We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We took our (pre-) Christmas 2010 holidays here and loved it. If you are looking for a few relaxed days as a couple it is hard to beat this small hotel on the beach. Beautiful rooms overlooking the sea (make sure to get one of those) with a hammock and jacuzzi on the balcony. Need I say more. The staff was very helpful and contributed to the relaxed atmosphere.

I think the only way you can be unhappy here is if you have the wrong expectations. Though it manages to maintain an intimate feel the hotel is in a marina community/resort, which doesn't appeal to a lot of people (us included). We definitely needed our car to get to Playa del Carmen for decent restaurants (though breakfast at the Omni is quite good), some nightlife and shopping. Incidentally, there is nothing easier than driving in the Yucatan peninsula, make sure to rent a car at the airport and drive yourself around (unless you are in Cancun). Part of the reason it is intimate is that it isn't on a huge beach, bustling with people, for that go to Playa del Carmen. And it is not a resort, for that go to a resort.

We ended up spending the second part of our holidays traveling around the peninsula, but regretted not having stayed at the Omni. Valladolid and Merida are nice, but too much like other latin american towns we have seen. Our visits to Coba and Chichen Itza (both of which are well worth a visit) and Tulum (which I found very underwhelming) we could have undertaken in a (admittedly long) day trip or two directly from the Omni.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    162
    42
    24
    26
See reviews for
139
261
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

had family stay here during a visit. while the hotel itself is fine the beach is completely eroded and needs lots of work. asked around and found others in area have done beach rennovation that has yielded excellent results but the website does not reflect the loss of beach, they have sand bags piled up that you have to climb over to get to waters edge, beach bar could at anytime appears to go out to see with foundation exposed. they need to spend some $ to get the beach back up to OMNI standards.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jpsmith1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Past Omni Puerto Aventuras Guests,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. The beachfront area at the Omni and next door to the hotel changes with the tides, as it is in a cove type of location in Puerto Aventuras. It is a natural beach, not man-made as other beaches in the area. Therefore, we tend to let Mother Nature do to the shaping of the beach, with us only assisting with putting sand bags as a barrier and retainer.
In June, the month of your visit, there were a few storms that rolled through our area and yes, had an effect on the beach, which is now coming back nicely, and as mentioned by others that reviewed the property on this site, was to their liking.
We apologize that during your visit, the beach area was not exactly the same as pictured, but as with many beach destinations throughout the world, the change in size and area will change with weather and the flow of the tides.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Imagine this: you step out from the airport van and up three steps into an enormous, open-sided palapa. Just steps away lies an inviting azure pool surrounded by loungers and cushioned sofas, and feet beyond that, the ocean waves crash upon a white, sandy, plam-treed beach. The sight is truly breathtaking and you sigh with happiness as the weight of the day's travel lifts from your shoulders. What an auspicious beginning to a truly wonderful vacation experience!

The Omni PA has the feel of a small boutique hotel. If you're looking for debauchery, pool-side games, and liquor-soaked partying, this is not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you are seeking a relaxing getaway with excellent service, this hotel is worth a visit. The service was some of the best we've ever experienced, with immaculate housekeeping twice a day and friendly, thoughtful waitstaff. What we found truly impressive was the fact that the staff remembered our requests and preferences, so we only needed to ask for things once or twice. We stayed for 10 days, and after the second day, our rooms were always made up during the times that we liked, and our dining experiences were seamless. This, to my mind, defines the quality of service.

The rooms are very large (we had three to accommodate a multi-generational family vacation) and all laid out similarly, with a separate dressing area and lavatory. Each room also had a balcony with a small cushioned sofa, a rope hammock, and a jacuzzi tub. Sliding glass doors opened to the balcony from both from the main bedroom area and the shower, allowing an "open-air" shower experience if desired. The rooms were kept spotlessly cleaned and smelled fresh. A/C was excellent and we were able to choose our preferred temperature. The beds were overly firm, in my opinion, and the pillows were somewhat lumpy and too small. Our rooms were on the ocean side, which made for a very nice view from the second floor, but the room on the third floor truly had a spectacular view. If view is really important to you, or if you plan to spend a lot of time on your balcony, third floor is the one to request. One caveat: there are no elevators. The bell staff, however, was more than happy to help haul luggage up and down the stairs.

A previous reviewer had the opinion that this was an "adult-type" resort. My feeling is that there are a number of adults-only properties in the area, so if you don't want to deal with seeing children on your vacation, take advantage of one of those. There were many children staying at the hotel, and they were treated like welcome guests by the staff. Our party included three children, ages 4, 5, and 5. They had a delightful time in the small, shallow kiddie pool and the warm, sandy ocean beach was perfect for them. There were two baskets of beach toys in the lobby to borrow for playing in the sand and pool. We swam in the pool every day, and snorkeled most days out to the amazing reef right off of the beach.

The Omni is located right in the middle of the cute marina town of Puerto Aventuras. We wandered around almost every day and evening, enjoying the various shops and restaurants, and admiring the dolphins who swim around in the marina. We tried a number of the restaurants, with varying experiences. I will say that I found things to be very overpriced--it's kind of a Disney-does-Mexico experience. Everything looks wonderful, clean, and picturesque, but you pay for it. We found that sticking to the Mexican specialties at the various restaurants was a safer bet than venturing into more "international" territory.

The restaurant at the Omni is very good, and a continental breakfast in the dining area (or in your room, if you prefer) is included in the room rate. We started bringing our own beverages with us to the restaurant (45 pesos for bottled water or a can of soda?! That's about $4.50 US) and the servers were accommodating with glasses of ice. It felt a little tacky to do this, but everyone goes everywhere with bottles of water, so it didn't appear to be too odd. Again, sticking to the Mexican specialties was the way to go at the hotel restaurant, and we had some wonderful beef tacos, nachos, skirt steak, and especially the Chilaquiles with Salsa Verde for breakfast--yum! The hotel has an excellent baker on staff, and breakfasts included a basket of sweet rolls (chocolate croissants, cheese danish, etc) that were warm and muy delicioso. Upgrading to a breakfast that includes eggs or breakfast meats was just a few dollars more. Jorge and Abner took wonderful care of us at breakfast, making sure that there was plenty of hot steamed milk for the morning coffee (which was great, by the way, and I'm fussy about my coffee) and providing cheerful and consistent service.

There is a small gym and spa on property. My SIL and MIL had decent experiences with the gym, other than being frustrated that the A/C wasn't always working properly. They were offering a special on massages, so my SIL and I each had one--they were pretty mediocre. My SIL described hers as "light brushing" and mine was so forceful that it literally left bruises across my upper back. The facial that I had only lasted for a half-hour, probably 10 minutes of which were spent with the provider running back and forth to empty and refill her basin of water. I could have spent 20 minutes scrubbing my own face with a small brush and then putting on lotion (which is basically all this facial entailed) and saved myself $42 US. Don't bother with the "spa" here--there are others in the area that are probably worth checking out.

So...overall...we had a terrific vacation. I was nervous about going to Mexico after a dreadful experience several years ago during which my husband and I were ill nearly the entire time, but we had no trouble at all this time and we ate and drank at lots of restaurants and the hotel. They all use purified water and ice, and the hotel tap water is purified (and they also provide bottled water daily).

Cons: The bedding could use an upgrade, and the pool and beach area can get a bit crowded and/or noisy as the Omni has "guest memberships" available to the general public (which accounts for my only giving this place a 4-green-circle rating).

Pros: The location is fantastic, the whole resort area is immaculate, the beach and pool are beautiful, and the service is excellent. We felt entirely safe the whole time, even walking around the town in the evenings. If we return to PA, the Omni will be top on our list.

Room Tip: Request third-floor ocean side for a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoriW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

During the day we hung out by the beach played some fun games ate alot of food and drank all day. By night we had a great guy named charlie that showed us around the clubs. He took us to the hottest clubs every night and hooked us up with great tables and service. When i go back i hope that every one of my nightlife experiences will be just like that one... Thanks again !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rthom1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I went went 3, old and best girlfriends on this trip. The resort was nice and more quaint than other all-inclusives I had been to. The staff was lovely and the food was average, except for the sushi bar that was amazing! My main complaint is that all of the bars except the lobby bar closed by 7 PM. So, if you wanted to enjoy a drink outside, you had to go all the way inside to get your 8 oz margarita. However, I highly recommend the mango margarita. The entertainment group was not as lively as I have experienced by comparison at other all inclusives. For the price, you can stay at a much better place in Cancun with a wider variety of things to do. If you want peace and quiet and a beautiful beach, this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

To start, our room was wonderful... we had a 1-bedroom suite, & it was clean and tastefully decorated. We chose to do the all-inclusive for our stay, starts at three days on up, and because of this, our room was stocked on the first day with bottled water, sodas and beer! The servers at Pina Colada restaurant were wonderful! The servers for the palapas were great, too! Lovely beach & lots of pools. Bathrooms were all clean & stocked. We'll be back for sure!!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is lagoon side, the other is ocean/pool side. Our view was partially both. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali-flighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

It was nice but not the best of the best. You get what you pay for. We didn't have any problems, it was just an average hotel. WARNING: stay away from the margaritas - they taste like pickles. Or try them for just 85 pesos and see for yourself. We were a bit disappointed with the drinks from the bar, as they seemed to all be made from store bought mixers (and bad ones at that). The nachos, however, was amazing. If you go here, get the nachos. We had them for lunch every day.

The beach was great. The snorkeling off the beach was even better (we saw a turtle!). There's a dive club inside the hotel and we went to rent snorkel gear at like 11am and they guy gave it to us for half price ($5 for a mask and fins per person).

Everything was clean, and our stay was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Omni Puerto Aventuras Guests,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us.
I have reviewed this information with Alejandro, our Food & Beverage Director, and it is time for me to taste the margaritas as well, to make sure they do not taste like pickles (they should have a nice sweet and sour flavour, but not the kind you mentioned).
Yes, the nachos are wonderful, as well as many of our culinary delights.
We appreciate your visit with us and hope w ehave the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future. Your first margarita is on the house!
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
0.4 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
242 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,737 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Property: Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing