a 3 min cab to Puerto Aventuras (next exit), and the beach in front of the Omni hotel is plenty good. Free. The spa side pool seems waaaaay noisier than the cove side (lots of drunks partying all day). The palapa lounge chairs are almost impossible to get (unless you wake up at 5am). Lots of kayaks to borrow. We brought our own snorkel sets (got a good deal at Costco).

Resort credits:
- we got $2500 credits for staying 2 weeks....used it for Chichen Itza, Tulum, Aktun Chen, Dolphinaris and many many many massages. I have reviews of these places.

Spa:
- awesome! Do make sure you take advantage of the hydrotherapy sessions in the spa before your treatment. Really nice. If you don't know what to do, don't be shy to ask the attendant, they will only be too happy to help. Also, try the chlorophyll water (so good for you, alkalizes your body). If you ask the attendant, he/she will even add eucalyptus to the steam room, really nice.
Arrive 30-60 mins before your spa treatment so that you can use the hydrotherapy. The massage therapists were all good....each has a slightly different style.

Room:
- a tad small due to the jacuzzi taking up space. We brought some bath bombs (from Lush) with us. After a morning of hot sun, our kids like to go back to the room in the afternoon for a cool-water jacuzzi (of course you can get hot water, we just prefer cool after the hot sun) and some room service snacks (good nachos)....while mom&dad enjoy some beverages. They restock the bar in an instant. They don't read minds, so if you don't have the stuff you want, pick up the phone, and they deliver fast. Room service for food takes a longer time (about 40 mins) so plan accordingly....it is a big resort, lots of people. Hammocks on every room balcony.

Entertainment:
- good entertainment each night. Our kids liked the Michael Jackson show, but they have capoiera show, magic show, circus show, mexican night, etc.

Kids club:
- we sent the boys to kids club a few nights while we had dinner on the spa side. At first, they didnt want to go, but after the 1st night they were happy to go back as the ladies there gave them a movie night after they take them for dinner at the buffet. Well taken care of and the kids are happy!

Flight:
- our vacation was a package deal via Sunwing/Signature Vacations. Sunwing is a terrible airline, horrible service and our flight home was delayed 6 hours (speaking with others there, apparently Sunwing is always late). We will not fly via Sunwing again. But, this is not the resort's fault. You don't need to attend any of the presentations. They will make it sound like you have to and they are just trying to sell you excursions. There are 2 "presentations"...one is a Sunwing one and another is the resort trying to sell you a timeshare. Attend neither, go enjoy the pool!

Overall, we had a nice relaxing vacation and our kids loved it. Nice resort, well maintained. Clean. Great staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pammyvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope S, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Hi pammyvancouver, thank you very much for sharing your marvelous experience with our readers.

We are glad reading that you experienced your first all-inclusive concept with us and that you enjoyed your overall stay.

It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy many of our restaurants, facilities and our service. We always think in your needs, traveling with kids is awesome but sometimes could be hard, that is why we seek hire the best for them and we are very proud reading that our kids club team was perfect for them and that they enjoyed all the activities.

We apologize if you did not receive the service that you were expecting from our Asian Restaurant, please allow me to inform you that we will pass your comment to our Executive Chef to avoid similar situations in the future, otherwise we appreciate that you mentioned that the Italian was the best.

To get a relaxing time we do not forget the martinis which are indispensable, you were very smart and found the best place to get one at the beach area.

We always take care of our customer expectations that is why we innovated awards as the Resort Credits, is good to know that you took advantage from it and took the hydrotherapy and the snorkeling tour.

Once again we appreciat your comments and we look forward to welcome back you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,286 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,500 reviews
23.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,099 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,510 reviews
16.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views, a private white sand beach, and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas. It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing