We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serena Hotel & Spa(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Coral Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Riviera Maya(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Yucatan Beach(Puerto Aventuras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paamul Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11,019)
Filter reviews
11,019 results
Traveller rating
7,988
1,739
728
286
278
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,988
1,739
728
286
278
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun barzen restaurantrock royaltyrock spavacation plannerssuper mariosky terracerock starheaven poolmonkey tourresort creditriviera mayale petit cochonheaven sectionfoam partypublic relationslos gallos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,679 - 6,684 of 11,019 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My stay was during the grand oppening week of this hotel.

Good:
Great accomodations. Room was big. (I had a corner room with one king sized bed very comfortable) Bathroom was lovely with great amenities and very clean.
Super friendly staff.

Bad:
There is no real beach at this "beach resort" (they have made kind of a lagoon which looks ok, but smells bad when you get into it).
Pools are fine but if you want to swim you're not gonna like them. Pools are not deep. (Water will, at most, reach your waist)
Food is poor & tasteless. We have tried a few different restaurants and even room service and it really needs to be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
3  Thank Maggiemotion U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello Maggiemotion U!
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide with an authentic Rock Star experience to every guest and that’s why we are very sorry to hear that we have missed our mark in your case.
I truly appreciate your remarks about our gastronomy and it is very unfortunate for us that you did not enjoy the culinary experience at any of our nine restaurants, each one catering to a different style of food, from some different representatives regions of the globe.
Our cove style beach has been a hit for families and singles as it offers a great and a safe place for snorkeling, kayaking and swimming or just relax at a Balinese bed. We apologize for any dissatisfaction this may have caused you.
On the other hand I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed such a highly attentive service from our staff and that you loved the accommodations assigned. I would like to have the opportunity to change your perception about our hotel, that’s why one of our Customer Care specialists is sending you a private message to address your concerns better. We hope you can give us the opportunity back again to be your host so you can experience the Rock Star treatment that all of our guests are accustomed to. Best regards!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stafff MAKE a hotel experience....and the Staff at the Hard Rock are warm, courteous, efficient and just...well....SUPERIOR to any other resorts we've been too. The bad reviews concerning food are TOTALLY un-warranted and the cleanliness of the resort is exceptional. Want to feel pampered, special and valued? THIS IS THE RESORT FOR YOU . Quality in the details, striving for perfection in every aspect of the operation....perfect...no....close to it...YES.
We were so impressed with the value and quality of our stay that we are now Legendary Members and can't wait to return in a few months as we now know where to go and what to do.
Believe me...I've travelled the world and have experienced every level of hotel and service and this place puts the others to shame. If you have a bad experience...certainly a fluke...and a good chance that it won't happen to you or anyone else again as the Hard Rock group strives to "get it right"...
A can't miss value for the money . PERIOD.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi there Terry W!
Wow…Thank you so much for the amazing review. We must say that we cannot stress enough our satisfaction about the positive experience and terrific time you mention to have spent at our hotel in a so thoroughly way. Thank you for highlighting our staff who always put their hearts at everything they do to make of every guest’s stay an authentic Rock Star experience.
We are ready to roll out the red carpet for your next visit which we hope to happen in the near future. Thank you again for recommending us so highly.
Warmest regards,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We throughly enjoyed our stay at this property. We were pampered, served in a professinal and courteous manner. Every request was fulfilled immediately! The room was spotless and kept that way by housekeeping our entire 6 day stay. No problems with bleedover noise from other rooms, the airconditioning kept our room a very cold 65 degrees! The food was top notch, service prompt, we could not have asked for a better place to stay! We will stay at another Hard Rock property again. We went for a destination wedding and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello B D!
We are glad to hear it! Thank you so much for taking a moment to tell us about your wonderful experience at our resort.
Your review confirms that we had achieved our goal to create an authentic Rock Star experience for you and your companion. We are ready to roll out the red carpet for your next rocking getaway at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. Thanks again for the amazing review!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had a fabulous time in Mexico, at the Hard Rock Riviera, thank you Alejandro Galicia for all your hard work and a spirited welcome!! I travelled alone, but the staff here initiates warm hospitality, and humor :o)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi there Melanie C!
We are beyond thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time in Mexico and that you found the perfect place for a dreamed Rock Star vacation at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. Thank you for mentioning Alejandro Galicia whose terrific service made you fell pampered.
We would love to welcome you back again in the near future for another amazing break . Thanks for the five-star review!

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Overall I loved the hotel the design was super cool. the bars by the water closed too early. the food service had to be only done through room service after 11pm, I have been to many hotels and they usually leave one place open until 2 with simple snacks so people that are in the bars at night wont have to go to their rooms in order to get room service. I think they need to improve the food quality on the family side, I had kids so I couldn't go and eat at heaven side but people who went to french and Italian restaurants said it was amazing. my food experience on the family side was not very satisfactory. Regarding the rooms, I didn't like all the space that the bathtub was taking in the room, it seems like an unnecessary luxury, since we were in the hot tubes outside all the time. it took a long time to check in. Also there were complications with room credits. some theft happen in the rooms, so if you go there make sure you use your safe all the time. they offer hotel credits of $1800 - $1500 first we were told, we were suppose to pay 20% of the costs for spa and other services that were covered by room credits. then we found out that if we had $1500 of room credit we were suppose to pay %11. Not letting the customers know about these options make the hotel look bad. it makes people think that the hotel is hiding this information on purpose in order to extract more money from people, In my opinion number one key to creating strong relationship with customers is to create trust among parties which would lead to loyal customers. at the end I would like to thank the hotel for their great service, In my opinion all the comments above are minor issues and it could be fixed. but overall I had a fantastic time. I only wished we didn't starve after 11pm :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
2  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello M C!

Thank you for letting us know. We are glad to hear that overall you loved your vacation at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and that you received such a highly attentive service from our staff however; I would like to extend our heartfelt apologies for any inconvenient you may have experienced during your stay. I would like to get more details on your experience. One of our Customer Care specialist is sending you a private message to address your concerns. We hope to welcome you again soon and give you the incredible Rock Star service that you already know.

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews