We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded Expectations!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Puerto Aventuras, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trent C
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What an amazing week. Six couples went down to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We arrived to homemade salsa, guacamole, and chips. Doug gave a quick tour and directions about some do’s and don’ts, and we never saw him for the rest of the week. He even allowed our chefs to pre-stock the house, even though it is against the rules.

The Chef’s!!! We really lucked out when we chose Mariana and Arturo for the week. They made breakfast and dinner for the six full days we were there. I can’t tell you how good the food was, and how easy life was because of them. My wife’s favorite part of the day was walking into the kitchen and hearing “Good morning Miss Debbie, would you like a Mimosa or a Bloody Mary?” Service was that fantastic. The food was even better. We provided them with a list of foods we liked, and let them build the menu themselves. Great choice on our part. They did a fabulous job, even with our dietary and allergy restrictions.

The house is in pristine shape. The pictures don’t do it justice. The saltwater pool was really fun, and had a ton of fish in it. We attempted to play volleyball, horse shoes, and cornhole. We slept on the daybed, the hammock, and the lounge chairs. We sang karaoke, until we lost power (think someone payed off the city to get up to stop). We even hired one of the local musicians to come and play at the house.

It was a fabulous week, and we can’t wait to go again. The kids have made us promise that they can go this time.

Thank you Doug, for a Epic vacation!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDNTerry
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing and perfect private house on the waterfront!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Brisa Caribe is just 15 minutes south of Playa del Carmen, about an hour drive from Cancun airport. The trip to the villa is almost entirely highway so it goes by quite quickly. The Villa is located in a gated community with hotels, restaurants and a dolphin experience center, there is also a dolphin show at the hotel, go for a beer at the restaurant beside the dolphin tank and enjoy the free show. The villa itself is very spacious, we had a group of 17 visit and no problem fitting in comfortably utilizing 8 of the 9 available bedrooms. We hired a cook (Tina) who looked after all our meals and catered to individual tastes and desires. The roof top patio was excellent for watching sunrises and the stars and a great place to party with a bbq there if you wanted to cook yourself. Two pools, one a small, shallow (2-3 feet) kids pool, so great for adults and families. Right on the water, although too rocky to swim off shore with rough waters, however the hotel beach is a quick walk, 100 feet away, so if you like ocean swimming not difficult to do. There was a beach volleyball court at the house for the athletically inclined too. Lots of hammocks, recliners and a great padded gazebo for relaxing. House was equipped with wifi (if you really can't disconnect!) and had TV's and DVD players as well as a gaming system, karaoke machine and board games for entertainment and a great stereo too. Loved our experience there and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to book a family or group vacation. The owner accommodates smaller groups by closing off unneeded bedrooms so you can pick the sizing based on your needs. Most bedrooms had en-suite bathrooms which was great. The decor is really nice, a lot of rooms having travel themes as the owners have traveled extensively and brought back souvenirs from around the world to decorate. Gives it a nice personal touch and a welcoming, homey feel. Very easy to book excursions too, many sail and fishing excursions leave right from the community so not difficult to get too. Great way to relax, unwind and not have to deal with your typical resort type issues i.e. lineups, beach vendors, etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our home and the entire experience. We would welcome the opportunity to have you return. Doug & Shelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digger
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our group of nine women were extremely happy with this villa. The owner, Doug, has thought of everything to make the stay perfect. We used 5 bedrooms and having 5+ bathrooms available to us, was perfect. It is beautifully decorated with themed bedrooms. And there is so much living space! Nice for large group gatherings or to find a quiet spot alone. The housekeepers and groundskeepers were very accommodating but not intrusive. There was also the option to hire cooks for some or all of your meals. The villa itself is close to swimmable beach and also within walking distance of the marina, restaurants and shops. I can't say enough about how happy we were with Villa Brisa Caribe.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passport6...
1 review
“Amazing large home”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

17 of us stayed for a week at Brisa Caribe to celebrate a 60th birthday and the experience couldn't have been better. The house was incredible, beautifully appointed, with every imaginable amenity. Doug and his crew arranged for massages and were very responsive to our inquiries and ever-changing plans. We hired "International Chef Tina" for 5 of the 7 nights and couldn't have been more pleased. She was so easy to work with, she kept track of who was a vegetarian and who couldn't eat gluten [yes, we're from California :-) ] and her cooking is amazing. Perfect home on the ocean for large groups or extended families who like privacy and being well tended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and amenities
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173saraw
2 reviews
“Wonderful Family Reunion Beach Home”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a simply wonderful stay at Brisa Caribe. The house was extremely accommodating. The grounds and home were kept clean daily, drinking water accessible throughout the house and had a lot to offer from a personal volley ball court to a salt-water natural pool. What a way to vacation!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billwolf1...
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Can't wait to come back”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have been home just a week now and am still having withdrawal symptoms from an absolutely wonderful time at the Villa Brisa Caribe. The experience all started with great detail in planning with the assistance of Doug, and Desiree. They helped arrange the airport transfers, the Mexican, Mayan cooks we hired, and even our deep sea fishing captain. They made the planning effortless.

The Villa is everything and more as presented on the web site. This was our annual family reunion and all 21 of us from ages 11/2 to let us say old. The accommodations are perfect for a family get together. With the daily house keepers and grounds keeper service, we really felt like we were staying at a 5-star resort. The hired cook service really sealed the deal. I highly recommend this for anyone renting the villa. If there are any doubts about what is offered from just looking at the description and reviews, believe me it is all that and more. The views of the ocean from the balcony with a morning cup of coffee is unbeatable. Although there is not direct access to the ocean from the beach in front, access is so close it doesn’t make any difference.

All in all, we have such fond memories of our time there together due to such a spectacular environment and a gorgeous home with so many wonderful amenities!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the facility along with the services provided
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob M
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brisa Caribe was Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We traveled with several other couples to celebrate a 40th anniversary and could not have been happier. We used the seven bedrooms in the main house, but the two additional adjoining rooms looked really great also. Brisa Caribe is tastefully decorated with artifacts from Doug's travels around the world. Each room has a theme and the design and decorations are explained for each on a wall plaque outside. There is a beautiful kitchen on the second level and we used the services of The Chefs at Puerto Aventuras Catering for breakfast and dinner each evening. Francesca and Pino were fabulous, as were their preparations. They were assisted by Celine and the trio did everything possible to make our stay memorable, and it was. I would highly recommend the use of these chefs for any special occasion meal that you are planning. Better yet, use them every day! The villa was also serviced daily by a cleaning team that made the place spotless. From mopping the floors to raking the sand volleyball area on the beach behind the house, the team kept the place looking like new all the time and they did this without ever interfering with the guests.
We took advantage of the advice Doug provided and enjoyed snorkeling and deep sea fishing with local vendors. All in all, everything provided reflected the time and dedication the owners put into making this a stay to remember. My thanks to Doug Wasmuth for sharing his property with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambiance
Liked least: We were only there for a week
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
It was our pleasure to assist you and have you at our home. We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed yourselves. We would gladly welcome you back anytime. Doug & Shelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing