We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view with the worst service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The view is great but that's true of any hotel on the coast of the Riviera Maya but this hotels service and accommodation are less than that of an Embassy Suites. If you plan on visiting this beautiful area save money by staying in Playa Del Carmen or spend the same amount at an all-inclusive resort with better service. This place has the terrible combination of charging like a high-end hotel and providing like a motel. Simply put, don't stay here, there are better options for the same price or less.

Room Tip: Why get anything other than an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bighairyarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Dear Former Omni Guest,
On behalf of all our Associates at the Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, we wish to extend our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us.
Although we receive many wonderful reviews, accolades and praise from the majority of our clients, we do understand that time to time (and let´s keep this as a rarity), that our hotel is not the perfect fit for some travelers to the destination.
Being a very frequent traveler myself, I realize that we cannot be everything to all guests, but we will certainly work the hardest, being the best hosts, with warm, genuine hospitality in a very priviledged setting and at a wonderful property that is Omni.
Thank you for your feedback, as it makes us strive to be even better, for the benefit of our current and future customers.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2011

The Omni was a great place to stay off the beaten path. It was not crowded and the staff was very nice. Very relaxing and beautiful. The price was $140 a night and included breakfast. There were also plenty of great places to eat right across the street for resonable prices.

Weather: The weather in July was very warm and a little humid, but very pleasent.

Room: The room was spacious and clean. The hot tub on the patio was very nice to relax in.

Beach: The beach was not large but it was beautiful. The snokeling right in front of the hotel was amazing! Tons of fish and coral and I even saw a ray while snorkeling at night.

Diving: The diving in Puerto Aventuras is ok, but nothing special, but the cave diving down the highway is amazing! It is a must for any experienced diver. Also, a trip to dive in cozumel is necessary. Cozumel was some of the best diving ever!

Restaurant: The food at the hotel resaurant was really good, especially the breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wamiller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The Omni was amazing. It is a small resort with only 30 rooms which keeps the pools and beach relaxed and not overcrowded. All the rooms are similar so the beautifl pictures you see on their website is exactly what your room will look like. The staff was amazing and responded to any and all of our needs/requests. Puerto Aventuras is the perfect place to be because it has everything you will need within walking distance and any adventures you want to do (Tulum, Playa del Carmen, XCaret) are all a short drive away. We just got home and are already planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlp226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Dear Recent Omni Puerto Aventuras Honeymooners,
Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your honeymoon at our Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort. I know that our Associates will be truly motivated by your kind words about your experiences.
The hotel and the surrounding areas our unique and being a small, intimate property, really makes a visit to the Riviera Maya a special one.
We look forward to welcome you back home to "su casa" for your next visit. Maybe to celebrate your first anniversary!
Wishing you all the best,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

From check-in to check-out, the hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and went out of there way to make you feel at home. The beach and pools were wonderful. The rooms were
very clean and in the evening your bed was turned down. The hotel is in a gated and safe community called Puerto Adventuras with a number of resturants, two marinas,
dolphin park, and nine hole golf course. The resort is approximatly a one hour drive South of Cancun.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAY820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Our first visit to Mexico - gosh 11 hours from the UK. Arrived at the hotel to a warm welcome and cold drink. Our room was beautiful - spacious, huge comfy bed and so clean. We did struggle with the band opposite on the first night but only because we were jet-lagged and in any case they have to stop at 10 (though occasionally over-run a little till 10.30). We swapped rooms the next day simply because we thought we were going to get a sea/garden view room. It was no problem. We were offered help and in no time we were in another equally gorgeous room with a patio,hammock, jacussi and direct access to the pool/beach. The beach - wow! It was a joy to walk along the beach early in the morning and then go to eat breakfast on the restaurant veranda. The water was warm and turquoise - yes a bit rocky in places but enough soft powdery tropical sand for me. I even went snorkelling (I'm not known for my bravery in water) We enjoyed all the food at the restaurant and beach snack bar and the staff were excellent and friendly. If I had to be critical I would say the portion sizes were too big for us and we often shared a starter and a main course. I think there must be a lot of waste food thrown away. I can't get my head round having it boxed up for later when you are in a hotel but all the other guests (USA/Canada) seem to do it all the time. The first day sitting on my lounger on the beach a young man arrived with iced fruit juice drinks - i could have been on another planet a world away from cold february in the UK and as for eating lunch while sitting in an enormous jacussi beach bar well - is this how the other half live - if so i like it!! We were half board and at the end of the first week we were keen to try some of the local restaurants so we swapped our dinner for lunch in the hotel and then went out for dinner. We particularly enjoyed Massimo and Cafe Ole. Every evening we would stroll round the marina watching the dolphins and then end up in Cafe Ole to listen to the live music which was always fantastic. After only a few days we were always greeted when we walked by. Everyone we met during our holiday was very friendly. If you walk to the main road there are vans with blue or red stripes which will take you to Playa Carmen Tulum or Akumel for about a £1 each way. Much cheaper than booking a tour. Akumel beach definitely worth a visit. Playa Carmen not really our cup of tea but maybe thats an age thing! We only found CafeCafe on the last day but the coffee was the best we had and they have internet access there. We really enjoyed the wildlife. We saw beautiful birds, land crabs, iguanas and my husband saw a turtle and a stingray. As a reply to some of the other reviews: the dolphins centre is approved and the dolphins looked happy and healthy and breed which is usually a good sign. While we were some dolphins arrived one night which had been rescued from somewhere. I haven't had many margaritas previously so maybe I don't know any better but ours at the hotel were always good. They use polystyrene cups around the pool/ beach areas for safety reasons. We had no problems with using our jacussi. The keylime pie made by Gaylita and fajitas at Cafe Ole - best we had. Each room has a hatch for room service delivery to respect your privacy- what a great idea for honeymooners! Also must mention the maintenance and cleanliness of this hotel is outstanding.
I can definitely recommend this hotel and I will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We first visited this area in 2003 staying at an all inclusive up the coast towards Cancun. At the time we found Playa del Carmen to be a nice quiet Mexican town with just five or six blocks of tourist shops and a few nice restaurants. Imagine our amazement (or disapointment) this time when we found the Playa as it is today; block after block of tourist shops street hawkers and restauranteurs ready to yank you into their eating establishments telling you "if you don't like it you don't pay." After a few hours of dealing with that it was a peaceful retreat to the Omni Aventuras hotel. It was a picture perfect place for us with a beautiful white sand beach. It was very quiet, good food with a friendly staff. We had room #310 which did not have an ocean view , but was still very nice. Whirlpool out on the balcony, nice warm breeze....... Live crooner that played across the street from around 8pm until 10 or 11PM was a plus. One more thing to add is that the staff works very hard to keep the place clean. We definitely recomend that you stay at the Omni.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

The Omni proved to be an awesome hotel as far as location went. It is close to most of the Adventures, such as Xcaret, Xplore, Playa del Carmen. And how great to have such a short walk to the beach where some of the most amazing snorkeling happens. Free breakfasts were great anf the hotel was very clean. The bar staff were very attentive, but a bit slow on getting us the bills. One thing is, bring lots of money or prepare for a huge bar tab if you order drinks at the Omni. A rye and coke was 130 pesos and other drinks were 80 pesos. A lot more than I am used to paying. A coke alone was 45 pesos. The nachos from the pool bar were very tasty and were great value at 120 pesos. (3 could share the platter easily)
The room was very nice with a shower that had a sliding door to the outside. We were in room 103 and the privacy was very nice. It was treed around the balcony but between the foliage you could see the ocean. The jacuzzi was an issue. We would have loved to use it in the evenings but the ants were busy building something inside the walls of the jacuzzi. When we filled it the ants came out of the jets. (A lot of them) We did this twice thinking we could flush them out, but their numbers were too great. It was a disappointment.
Would I recommend this hotel. Absolutely. I have been to this area 8 times and this is the first time I never stayed all-inclusive. The OMNI made it a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50&lvgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2011

Dear Omni Puerto Aventuras Guests,
Thank you very mucho for your kind feedback, regarding your experience at our resort.
Our chief Engineer has checked into the jacuzzi in your room to make sure that this problem will not occur in the future.
We are truly fortunate to have wonderful Associates and of course a beautiful area to work and provide warm, genuine hospitality, away from the mega resorts in other areas.
It will be an honor to welcome you back home to "su casa", one day soon.
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.4 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#1 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#11 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,861 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,025 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
7,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range: £89 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing