We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard Rock Riviera Maya = Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard Rock Riviera Maya = Paradise!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at HRH Riviera Maya (Hacienda) for 1 week this June just gone. I have to say that it is by far the best hotel I have EVER stayed in. The staff were so friendly and helpful right from check-in, to the restaurants, waiters, cleaners and animation team.

The decor of the rooms is gorgeous, we had a private terrace with our own hot tub and the lobby and bar areas are just beautiful. All of the memorabilia is amazing we saw something new every day...I particularly like the Calaveros Beatles and Elvis Presley! On some evenings we just wandered round taking pictures of the surroundings!

There were so many great restaurants to choose from, I have to say that we liked the traditional Mexican one best (Fridas) and the breakfast in there was particularly tasty and in a much quieter more chilled out environment than the main buffet restaurant next door. The Tapas restaurant was a really authentic Spanish experience as well, just as good if not better than Tapas bars I have been to in Barcelona. And the waiter was gorgeous!

Once we had (never!) tired of drinking Mojitos and stuffing our faces full of delicious Mexican food we decided to rent a Fender Stratocaster Guitar for our room, turns out neither of us will be the next Carlos Santana but it was fun to try!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted something a bit funkier than the usual 5* experience, but with all the benefits of 5* service and surroundings.

Muy Bien! Muchas Gracias!

Becky and Craig room 8325 (Batman)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hey there Beckywonder!

Thank you so much for the awesome review. There is nothing more encouraging for us than getting these fantastic comments from our satisfied Rock Stars who experienced the high life with us. So great you loved the shows and the culinary experience at restaurants like Frida and Cava Roja... and how about the delicious cocktails and mojitos. What a great way to enjoy our Sound Of Your Stay Program by getting one of our Fender guitars at your room; that's very Rock Star!
All in all it has been a pleasure having you with us. We cannot wait to welcome you back.

Cordially,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,187
    1,442
    627
    244
    236
See reviews for
3,353
2,531
85
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This rating is two stars even after taking into consideration the absolutely lovely staff, the clean and beautiful property, and excellent spa (Beatrice and Limberth were amazing).

This is because we were made to feel that if we didn't buy into Legendary's timeshare program, we were second class citizens. Upon arrival, we were told to meet with a "vacation planner", and basically tricked into thinking we had to in order to use our $1500 in resort credits. We spent 90 minutes at a presentation, and then got phone calls at obscenely early hours from then on.

What a disappointment. We had looked forward to this vacation for so long, and ended up spending the week avoiding contact with anyone in "hospitality". They treated us like caricatures of spoiled, strung-out rock stars....like we owed them something. We were not able to make spa appointments after turning down the timeshare. We went to Playa del Carmen every single day and swam and snorkels there. Basically, it transformed the all-inclusive into a very overpriced motel room.

The food is pretty bad....we got frozen sashimi at Zen, for example. Le petit Cochon was the best experience we had (stick with the salmon dish).

Overall, anytime we were at the hard rock we felt ripped off and angry. We had to escape to the undeniably gorgeous Carribean water and incredible beaches to enjoy our trip.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Shana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Shana B,

Thank you very much for your feedback; I truly appreciate you took the time for telling me about your experience since it help us greatly to know where we are in terms of service and facilities.

We aim to deliver the best possible stay to all our guests and when you feel we did not provide you an authentic Rock Star vacation that is customary to all our guests it is very important for us to know.
On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya I would like to offer you our most sincere apology for any inconvenient you may have experienced during your stay; I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that it is not a practice for our organization to restrict any regular hotel service to attend the Legendary Club presentation as our services are available for every guest. One of our mottos is indeed “Love All Serve All” , so I can assure you that we make no distinction between our guests and we offer the same rock star service and friendliness that characterizes our brand to all our guests.

Once again thank you for bringing your dissatisfaction to my attention; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and provide you with the amazing vacation you deserve.

Cordially,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a very pleasant experience. We had 10 in our group and not one complaint! I would highly recommend to anyone. The resort was very clean and the food was delicious! The bars had high-end liquor and can make any drink that you can think of. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Gregory W,

Thank you for stopping by and leave your fantastic feedback of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. I am very pleased to see that you had a great time with your group and enjoyed every single aspect of our service. Thank you very much for recommending us so highly and we look forward to your next visit to roll out the red carpet and rock your world with another rockin' vacation. Sincerely,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya in the beginning of May. I just had the most basic room on the family friendly side of the hotel, and it was just okay. There was one other person in the room with me, and I wouldn't suggest having more than that, as the space was very tight. The room was poorly light, but the bathroom was beautiful and bright! The only thing I didn't like about the bathroom was that the shower door was glass, so anyone could see right through if they wanted to get ready while the other person was showering. Not very "family friendly" in my opinion.

The food was okay. There weren't many breakfast choices at the buffet, though.

The property itself is HUGE!! And unfortunately, the golf carts only go between the main areas along the outside of the property. It would be nicer if they went from building to building since they are so spaced out. I wouldn't recommend the resort for anyone who has difficulty walking long distances.

Party wise... the resort was perfect!! Always something going on at the pools (at least there was at the adult pool, where I was) and a bunch of people all over the place, so great for mingling if you are single.

Beach wise, it was kind of strange. There is a "beach" but then a big brick wall separately the actual ocean. There was lots of activity going on in this area, but not the prettiest site to see.

Overall, the resort was nice. There were some really cool things and then some really not so cool things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edancer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear edancer89,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel. We aim to deliver authentic experiences that rock for every guest and that's why we regret we have missed our mark in your case. Please accept my humble apologies for any dissatisfaction you may have experienced during you visit since in no way it represents the image we strive to portray of our resort to our valued guests. I would like to have the opportunity to change your perception of our resort so I will have one of our specialists get in touch with you through a private message to address your concerns. We hope to welcome you back again in future vacations to Riviera Maya, Mexico so you can experience the Rock Star treatment that all our guests are accustomed to.

Cordially,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

You will NOT be disappointed here. My husband and I stayed in Heaven and the staff is awesome. They learn who you are from the time you check in and do everything they can to make your stay delightful. The food was pretty good, beaches and pool were stunning, there is always staff cleaning and they do everything they can to accommodate you. There is also daily and nightly entertainment so you never get bored. We also took a few excursions since we got credits for booking/paying early and it was well worth it! I highly recommend this place and can't wait to check out more resorts in the Hard Rock chain!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the buildings near the pools or lobby. Ours was in Building 1 out of 9 so 3-6 would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachmeal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi there rachmeal03,

Thank you for your amazing review. I am beyond pleased to learn that you and your loved one had an incredible time at our resort and that you felt our characteristic Rock Star treatment in every possible way at the pools, the beaches, the restaurants, the excursions and so on. Thank you for staying with us. We are counting with your preference in future vacations to Riviera Maya, Mexico.

Cordially,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful resort. Lots to do. Very Clean which is a huge deal to me. We had a great stay. Very relaxing but lots to do if we wanted to. The food at breakfast and lunch was average. The dinners were very good though. The entertainment staff are excellent at getting the kids involved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Andrea W,

You're so kind for taking the time to post your experience at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. Nothing pleases us more than getting this fantastic feedback that confirms that you experienced a truly Rock Star vacation with us. Thank you for recommending us so highly. We cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Cordially,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in July and from the moment we checked in, we felt like we were getting legitimate VIP treatment. Grounds were beautiful. Rooms were gorgeous. Food was delicious. The distinction between the "heaven" and "hacienda" sides of the resort was also great when you wanted to have a quieter dinner. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Chelsea M!

How great is to see that you loved every single moment of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya between the gorgeous accomodations, delicious meals, mouthwatering cocktails and absolutely Rock Star treatment everywhere! Thank you for staying with us. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon and roll out the red carpet for another glamorous vacay at Riviera Maya.

Cordially,

René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,209 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,973 reviews
14.0 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,143 reviews
23.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views, a private white sand beach, and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas. It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing