We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 out of 21 are you Kidding Me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“15 out of 21 are you Kidding Me”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

This hotel should be # 1 in Puerto Aventuras. First of all I am not a travel agent or am getting paid to write this. Service was unbelievable. I was at the Omni for my Honeymoon from June 12 to the 18th. If you are looking for a small hotel, where you don't become a number, this is the place. This hotel is the hidden jewel of Puerto Aventuras. The small town feel of the surrounding marina is very romantic. You can choose to eat at several different restaurants all surrounding the Dolphin Eco park where you can watch them swim while enjoying dinner or lunch. The Hotels restaurant is 5 star. Look, I'm 6'1 285, I don't mess around when it comes to food. Believe me if it was bad, or just OK I would have told them. Try the nachos, for lunch. The surf and turf for dinner is a must. How about dinner ON the beach," The Romantic Dinner" your choice of menu, that you go over with the Chef for about 80 dollars for two. Trust me this is the place to be for you honeymoon or romantic get away. Thanks again ALEX, ALEX and SOL.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billyberru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    161
    42
    24
    24
See reviews for
137
260
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

My wife and I just got back from our wedding at the Omni Puerto Aventuras Resort, and we couldn't have been more pleased.

I am from NYC and she is from Texas, and the Omni proved to be the perfect choice for both of our families. Authentic enough for the Texans and providing a level of service that impressed all of my New Yorker relatives. (my cousins went on to the Ritz Carlton in Cancun and said they preferred the Omni) 



Emmanuelle Florin was our wedding coordinator and she did a FANTASTIC job. She is super creative and thrives on the challenges involved in planning beautiful events. They say your wedding day flies by, but i was so relaxed and confident in her skills that it was just another leisurely day in paradise. If you are planning a wedding in the Cancun/Rivieria Maya area, you should absolutely use Emmanuelle as your coordinator. 



My wife worked with Sol Morales from the Omni for over a year planning all of our arrangements, and Sol did a great job. We were able to choose rooms for all of our guests, and when we arrived there was a beautiful flower arrangement and bottle of champagne in our room. Throughout the week she and the rest of the hotel staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. (Even tracking me down when i left too large of a tip at the swim-up bar). They helped us plan customized tours to the ruins, and secure last minute dinner reservations and transportation. When my wife's family felt the regular margarita was not up to their discerning standards, the bar staff was happy to make a "Margarita a la Baker". 



Alejandro Escudero and Chef Miguel Cisneros from the Omni's restaurant gave us a beautiful wedding reception dinner. Alejandro's service was excellent, the atmosphere was perfect and he went out of his way to make our entire week's dining experiences special. Chef Miguel's menu was delicious. We had coconut shrimp to start followed by filet mignon and lobster tail. The mexican breakfasts are terrific as well, we ate there everyday. 



Overall, we had an awesome time, we loved the small hotel experience. The hammocks & jacuzzis in every room are great. Puerto Aventuras is a beautiful, safe community with lots of activities and amenities. Like all of the Riviera Maya, the beach is not as wide as it once was. However, we hear it is going to be dredged later this year in hopes of restoration. 



We will definitely be back. 


P.S. Check out Taco Paco in the mini-mall by the main entrance to PA. Gigantic fresh fish tacos for 20 pesos, and a great salsa bar.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianC_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We recently returned from a wonderful and glorious two week Spring Break vacation at The Omni in Puerto Aventuras (just south of Playa del Carmen) and The Omni Cancun Hotel and Villas. The resorts were clean, the service was excellent, the food was great, the weather was perfect, and the staff was always very friendly and helpful.

We never once felt threatened by the drug war violence that is being televised by the American media. I firmly believe that the American government and the new administration is trying to scare us away from Mexico in order to get us to vacation here in the States and spend our money here to boost our ailing economy. There is absolutely no reason to be concerned about vacationing in the Mexican Riviera. The return on your investment is still an excellent value, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This "boutique resort" surpassed any expectations. The resort itself is beautiful. The area is quiet and quaint. The service and staff were exceptional.

My husband had a birthday while we were there. At my request, the staff set up a wonderful dinner on the beach with a special menu, terrific wine and a dedicated server for us. It was truly a meal to remember. Prior to that, however, there was a birthday cake and decorations waiting for us at breakfast. The breakfast was even more impressive because it was done without any prompting from us. The hotel staff took it upon
themselves to have a birthday breakfast for my husband...like very good freinds or family.

The only less than perfect part of our stay is that the beach is quite rocky so bring your water shoes.

One final note, we have traveled to Mexico many times and we felt just as safe on this trip as ever. Security was never an issue.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We were a party of four adults and two children, 10 and 7 years old. Everyone enjoyed hanging around the pool, snorkeling just off the hotel beach, walking across the street to the shops and restaurants. The kids loved swimming with the dolphins, also right across the street. It is a shame that the beach suffered from storm damage, but we heard there is a rehab project coming soon. Since the hotel is small, the beach never seemed crowded. Service was great - in the rooms and outside at the pool and beach. Another reason I would recommend the hotel is its location on the 307 Highway. We are not the types to just stay at the hotel all day, every day. So the location was convenient to Tulum, Xel-Ha, Playa del Carmen. Everyone on staff at the hotel took very good care of us.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smaxjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Omni with two other couples. We found the hotel perfect in every way except for the beach itself. We would have preferred a place with a larger, more expansive beach. Unlike the previous reviewer, who was there during Christmas vacation week, we did not have a problem with either the pool area or beach being overcrowded. Even with the day passes we were always able to get chairs in either area. We loved the small hotel experience with a large open lobby with a central bar. Fernando was a friendly accommodating bartender who went out of his way to make us comfortable. Sol , the Manager was also friendly and very helpful. The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was always on top of keeping the room in top shape by servicing rooms twice a day. We loved the hammock and jaccuzzi on the balcony. Food in restaurant was quite good for breakfast and lunch although service was slow. Gorge took very good care of us. We enjoyed the convenience of the marina for casual dinners. Food was okay but not "fine dining". Our snorkeling friends loved that they could walk right into the water at the beach and have a good snorkeling experience. We rented cars so were able to go to other areas for day trips. We are very experienced and sophisticated travelers and really enjoyed our experience at Omni Puerto Adventures.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capecodflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed at the Omni over the holiday period and booked it because of the small size of the hotel, the reviews on the beach etc. Here is our review:

Great:
- The rooms are nice, with very comfortable bed, lots of room, huge shower, and a jacuzzi on each balcony. We had a balcony room with a fantastic pool and ocean view.
- The staff are amazing, especially Alejandro, Sol and Alex - everyone is very welcoming and wants to make sure you are happy. The cocktails are great as is all the pool and beach side food.
- The four poster beds you can book for 250 pesos a day by the pool are worth it.
- The kiddie pool is shallow and very warm, all the kids loved it (and several of the adults)
- The beach itself, although small, is very nice. It is shallow water, warm, the waves are not too big, and the snorkeling right in front of the hotel is amazing, we saw all kinds of fish, squid and even sting rays. It can get a bit rocky in places so take swim shoes but there are plenty of sandy areas to swim in.
- The dive school is excellent and reasonably priced.

Not so great
- If you have stayed at other Omnis. lower your expectations before you book this one - the rooms are very nice but the rest of the hotel is not quite up to snuff, and reminded us more of a holiday inn level.
- The main pools were always dirty even after the brief "cleaning" every morning
- The beach and pool areas are not just for hotel guests despite the many signs in the areas saying so - a lot of people would come in from neighbouring condos and use the facilities so it was always very crowded and this was my single biggest issue with the hotel. The hotel confirmed after I complained that they issue daily passes to outside guests and offer beach club membership. If the facilities were large enough to accomodate all these people then it would be ok, but the beach is very small to begin with, and there are not enough beds at the beach or the pool for everyone. On top of that, outside guests pay Jose, the beach attendant, to secure their beds early in the morning, so
so if you are not up by 6am (literally) to book your beds, you will be out of luck. This is ridiculous that you pay over $500 a night for a small hotel and someone paying $200 for a monthly pass can use all the facilities before you because they pay the attendant. It also means the beach was very crowded every day we were there - and people pay for the pass and bring all their family and friends.
- Other guests complained that they were charged each morning for breakfast even though the rate had it included - they were at reception every morning sorting it out. We did not have this issue.
- We had breakfast in our room daily but the waiter couldnt figure out what a hard boiled egg was so we spent 5 min every morning explaining what we wanted. The food was good though and arrived promptly.
- Small nitpick but there is a DVD lending library with about 10-12 kids movies and 10-12 other movies - I was annoyed that after paying for the room etc, we are charged 50 pesos to borrow a DVD - it is unnecessary and very cheap of the hotel to do that. They have a small book library too but dont charge for that.
- The website advertises a kids club but there is not one at the hotel.

Be aware:
- The property is in a very commercial marina area, so if you are looking for a small rustic beach getaway with local restaurants, this is not for you - all the cafes in the marina are american / italian, with one mexican restaurant that is ok. It is very touristy and full of people with boats and rental condos. Due to the issue with taxis below, it is not easy to get out of the resort area so you will be limited to the marina area for restaurants.
- There is major construction on the highway and it takes a long time to get in and out esp at peak traffic times so factor that in if making day trips to the ruins or other attractions. Taxis are very hard to get as nobody wants to come through the construction area.
- The dolphin experience is a major disappointment (as everywhere in this area) - it is a very enclosed area, the water is not so clean, and you feel sorry for the dolphins more than anything else.
- No elevators for 2nd and 3rd floors - not a problem for us but if you have special needs you will need a ground floor room
- I tried 3-4 times to book a massage but it was always booked - it seems like a lot of the condo residents nearby use the spa so if you want to use it you will need to book well ahead of time.

All in all we had a pleasant stay for the most part and the staff went out of their way to accomodate us, but I would not return especially not at peak season, due to the beach and pool area overcrowding, as when I pay for a small hotel experience that is what I expect to get.

  • Liked — The snorkeling and the room itself
  • Disliked — The rental of the beach and pool area to outside guests, cleanliness of the poolsh
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank wananchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.4 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Property: Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing