We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Perks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carteret, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Perks”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first stay in Riviera Maya as well as the Hard Rock brand and it was pretty amazing. The resort credits kept us busy and a great price. I traveled with just my Mother and I and it was perfect. Daytime entertainment by the pool, great food, and the hotel bars are open pretty late. I just wished that the nighttime entertainment extended later in the evening being that shows/entertainment were before 7pm.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Lisa B,
We are very grateful for your comments and it is so gratifying to see that our efforts are appreciated. We are working tirelessly to reach your satisfaction by delivering the epic service that sets us apart.
We hope to have you back soon and create new memories together.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,484
    1,492
    642
    255
    246
See reviews for
3,520
2,636
89
751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This resort is amazing and the service is great. We received a lot of resort credit and were able to use it easily enough especially on spa treatments. If you love spa, this place is for you. This place has high value if you are going to use the credits but would be on the expensive side if you do not. It was a bit tougher to use it on excursions and they tried to up-sell there a bit. I recommend the speed boat snorkeling tour, that was really fun. Make sure to say no to the sales pitch brunch that they try to sign you up for. We stayed on the heaven side which I liked a lot more than I was expecting since it has a fun vibe and no kids running around everywhere. The hacienda side was nice to, it seemed to have received more renovation than the heaven but definitely felt a bit more crowded. If you must have beach that is open to the ocean than this place is not for you because it is built on seaside rock and you cannot swim out to the ocean, just the little inlets that they built. Food was better than expected, we really enjoyed the Italian restaurant and the Asian restaurant as well as tacos from fresh tortillas and salsas at lunch.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Esteemed Joe E,
Thank you for your comments. We feel so pleased to see that your expectations have been surpassed. It has been our pleasure and we would love to have you back and make new memories together.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya for 6 days as a quick last minute vacation to unwind before the end of summer and overall it was a great stay. We are a family of 5 (3 kids under age of 12) so this is only reviewing the Hacienda side of the hotel.

It is quite a drive from Cancun airport (over an hour) and on arriving at the hotel it was just mayhem. Our driver couldn't even drive all the way up because there were so many cars/vans in the driveway. Crowds of people standing around outside (I wasn't very comfortable leaving our cases amongst so much chaos). Then inside it was just as crowded - loads of people standing around - some checking in, some checking out - with no clear organization as to who is next. I haven't seen anything like that at a hotel check-in and it doesn't make a great first impression at all. We 'checked in' then had to come back after an hour to get our key. So came back and queued again. Zero out of five for check in.

The rooms were nice enough and spacious with the odd addition of the bathtub not in the bathroom but in the bedroom. A little wierd, but that aside, the rooms are a good size with hammocks on the balconies. I didn't think much of the housekeeping - it would come so late every single day (late afternoon) and just wasn't that good. I'm not a total clean freak but the room seemed a little musty and the floor felt gritty for our whole stay and I just don't like to see the remnants of previous guests. When we first checked in to our room, there was an empty coke can in one of the drawers so obviously they are just doing a quick flip over between guests. Not sure why someone would finish a coke and put it in a drawer(?!) but the room definitely had the feeling it could be cleaned much better. The in-room mini bar was a nice touch if you ever needed to make drinks in your room but since there are drinks everywhere on the property, you didn't really need to do that.

I'm still not sure if I'm a fan of All Inclusive hotels - it does simplify things not having to worry about the bill at the end of the stay but I always worry the food and service is going to be really bad. Overall I think the food and service was hit and miss. I didn't starve to death because the food was so bad, but I also didn't pig out because it was so wonderful.

The Market is the main restaurant and we usually had breakfast there. Beat the crowds and it's fine. There certainly seemed to a vast array of food out on offer but not a whole lot that you want to actually eat. No pancakes or waffles for the kids, very little fruit on offer and a small selection of cereal (some of which were past their expiry date). We had dinner at Frida (Mexican) and the service and food was fantastic - definitely our favorite restaurant there. We ate dinner and breakfast at the Brazilian restaurant, Ipanema, and this one has the most beautiful views of the beach. The breakfast there was exactly like The Market but a little less on offer. The dinner is the spitfired-meat sliced at the table and that was pretty good. We had dinner at Zen one night and that was ok. The chefs put on a great show but not a 'wow' with the food. The little cafe next to The Market was great to have a coffee and a cake and watch the kids play pool or fooseball and the staff there were very nice and friendly especially since they could be so busy. The pool area had a buffet lunch next to it with hot dogs, burgers, chicken nuggets, pizza so that was great for the kids. The drink service was just ok around the pool and beach area on the whole - it just took too long get a drink (soft drink or alcoholic).

The pool was fantastic and the little beach cove are the best features of the resort. The pool wasn't overly crowded but finding a shaded spot was at a premium. There is plenty of lounge chairs but such a limited amount of shade that you had to get to the pool first thing if you wanted to sit under shade. That is one thing that I definitely didn't like - nobody wants to sit in the sun all day long so there is a need for far more shaded areas/umbrellas. The beach was a lagoon which was perfect for the kids. It is not exposed directly to the ocean so the kids could swim wherever they liked no problems. The water was beautiful with no rocks or shells. They were able to snorkel and kayak in the calm water and really enjoyed it. We knew the beach was a lagoon before we went here but in hindsight it probably would've been nice to go somewhere with a proper beachfront so we could go for an early evening stroll on the beach which is not possible here.

Overall I would say I liked the resort but the inconsistent service would prevent me from coming back here a second time. It had the potential to be fantastic but it just wasn't good enough in too many areas. Fix the chaotic check-in times, get more drink staff and better housekeeping and it would be 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubaiexpat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Esteemed dubaiexpat71,
I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We are pleased to see that you had a nice time at our resort although we would like to change that to an epic stay. We have reviewed your comments and rest assured that they won’t be taken lightly. We have addressed these points to improve them to the detail. We are working diligently to maintain our high quality and service standards that set us apart.
We would love to have you back and make your experience truly memorable.
I will have one of our specialists contacting you shortly to further assist you.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I will definitely come back soon! My wife and I had the best time ever at this resort. I was our first experience visiting a Hard Rock property but it was definitely worth it and I will recommend it to everyone I know.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Esteemed Edgar M,
Wow, we are so happy to see your comments. We are very grateful to see that you spent such an amazing time during your stay at our resort. It has been our pleasure and we would love to have you back and make new memories together once again.
The stage will be ready for another gig.
Rock on!
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was lovely!!! Loved everything about it! Found was great, staff was friendly and very helpful except for the hostess at Pizzaretto, I don't remember her name but she was very rude besides. Frida has great food and service so does Zen. Loved the man made beach, we went to Barcelo for parasailing and their beach was not as pretty as the one at hard rock, my kids complained that they wanted the waves but after going to Barcelo they decided they liked the beach at Hard Rock a lot better!
Didn't like the hot tub in the room, I think since it's the family side of the hotel maybe put bigger beds and take the hot tub out - that's more for the heaven adults side, but other than that I would recommended Hard Rock
We had a great vacation!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Maria G,
Thank you for your comments; they are much appreciated as well as your suggestions. On behalf of Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, We apologize for your bad experience at restaurant Pizzeto, I assure that we are always driven to improve any aspect of the Hard Rock experience to the detail.
We are so glad to see that your had such a great time with us and we can’t wait to have you back.
We will roll over the red carpet to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed one week in Aug in a Presidential suite and friends had regular rooms next door. Hotel is divided into adults and family section. Pros - lots of good dining options. Cons - kids cannot go to the adult section where some of the restaurants are. Loved the Tapas restaurant. Kids loved the cooking tables in Zen. Pool area needed more shaded areas/umbrellas. Not much if any VIP acknoledgement despite being in a Presidential suite and a Legendary VIP member. Spa treatment was very good, however rooms were bright and I prefer the quieter spa in Punta Cana. Soetimes a long wait to find a available vacation planner to book trips/spa, etc. Did the Tulum and Chichen Iza trip which were both well run. Friends also did the dolphin trip..Food quality was good, service was friendly. I think the Heaven section was more posh and had some nicer restaurants including the quality of drinks. Not sure why the entire hotel serves just two beers. Overall good trip with no major issues but I expected more..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
2 Thank Canadarocks463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Canadarocks463,
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate your opinion and I assure you it will not be taken lightly. We are aware of the points of opportunity that you have kindly mentioned and we are working to improve every aspect.
We would like to have you back soon and we will be thrilled if you decide to share your next vacation with us.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good service, good facilities and excellent environment, especially in the heaven area for adults that have privacy and invite you to relax. Excellent option for those that want to disconnect and enjoy a hotel with superb accomodations, excellent food and comfort for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
1 Thank Bladimir Alejan... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
René M, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Esteemed Bladimir Alejan… V,
We are so glad to see that we have met your expectations and it is very rewarding for us to see that our efforts are appreciated. We are driven by our Rock Stars satisfaction and we are working tirelessly to reach with the epic service that sets us apart. We are very pleased and we hope to have you back soon and keep rocking together.
Sincerely,
René Malacara Coss
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.1 mi away
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Ri...
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,517 reviews
23.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,110 reviews
13.9 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,510 reviews
16.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Km 72, Carretera Cancun-Chetumal | Solidaridad, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Cove Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the 1,264-room Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya. And this is where luxury meets satisfaction on a stage of stunning tropical views, a private white sand beach, and exclusive saltwater snorkeling areas. It's all capped off with an inviting traditional design, legendary Hard Rock hospitality, and undeniable excess at every turn. Live large at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya and enjoy the very best of paradise for all. Or, pack your appetite for opulence and hit Heaven - an elevated and exclusive retreat for adult guests only featuring a private adult beach, superlative amenities, and dining at its finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Cove Palace Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya Mexico - Puerto Aventuras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing