We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome fishing/snorkeling trip with Mundo and Crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cozumel Charters

Cozumel Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World-class all-inclusive sportfishing charters in Playa del Carmen and the Riviera Maya. Fishing trips for all budgets, with economy trips starting at just $295.00 (Private, cost for the whole boat, not per person!). If you're looking for more luxury, check out our luxurious A/C yachts. Deep sea fishing, bottom fishing, and popular fishing & snorkeling combo trips available. Just 15 minutes south of Playa del Carmen at Marina Puerto Aventuras, walking distance to most Puerto Aventuras hotels.Come experience the region's best English-speaking customer service, and see the Cozumel Charters difference that has made us famous.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome fishing/snorkeling trip with Mundo and Crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We went out with Mundo and crew yesterday off the coast of riviera maya for an 8 hour deep sea/ snorkeling trip. This was my wife's first time on a boat and out fishing, so she started out a little apprehensive but after the few minutes she was having a blast.

Booking the trip a few days in advance was super easy over the Internet. I was kind of nervous of this actually but the company proved to be very reputable. After arriving to the marina a few minutes late (very confused and slow moving taxi driver-probably my fault as no hablar espanol), we were met by Mondo and crew. Shortly thereafter, another man came and said I'm here for your
Money, took it and drove off. --just seemed weird to us.

After leaving marina we immediately caught a "Bonita" tuna and 5 foot sailfish. The fishing then died off for us and apparently everyone else (as we heard on the radio). The crew was great-always changing the bait/lures and checking them for seaweed and very attentive to drinks and food.

After a few hours we went snorkeling at a reef with one of the crew leading the way. It was AMAZING - saw many "aquarium" fish, sea turtles, sting rays, and a cenote.

Can't say enough about how good of a time we had and we can't wait until we come back to Mexico to do it again. Thanks again guys--

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Akakickassthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
We really appreciate your very nice review and taking time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor readers; and there are many. This is a terrific forum to tell other travelers about your day on the Mexican Caribbean and helps them choose what providers they can trust to see that their time and money is well spent.

Your wife must have been very excited about catching a sailfish in her first ever saltwater fishing trip; we have anglers who chase these billfish around the world - a prized catch indeed. The tuna provides excellent eating, so I hope you took that fish somewhere and had some nice steak cuts.

Thank you for choosing Cozumel Charters as your provider for this fishing experience and we look forward to you folks returning to the Mexican Caribbean for another go at those fish very soon. We really like to send home happy fishermen; sounds like we accomplished our goal on this outing...that's great! Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bring on the barracuda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We had a great day with Raymundo+. Excellent boat well equipped with a variety of hooks & lures. Raymundo kept us moving looking for the mother lode. We saw some turtles swimming, caught a few groupers (which we released) + a big barracuda!
Basic food & drinks were provided. We highly recommend Cozumel Fishing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We are very pleased that you folks had such a good time. We know that people only get to vacation once a year, if that, and when we are part of that experience it's a great pleasure if we can send happy fishermen home at the end of the day.

You should have kept at least one of those grouper; those are excellent eating fish, comprable to Red Snapper in quality, but different texture - still great white meat fish and safe consumption.

The barracuda is a sportsman's catch, a very aggressive fish that puts up quite a good fight, so they are a lot of fun to catch.

We thank you for choosing Cozumel Charters as your provider and we are especially grateful that you took time to post on Trip Advisor, one of the world's leading travel forums - often consulted by travelers deciding on what activities they will participate in and what providers have the reputation of delivering a quality charter worth the expense and time it takes.

We hope to see you in the Mexican Caribbean again very soon; remember we have the same quality charter services in Cozumel, the Riviera Maya and Cancun. Just look us up; we will be very happy to host you folks on another fishing &/or snorkel charter when you are ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton City, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“April 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We (group of 4) had an AMAZING day fishing snd snorkeling on the Wild Goat. Within the first hour we caught a Mahi mahi. By the end of our 6 hour trip, we had a Wahoo, a White marlin and a Sailfish. In addition to beautiful snorkeling. We were then directed to The Pub at Puerta Adventures where they cooked our fish 4 different ways...Delicious! Thanks

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
What an exciting fishing charter, wow! You caught at least one of the main sport fishing species cherished by anglers around the globe. A Dorado (mahi-mahi), White Marlin, Sailfish and a Wahoo - I can't think of what would have made it a more successful outing. It sounds like you have a lot to tell your friends about and not just typical "fish stories".

We thank you for taking time to post on Trip Advisor, one of the world's leading travel forums. Your post is sure to help people considering a fishing charter to go ahead and take the plunge, but also help them decide what providers they will select to deliver a quality fishing experience.

Of course we hope you return for more action on the Mexican Caribbean and we will appreciate very much if you remember us when you do.

Thank you for choosing Cozumel Charters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fishing near Playa Del Carmen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The fishing itself was slow when deep sea fishing but then after changing to bottom fishing (we only booked half day for deep sea fishing) we were getting lots of fish on the line and our final hour was full of energy - I even caught an eel! We mostly caught Trigger fish and Rockfish.

The boat was in fantastic condition and the crew was interactive and very hospitable.  Even on our return to the marina they were quick to point out the marine life visible in the shallow waters of Puerto Aventuras. Thank you Captain Rick and everyone at Cozumel Charters.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandJim, Manager at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
I generally recommend a "fish combo", a mix of deep sea and bottom fishing because when one isn't working, often the other will. In your case it seems to have worked out just that way and it makes me feel good that you folks caught fish. If the winds are calm and seas not too choppy, bottom fishing is a lot of fun, but I grew up fishing for perch, white bass and crappie, so I am one of those who just likes to catch fish - they don't have to be trophy billfish with every catch to keep me happy...just being on the water and catching a few fish generally makes for a good day.

Thank you for making special mention of your crew's efforts to be interactive. Mexicans are traditionally very hospitable folks and really have a lot of history to share, not to mention these pristine waters in which you can see all manner of marine life from sea turtles to dolphins that tend to swim alongside you boat frequently. These are experiences you don't get in a lot of other fishing destinations...sort of an added sightseeing attraction worth a tour it's self.

Hope we see you folks back in the Mexican Caribbean again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“March 2013 Sailfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We (2 couples) had a FANTASTIC fishing trip March 19, 2013. We caught 3 sailfish and 1 barracuda. Had a 4th sailfish on for a short time. Started the day with a DOUBLE on sailfish. We booked the 8 hr deep sea fishing trip on a 32' boat that holds 8, before leaving Minnesota. Had "choppy water" with 4' to 5' waves. The crew was great, changed bait often, worked hard. Thank You again, Cozumel Charters !!! Hal D.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HalD183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandJim, Owner at Cozumel Charters, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Wow, sailfish indeed. You had one very lucky day. It's not so unusual to catch sailfish this time of year even a couple but latching on to four in a charter is petty good luck but you kindly give your crew a nice thumbs-up for their efforts to deliver a successful fishing charter to you folks.

That's the Mexican Caribbean; full of surprises and extraordinary scenery to compliment excellent fishing conditions.

Thank you, folks for choosing Cozumel Charters to be your provider and thank you for taking time to post on Trip Advisor, one of the world's leading travel forums. Many travelers use this forum religiously for picking their activities and the companies they will trust to be sure they have a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cozumel Charters also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cozumel Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing