We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is not Mexico”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

It's a mexican-themed hotel set in a gated condominium development. You could set the whole lot down in Miami and you would never know the difference. We have just had a great two weeks travelling the Maya sites in Mexico City, Chiapas and Yucatan and this was to be some relaxation before returning to London.

To be fair, the rooms per se are big, well laid out, clean and comfortable but overall what a disappointment. Each room has a balcony with a jacuzzi but none of the rooms (as far as we could tell and certainly not ours) offer any privacy and when we tried to use the jacuzzi the water was brown. "Marina view" rooms overlook the dolphin pools but also experience the live music from the closest restaurant each evening. The sea view rooms get the sun but cost an additional US$70 per night.

Our room was not ready when we arrived so we had a margarita at the lobby bar. In the last 2 weeks we have had a LOT of maragaritas and this was BY FAR the worst. It was also the most expensive and came in a polystyrene cup.

The hotel is surrounded by uninspiring shops and average restaurants. We tried two restaurants and neither of them even sold Mexican wine.

The beach is very narrow and you have to be careful of rocks as you walk into the sea.

If you are looking for a beach resort where you can feel that you are not in Mexico then this place would probably be fine and I imagine all the gated resorts along this area would offer the same experience.

Also, avoid room 101. We looked at it and the level of privacy from other guests walking past is awful.

It's simply not a boutique hotel and the views are not great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prewor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
Dear Past Omni Puerto Aventuras Guest,
Thank you for posting your candid review of Puerto Aventuras and our resort. We are sorry that the area and amenities did not meet your expectations and was not the experience you were looking for during your stay.
It is understandable that we cannot always be the best for everyone´s discerning tastes, but we will continue to strive to meet and exceed our offering for all those who visit our destination.
Sincerely,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    161
    42
    24
    24
See reviews for
137
260
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We are enjoying our Christmas vacation at the beautiful Omni. The hotel is decorated nicely for Christmas and is very peaceful. The lobby area is very quaint with nice sitting areas. The grounds are very nice and clean. The beach side jacuzzi bar is big and wonderful! Right on the beach and places to sit and enjoy the view. The restaurants are very good especially the breakfast that comes with the room price. The pools are nice but cool right now due to cooler weather lately. There are plenty of pool and beach chairs. Never have to worry about finding a spot with a great view.

Our room, 303, has a beautiful view of the ocean. You can hear the waves while sitting on your patio. Also, the jacuzzi on the balcony is a wonderful bonus! The shower leads out to the jacuzzi on the patio which is also very nice. The room is spacious and the balcony is as well. The beds are comfortable but wish we had two queen beds but the doubles are working out okay. Make sure to sign up for the Omni rewards membership (which is free) so you can get complimentary wireless internet in room and other perks! We are really enjoying this hotel and do not miss the all inclusive crowds!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
Dear Current Omni Guest,
What terrific feedback and gklad you are enjoying your stay with us at our 30 room resort, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. It is quite the gem, and we are fortunate to have such wonderful Associates working with us, who deliver genuine hospitality to all our guests.
We are happy to read that you are enjoying your experience and the hotel´s facilities.
The Omni Puerto Aventuras has been named one of the top resorts in Mexico by the Readers of Conde Nast Traveler and has made their Gold List as well.
With your valuable comments, we continue to take pride in our achievements and will continue to strive for excellence in service and our offerings.
Wishing you and your family the very best for the New Year and look forward to have you come visit again soon! "Su casa" awaits you always.
Warmest regards,
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This a small hotel with a lot of personal attention. You never have to worry about finding a lounge chair or a spot at the bar. The wait staff is very attentive. The food is wonderful. Guacamole is awesome. It's a very relaxing environment right on the beach.

Puerto Aventuras is a small secluded community, where you can go for a walk without worrying what you might encounter. Although the hotel has an incredible restaurant, there are also other restaurants just steps away. The dolphins are also right there. We loved to walk around them after dinner every night.

It's also just a short cab ride to Playa del Carmen, where there is lots of shopping and night life. Would definitely go back and also recommend to everyone I know.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunnar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

For the past 6 years I've been going to this wonderful resort with friends and family...and everyone loves it!!! Great service from the moment you walk in; Don Chilo with a genuine smile will help you with your luggage, a welcome beer/beverage will be given to you during your check in process while you enjoy the most beautiful view to the beach... The rooms are spectacular, either facing the beach or the marina (dolphins view) you will love it, specially relaxing in the hammock &/or jacuzzi located in your balcony...can't wait to go back...Delicious Food, Outstanding Service from the Breakfast staff to Jacuzzi Beach Bar to Dinner Staff...It is all these positive attributes that keep us returning year after year to this MARVELOUS Resort...Kudos to all Managers & Staff for all you do to make our trip a Perfetc Trip!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragazzamessicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My husband and I went to Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel for our 2nd year anniversary and we loved it, beautiful white sandy beach, the staff was great and gave us a warm welcome at our arrival. Restaurant Staff was very friendly and always with a smiling face, Jorge and the team were awesome, very, very good service and attentive.

Perfect for a getaway Hotel with a private beach, I strongly recommend this Hotel, we will definitely stay there again, can’t wait for our next trip =)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HildaPortillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjbk, Director of Sales at Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Dear Recent Omni Puerto Aventuras Guests,
"Gracias" for such a wonderful review of our little gem of a resort, the Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort. We appreciate your kind remarks about our tenured employees, and please rest assured that we will recognize them for their exemplary service.
Our hotel was proud to be named by Conde Nast Traveler Readers amongst the top resorts in Mexico for 2010. This is a reflection on the service you received and so thoughtfully commented on through this forum.
We look forward to welcome you back home again in the very near future.
All the best for the upcoming holidays!
Scott Balesteri
Director of Sales & Marketing
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The Omni Resort in Cancun was one of the best all inclusive resorts I have ever been to! The food, the entertainment, the service, everything well above normal standards! The Italian restaurant on the premises was awesome! I highly recommend eating there as many times as you can get a reservation! The staff was wonderful and the room service was like being a queen in our own Kingdom!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimvick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed here on our honeymoon and we were not disappointed in any way. Jorge and
the staff were great. Everyone was so friendly and treated you like long time friends. The restaurant rates a five star in my book the food matched the service of the staff it was very good for all your meals. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone that wants to relax and enjoy the beach without a large crowd. Having the beach right off of the pool area was nice, the rooms are very large and roomy. Room service cleaned the rooms twice a day the private jacuzzi on the balconey was an added bonus. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Aventuras hotels
0.4 mi away
LM by Inmense
LM by Inmense
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#6 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
6,216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Maya Colonial
Barcelo Maya Colonial
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
5,638 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort

Property: Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort
Address: Km 269.5 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Puerto Aventuras 77750, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Puerto Aventuras Hotel Beach Puerto Aventuras
Omni Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Puerto Aventuras Omni
Omni Puerto Aventuras Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing