We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Resort, from the groom's POV” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
S. Korea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wedding Resort, from the groom's POV”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

These guy know what they are doing. We were married last week and our biggest problem was that it was slightly windy. Seriously, that's it. I've been to over ten weddings of friends and family over the past decade and this one was BY FAR the easiest. Now, we're easy going beach people, but even so, this was damn near carefree.

Almost carefree, but not quite. Here are tips if you're coming in the near future:

1. We were there in 2011, which was the year of a lot of beheadings up near the Tex-Mex border. Kinda scared off some tourists. To make up for that, unbeknownst to us, everyone who stayed with Palace Resorts Spa (and Cove) received some promotional "credits" for their room. This amounted to free money. We were there for a week and they gave us $1500 in credits. Incredibly, they let us apply it to the wedding. As if it were US cash. Our guests used theirs on totally extravagant things normal people would never do: my brother and his girlfriend took a bath in chocolate in the Spa. My sister was able to use hers to take my niece to Wet N Wild for free. Other people used them to upgrade rooms or to go on excursions. Honestly, I was flabbergasted. I thought it would be some sort of scam or only partial pay, nope, just like cash. Although there is no refund, so use it or lose it.
2. Now, for the wedding itself... We arrived on Wednesday, met our Planner (super nice, she worked with several others in a separate office devoted to weddings) for about 45 minutes to choose/verify: flowers, boutineers, aisle carpet, and bouquet. We went with the Ruby Package and the red looked awesome. The following day we went back over for blood tests that took up 10 minutes of our day. Easy.
3. Saturday was our wedding. Friday it was windy. Really windy. I was worried but it didn't matter. We were married at 4 PM and there was a slight breeze. However, at 5 PM another wedding took place at the same spot and the wind had definitely picked up. It seemed like it got windier as the night approached, but maybe not. Anyway, girls should think about hairspray and tying their hair up.
4. You have to wear a bracelet. Everybody does, for drinks and to prove what room you're in (the place is monstrously huge). The staff cut off the bride's but not mine. Those things are a $75 charge if you lose them (street value I guess) but they did say the bride and groom could remove theirs and it was a free replacement, day of the wedding only. I just didn't feel the need to push it. Ask your coordinator to bring scissors to the ceremony.
5. During the ceremony my wife held her fresh roses up against her dress. Afterward we noticed slight red stains. Fresh flowers can stain, particularly in humidity. Be warned.
6. As do thumbprints. In Mexico, to seal the deal you both put your thumbprints onto the wedding certificate. Then they hand you a cocktail napkin. Not a wet wipe or even a wet towel. From them on I had to watch wear I put that thumb so as to not leave black thumbprints all over my wife's dress. Again, ask your coordinator for a wetnap or something.
7. At the very end they lit off "fireworks" (roman candles). Remember that slight wind? Sparks landed up the train of the bride's dress and... in the face of a bridesmaid. Nothing happened other than surprise, but again, be warned.
8. It is BRIGHT on a Saturday afternoon in April in Cancun. We had a lot of squinty pictures. Address this right away with the photographer and videographer. They tried their best but it wasn't their fault, it was just really bright out there. Be mindful of where the sun is for your photos.
9. Oh I forgot. They told us they would need a minimum of 3 days to process the photos and DVD after the wedding, and they don't work on Sundays. Apparently only the wedding people don't work because from what I witnessed everyone else at the resort didn't stop, at all, any day. We left Wednesday late morning and neither was ready. They'll ship it to you of course, at a cost of $65 (again, credits work here too, surprisingly). I got the feeling 3 days was a bare minimum and a full week was normal.
10. Personally, I hate tuxedos, so no one wore one to my wedding. Instead I just told all the men to go with khakis and a white shirt. Simple, right? I should have specified UNTUCKED, like me and my best man wore ours. Not a big deal, but in some of the photos it looks... distracting. If you want a uniform look make sure you tell everybody, personally, and more than once. I think I had to tell my brother five times before it sunk in he didn't need to bring a suit down to sweat in.
11. Oh, and on an aside, there is a "monkey safari" every other day. We were all excited about this to go with some friends but it didn't happen on Sunday. On Monday, all we did was walk down the driveway. Sure enough, monkeys live right on the property. Anyone can do this. Just be quiet and walk down the main driveway looking into the trees. That's it.
12. If you want to bring a piece of cake back THINK AHEAD. We didn't. Nor did we consume all the cake. We only finished the top layer and then gave the rest to... well, whoever. Kitchen staff I suppose. We should have taken the whole thing back to our room to nibble on for the next few days. It was delicious. Also, we somehow lost our personalized cake topper. Don't know how, or where, or WHY really, but it wandered off never to be seen again.
13. Oh, and be ready to bring bottles back. They kept dumping champagne on us, and there was a complimentary bottle of wine in the room. We brought back three bottles from the hotel, plus a few tequila bottles we bought out on the town. I should have thought ahead and packed an extra bag just for freebies and gifts. And, once again, you can use up credits to buy booze too. My Mom finished off her credits with wine bottles (priced at $50 and up, but when it's free or nothing, might as well!).

Finally, I've been to Mexico and stayed at other resorts. This one is actually all inclusive. None of that reserve a table, or only two of the total seven restaurants, or anything like that. You could eat wherever, whenever you want and the food was 5-star quality. This place is far and away the best I've ever stayed at. But that's THIS Palace Resort. We took the free shuttle to another one (they run everyday between the others, just to let people see what they're missing, or not, as the case may be) and it was just standard Mexico fare. Not bad, but not totally above and beyond as this place. Highly, HIGHLY recommended. They were awesome, the wedding was superb, everybody had a great time. We were very happy with the whole thing. If I can swing those credits again I'd go back for an anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: Ask for promotional credits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robi099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,161
    1,113
    356
    247
    179
See reviews for
729
2,575
32
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

hi, we have just return from our vacation to aventura spa palace in riviera maya mexico
and it was the best thing that we could hope for and more, the resort the staff are just wonderful its like your own the place thats the way they make you feel. mr. eliseo, senor polo, and fernando and there is chef name josue that they will try to make you feel at home.
thank you to avery one at aventura palace resort for making our vacation the best we ever had.

Room Tip: last rooms in the clarinet building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mipelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

This place RUINED our vacation. I have to admit -- we were stupid and totally scammed at the airport. That part was TOTALLY our fault. Under the guise of this very nice, helpful English speaking gentleman who was showing us our way to our transportation to the hotel...we were gullibly and ever so sublty and gradually "helped" into receiving 7 tours if we agreed to "visit this beautiful new SPA and just go home to the USA and talk about it to our friends b/c word of mouth is truly the best form of advertising" no sales involved...HA!.....In our defense, we are not stupid people, but it is done so subtly and gradually and the man presents himself as so legit (with an official badge, etc...showing you the different tour prices between Expedia and Travelocity, which ones to stay away from, etc...that you truly believe he is helping you out)...Anyway, you wind up sitting through 90 minutes the next day of pure torture, that is relentless, which amounts to nothing more than feeling like you are in jail, and they wont let you go free until you want to scream. Just when you think they are done they send in another person to try to talk you into spending an exorbitant amount of money and they keep reducing the price regardless of how many times you say NO. They did come through on the massages they promised, however, they were only for 25 minutes, and not on the beach....Now for the 7 tours they promise you for the $100.00 you paid....Well, the next day...the van never showed up. They blatantly lie and tell you that YOU NO SHOWED!!!...They lie and say that they signed in at the front gate and spoke to someone by the name of FERNANDO despite the fact that the hotel that you are staying at says SORRY, there is no one that works here by that name...when you ask to speak to a Supervisor...you "accidentally get hung up on or "disconnected" We spent all morning trying to deal with this...When we did get to a Supervisor, they insist that they came to our hotel to pick us up and they just keep lying about it ...then finally they said they would bring us to Chichen Itza on Wednesday...the day that we were leaving to go home..when we asked if we could go on Tuesday, they said NO...No tours to Chichen Itza on tuesday, Why? they had no answer! except only on Wednesdays......When we asked for our money back....they said NO...They had also booked a tour for us to go to Tulum the next day. We had given them our phone number to call us...Well, that call never came....therefore, they never showed up for that tour as well. Because we were in Mexico for only a limited time.. and they wasted 2 days on no show for tours and one day of arguing with them about it, it pretty much ruined our chances of sightseeing in Mexico ...we could not visit Tulum, Isla de Mujeres and we had to pay for Chichen Itza twice ...once to them and once on our own. This is a travesty...what they do to innocent people...is really not right and someone ought to do something about it. I am hoping that someone with authority in Mexico or at this Hotel sees this and does something about it. They ought to be ashamed of themselves. They made our vacation a stressful nightmare....and it should have been a relaxing stress free time. Oh yes, they served us lunch, which by the way...was borderline disgusing...If you are from the States...it was analogous to one of our low level food buffets...Gross! SO there you have it - I hope this helps other people to avoid ANYTHING to do with AVENTURA SPAS

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Virgormt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

This place was amazing for our first wedding anniversary. The entertainment staff was awesome and kept us moving and having fun. Thank you Cosme, Vanilla, Daniel, Mario, Maurice and Hugo!

Also, go see Fausto is the lobby bar. He is a great bartender and a really nice guy.

The staff is what makes this place special!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancún, Quintana Roo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We once again had the time of lives. To just be able to do absolutely nothing, or find activities of interest each and every day is awesome. The employees, from the gardeners, maids, waitstaff, entertainment staff, bartenders (Javier and Miguel at the pool bar especially) will smile and greet you each and every time you encounter them. There is good food galore. Did I mention the awesome spa with its wonderfully talented staff and incredible staff? What can't you like about spending a week here?

Room Tip: Most rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTT_MAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

This was our 2nd trip to the ASP and and it was even better than the first time. Food and service was top notch. Luis Lopez the manager of the MoMoNoHa oriental restaurant had the best food, service, and atmosphere by far. Very impressed. The only con was that the outsourced gift shops were overpriced. Everything else including the spa treatments were fantastic!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJSuperStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warren
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

recently stayed at the adventura spa palace for the second year in a row. it just keeps getting better. if you are someone who works hard for your living, and need a place to relax and not want to worry about any of your normal every day duties, then this is the place to go. the resort is clean, beautifully landscaped, and the staff cannot do enough for you. we were privileged to have a "special dinner" at the sushi restaurant, here our waiter, luis perez, treated us to a beautiful decorated table, a personal chef, (who created a wonderful personalized meal), and our own dessert chef, (arturo), who delighted us with the most decadent crepes, made right at our table, flaming cognac and all. the hostess' nancy and yadira were both extremely pleasant, which added for a most delightful evening. if you like to exercise and work out, the facilities here are top of the line, all machines were spotless, with almost every machine one could possibly need, at this time. they also provide several different exercise venues, from yoga to zumba, and much more. the gym staff, claudia, jose and junior; were very helpful, extremely friendly, and fun to be around. this resort ,is just the place to go, relax, and create some wonderful memories. what could be better than that?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
1.5 mi away
LM Hotel Boutique
LM Hotel Boutique
#2 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,193 reviews
16.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Palace
Barcelo Maya Palace
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,629 reviews
22.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing